F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (112)
81706   1   24   1   31

User reviews

34 reviews with 3 stars

112 reviews

 
(23)
 
(42)
 
(35)
 
(7)
 
(5)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0  (112)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.5  (112)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.3  (112)
Value 
 
3.6  (112)
Overall Experience 
 
3.6  (112)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
July 9, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I was stationed here 40 years ago and spent many nights in this FamCamp. Returned to update the campground information, get some new photos, and to make a drive-thru video. Spoke with the office staff, who were very friendly. The campground itself is a bit rustic, it's just not a "RV Resort". I like it, being in the woods and along a creek. Plenty of wildlife to view in the area. Be careful when it rains, as the area can get flooded. We even went rafting in the fields many years ago. The base is very historic and I love the cavalry style buildings. Lots of memories from this base for my wife and I. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, as long it wasn't during the crazy Cheyenne Frontier Days. Prices for the FamCamp go to $50 a night during this annual event.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 29, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
As noted by the other 2 posters here for this year it has some issues. Made our call early afternoon and we were able to get a spot to stay for the night, maybe 2. Anyhow the directions are accurate except the sign say'FAMCAMP, PICKNIC area" Missed it and had to turn around after a bit. Yes close to commissary and px/bx both of which are small but adequate for the base I guess. Did not see many troops around. Very scenic post lots of wildlife (no hunting pressure, thus no fear of humans). The facilities are marginal for the place, never did get into the office was told to park in a spot and info for everything would be posted to the lot id. Nothing there and we were given wrong lot info but later found correction on phone message. Nice folks next to us gave us restroom codes etc, but they also had no real paperwork to go off of, wife asked other in restrooms as they came out. Anyhow lots of trees, thick underbrush, and MOSQUITOs. Saw a 5er hit several low hanging branches as he departed, also ran over the curbstones that are on the driveway. BTW in mens room the thrones were limited to 2 and 1 was out of order. Guess they dont get good support from base maintenance folks. Will go back again if in the area just hope they can take better care of the place in the meantime.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 28 - July 5, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Finally arrived but word of caution. Do not follow GPS coordinates it will send you to a closed gate. Off of I-25 exit ramp 11, Randall Ave. Then follow the directions given on their military website only. GPS will take you to a gate that's been closed for 5 years. We used Rand McNally which was wrong. Safe travels.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived the day before water was turned on to the campground. We were charged the full amount for every day (no discount for the electric-only day there). On the third day we went by the MWR office to pick up the paperwork and to inform them about the sewer backing up when I attempted emptying our hold tanks. They have a phone number to leave a message but never called back. The second time I attempted the number, the message box was full so I couldn't leave a message. Two days later the problem still existed so I went by the office again. I was told they didn't know which site had the problem was so CE would not come out to the Famcamp. I reported my site so CE would come out. When we left three days later the sewer backup still had not been resolved. Another problem with the camp is the length of the sites. Our 38 foot 5th wheel would barely fit into the site we were assigned. If we had a travel-trailer, it would have worked OK. The trees behind the sites have limbs that over-hang many of the back-in sites and prevent you from backing far enough into the sites if your camper is too tall. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
(Editor Notes - the directions have been updated). Okay, let’s update this site! Directions are horrible! We got off I-25 at exit 10D, NOT exit 10-B Via Missile Road. gate two is closed...we were there about 2pm on a Thursday. Is it permanently closed? DO NOT take Randall all the way to the Famcamp dirt road...there is a low underpass and the road is uneven. Instead, enter through the main gate straight to the first Major intersection which is Old Glory. Take a left here. Follow this to a major intersection and take a right on Missile Road.following that road to a dirt road just beyond a Brown Famcamp sign on the right. Turn right into the dirt road, following it around to the office. The office requires a code to enter (what ???) so be prepared to knock. Maybe they send the code to those who register online? Okay, done complaining! They could rename this base Antelope Haven! We lost track of how many we saw....looks like many pregnant females. Saw at least two babies. This may be the oldest continuous military base in the US and it has lovely old buildings. There is a pretty golf course, fitness center, modern commissary and exchange and lovely places to walk with sidewalks. We were directed to the two lakes on base to find a place to throw a ball for our dog who was badly in need of some exercise. The office staff is very nice. The grounds are shabby...badly in need of hosts who take pride in their campground. I have to say it is in the worst shape of any AFB Famcamp we have stayed at but it has so much potential to be wonderful with some care. It is quiet and in a shady location. oh! Almost forgot! The 30 foot sites are NOT adequate for our 24 foot rig much less a 30 foot one! So if making reservations, exaggerate your length!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 16, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
DUSTY! DUSTY! DUSTY! We drove our 36' motorhome the long way in (the tunnel entrance is not tall enough for our rig) and by the time we parked in our site, the entire rig and tow vehicle sported a new coat of dust that will require us to thoroughly wash both vehicles. There were also numerous potholes throughout the campground, which is in serious need of renovation of the roads and sites, including trimming some tree branches that extended into roadways. The gravel in the sites does not appear to have been renewed for many years and much of the gravel has been reduced to dirt and dust. Some of the pull-thru sites feature an unusual configuration: shared patio areas with two picnic tables. The office and laundry room looked first rate. We will consider returning after we confirm that the dust issue, potholes, etc., have been fixed. On the other hand, the $10 winter rate for 50A electric-only sites can't be beat.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
June 6-12, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is a small base with a lot of history and character. From the red brick buildings and stables from the Calvary days to the antelope, ground squirrel,birds and cottonwoods ... it really has character. Unfortunately, the Fam Camp itself looks like it is need of some serious TLC. There is no camp host, the office personnel was on loan from Laramie and we never saw any kind of grounds keeper/maintenance while there (nor had others we spoke to....) The grass is very over grown and ground squirrels have taken over. There are 2 washer/dryer combos in the office, and at $1.75/$1.50 a load respectively, I thought that was a tad pricey for a Fam Camp. Plenty of green spaces, including dry camping in fields which looked great. The sites themselves were gravel. The base boasts two lakes and a stream. The commissary was in the process of a face lift while we were there. This place has tons of potential and I hope they clean it up. Over all we liked the base & the area and would probably still return.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
July 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The location is great if you are traveling across country on I-80 to stop overnight the value can't be beat! The rest is minimum in rating! It is very hard to get an answer from the desk if you are going to get a hook up space or need to go to overflow. The wi-fi does not go to all locations in the Fam Camp, but you can get cell phone hot spot wi-fi in overflow parking, because there are not trees. Down side of the overflow location is lots of bugs! It did not appeared that there was any kind of bug spraying that took place. The easy directional signs that were place to help find the Fam Camp in 2015 were not there in 2016, and the gate guards gave the wrong directions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
3-17 Aug, 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I would like to agree with the last posting. I tried to get in for Frontier Days but they said they were booked already, strange considering I called May beginning of June, for a reservation for mid-July. I changed my schedule and decided not to attend this year. From the road: I then tried to call three times (over three weeks) to finally get a return call, after calling the “2988” number (the voice mail says your call will be returned within 24 hrs.) Finally speaking to someone there I received a return call from the famcamp within 10 minutes and booked my reservation. The day of arrival, I received a text 20 miles from the base. The directions that were given brought me through the front gate….OMG I’m 71’plus with the trailer…its tight but we maneuvered through and around the circle taking both lanes. I guess I should have read the posted directions from this web site. Arrived at the CG and not much has changed in a year. The entry road is still the gravel road and dusty. The back road has no bridge left. The host was at the office and my site ready (same site as last year). There have been no upgrades made in a year, if anything it has deteriorated. The wifi is still the same and they use the same excuse as a year ago, the connection is good in the first three rows but little to nothing in the last row. They say because they are historic buildings they can’t do anything. A tree trimming and an underground wire with a wifi antenna in the middle of the CG would change everything. There still is the same home steading individuals as last year and more stuff outside. Freezers outside their campers, snow shovels, toys, storage bins, lumber lying around and a/c units hanging out the window. As far as the “Cabin” rental goes.. you guessed it “home steading” too. This is probably the most miss managed Famcamp in the Air Force. They have completely thrown out the regulations and the Command has turned a blind eye. I can’t understand how these people can stay here in the winter without water and sewer hookup. I can’t understand how the Installation Commander would allow NAF to operate a place like this. They need to use the money made here and put it back into the FamCamp. Averaging around $3200 plus a month they sure can make some improvements. They said during Frontier Days the place was completely packed, another major money maker. As the last reviewer said, “They have a nice golf course. “ If they spent just a fraction of the money that’s put into that course into this Famcamp this place would be a great destination. On a positive note.. Cheyenne is full of things to do and see. The installation is absolutely full of history. Next year’s trip will not have F E Warren AFB on the places to stay. I’ll find somewhere else in the Cheyenne area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
30 Jul - 2 Aug 15
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Below average famcamp. Had a gravel, pull-thru site. It was very close to the site on the backside. Felt bad for the backside neighbors because if they sat outside, they were right next to our sewer hose. Roads were all dirt (very dusty). As mentioned previously, there are some permanent homesteaders here--it is all too apparent with all their "stuff" everywhere around their site. Could use more enforcement of the rules. Could only get wifi at the office and that was very small and cramped--located with the laundry area. A few positives: famcamp staff texted directions to the camp the day before arrival and they took us thru the front gate. It was easy enough to get thru with a 35' Class A w/towable. Directions took us directly to the famcamp with no problems. FE Warren AFB is a quite historical location. If you just take a walk around, there are numerous little signs describing the historical significance of different sites and buildings--very interesting. Also, the pronghorn antelope are everywhere and that is kind of neat to see. Played golf on the base golf course and there were so many pronghorn antelope, I felt like I had my own gallery. However, all that being said, If I were to come to this area again, I would probably look elsewhere for a place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 Aug 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We made a reservation 30 days in advance, and the fam camp called us two days prior to out visit to ask us to release our reservation so that a PCS person could use it as their housing was not available yet. We agreed and they asked if they would like for them to try to find a spot in the local civilian parks. At first we said we would try to find a spot our self however we were on the road and could not get info on the local parks we called Warren back and said we would like them to try to find us a spot. A few hours later they called and said they had a cancellation and we ww would be able to stay at Warren. We have stayed here in the past and usually arrive after hours. The clubhouse is always locked and unless we ask a neighbor we don't know the combo for the door. It would ne nice if the office people would either provide us the combo when we make the reservation or email it to us. Overall, an average spot for the night and the price is decent.
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
9 July 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
L.B. left this review using the Directory software: - When I made my reservation I requested a pull through site and was told I would get one. I tow my Goldwing trike on a trailer behind the motor home. Arrived on a Saturday afternoon. Nobody there and no camp host. Just a sign on the office door telling you which site. I would have missed it if there weren't other campers in the building using the wifi. The site was not a pull through and it was so small that in order to park I would have to disconnect my trailer and store it in the overflow area. Needless to say, I just parked in the overflow area and left my trailer connected. All of this info should have been made known to me when I made the reservation. Being in the overflow area without electric or water was OK and If I had known in advance I could have saved $10. The campground is nice and quiet and it is a beautiful base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
18-23 June, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - We are a 45 foot motorhome. I would estimate that only about 10 sites are large enough. Also, if you have a satellite dish, be sure to ask for one of the pull throughs (sites 33-40) as other sites have lots of big trees. |In addition, some of the sites in the first row (11-14), have the hook-ups on the wrong side unless you nose in, versus back in. The camp host was very nice and as helpful as could be. The one stretch of gravel in the amended directions is easy and much smoother than the paved (gravelly and with pot holes) road, so in the future I plan to always use the amended directions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 22, 2013
(Updated: June 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The commercial gate is permanently closed you must use gate 1. Take exit 11 from I-25, Randall Ave, go down two lights and turn left on Old Glory. Go to the first light and turn left on Missile Rd. then look for the small famcamp sign and dirt rd on the right.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2012
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
T.M. left this review using the Directory software: - I agree with all the other comments but the laundry room and shower were dirty. The pull through sites are very small, they have it set up for 2 campers to face each other no privacy, seemed to have some homesteaders too. Saw new picnic tables at all the sites even though the existing tables were ok, seemed to be a waste of money that could have gone to fix the roads or upgrade other things. Host was nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17-20 Aug, 2012
(Updated: August 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stayed 3 nights, Aug 17-20, 2012 Had no problem with the directions, we had made reservations, and signed in with no problems. I could not get the internet to work at anyplace in the campground, and there wasn't any attendant to get help from all weekend. I did tap into the base library with no problem, which isn't very far away. Place was clean, and there were several places never used over the weekend. Lots of history on base, and a very lovely base as well. We visited Vedeawoo State Park 25 miles west on I80, a must see place. Did not have any problem setting up my satellite TV. We will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
13-15 Aug 2012
(Updated: August 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Came through Gate 2 off of I-25 south. When approaching the inspection building the airman on duty waved us through to the gate area. Followed the directions to the Famcamp with no problems. Watch for low hanging limbs on the trees when navigating to park roads. My magnetic internet antenna was pulled off the roof. We were in site 35, a wide pull-through that shares the driveway with another RV but with plenty of room. You share water hookup with the RV next door. Outstanding water pressure so you might need a reducer. Observed several dogs running off-leach and a lot of dog pooh in the overflow areas. Not all sites can get a satellite signal if you have a stationary antenna; pull-throughs will have no problem. WiFi is available but only in or near office. Our Verizon aircard was OK but up and down during the day. Some noise from trains at all hours. Small commissary and BX, but adequate. Club is open for lunch buffet with specials everyday. MWR has no discounts for Cheyenne area but does have tickets for Denver attractions. Be sure to visit the Frontier Days Old West Museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23 July 2012
(Updated: July 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Went to Gate 2, sign said RV's must be inspected. Pulled into line, Airmen were polite but confused as to why we were coming thru the commercial gate. Told them about the sign, they shrugged, and let us go. FamCamp was down a washboard road. 10 mi speed limit was more than we could handle. Camp is in a small depression -- hills on all sides. Very pleasant surroundings where pronghorn and white tail deer abound. Cheyenne Frontier Days in progress, and camp was full, so we got overflow -- a field with many rodent holes, but adequate. No trash cans. Observed several dogs running around unleashed. One dog was tied to a picnic table next to a tent, and the owner didn't show up for over 5 hours. The old Ft Russell housing was impressive -- a sight to behold. Worth the visit just to see that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
10 June 2012
(Updated: June 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stayed one night in June in a 2012 3685RL Bighorn 5th wheel. Management non-existent & sights dirty. People allow children to run around unsupervised & dogs unleashed & not picked up after (watch where you walk). The base is spotless & a great place to see if you are into history. There are many old buildings. The campground is tight & spaces small for today's RVs & needs a manager who wants to do more then collect a pay check.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
25-27 June 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: You must enter the main gate on weekends, it's the only one open. It was very easy to find based on website instructions. Once inside there was road construction on Old Glory Rd so you can't turn there as signed. Follow Randall Rd almost to its end where it curves to the left and joins Missile Dr. Entrance to Famcamp is marked but could easily be missed. The camp is rather shabby, grass not cut, trees could use a trimming. In their defense it's a natural area so........The sites are quite small and close together. The laundry was fine. We didn't interact with any of the personnel. Office was closed when we arrived. Our reserved site number was posted so it was no problem finding where we needed to be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2