Holiday Park FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (37)
72056   1   8   1   17

User reviews

14 reviews with 4 stars

37 reviews

 
(13)
 
(14)
 
(6)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.4  (37)
 
3.4  (37)
 
4.1  (37)
 
3.9  (37)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 28-29, 2016

The front office staff was not welcoming, very unfriendly and could not answer my questions. We were dry camping and needed to fill our water tanks. He insisted that everyone used the non-potable water at the dump. I asked him if he could call and ask someone if there was a place to find potable water. He could not. But, he did point me in the direction of the maintenance person, who thought it was in another location, which we did find. He just had a very unwelcoming attitude. Otherwise, we found the campground clean and it is good value in a lovely area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 16-18, 2013

T.L. left this review using the Directory software: - I enjoyed my stay. The manager was personable and very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2012-March 2013

I thoroughly disagree with the previous post. I have stayed at Holiday park many times since 2006. We are full timers and have traveled all over the country and stay in military RV parks when there is one in the vicinity. Since we are from the Pacific Northwest we most frequently stay at Fort Lewis, McChord, or Camp Murray. The Holiday park campground has some particular advantages. The setting is beautiful. Those trees that were complained about are mainly Douglas Fir. Some are several hundred years old and exceed 100 feet in height. They are majestic. It is like staying in a an enchanted forest. There are deer and other wildlife and a great variety of birds. Yes, you do get pine needles in everything, but if you want to stay here you accept that, or go somewhere else. The Pacific Northwest is known for big windstorms in October and November. If the winds are going to exceed 50 mph the park staff has always told everyone to leave, because limbs do fall, and occasionally even trees. But most of the time it is perfectly Safe. If the poster had seen this park in the past they would not be complaining. The showers were disgusting, Now they are completely redone, and clean. The laundry has new washers and driers. The electrical was only 30 amp. Only half the park had sewer. Now all the regular sites have full hook ups with 30 and 50 amp service. I used to have to make a run to the dump site every 3 or 4 days. That is no longer necessary. One loop is much lower than the rest of the park and would regularly flood during heavy rains. I once had to wade through six inches of water to get to higher ground. That has been fixed. There is now a sump pump to get rid of the water. The Club house was an old building that was cold and smelled bad. It was taken down and a new one built. It has TV, lots of videos and books, and in the last few weeks they added WI-FI, but it is only in the club house. That makes sense because the trees would block the signal. TV reception has always been bad here because of the trees, and good luck getting a SAT TV signal. Cell reception is spotty, but in some sites is very good. The staff, particularly Ron and Maggie have always gone out of their way to help when I needed it. They have one other assistant. They do a good job considering it is only three people. Yes they don't normally mow the grass in the winter because it rains a lot. (I mean, a lot!) They do attempt to clean up branches and debris after storms, but in the winter it is a never ending job. Since Ron took over a few years ago the park has improved significantly. The blackberries do grow wild in the summer. That is true all over the Pacific Northwest. It makes for good berry picking. The park staff do cut them back as needed. Occasionally dogs here are off leash, which I do not like, and some of the big dogs can be intimidating. But they should be on a leash. There are coyotes on McChord and small dogs could be easily killed by them. However, whenever a particular pet has gotten out of hand a word to Ron has usually solved the problem. McChord also has an off leash dog park where people can run their dogs. The electrical system was upgraded a few months ago, and they did have some power outages. One was a general outage for the whole Lakewood area. But that's why we have generators. If you live in an RV you deal with it. The only reason I gave them a 3 in amenities, and value has nothing to do with the staff. Rather, with the management. Yes they raised the price. it went from $300 to $504 for 28 days. I have stayed at RV "resorts" for less than that. All three parks here did this. These parks are supposed to be for the benefit of active duty and retired personnel with active duty having top priority. But how many junior active duty enlisted can afford that price? It seems to me that the contractors running the parks are only interested in their profit margin. This is not because of only the daily price increase. They also increased prices for storage and limited the number of vehicles you can have. They seem to be extremely slow in updating facilities, and providing adequate personnel to maintain the parks. Simple things like cleaning the common areas are subcontracted and done only a couple days a week. When equipment breaks down it seems to take weeks to get it repaired. Overall I would rate this park as a good value, but would have called it very good value under the previous price. I would stay here any time. Compared to Fort Lewis or Camp Murray: the park itself isn't as modern as Fort Lewis but the facilities and amenities are better than Camp Murray. The staff at Holiday park is far more helpful and friendly than at Fort Lewis and about the same as Camp Murray. These three are all about the same price now but Camp Murray still has a slightly lower price. Overall experience is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June - July 2012

HEADS UP: the MCChord Fam Camp will be CLOSED during the McChord Air Show July 2012. Over the years Roy has done a great job of improving the McChord FamCamp. June-July 2012 the bathhouse/laundry room is closed. It is being redone and will be a great improvement. The Fam Camp will be closed for the McChord Air Show believe dates are 20 - 23 July. Check Joint Base Lewis-McCord's web page for information regarding the Air Show. ALL RVers from the FamCamp will be moved to the McChord Commissary parking lot. The McCord camp ground will be closed and off limits to everyone during the Air Show. The upper RV camping area (the upper loop) are being up graded to include 50A service. All RV spaces have E/S/W now. Only problem is the old crusty "volunteer" who hangs around the office and camp ground. He needs to improve his attitude and customer relations. He is NOT a MWR employee or a host. But, acts like he is. Ron told us that he, the crusty old guy, has helped fix many things at the camp ground. But, this does not excuse his being rude to people and making comments that are out of line about camper's dogs, tent campers, children etc. Again he is not employed there and should keep his mouth shut. To clarify: Ron is the manager and he has done many great things to improve the camp ground. Roy is the old crusty guy who hangs around Ron. Roy needs to improve his customer skills and refrain from making rude comments regarding camper's dogs, kids, etc. Roy is not an employee at the camp ground. Nor, is he a host. But he acts like he runs the place. Another wanna be. Since campground has been taken over by Fort Lewis, Ron (the manager) is waiting for the day for the prices to go up. I have to agree with him..the price will go up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 18 - July 11, 2011

I enjoyed our stay at this famcamp. The reason that I marked Cleanliness down was because both the men's and women's showers need funds invested into them for upgrading. The floor in both need work. Also the women's has problem draining. The Facilities were marked down because we were not allowed to keep our 8 foot tag along trailer on our site, or within sight. As a 20' long van we need the extra storage. The two combined equal 30 feet in length, shorter than most coaches. We were informed that we could not keep our trailer on site (#31), (W&E), because in case of a fire we might not be able to get out. I agree that limits need to be placed on trailers, because some people go overboard when combining long trailers with Coaches or long Class C's. The rule says ALL cargo trailers need to be in the main storage area BUT boat trailers and toads are able to be kept on site. GO FIGURE! We love the (W&E) sites being set back into the trees and separated by vegetation. We have stayed in plenty of parking lot style rv parks, this is a pleasant change. We had plenty of deer and sighted coyotes. We will be back. If you are here the night of July 4th, we recommend the fireworks display at Fort Lewis. We will be back any time we have a reason to be in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6/8 to 6/11, 2011

This is a great bargain @ $13/night. We stayed in the section with only W/E. Very private, lots of big trees (no sunlight gets through) and very peaceful setting. When we arrived no one was around so we took one of the sites available on the board and registered the following morning. Staff was helpful. Verizon cell phones and wi-fi worked well. No Direct tv - too many tall trees. Didn't use the showers/bathrooms. Laundry is VERY small (the room) with 3 washers and 3 dryers and heavily used. More than one person in there and you're falling over one another. No maps are available for the base and if you're a first time user it's difficult to find your way around. Good facilities on base when you do find them. We put our rig in storage on the field @ the park - $1/day. Great if you're taking a cruise from Seattle. Our mail disappeared and the host left a message on my phone and he held the mail until our return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 13-15, 2011

Great location, beautiful surroundings and a good value for the money. Unfortunately when we went to use the bathroom facilities we were shocked at their condition. They are in desperate need of an upgrade! The facility is obviously very popular, with enough suitable land to where additional RV spaces with full-hookup could be easily created.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 9-19, 2009

We enjoyed our stay here and would come back again. We had e/w site which we liked better than the full-hook sites. We had a large, level site surrounded by towering fir trees with bushes between our neighbors. TV reception is very poor so cable TV would be a nice feature. The commissary and exchange are very large. We didn't mind the security check, just part of coming on a military base. No on-site camp hosts but the MWR employees, Ron and Rich, were always there during normal work hours. For $70/week, this is a real bargain.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 17-23, 2009

Our site (#9) offered full hook-ups and a great view of the woods from the back of our RV. Many of the sites don't have the space or view. Although we liked our week at Ft. Lewis 5 miles away, this is a better value ($140 for the week at Ft. Lewis; $80 at McChord). Advice: don't trust the map they hand out to get you where you want to go on base; e.g., Ave. A has been Barnes Ave. for 5 years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17 -19 Aug 2008

Sites with w/e/s are small and not necessarily level. Camp host (Ron) is quite helpful and enthusiastic has made amazing improvements at the camp since last year. Wi-fi at the BX. Restrooms and laundry very clean and pleasant to use. End-of-the-runway noise takes getting used to, - but is to be expected at the numerous bases I've stayed at. (Hey it's an Air Force Base, right)? Nicely situated in old growth cedars?. Appeared as though there were homesteaders at the camp with their vehicle up on jack-stands doing repairs?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 26, 2008

Didn't stay overnight, just did a recon for an upcoming stay at the park. Spoke at length to Ron, the manager. He has a great attitude and seems eager to please guests. He's excited about the $500K improvements coming soon. Sites will be lengthened, 50 amp service installed and the original full hookup loop repaved. A lot of paving has been done recently, so the pothole problem others have written of appears to have been corrected. This is a great park that gets better and better. We'll defintely stay a week around Labor Day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 22 to Sept 9, 2007

As at Fairchild, the very first right turn is Fairway. If you miss it you will not be able to use the directions provided to the famcamp. We arrived into the park to find a short waiting list in overflow. When trying to get through the park to dump tanks and fill with water we busted a leaf spring and shock on our trailer as we fell into one of the "many" potholes that could not be avoided. From that point the camp hosts (Skip and Deborah) and the camp manager Josh were very emphathetic and helpful in assisting us through our situation. At their suggestion a claim will be submitted to base legal since the roads have been in need of repair for quite some time and had been reported. Now to add insult to injury, two days after our problem the base ground maint crew is onsight filling potholes. As the camphost said, kind of like putting up the stop sign after the accident. After three days my rv was fixed, they allowed me to assume my position as next in line for a site, and am now on a lovely secluded 30 amp site. The 30 amp sites have only W/E but we think they are much nicer than the 50 amp full service sites. Two blue boys are available for your use if you choose the 30 amp site. If you come here, be very careful on the roads. The gravel filling in the potholes will surely only last a short time. Hopefully they will keep up with the maint or repair the road. Now I am hoping legal will respect the claim and accept responsibility for the neglect of the roads. There is not service one cannot find on this base. The local area attractions are many. One final note- Dirks truck repair just off base was highly responsive and very reasonable considering the hoops they had to jump thorough to get on base twice to service my rig.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2007

We pulled into the park during the weekend for Area boat races and the park was loaded only spaces were in dry camp which was great for us. The hosts were very friendly and helpfull, the facility was a little hard to get to due to road signs being replaced so not many were up. Didnt take a rocket scientist to find the place. Overall experience was great and I was ready to get off of I-5.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 22, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 21, 2006

Although only a few tight-knit spots have sewer and all the rest only E/W, this park felt like a National park; nestled among the tall pines, each site is very private. We were close to the showers/laundry and a nice playground; all prerequisites with young children. Although near the air strip, much of the noise was muffled by the trees. Some recycling on site. The base is easy to manuever and only an hour from Seattle. We had a great time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
14 results - showing 1 - 14