F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (111)
79833   1   24   1   31

User reviews

41 reviews with 4 stars

111 reviews

 
(23)
 
(41)
 
(35)
 
(7)
 
(5)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
4.0  (111)
 
3.5  (111)
 
3.3  (111)
 
3.6  (111)
 
3.6  (111)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
41 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July, 2018

We stayed at this Famcamp this summer and really enjoyed it. Gate 1 provided easy access despite the barriers for our 40 ft MH. Enjoyed seeing antelope in the campground and got some great pix of a large bobcat on a ridge overlooking the campground. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 29, 2018

Nice and quiet. Elect. hookup only water was not on. But for $10. it's a good deal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 22, 2017

Called on the 21st to get a reservation. Was told we had site 36 but since Outdoor Recreation's computer and the Famcamp do not talk to each other, if someone is in that site check on the office door for availability. I asked about someone putting reserved signs on the sites. The young girl said that "Oh yeah, they do that". When we arrived our site was empty with no sign on it but site 37 had one. No one was in the office so we called Outdoor Rec to pay for our site with a credit card. Fairly level pull-through with 50 amp electric. Shares a electric pedestal with the next door site so when they pulled in they had to use the 30 amp hookup. We could connect to the WiFi but was so slow it was unusable. Good Verizon 4g and DTV satellite signals. There are a lot of "long-term" folks staying in the park. Although a couple of folks most likely are there for legitimate reasons, most were all retired military. It is obvious that the 30 day limit is not enforced in those cases. On gentleman told me he has been there for 4 months. When I asked him how he gets away with staying more than 30 days he just said he has his ways and walked off.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 1 - Aug 23, 2017

We have been here three times over the last 10 years. WiFi has been a major improvement. Washer Dryer facility very limited for the number of potential users. Great location for local attractions, biking, jogging, etc. I suggest checking out the local laundry in town. Same price, excellent accessibility, about 4-5 miles from famcamp. My only confusion is why the AF is allowing so many of the recreation famcamps to be used as semi permanent housing for active duty and/or contractors. I can understand tdy or new arrivals or those departing housing prior to leaving, but there are more than not that are just turning the famcamp into a trailer park. I'm just not sure that this is in the spirit or intent of famcamps. While here I observed many large RVs moving from site to site so as to extend their stay. If the park was fully available and enforced the 30 day limit there would likely not be any problem except for during Frontier Days. Based on what I see across the AF Bases, Active Duty have realized that this is a great way to stay on base and save a ton of money provided for housing allowance. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24 - 26 Sep 2016

Crow Creek is our second favorite FAMCAMP (right behind the AF Academy). If you want resort amenities this is not the place for you. If you want a nice, quiet place to relax and visit the area Crow Creek is wonderful. There are train tracks nearby, but the trains are few and never loud. Water and sewer were still on while we were there, but it's always best to call ahead and check after mid-September even if you don't need a reservation. As always, the bathrooms are well kept, so electric only camping here would not be a problem. The primary campground entrance off Missile Drive is back in use after the bridge washouts of the last few years. The rebuilt bridge over Crow Creek looks much sturdier than earlier versions. The homesteaders, like the people with the outside refrigerator (were there for years - see earlier reviews by several folks) have been moved out. They're trying to accommodate longer term stays needed for valid reasons while getting back to being a limited stay rec facility. We applaud the effort but believe it's produced mixed results so far. We love this FAMCAMP, the base and Cheyenne. We'll return as often as we can.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10 Sep 2016

We arrived on the weekend and to enter through the front gate. There is a traffic circle just inside the gate with elevated curbs so take extreme caution. Traffic was light so I was able to use both lanes with no issues. The wildlife on the base was extra special. Be sure to follow the directions to the fam-camp as the low underpass's will stop you. The office at the FC is toward the back. Stay to the right and follow the road around the park. We were late arriving and we were told somebody would be around to collect the fee. We only stayed overnight and nobody came around. We went back to the office and deposited our money in the self-pay box (it was out of envelopes the night before). The base gas station has diesel and is big rig friendly depending on traffic. There were a few homesteaders but there was plenty of room otherwise. They do take reservations and we had been assigned a spot which was posted on the office door. All in all a nice place to stay either short or long stay. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 26, 2016

We were very satisfied with the family camp at this air force base. They went beyond their duties to make sure we were well taken care of. Donna, at the office in family camp was so kind and helpful. We had a special need, as I had an emergency visit and 2 day stay at the local hospital. The complications which occurred because of this, were handled with expertise by Donna.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2015

I'm having a difficult time reviewing F.E. Warren for our June stay because it was much better than a terrible stay in 2010. I did everything possible to make sure my reservation was correct and had a text and email verifying the reservation, but in spite of best efforts, it was screwed up and someone else was in the site they assigned me to. After some anxious waiting they found me a spot. My overall stay was good because my daughter and son in law live in Cheyenne and it was so convenient to their home. To be fair the gravel pull through, full hook up site I had was fine but many of the other sites, not so much. There are a few homesteaders in the park with trashy sites and junk outside. Pot holes need to be repaired and trees desperately need to be trimmed. The staff members seem nice enough but they don't seem to be around much. Washers and dryers were good. They were crowded while we were there. There seems to be plenty of room for additional sites. The whole park needs maintenance. We are at the Air Force Academy now and there is no comparison.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 21 - August 13, 2014

This is a nice FamCamp and we would stay here again if we were in the Cheyenne area. The pros: level gravel sites, excellent hookups, satellite accessible (if you specify such a site when you make your reservation), and Donna (manager) is very helpful and accessible. She organized a FamCamp potluck, while we were there, and the office provided the main course. There is WiFi in the office which is accessible in your RV if you have a signal booster. The cons: the grass areas between the RV sites are mowed infrequently and they harbored thistles, and the gravel access roads and gravel sites make for a bit of a mess when it rains or when it is dry and dusty. There is a nice (medium sized) commissary and exchange on the base. Diesel is available on base at the Shoppette. There are nice fitness facilities (2) and a small library on base. The library has a nice selection of movies (DVDs) which you can borrow for free.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2014

We stayed there May 2014 and I asked the mgr. why the grass was not mowed and she replied that the contract for mowing the grass stated it could not be mowed until it reached 18" tall. I told her how unacceptable that was and she said that is the way MWR wrote the contract because it is a secondary land use area. Housing just over the railroad tracks was mowed on a regular basis. Other wise it was a pleasant place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Late June 2014

Although reservations are recommended elsewhere on this site, we had no trouble getting a spot for two nights in late June without them. All sites are gravel and fairly level with good utilities. Most are shaded. About 8 are pull through. We did notice one trailer that seemed to be set up permanently, but most folks seemed like us. It was a pleasant place. Not much on base but we did play the golf course along with the antelope and found a business area nearby with Albertson's grocery store. (Commissary is closed on Mondays.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

28 May to 18 June, 2014

Let's see... "location". It's in Wyoming "Why"oming? Cheyenne can really make you appreciate wherever it is that you came from. As far as the base, it's very historic and mostly empty. Actually, so the was the Fam Camp when we were there - which was just fine with us. There are homesteaders, one of whom seems to have spread over several spots. This did not create a problem while we were there - apparently off-season, but in-season rates ($20). The Camp itself is in a low area with lots of trees and very nicely set up. Wifi? Nah. A stick antenna in the window of the office. You could get good reception by coming to the office or in the 'reading room' next door. The manager, Donna, is very nice and helpful as is the rest of the staff. 2 washers, 3 dryers @ $1.75 (a high for me). Bathrooms are CLEAN! The spots are quite level. We stayed here because there are almost no campgrounds in the Fort Collins, CO area, and the drive is an easy 40 miles. I'd stay again. Oh, and watch out folk with AT&T - you have to be outstanding in your field.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 10, 2014

LOVE staying at Warren FamCamp. Directions are spot on so drivers need to pay attention! The base is gorgeous and green grass accentuates the old brick and white trimmed buildings. Prong Horn love being at Warren as well since they graze everywhere and at times stroll through FamCamp. Donna in the office is very efficient and keeps the place running smoothly. She organized a Retiree Appreciation BBQ while we were there. Campers were either told about the BBQ at check-in or they could read a posted sign in the office. Sadly, my husband and I were the only 2 people to attend. Perhaps handing out flyers - coach to coach - would provide a more successful turnout. As with all FamCamp, they are self-sustaining and in some cases quite profitable. Even so, there was only ONE washer in the laundry room but FOUR dryers. That creates issues for when you can do wash unless you want to do it in the middle of the night. We have been coming here for years and will continue to do so.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8-11 June 2014

Follow the instructions that are posted above. Make sure you call to see if the creek is not flooding!! We arrived late and the sign for the FamCamp was blown down at the alternate entrance. Our name was posted on the door with the assigned site. The sites are graveled and fairly level. At the site I was on the WiFi was not available but my MyFi Verizon worked well. There is some homesteading, the first clue is a large upright freezer sitting outside their camper, and you’ll see it once you pull in. The Base sent a motor grader to grade out all the roads throughout the FamCamp because of the heavy rains over the past week. The Base has allot of history in itself, Pershing's house all the Army Cav buildings. Plenty of things to do in Cheyenne and allot of it free as stated in other reviews. I would be sure to make reservations well in advance for major events in Cheyenne! Over-all, for the 20 a night I would have expected a bit more at least wifi throughout the campground. Also there seems to be a complete lack of pet enforcement and clean-up rules, disturbing. With all that said, If you like military history there is allot of it here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

15 - 20 April, 2014

Q.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Facilities were very clean and well maintained. We camped under their winter rules; therefore, no on site water or sewage was available. Water was available in office building on site. Laundry facilities, showers, and toilets are available and were cleaned on a daily basis. Sites were large, graveled ones. Very nice FAM CAMP.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept. 11-15, 2013

The location is at a crossroads, as several people found out when the roads got washed out in Colorado and they had to stay someplace until they opened, again; the campground was very clean, the restrooms were small, but clean, and the hosts were very friendly; the base amenities are a bit dated, but they are there. The Chow Hall is closed for renovation and the base is on BAH until Spring 2014; I think this FAMCAMP is a great value, being so close to Cheyenne(5 minutes), and all of the rich history there is to explore (including the State Museum right across from the Capitol Building, which is totally FREE!); Overall, we had a great experience, even with three days of downpours (our tent stayed dry as a bone), and we would definitely stay here, again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 July - 19 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. D.A. Russell/F.E. Warren itself is a historical treasure. Yes, there are a few people who seem to be homesteading. There were two trailers clearly set up for the long term in the overflow area, and we also noted the RV with the home fridge next to it. However, we saw no signs of excessive homesteading, and there are valid reasons base authorities may allow long term stays at FamCamps. Cheyenne is a great place to spend a few weeks. The camp staff is friendly and welcoming, but not too knowledgeable. Hopefully they will be stable and learn as they gain experience. Staff apologized for low capability WiFi routers when we checked in, but we found the service to be fine except when the camp was completely full. We're train fans so the mostly distant whistles and trains going by the camp were plus for us. Pronghorn Antelope wander throughout the base and FamCamp (watch out for the leavings). This is a nice, peaceful camp, and we look forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2,2013

This is 5 minutes from down town Cheyenne. This is a great location to tour the city. The base is very nice, good playground for kids and indoor pool. The campground is not as nice as the rest of the base. It needed mowing and it appeared to have a decent amount of people living there. We parked next to someone that had a full size fridge built outside and an other person with generators and solar panels behind us. This gives the campground a different atmosphere. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The streets are gravel and small but drivable. This is Location, Location, Location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2013

Nice small FamCamp. Good location if you're traveling on I-25. Interesting things to do in Cheyenne - try the trolley ride @ the old RR Depot. If you want a site open for satellite you'll be a bit crowded and you park with one rig headed in and one headed out so you'll have no private space outside. Good Commissary & PX facilities. Staff is friendly and efficient. They keep the facility clean and mowed. Note when you drive in thru the picnic area you are at the back corner of the FamCamp - the office is diagonally in the opposite corner. Better to find a place to park your rig on one of the roads and walk the short distance to the office to register.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 21- June 25, 2013

Wanted to add the directions best to gain entry from I-25. I-25 South Exit at exit 11 and turn right onto Randolf ave, I-25 North exit 11 and turn Left onto Randolf and proceed through a very nice new gate complex at the 2nd stop light (Old Glory Rd) turn left pass over the RR tracks and turn right onto Missile drive and follow the signs. Don't get nervy as the signs sort of fall short at the four way stop, but you will need to proceed straight and then in about 3/4 mile you will see a small famcamp sign and then prepare to turn right onto a SMALL dirty/gravel road. GO SLOW and I mean less than 10 mph. Follow it around and GO wide at the small narrow bridge and watch for ruts in the roadway on your way to the office. Watch for the HIDDEN RUT whoop-de-do about 300 feet from the office as you round the last corner, we tossed a whole bunch of stuff. Wifi is Excellent. Grass needs mowing bad. Staff is very friendly. Sites are laid out weird so please walk your spot and how to get to it first. ---- Lots to see in Cheyenne. We spent over a week and still didn't do everything. Our site was number 11 which was perfectly shaded by the huge cotton wood trees
the guys came and started cutting the grass the morning we left. Will sty there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
41 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3