Holiday Park FamCamp

Featured
 
3.9 (37)
76143   1   5   1   19

User reviews

13 reviews with 5 stars

37 reviews

 
(13)
 
(14)
 
(6)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
 
4.4  (37)
 
3.4  (37)
 
4.1  (37)
 
3.9  (37)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 27 - August 10, 2017

Only one person works in the very small office. He was very helpful, but no one else answers the phone when he's not at his desk. Roads are a bit tight, but can be managed with some care. No satellite TV possible as there are tall trees everywhere, but we got over 20 over-the-air channels with our roof antenna. There's also only limited internet at the office and 'clubhouse'. Those negatives aside, the park is very clean, well located and quiet even though near the end of McChord's runway. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 21-28 2016

I was glad to see harrylouis update pricing. The weather was great so we did dry camp. The laundry and bathrooms are kept clean. $.75 /load of laundry. They sometimes take your quarters so let the office know. Nice shade trees and an awesome place to walk and ride bikes. Call for reservations this campground fills.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 8 - 16, 2016

There are two things to update about Holiday Park. First, they do accept reservations, and secondly, the daily rates increased on 1 May 2016. The new rates are: 50A/W/S = $24, 30A/W/S = $22, Yurts = $20, Dry = $10, Tent = $8. We cannot do a better job of describing the Park than the davidrenne review from July, 2014. We might add that the lack of cable or satellite TV gives you a great opportunity to catch-up on your reading or watching your favorite DVD’s. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2014

An interesting solution has been implemented at McChord, which I will come back to below. Concerning the park itself, if you like full hookups and paved roads all in spectacularly tall fir trees, this is your place. The camp staff is friendly and helpful, particularly Ron. Office is closed on Sundays & Mondays but there is an on-site host (although the office phone is not answered). A few nice dry-camping sites in the woods are also available ($5 per night) along with overflow parking in an open field; some of these sites are used by campers waiting for a full-hook site. The park isn't perfect, there are usually a few inop machines in the laundry for example, but the deep woods scenery is just beautiful. The solution I mentioned is towards discouraging homesteaders. You can stay as long as you want at the McChord FamCamp but NOT IN THE SAME SITE. Max is 14 days in any one camp site in the summer (28 days in the winter). Reservations are not accepted but a wait-list for full hookup sites is maintained. If you show up and no site is available, you will almost always get one within a few days. This way the park is well utilized but homesteaders are discouraged because they would have to move their stuff at least every 14 days and there might be no site available after their last day. (They can't get on the wait-list until after they check out). This system is reasonably easy to enforce and it seems to work. Maybe other parks should consider this...!

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • McChord-Pamphlet-2014
    2 MB
    846
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2013

We camped here in the month of July 2013. We stayed in the over flow for a week. Overflow was our choice, we are from CA and have solar panels on our RV. The campgrounds seems pretty laid back. It was a great location for discovering the Seattle area. Thank you FamCamp. Beth & Pat

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 10 - 19, 2012

We returned to the FamCamp after a seven month absence. My previous comments about not being to keep your cargo trailer on (W/E) sites have been changed, so the rating has been raised from 3 to 5 accordingly. The shower floors are still in the same condition so they remain a 3. The January ice/snow storm that hit the Seattle area did massive tree damage here. Roy is working hard daily to have the camp restored to its beautiful appearance by the spring. WiFi is available 7 days a week at the food court, six days a week at the library. I was told Burger King also has it but have not verified that. My T-Mobile cell phone worked fine from site 23. If you have a data package with your cell phone you should have WiFi on site. I love the location, staff and base amenities and will return here whenever in the area. All parking lot style FamCamps could learn a lot by studying this operation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 27 to Oct. 25, 2009

Enjoyed our partial hook-up site as previous review says-flat black top in the trees. Lots of dog walking area and recycling at campground (more on base). No diesel on base and can't use chow hall however lots of shopping on the base! Accessible to Ft. Lewis and Mt. Rainer and sites in Tacoma and not that far to Seattle. Verizon Internet was fine and I hear those with satellite often park in the dry-camp area so receive reception. If you chose to tent camp the restrooms are a distance though! Will definitely return to further investigate the area!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 12-17, 2008

Nice Campground. We stayed in a water/electric site and actually preferred it over the w/e/s sites since it was a bigger site with a lot more privacy/room. They have a trailer that has movies (mostly vhs) you can borrow and paperbacks for trade. Verizon wireless internet worked great and the BX and Commissary are new and plenty big. A real bargain at $10.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jul 29 - Aug 3, 2008

Great campground, We have stayed before. Upgrade for sites will help, I stayed in spot 9, impossible to level unit.. looking to stay and do some fishing..

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

7-18 July 08

Very nice campground and well worth the price! Great riding/walking trails for kids and adults. Extremely clean showers, laundry and restroom facilities. They are in the process of upgrading several sites to full service which will be a very nice addition. We will be back again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 30 - July 3, 2008

There are 12 tent campsites set in a deeply wooded setting. You have to pass the BX, Commissary and Shoppette(24 Hrs) as you go to the famcamp. Just follow the directions at the top of this page and watch for signs to the Holiday Park. The BX is better than most I have seen for size and selection. The food court has free WiFi. The noise of the C17's is considerably less than the fighters at Nellis. We arrived late in the day so we self registered and met the staff the next day to prove our authorization and get the combination to the bathrooms and laundry. The famcamp bathrooms and showers are better maintained than the public restrooms also in the park. I did not understand the difference in fees ($5 for a no hookup site and $7 for a tent site), regardless of that, it is a very good value. We will use this famcamp for many more visits.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 23 - May 24, 2008

Without question the best FamCamp we have stayed at--ever. The FamCamp is set in a heavily wooded area across the main runway from the rest of the base and the trees are 100 to 150 feet tall. The facilities are spacious and clean, the pads are spread out so that in many cases you cannot see (or hear) your neighbors. Because of the vegetation and trees, sound is deadened and you could barely hear even a C-17 taking off. The price ($10 for a full hookup) was the best of any FamCamp that we have visited.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2008

W.R. left this review using the Directory software: Great place to stay. Ron the camp host was very nice. The campground was easy to find with good road signs. We loved the week we were there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13