F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured New
 
3.6 (108)
76144   0   24   1   30

User reviews

108 reviews

 
(20)
 
(41)
 
(35)
 
(7)
 
(5)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
4.0  (108)
 
3.5  (108)
 
3.3  (108)
 
3.5  (108)
 
3.6  (108)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
108 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 3 - Jul 5, 2018

We spent one week moving between Denver and Casper WY. Gate 1 will allow a larger RV through (I have a 39ft 5th Wheel and had no problem with the barriers. Be aware that some sites have the Power/Water/Sewer connections on the wrong side, unless you are a class A/C that pulls in nose first. You will hear a train (no whistles) from time to time and the antelope are everywhere. The post is not maintaining historical markers, but there enough to get the feel of the old Calvary fort. The BX gas station has Diesel pumps available. This is a great place to stay and explore the city. Yes, they doubled the rate for Frontier Days (unless you had prepaid before they announced the increase.) 2019 expect the increased rate when you make your reservation. We'd stop here again. The 3 for facilities is because we didn't use them, so a neutral number.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 9, 2018

I was stationed here 40 years ago and spent many nights in this FamCamp. Returned to update the campground information, get some new photos, and to make a drive-thru video. Spoke with the office staff, who were very friendly. The campground itself is a bit rustic, it's just not a "RV Resort". I like it, being in the woods and along a creek. Plenty of wildlife to view in the area. Be careful when it rains, as the area can get flooded. We even went rafting in the fields many years ago. The base is very historic and I love the cavalry style buildings. Lots of memories from this base for my wife and I. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, as long it wasn't during the crazy Cheyenne Frontier Days. Prices for the FamCamp go to $50 a night during this annual event.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jun 29, 2018

As noted by the other 2 posters here for this year it has some issues. Made our call early afternoon and we were able to get a spot to stay for the night, maybe 2. Anyhow the directions are accurate except the sign say'FAMCAMP, PICKNIC area" Missed it and had to turn around after a bit. Yes close to commissary and px/bx both of which are small but adequate for the base I guess. Did not see many troops around. Very scenic post lots of wildlife (no hunting pressure, thus no fear of humans). The facilities are marginal for the place, never did get into the office was told to park in a spot and info for everything would be posted to the lot id. Nothing there and we were given wrong lot info but later found correction on phone message. Nice folks next to us gave us restroom codes etc, but they also had no real paperwork to go off of, wife asked other in restrooms as they came out. Anyhow lots of trees, thick underbrush, and MOSQUITOs. Saw a 5er hit several low hanging branches as he departed, also ran over the curbstones that are on the driveway. BTW in mens room the thrones were limited to 2 and 1 was out of order. Guess they dont get good support from base maintenance folks. Will go back again if in the area just hope they can take better care of the place in the meantime.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 28 - July 5, 2018

Finally arrived but word of caution. Do not follow GPS coordinates it will send you to a closed gate. Off of I-25 exit ramp 11, Randall Ave. Then follow the directions given on their military website only. GPS will take you to a gate that's been closed for 5 years. We used Rand McNally which was wrong. Safe travels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2018

We arrived the day before water was turned on to the campground. We were charged the full amount for every day (no discount for the electric-only day there). On the third day we went by the MWR office to pick up the paperwork and to inform them about the sewer backing up when I attempted emptying our hold tanks. They have a phone number to leave a message but never called back. The second time I attempted the number, the message box was full so I couldn't leave a message. Two days later the problem still existed so I went by the office again. I was told they didn't know which site had the problem was so CE would not come out to the Famcamp. I reported my site so CE would come out. When we left three days later the sewer backup still had not been resolved. Another problem with the camp is the length of the sites. Our 38 foot 5th wheel would barely fit into the site we were assigned. If we had a travel-trailer, it would have worked OK. The trees behind the sites have limbs that over-hang many of the back-in sites and prevent you from backing far enough into the sites if your camper is too tall. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2018

(Editor Notes - the directions have been updated). Okay, let’s update this site! Directions are horrible! We got off I-25 at exit 10D, NOT exit 10-B Via Missile Road. gate two is closed...we were there about 2pm on a Thursday. Is it permanently closed? DO NOT take Randall all the way to the Famcamp dirt road...there is a low underpass and the road is uneven. Instead, enter through the main gate straight to the first Major intersection which is Old Glory. Take a left here. Follow this to a major intersection and take a right on Missile Road.following that road to a dirt road just beyond a Brown Famcamp sign on the right. Turn right into the dirt road, following it around to the office. The office requires a code to enter (what ???) so be prepared to knock. Maybe they send the code to those who register online? Okay, done complaining! They could rename this base Antelope Haven! We lost track of how many we saw....looks like many pregnant females. Saw at least two babies. This may be the oldest continuous military base in the US and it has lovely old buildings. There is a pretty golf course, fitness center, modern commissary and exchange and lovely places to walk with sidewalks. We were directed to the two lakes on base to find a place to throw a ball for our dog who was badly in need of some exercise. The office staff is very nice. The grounds are shabby...badly in need of hosts who take pride in their campground. I have to say it is in the worst shape of any AFB Famcamp we have stayed at but it has so much potential to be wonderful with some care. It is quiet and in a shady location. oh! Almost forgot! The 30 foot sites are NOT adequate for our 24 foot rig much less a 30 foot one! So if making reservations, exaggerate your length!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

31 May 2018

This base is beautiful. The problem we had was information on how to find the Famcamp. There are very few signs, no direction on how to get to the famcamp. It was the most frustrating experience. Also I have a problem with the reservation system. Once we found the famcamp we found a lot of open spaces but they showed they were reserved. We arrived quite late so not sure what that was all about. Also noticed a bit of "homesteading" happening. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August through September 2017

This campground is really nice and on a historic base with full facilities. Anything you can find at any AFB world wide you can find at F.E.Warren (except Space A Flights). Warren is right next to Cheyenne, Wyoming and it's attractions, just off I-25. Easy to get to from either I-25 or I-80 (just turn north on 25 to the next exit). The pluses they offer are low cost, close distance to commissary and BX, & within walking distance to the theatre, library, bowling alley, and recreation center with pool. As well as to the mess hall which is open to all. Golf course is 7 minute drive away. The two slight negatives are (1) the Railroad track that boarders the campground on the north (noise) and (2) the creek which provides LOTS of mosquitoes, during the summer. Lucky for all, summer doesn't begin until late May, and ends early September here. They open soon after the beginning of May (usually) and close by October 1st (usually) because it snows in both September and May in Cheyenne --- so water may not be on. There are sites with 50 amps and some with only 30 amp hookups. The showers have lots of hot water, the laundry has plenty of washers and dryers, and you can almost always get a space. However, NOT during Cheyenne Frontier Days and the week before, when they are usually 100% booked up, a full year in advance. The annual Freedom Celebration on the 4th of July is best viewed from the base right across I-25 with great fireworks. The base usually has a family picnic too on the 4th. There is lots to see and do in Cheyenne, including the State Museum, other museums, and parks. There is a UP Big Boy in one of the parks if you like trains. There is also once a year an open house at the UP round house where you can see the current Steam Engines UP keeps running and talk to the crew that maintains them. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 29, 2018

Nice and quiet. Elect. hookup only water was not on. But for $10. it's a good deal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Oct 16, 2017

DUSTY! DUSTY! DUSTY! We drove our 36' motorhome the long way in (the tunnel entrance is not tall enough for our rig) and by the time we parked in our site, the entire rig and tow vehicle sported a new coat of dust that will require us to thoroughly wash both vehicles. There were also numerous potholes throughout the campground, which is in serious need of renovation of the roads and sites, including trimming some tree branches that extended into roadways. The gravel in the sites does not appear to have been renewed for many years and much of the gravel has been reduced to dirt and dust. Some of the pull-thru sites feature an unusual configuration: shared patio areas with two picnic tables. The office and laundry room looked first rate. We will consider returning after we confirm that the dust issue, potholes, etc., have been fixed. On the other hand, the $10 winter rate for 50A electric-only sites can't be beat.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 22, 2017

Called on the 21st to get a reservation. Was told we had site 36 but since Outdoor Recreation's computer and the Famcamp do not talk to each other, if someone is in that site check on the office door for availability. I asked about someone putting reserved signs on the sites. The young girl said that "Oh yeah, they do that". When we arrived our site was empty with no sign on it but site 37 had one. No one was in the office so we called Outdoor Rec to pay for our site with a credit card. Fairly level pull-through with 50 amp electric. Shares a electric pedestal with the next door site so when they pulled in they had to use the 30 amp hookup. We could connect to the WiFi but was so slow it was unusable. Good Verizon 4g and DTV satellite signals. There are a lot of "long-term" folks staying in the park. Although a couple of folks most likely are there for legitimate reasons, most were all retired military. It is obvious that the 30 day limit is not enforced in those cases. On gentleman told me he has been there for 4 months. When I asked him how he gets away with staying more than 30 days he just said he has his ways and walked off.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 1 - Aug 23, 2017

We have been here three times over the last 10 years. WiFi has been a major improvement. Washer Dryer facility very limited for the number of potential users. Great location for local attractions, biking, jogging, etc. I suggest checking out the local laundry in town. Same price, excellent accessibility, about 4-5 miles from famcamp. My only confusion is why the AF is allowing so many of the recreation famcamps to be used as semi permanent housing for active duty and/or contractors. I can understand tdy or new arrivals or those departing housing prior to leaving, but there are more than not that are just turning the famcamp into a trailer park. I'm just not sure that this is in the spirit or intent of famcamps. While here I observed many large RVs moving from site to site so as to extend their stay. If the park was fully available and enforced the 30 day limit there would likely not be any problem except for during Frontier Days. Based on what I see across the AF Bases, Active Duty have realized that this is a great way to stay on base and save a ton of money provided for housing allowance. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 8-22, 2017

Nice small famcamp. Nice place for a short stay. We stayed 2 weeks and most probably will only stay a week next year. Quiet and a lot of trees and open areas. Everyone on base was very friendly. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 25, 2017

Great place at a great price. I do think that the weeds could be mowed but who wants to camp on a golf course. We have stayed at numerous places during the past 6 weeks and this place was better then most. The civilian worker that runs the camp was very nice and informative, and even got us in a day early. We were in town for the Frontier Days Rodeo and enjoyed our stay. We will be back if in the area again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 6-12, 2017

This is a small base with a lot of history and character. From the red brick buildings and stables from the Calvary days to the antelope, ground squirrel,birds and cottonwoods ... it really has character. Unfortunately, the Fam Camp itself looks like it is need of some serious TLC. There is no camp host, the office personnel was on loan from Laramie and we never saw any kind of grounds keeper/maintenance while there (nor had others we spoke to....) The grass is very over grown and ground squirrels have taken over. There are 2 washer/dryer combos in the office, and at $1.75/$1.50 a load respectively, I thought that was a tad pricey for a Fam Camp. Plenty of green spaces, including dry camping in fields which looked great. The sites themselves were gravel. The base boasts two lakes and a stream. The commissary was in the process of a face lift while we were there. This place has tons of potential and I hope they clean it up. Over all we liked the base & the area and would probably still return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24 - 26 Sep 2016

Crow Creek is our second favorite FAMCAMP (right behind the AF Academy). If you want resort amenities this is not the place for you. If you want a nice, quiet place to relax and visit the area Crow Creek is wonderful. There are train tracks nearby, but the trains are few and never loud. Water and sewer were still on while we were there, but it's always best to call ahead and check after mid-September even if you don't need a reservation. As always, the bathrooms are well kept, so electric only camping here would not be a problem. The primary campground entrance off Missile Drive is back in use after the bridge washouts of the last few years. The rebuilt bridge over Crow Creek looks much sturdier than earlier versions. The homesteaders, like the people with the outside refrigerator (were there for years - see earlier reviews by several folks) have been moved out. They're trying to accommodate longer term stays needed for valid reasons while getting back to being a limited stay rec facility. We applaud the effort but believe it's produced mixed results so far. We love this FAMCAMP, the base and Cheyenne. We'll return as often as we can.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10 Sep 2016

We arrived on the weekend and to enter through the front gate. There is a traffic circle just inside the gate with elevated curbs so take extreme caution. Traffic was light so I was able to use both lanes with no issues. The wildlife on the base was extra special. Be sure to follow the directions to the fam-camp as the low underpass's will stop you. The office at the FC is toward the back. Stay to the right and follow the road around the park. We were late arriving and we were told somebody would be around to collect the fee. We only stayed overnight and nobody came around. We went back to the office and deposited our money in the self-pay box (it was out of envelopes the night before). The base gas station has diesel and is big rig friendly depending on traffic. There were a few homesteaders but there was plenty of room otherwise. They do take reservations and we had been assigned a spot which was posted on the office door. All in all a nice place to stay either short or long stay. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 5, 2016

Loved the pronghorns and jack rabbits that roam around. The base is just off the interstate making it easy to get around. My husband had an emergency so the VA took him. They were fast, caring and it's close. The campground, Donald and Bev were very understanding to give us an open move out date to get him to feeling better. The grounds were kept up. Picnic tables are at each site and laundry area clean. $1.75 wash and $1.50 dry. It was during labor day weekend and the campground was fairly full. Dry camping available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2016

Fantastic! Great base, Great people. My wife fell in love with this place. All I could do to drag her out. The town is right there and if you need or want it, they have it. We were invited to watch the cattle drive from the pasture to the fairgrounds for frontier days. The wild life on base and the old buildings were Great. Thanks! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 26, 2016

We were very satisfied with the family camp at this air force base. They went beyond their duties to make sure we were well taken care of. Donna, at the office in family camp was so kind and helpful. We had a special need, as I had an emergency visit and 2 day stay at the local hospital. The complications which occurred because of this, were handled with expertise by Donna.

Was this review helpful to you? 
108 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6