Pine View Recreation Area

 
3.6 (36)
40648   0   11   2   10

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

36 reviews

 
(6)
 
(15)
 
(10)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.6  (36)
 
4.1  (36)
 
2.9  (36)
 
3.5  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 2015

This campground was OK. The good: office staff very friendly and helpful, many sites in the front are HUGE, you can fit 3 RVs on one site, nice clean fishing lake stocked with lots of bass and trout, large 4 person paddle boats for $4/hour, many activities on weekends for kids and gun shooting range, very nice 18 hole mini putt course for $4, and small store stocked with basic items. The bad: this camp is way far off the beaten path, the campground is next to the base so open to public but it's a long drive to get to the main gate with small exchange and commissary. The camp ground has a lot of plants that have a small burr with spikes that's everywhere and very painful to step on, we had these tiny spiky burrs all over our outdoor carpet and there very hard to get out and kids couldn't play much outside. To fish the lake you need WI fishing license and base license you can buy at campground. This place was fun for a family weekend getaway and very peaceful during the week but again, it's in the middle of nowhere, closest town with food, Walmart is 30 min drive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 2013

When we were making plans for a trip I tried to make reservations and when I asked about the Golden Age pass I was told that it is honored, but, they only give $1.00 off. We decided to stay at a Army Corp of Engineer campground not to far away that gives 50%. So much for supporting the senior citizens that gave years of service to the USA.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 8-9-10 2011

WAY to expensive, Civilians with no connection to the military are allowed to use up all the equipment. The staff is great but how can they justify the price? Go to Great Lakes it is much better and much cheaper, you just need to move to get water in and out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Apr 1, 2011

i made a reservation for 2 days(friday and saturday),it was 78.00 and that was including golden age pass.i starting to think about that price and decided to cancel.i was told i could have a rain date but not a refund to my credit card.i was quite upset and express so to several people.i finally got my refund,taking a hill was easier.a campground in sparta was 33.00 and the county campground in la crosse is 23.00.my point to this story is all military personnel should boycott this base.i sent 2 e-mail to the base commander.lets flood the commander with our complaints.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 14, 2009

This is a nice campground but I will never stay here because of the cost and the preference to civilians. I travel more of the country now and a lot of people talk about this campground and these issues. You might as well just put a KOA sign up and leave it. I was just on the coast of CA on the ocean. $21.00 a day. Apples to oranges.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2 - 11, 2010

Were do I begin, 1st we reserve our reservation a year ago for 10 days and had to pay for it up front, (expensive). We arrive on the day only to be told they had us schedule for 3 days and some one else had the site on the water. After I protest and show them the receipt did they allow us to set up. Okay, then the civilian's move in and took over the place. They had us sign a paper agreeing to follow the rules, yet everyone was loud after 10pm, kids riding bikes all over and into people plus fireworks at all hours. Drunks everywhere, Vehicles flying through the campground not obeying the speed. Bathrooms were only clean once in the week we were there. They were filthy and ran out of toilet paper. When my wife went to tell them,they made a face like we were bothering them. We been coming to Ft. McCoy for over 25 years but this will be our last. The breaking point, units were having there unit parties before leaving. Four soldiers stop by when they saw my license plate to talk. They inform me that they could not rent equipment because the civilians had everything rented. I guess making money is more important to Pine View then the welfare of our TROOPS. MWR get your act together. We won't be back!! A 1SG

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

27 June 2009

This is the most expensive Military campground we've run across. The campground is OK but way too expensive, and you have to pay to use their amenities. Lots of better deals in the area. It's a little out of the way to be a convenient stop over park and too expensive too boot..We won't go back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 13 - August 22, 2008

By far the most expensive military campground we have ever stayed in! Forty dollars per night on weekends! Nice beach. Fire rings at each site. 5 mile drive to get around to the main gate of Fort McCoy and access to their small but nice PX and commissary. Commissary is closing on Mondays; it used to be open all 7 days. Campground is packed weekends with civilians who pay a bit more to use the facility. 10 mph speed limit is continually ignored by campground employees, all teenagers. As retired Army people, we liked the bugle calls but they are loud. Gunfire, either artillery or machine gun, is often continuously day and night, as the post prepares NG and USAR units for deployments; again we didn't mind. Dumpsters are emptied every 2nd day. Nicely wooded facility but we asked for a site suitable for DirecTV reception; they neither knew nor cared. Far too many employees, we thought, which may explain why the fees are so high. Two washers and dryers except one of each is labeled "employees only" - why do they need a washer or dryer? Camp host was asked for help twice by people arriving after hours; the hosts seemed to us watching, at best, unresponsive. We will not be back as there are nicer civilian facilities for the same or lesser cost in the general area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

24 August 2008

We did a drive through with our Jeep on our way to South Dakota. Our ratings may be off, with the exception of value, because we obviously did not partake of any services during our visit. The previous ratings appear valid and we want to comment on the use of the facility by civilians from the local area. What I found most disappointing is that the civilians had NO affiliation with the base. The two we approached were not even some sort of contractor. I suspect nothing can be done about this sad state of affairs.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 07

Although this is a nice campground there were some things that needed to be addressed. The store hrs started at 9:00 a.m. too late for RVers leaving early and wanting supplies like ice. The public is allowed use of this park so getting into it is hard. The public also pays only $2 more than the active duty. NG etc which is not good (they should pay more like $25 a night not $20). The public address system plays music 7 times a day starting about 6:30 a.m. and going to 11:00 p.m. not conducive to a good night's sleep for those who retire early or have children. There is no internet available here for use unlike other military parks we were at. Getting to the commissary and PX was not easy as you had to drive completely around Ft McCoy to the front gate (15 min drive). I have to say that the staff was very helpful when asked for something and the park is very clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10