F.E. Warren AFB Crow Creek FamCamp

Featured New
 
3.6 (108)
76230   0   24   1   30

User reviews

20 reviews with 5 stars

108 reviews

 
(20)
 
(41)
 
(35)
 
(7)
 
(5)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
4.0  (108)
 
3.5  (108)
 
3.3  (108)
 
3.5  (108)
 
3.6  (108)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
20 results - showing 1 - 20  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 3 - Jul 5, 2018

We spent one week moving between Denver and Casper WY. Gate 1 will allow a larger RV through (I have a 39ft 5th Wheel and had no problem with the barriers. Be aware that some sites have the Power/Water/Sewer connections on the wrong side, unless you are a class A/C that pulls in nose first. You will hear a train (no whistles) from time to time and the antelope are everywhere. The post is not maintaining historical markers, but there enough to get the feel of the old Calvary fort. The BX gas station has Diesel pumps available. This is a great place to stay and explore the city. Yes, they doubled the rate for Frontier Days (unless you had prepaid before they announced the increase.) 2019 expect the increased rate when you make your reservation. We'd stop here again. The 3 for facilities is because we didn't use them, so a neutral number.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August through September 2017

This campground is really nice and on a historic base with full facilities. Anything you can find at any AFB world wide you can find at F.E.Warren (except Space A Flights). Warren is right next to Cheyenne, Wyoming and it's attractions, just off I-25. Easy to get to from either I-25 or I-80 (just turn north on 25 to the next exit). The pluses they offer are low cost, close distance to commissary and BX, & within walking distance to the theatre, library, bowling alley, and recreation center with pool. As well as to the mess hall which is open to all. Golf course is 7 minute drive away. The two slight negatives are (1) the Railroad track that boarders the campground on the north (noise) and (2) the creek which provides LOTS of mosquitoes, during the summer. Lucky for all, summer doesn't begin until late May, and ends early September here. They open soon after the beginning of May (usually) and close by October 1st (usually) because it snows in both September and May in Cheyenne --- so water may not be on. There are sites with 50 amps and some with only 30 amp hookups. The showers have lots of hot water, the laundry has plenty of washers and dryers, and you can almost always get a space. However, NOT during Cheyenne Frontier Days and the week before, when they are usually 100% booked up, a full year in advance. The annual Freedom Celebration on the 4th of July is best viewed from the base right across I-25 with great fireworks. The base usually has a family picnic too on the 4th. There is lots to see and do in Cheyenne, including the State Museum, other museums, and parks. There is a UP Big Boy in one of the parks if you like trains. There is also once a year an open house at the UP round house where you can see the current Steam Engines UP keeps running and talk to the crew that maintains them. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 8-22, 2017

Nice small famcamp. Nice place for a short stay. We stayed 2 weeks and most probably will only stay a week next year. Quiet and a lot of trees and open areas. Everyone on base was very friendly. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 25, 2017

Great place at a great price. I do think that the weeds could be mowed but who wants to camp on a golf course. We have stayed at numerous places during the past 6 weeks and this place was better then most. The civilian worker that runs the camp was very nice and informative, and even got us in a day early. We were in town for the Frontier Days Rodeo and enjoyed our stay. We will be back if in the area again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 5, 2016

Loved the pronghorns and jack rabbits that roam around. The base is just off the interstate making it easy to get around. My husband had an emergency so the VA took him. They were fast, caring and it's close. The campground, Donald and Bev were very understanding to give us an open move out date to get him to feeling better. The grounds were kept up. Picnic tables are at each site and laundry area clean. $1.75 wash and $1.50 dry. It was during labor day weekend and the campground was fairly full. Dry camping available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2016

Fantastic! Great base, Great people. My wife fell in love with this place. All I could do to drag her out. The town is right there and if you need or want it, they have it. We were invited to watch the cattle drive from the pasture to the fairgrounds for frontier days. The wild life on base and the old buildings were Great. Thanks! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2015

We stayed for 2 weeks in the summer of 2015. Everyday we got up excited to be in Cheyenne in general and at F.E.Warren in particular. There were a few minor things that could have been better, but having said that we most definitely look forward to being here again. Most of the complaints I heard were because folks did not follow the directions that were given - DO NOT TRY TO COME UNDER THE RAILROAD BRIDGE!!! Two folks did and two folks were very unhappy with the results; it is not high enough to accommodate 5th wheels or motor homes - it is 11 foot 6 inches, and the air conditioners on the roofs will not survive. The only thing that encouraged us to leave is the changing leaves and the snow that will soon follow. This camp may not have all the up-to date amenities, but is has 50 amp service - water - and septic at the sites. And incredible beauty and history everywhere. Thanks F.E.Warren for the beautiful memories that my wife and I have told and re-told to all our friends and family.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 1 - 4 2014

Made our reservation on the Saturday before Labor Day and when we arrived our name and site number were posted on the office door. Nice facilities but two things prevented a 5 - very poorly maintained road into the park and the apparent long termer's sites. Broken chairs and a full sized refrigerator do not come close to meeting 'military' standards. Staff was great and this place is so close to downtown Cheyenne and all that city has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2014

Great family camp and run very well. Friendly staff and a pleasure dealing with them. Stayed in 2003 in my trailer and back July 2014 on my way to Sturgis, riding and camping the whole way. $10 nightly for tent and I'm told dry camp. WiFi signal in park weak but office strong. Office and laundry open 24/7 but no management on site after 1800. Run professionally and nice place. Camp full because of "Frontier Days" here in Cheyenne. Gate 1 is open 24/7 but you go under 11'6" bridge so RVs need to use Gate 2 or get direction @ 1 after hours.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 18-20, 2014

Call first for current information. Gate 1 is closed, Gate 2 is open, the creek is flooded, also the gravel road from Missile Rd. and the clearance on the tunnels is 11'6" so there is no reason for all campers to avoid them. A better instruction would be to know the height of your RV including whatever is on the roof. The gate guards are supposed to be giving directions, according to the manager. This is one of my favorite FAMCAMPS. We had only electric this visit for $10/nt because it's still winter rates. They are in the process of turning the water on. The restrooms and excellent laundry are still available and the wifi is good in spots. Only one obvious homesteader. Gravel sites with grass surrounding them and a picnic table. Wonderful shade trees. The Nature Trail is very nice and is a good walk.

Creekflooded.jpg
Tunnel.jpg
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 10 to 12, 2012

We were here for two nights in the off- season and enjoyed both the picturesque campground and the $10 rate (50A only - no water). It was a pleasant 1-1/4 mile walk to the BX / commissary. The antelope were everywhere and fun to watch. BTW We spoke to the outdoor rec folks before we came in and learned which gate to use. They are doing a lot of work on base on the gates - so gate 1 on Randall was open but under active construction and had been modified with a much higher clearance to allow Semis and big RVs to use it. Gate 5 on Central was open but was closing on Monday for mods. Gate 2 on Missile Drive was closed temporarily but was opening next week. So call the office to find out which gate to use depending on the day of the week and what time of day you are arriving. We called Outdoor Rec @ 307-773-2988 (while their mailing address is on Randall Ave, they are physically located at 6205 15th Cavalry Ave) and they were very helpful. Also, the under passes under the railroad from Randall to the famcamp and at S. Creek and S. Frontier are only 11'5" to 12'5" so use Old Glory Rd (no under or over pass) to Missile Dr and take it past the BX / commissary to the camp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 7, 2012

Very nice little FamCamp. We are here in the off-season, so no water or sewer, but $10 for 50amp power is a bargain! It was great fun to see the resident antelope herd wandering through the campground. Nicely wooded with level gravel sites, some pull-throughs for big rigs. We chose a back-in and it was just barely big enough for our 34' Class A, even hanging off the back of the site. We arrived on a Saturday when Gate 2/Missile Drive was closed- Outdoor Rec had told us to use Gate 5 on Central Ave (which also turned out to be closed) but the guy in the Pass and ID Office said Gate 5 was for commercial rigs only (even though the highway signs say vehicle combinations over 30' use Gate 5) Anyway, we used Gate 1/Randall Drive. No problems. If you enter at Gate 1, do NOT come into the FamCamp directly from Randall Drive with a high-profile rig- there is an 11' underpass at the entrance to the FamCamp. Cut over to Missile Drive by going left (south)on Old Glory Rd or S. Frontier Rd. The FamCamp is just a short ways past the commissary and exchange complex, on the right hand (north) side of Missile Drive. We got a decent Verizon signal for our Internet aircard and for the phone as well. No signal for our ATT aircard.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

9-12 Aug 2011

Called a day ahead and got reservation with no problem. When we arrived names were on board outside office with what site to take. Full hookup, water sewer, power 30amp site, no cable but picked up several channels on antennae, WIFI at the office area only. We came in gate 2 and drove straight down Missile to gravel road leading to CG, this gate has limited hours. If you come in gate 1 there are only a couple of roads to get back over to Missile road, other roads leading to that side have LOW RR bridges, anywhere from 12'6" down to 11'6". The Shoppette is near gate 1 and the BX and commissary are near gate 2. Easy to get on and off base with DOD sticker and ID, I25 just outside the gate. It's about 5 minutes to the city and directions are simple. The campsites are gravel and relatively level, we did no leveling at all. Water, sewer and power hookups are convenient and in good state of repair. The bath house is located next to the office and look fairly new in a brick building. Most of the sites are back in but there are a number of pull thru as well. Plenty of wildlife around the base, lots of geese and pronghorn all around. At $20 a night we felt this CG was a good bargain. The only things I saw that need some attention is landscaping. I would definitely return if in this area of the country again and would recommend this CG to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 14-29, 2010

I really want to write a completely negative comment just to keep people away from this outstanding FAMCAMP but I just couldn't do that to Richard. The best in the system? No, but we really had a great stay. We came in gate 2 (Missile Drive) and followed the sign that stated RV's had to stop at the red barn but quickly an airman came over to the RV and said we didn't have to get inspected. I think that is only for exercises. Also think it doesn't matter which gate RV's enter since there aren't any barricades to negotiate at gate 1 or 2 and when we left we had to go out gate 1. Directions on this and the FE Warren FAMCAMP website were good as was the signage directing us to the temporary road. The temporary road is no problem for any size rig. We have a 40' Monaco, towing, and had no problems. In fact, after walking the dog on the old, original drive that was closed due to flooding I liked the temporary road better since it was smoother. No ruts or potholes. The original drive is partial pavement (breaking up) and gravel with ruts and potholes, narrow spots and one sharp turn. They have super fast wi-fi but only in the office unless you get a close site. We could not get a signal from our site (#34) but it's a short walk to the office and the furniture, although old, was comfortable. No cable but we had no problem getting a satellite signal from our site. There is a laundry room at the office with 3 washers and 3 dryers that cost $.75 a load. Dryers were super hot. The laundry room is where we ran into our first negative experience. When my wife started laundry there was a worker in the office and unlike Richard this guy was rude and obnoxious to my wife. When I went in the guy didn't say a word and acted like I just interrupted his nap. In fact I might have being his clothes were all wrinkled, he was dirty, and just plain nasty. I'm not sure if he was on the staff or a volunteer or what but he needs to go. A few other negatives were all because of the other campers. We could never enjoy a morning or evening sitting outside because although the speed limit in the campground is 10 mph very few people seemed to want to go that speed or slower and it is dusty and windy and we would just get covered. The other problem was the campers who insisted on having their dogs off the leash. The German shepherd scared our little Cocker Spaniel. Since Richard doesn't enforce the rules I don't think the Air Force should waste the money printing up the rules and regulations. It's really hard to believe we were all leaders at some level at one time and yet very few follow the rules now. It seems once some people retire every leadership trait ever learned goes out the window. As far as price it didn't seem that bad to me. Curt Gowdy State Park is only $10 for residents and $17 for non-residents and is comparable to FE Warren as far as what they have to offer. They do have lakes nearby though. Most of the others cost more just to get cable TV. From $31.95 to $41.99 before any discounts or taxes. Being our son is stationed at FE Warren we will definitely be back and will definitely stay at this FAMCAMP.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 12 - 17, 2010

Sites are fine. There are trees between the rows. Richard, the manager, is hospitable and goes out of his way to work out any problems. Through a communication problem that was neither the camp's fault nor mine, our reservations were canceled. Richard took my husband to see the available sites and gave us our choice. Everything worked out just fine. The other office staff were courteous and friendly. The restrooms and laundry are immaculate. There are prong horn visits every day. The museum on base is a must see. Food in the dining facility is good and quite reasonable. I rated value and amenities/facilities at 4 because cable tv should be one of the amenities for the $20/night rate. We will return to the camp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 10-15, 2010

This is one of the best Famcamps I have been to. The location, staff, and price were unbeatable! I really enjoy Wyoming and this location was so outstanding that we decided to stay 5 days. Its also just a short haul to Rushmore, if you want to stay in that cool Mountain altitude just a little longer! I highly highly recommend this camp. When you come in the 2nd gate is under construction. I used the main gate; Randal road; think the bridge clearance was over 14 feet. I also recommend asking the gate guard or current directions; since the construction on the gate changes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 2007

Very nice facility and we would stay here again. Internet service available at base library to check email. Close (1-2 miles) to modern BX/commisary complex.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 31 to June 3 2007

This was our first Fam Camp and we enjoyed the people and the base. The Prong Horns came right into the camp and the nature trail was great although short...base was very neat. Alltel Air Card worked great. The trains were neat to watch as we have coal trains running thru our small town every 15 min. We will return to this camp again on our way to the Rockies.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 17-20 2007

This was a 2nd visit and this time 50 amp was available...rustic campground with more amenities than some. Quaint base that is very clean and quiet and dining hall available for retirees. Hosts not yet at office till June... we are a 35 foot rv and there were bigger rv's than us-spaces available. Paid $15/nite. Would return again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jul 2006

Personnel, attitude, hospitality A+!! Clean Showers and laundry room. Very professionally run. There are prettier camps, but not many that make you feel like you're home! The staff goes above and beyond to meet campers' needs. Donna, Tori, and Buddy are SUPERB! Definately needs a playground for the little ones. Was told that 50amp is on the way.

Was this review helpful to you? 
20 results - showing 1 - 20