Pine View Recreation Area

 
3.6 (36)
39952   0   11   2   10

User reviews

15 reviews with 4 stars

36 reviews

 
(6)
 
(15)
 
(10)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.6  (36)
 
4.1  (36)
 
2.9  (36)
 
3.5  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 22 - 23, 2017

Listing says rate is $25 - $30, but we were charged $50 per night! While the CG is huge, immaculate, spacious and the staff helpful & friendly, there's no wifi and no cable. If they had them it would probably be worth the $50. Also, DO NOT use the GPS coordinates to find it since it's around the north side of the main post, away from Highway 21 that runs east-west on the south side of it. Mine kept telling me to go through closed gates and blocked roads. Because the CG is so large, finding the office can be an adventure, but there's good signage.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 14-20, 2016

Fantastic campground catering toward families/summertime children activities. Can imagine this place in the summer but even now this place fills on weekends!!! Right now winter sites are $90. per week fhu. Over 50+ cable tv channels but if you need direct tv, try site #68. Eyeballed some sites in Pine Loop (sites 1-40) that would get satellite tv. Saw only 1 pull thru, site 108. Sites 1-40 are in the newest loop and have the newest and largest restrooms. The camp office will let you pick your site first if you want. Small laundry (2 & 2) located in activity room, a reasonable $1.25 ea to wash/dry. Office only open m-f. Campground is off base but right next door, kind of hard to find the first time, closer to Sparta, and a 5 minute drive to fuel/px/commissary. Quick turn into the campground so go slow when you get close. Call for reservations if staying near the weekend or for a long stay. We will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2016

This is no longer a military campground it is open to the public, rates are higher then listed, I paid $150 for 4 nights. (Editors Note: This is still a military operated campground, but it is open to the public.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 29 - July 4, 2015

We stayed at site 90. I finished AT and stayed up while my wife and daughter came up to camp as a family. My daughter is 23 so we really didn't use the local kids geared activities. Our site was very secluded and quiet for most of our time. It didn't have water or sewer but it had a power hookup. All we really wanted to do was have a fire, drink beer, see Wisconsin, and be in the woods. Our site was perfect for that. I'm glad we got the site we did because a lot of the other sites were right on top of each other and there was were a ton of children doing loud kid stuff. If you want quiet you need to look at the map and pick something off to the side. Also, because of the 4th of July holiday the place filled up by the 3rd and was extremely noisy. We actually took off on the 4th because it got so crowded and loud. I can't ding them for that though. It's a campground during a major camping celebration during prime camping time. They're all loud. I really liked their wood delivery service. Very civilized. They had a small camp store where you could get some of the basics like ice, bait, candy bars and a few varieties of beer. They were very busy but nice, polite and efficient. It looked like there's about a million things for kids to do. Again, we didn't actually use those resources but it looked like smaller kids would have a good time. My only gripe was the showers had the push buttons. I wish they were set to 2 minutes instead of 30 seconds. We all had to get into a rhythm for hitting the button that was akin to juggling while soaped up. Also, the showers were getting a little dirty once the place filled up. All in all I'd go back but I'd skip a major holiday and I'd be very careful to pick a secluded spot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 11, 2013

There are lots of activities planned by the park and lots to do there. We did not stay long enough to participate. Weekday rates are fine but weekends are very expensive. Lots of gnats, mosquitoes, and ticks. The area it beautiful and quiet. The facilities are clean. We would stay there again during the week if we were passing through but would not go out of our way to go there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 23-27 2012

We visited in the off season. The daily rate was $14 and since we were here over the weekend we got a free day, total cost for 5 nights was $56. Staff was very friendly and helpful and provided information about the area. They have a lot of sites, very large and asphalt pads with fire rings. You can request a site in the trees or in the open area. They have a swimming beach with slides, paddle boats, canoes and miniature golf at the office. I know people are upset with Civilians using this facility but where they are located there are not of military around other than Ft McCoy so without some other way to raise revenue the facility might not stay open. Maybe out timing was good but we found this campground outstanding and would definitely come back again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 1 - 9, 2010

The staff at Pine View were very helpful. The commissary and PX were limited on the overall different types of items, because they are not very big. The base seemed very well maintained and clean. The only real negative comments are, 1. If you are not used to getting wakened up by the base loudspeaker system with horn blowing I would suggest that you try circle 3 since that is away from the loud speakers., 2. They have no WIFI on the post at all. I had to go to Sparta and use it in one of the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept. 3 - 7, 2009

G.R. left this review using the Directory Software: We liked the RV Park. We don't use the shuffleboard courts, but the mini-golf was nice. There are paddle boats and canoes available also but we didn't use them. There was a fairly good population of mosquitoes in the area we were which was near the pond.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2008

Great facility with all amenities and friendly staff. On un-gated government property adjacent to Fort McCoy, but requiring approx. 5 mile drive around post perimeter to reach gate allowing access to PX and commissary. The campground is also open to the general public at several dollars more than military rate of $40/night. Yes, that's forty dollars (weekends and holidays), approx $25 on weekdays, making it the MOST EXPENSIVE military campground we have ever utilized...and we have traveled coast to coast several times. We do not understand why the general public is allowed to use this military campground. Bugle calls over VERY loud speakers begin at 0550 with 9th and last at 2300. I pointed out to the staff & MWR manager that the bugle calls are in violation of the campground's own "Quiet Hours", do not promote relaxing camping, and that in 5 days I never saw one camper render proper honors as posted (face music at attention with hand over heart). Pine View has much to offer, but the price and lack of a good night's sleep might make a local KOA just as attractive.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 2007

S.L. left this review from the Directory software: The campground is beautiful and restful. I think that all but the 1st review on the website are appropriate and accurate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 1, 2007 through July 28, 2007

This place could really be a gem! Sites were spacious and we felt $13 per day (monthly rate) was a bargain. Lake is beautiful, with a swim area, boat rental, etc. The place was being run by kids on break from college/school, and when asked a question, they really couldn't and didn't have the answer. The store was almost empty; what a money-maker that could be! Lots of trash around - we had to police our site before we moved in. It was sad to see - especially on a military installation. Trash at your site is picked up every day - a nice feature - however, many times we saw kids sitting around talking and wondered why they weren't picking up trash around the campground. The facility is open to the public - wish it wasn't. I agree - the bugles are nice, but they blow the damn things 7 times a day with the last bugle at 11 PM. Ridiculous! No internet available, but good cable TV and no problem using our satellite. Bathrooms clean and adequate. Will definately stay at Ft McCoy again is we're ever in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23 July - 28 July 2007

We enjoyed our stay at Pine View. One of the things we enjoyed most was the bugle calls that sound throughout the day. It is a quaint tradition and it was nice to be reminded of when to honor the flag and other reasons for the calls. I guess they stopped them one year because civilians complained but they are back. I rated the campground low for value because it is open to the public. It can be difficult to get in on weekends or holidays because it is full of civilians. I found that the civilians tend to disregard rules and regulations regarding helmet wear when riding motorcycles and bicycles. I had forgotten my helmet for my bicycle but I was able to rent one from the campground for $1.00 day. Most civilians didn't bother. The rules are not enforced and I think this causes confusion and problems. I also found myself picking up trash left by others and I'm hoping those others were not military people. The staff is friendly and helpful. Most of the sites are easy to get into with my 5th wheel and they are heavily wooded. I think the cost is a little high for military members considering they only charge civilians $2 more a day than military. Civilians at Pine View pay a lower price than comparable private campgrounds in the area. We plan to camp at Pine View again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2005

Fantastic place. Almost a destination resort and since we were on a very tight budget we found it a bit pricey. Later we learned that they honor the Golden Passports and at 50 percent off, this place is a bargain. Nice large pads, full hookups, super facilities. This place is a keeper. We WILL be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 2005

Open year-round. Excellent facilities. Well maintained. 50A/sewer/water/CATV. Discount to Golden Age Passport holders.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 2006

Attempted to Email the manager for reservations, no one answered. Attempted to call several times and no one returned call. Finally someone answered.

Was this review helpful to you? 
15 results - showing 1 - 15