Lake Martin Recreation Area

Featured
 
3.6 (30)
95227 0 22 1 19

User reviews

9 reviews with 5 stars
30 reviews
 
30%
 
23%
 
30%
 
13%
 
3%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.2(30)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.3(30)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.2(30)
Value
 
3.6(30)
Overall Experience
 
3.5(30)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering
March 2008 - July 2012
(Updated: July 06, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My family and I have rented a RV site for the last 4 years. We have been visiting this area for over 12 years when we have been stationed nearby. We absolutely love this place. It is a great vacation get away. It provides wonderful opportunities to have quality family time. We also have had several work gatherings here as well. Our military friends and co-workers are always in aw by the beauty of the lake. Several of our friends (active duty) have joined us and hold permanent places. So don’t be scared away from the previous postings about the cranky retired folks. :) Lake Martin is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, and we have been stationed from New York to Alaska. Yes, I agree it isn’t the most lavish of all facilities and a little work is needed here or there, but the people who work there are very kind and always helpful. If you are looking for a relaxing, slow paced vacation this is the place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14 Jan 2012
(Updated: January 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The Maxwell/Gunter Rec. Area is back in operation. It sustained a lot of damage from the tornado, but the staff is working to get everything back in order.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our family went to Lake Martin in March 2010 had a blast hiking, swimming, cooking out and such BUT when we went to do some fishing we soon figured what the man was talking about on this blog.. The people who are living there were not very nice to our family we went to go on the dock that is out there and an older man walked out to tell us were were going on his dock. I thought he was joking but there soon after we realized he wasn't at all but very serious. He had a swing set up, outdoor grass, satellite, flower beds everything you would have at your HOUSE set up there. I have to say that made us very angry that this was a REC facility for military members to enjoy but it seemed very much like we were at a trailer park. WOW!! I will go back but I really hope that they figure this issue out and do something about it. Act like it is a campground and not a trailer park!! PLZZZZ
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
Mar 19 - 24 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place for peace and quiet and to enjoy the lake. Did get a chance for walks and to sit by the lake, feed the very tame ducks who came to visit everyday and watch the sun go down. Asked about the 'full timers' they were there before the policy for max stays was in effect, as the manager said they help pay the bills for the slow times. One thing to mention that the town of Dadeville is approx 6 mls from the lake, at the closest Walmart it 14 mls. So you may want to stock up for the stay. Will be sure to come back given the chance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 13-15 of 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband and I and our twin daughters just returned from a weekend staying in Chalet 3. We had a wonderful time and the facilities are awesome!! One of the staff named Amanda was so very friendly and so welcoming! We plan on bringing the whole family back in August and are counting the days! Brenda S.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Dec 31, 2009 to January 2, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just arrived home after spending New Years Eve and Day at Chalet 1. It was the perfect place to bring in the new year!! It is an oasis of peace and quiet and with no distractions it was so very restful! We plan on making another reservation to bring my sister down for her birthday and we cannot wait until we are back!! Doug was so very friendly as was a young man with the name of Lindsay. We are so blessed to be able to stay at such a wonderful facility!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Aug 18-20 & Nov. 5-7 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband & I absolutely love this place. We stayed in Chalet 1 the first time and loved it so much we brought my mom & step-father back to Chalet 3 for her birthday. The staff to include Johnny Davis, Doug and Penny Hooks are incredibly nice and so helpful and caring! We are already making plans to return again soon. Maxwell Gunter is so blessed to have such a special facility and such wonderful staff!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
21 June 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Maxwell/Gunter Rec Area is a very wonderful place to go. I've been to many lakes in my life and I got to say that Lake Martin is one of the best and cleanest lakes I have ever been on. The water is very clear and in the summer, it's very warm to jump in. The Rec Area is just wonderful. Has a very nice beach and a playground for the kids to play. Many RV sites and the new trailers are very nice and comfortable. They just added new screen-in decks on the trailers and that really makes a big difference. If you are like my family and myself and love being in the country to get away from everything to RELAX, then this is the place you need to be!! If you can not do without the city life and enjoy nature, then you need not come, because this is Mother Nature at her finest. The people that run the Rec Area are just wonderful. They will go out of their way to help, you can really tell that they care about the Rec Area. I can not say enough about them. I will give them an A+ on any rating scale.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
8 June 08
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The Lake Martin Rec Area now has 11 new mobile homes with new screened in decks and new patio funiture. There has been alot of construction at the rec area, which is why most have said it was trashy looking. New docks have been built at the marina. The Rec area has made a lots of improvements this past year, and the place looks wonderful! The park is out of the way from everything, that just makes your stay more relaxing. They do offer boat rentals, pontoon boats, ski boats, bass boats, and sea-doos, but be sure to call 7 days in advance. The staff at Lake Martin are doing there best to make your stay worth while. I recommend that you visit the rec area just once and hope that you experience the same pleasures that I have experienced. Note: Lake is Now at Full POOL!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
9 results - showing 1 - 9