Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (49)
82265 0 17 0 44

User reviews

49 reviews

 
(29)
 
(18)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.6  (49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (49)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (49)
Value 
 
4.4  (49)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
49 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
August 23-30, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
You just have to love the Huntsville, AL area. They are respectful of all veterans, and the space program. There are literally hundreds of things to do in the area. Plenty of eating establishments, plenty of parks and nice golf courses in the area. The 36 holes on Post are fine and fun to play, though a little expensive to play at $37 for a green fee and cart. The commissary and BX are great. Having to stop at the shoppette to buy ice after leaving the commissary is a bit of a pain but it's not far. I did find propane at Costco... $10 for a 30 lb bottle. Cheap... I will be back....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We overnighted in Redstone. I called (Jordan?) to make reservations, was charged and was given our site number right over the phone. How sweet that was. We followed the directions given, drove slow through the campground and went right to our site. The concrete slab was the biggest I've ever seen. Since we needed a few things for the galley, we walked a short two blocks to the commissary and back. This FamCamp was just what we needed for an overnight stay. Thank you Redstone MWR.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27&28 Feb 2013
(Updated: March 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Do Not Follow GPS to Gate...went to a closed gate and wound up backing a 30' RV much further than I cared. After a lot of roaming around locating an open gate and eventually the RV Park the rest was great. Given site 3 for two nights. As others have already mentioned, sites are huge and level, concrete. All inner roads are gravel. Acceptable WiFi. On Air TV reception is good, several channels. BX/Commissary within walking distance. A very good walking (paved) trail behind the campground with miles of walking or biking trail. Excellent bath facilities, very clean and warm, which was very nice since the morning temps were in the 20s. Laundry ($1.00 per load) in same building. Close to Huntsville business activities, auto dealership, WalMart, etc...Enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb 27 thru March 3rd 2013
(Updated: March 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Retired Navy couple, we stayed at the Redstone Arsenal for a few days although was quite chilly, super nice level pads, full hook-up, super clean restrooms and showers. Close to Exchange and Comissary overall can't complain and will go back again. We entered through gate 8 easy and close.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
8 and 9 Oct 2012
(Updated: February 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
These sites are great. Large enough for my truck and travel trailer to stay connected and not be in the way. We stayed for two nights in Oct 2012. The place was quiet and facilites were really clean. Will stay here again. Close to the base gas station and PX. Hope all the others are in as great shape.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12 thru 31 August 2012
(Updated: August 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As I read the previous reviews, I would liked to have known the orientation of the RV spots to keep the afternoon sun out of the windshield in the motor home. We were assigned a great spot that points a bit right of north - about 030 degrees. As such we only get the morning sun in the windshield at an oblique angle and we are able to enjoy complete shade from the coach in the afternoon. Sites 1-6, 14-21 and 29-34 similarly point NNE. The remaining spots point NW so if yours is a motor home, you will have the afternoon sun in the windshield. The folks at the MWR are most hospitable. When I made my reservation they told me there would be no need to go to the MWR office as they would place our name and receipt in the locator box at the site - we could proceed directly to our assigned site. The previous reviews remain current. A nice campground with lots of interesting things to see and do in this beautiful area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
12 Jul - 15 - Jul, 2012
(Updated: July 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We will definitely stay here again! HUGE level concrete pads, 50 amp service, cable, free wifi - who can beat that for $20 a night? We didn't use the laundry or shower facilities but they look fairly new from the outside. Fenced in dog walk area - we don't have pets so I don't know the condition. Very convenient to the commissary and PX and to Huntsville itself. Almost all sites are pull-throughs except for one row. The only drawbacks we found: No shade to speak of and the row of sites that are not pull-throughs has the electric post placed at the beginning of the site making it very hard to plug-in. We had to pull our 41 ft 5th wheel way up (leaving a ton of empty space at the back of the site) in order to plug-in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 2012
(Updated: July 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
With cable, 50 amp service and 25 X 65 concrete pads what else could you ask for? Trees. This is a great place but with very few trees, it can get hot. Located near PX and Commissary. Used the dog walk area, which was great. Did not use the bathhouse or laundry. You have to enter via gate 1, which is the only gate that can handle entries of large vehicles, but you can exit via Gate 8, which is closer. Would recommend that you download a map of the base prior to arrival so you can get around. Best Army RV park we've ever stayed in. We sill stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2012
(Updated: June 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
...folks are friendly and helpful. Making reservations is easy. Location is convenient to everything in Huntsville. Each site is large, concrete pads, and easy in and out. We stay there every time we are in Huntsville, which is 3 to 4 times a year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 10, 2012
(Updated: June 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived and never expected to see such large pads to set up on. They were great. However, the showers were much to be desired. The men's shower could have been cleaner and my wife said that the women's shower was terribly dirty with moldy curtains and stalls that were fiberglass so they could be cleaned if any one cared to do so. Otherwise, everything was very convenient and we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
29 May - 10 Jun 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A.D. left this review using the Directory software: Great experience! Camp Host on scene but I never talked to him/them, but I had no problems either. A word to the wise, however! The water pressure is very strong. It is very advisable to have a "water pressure regulator" on your connection. I didn't at first and got a leak in the bathroom. Only facility comment is that it would be helpful if the bath house had more than one shower in male and female bath rooms. Men's bath house has only one stall, ladies' have two. On base service station is too "tight" on maneuvering room to expect to refuel there. Very convenient to the PX and Commissary. Definitely coming back again since I have relatives in Huntsville!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
18-21 Feb 2011
(Updated: February 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were impressed with the friendliness of the Outdoor Rec staff who generally operate 7 days a week. These new facilities are a great value with seventh day free with payment for 6 days; campground is within easy walking distance of PX, Commissary, Post Chapel and other services. Free WIFI reception was great as well as cable TV, two services not found often at military campgrounds. Spacious, level, concrete pads with utilities optimally located made set-up a breeze.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
January 8 - 11, 2011
(Updated: January 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were hoping to escape the cold weather and snow in Michigan, but we arrived to thirty degree temperatures and eight inches of snow. Just bad luck. The facility is very new. They have the largest concrete pads we have ever seen. Located near main post, but far from MWR, the place to pay for your camp site. All the post facilities are nearby. The fact that they have a new bathroom facility and laundry is very nice. There are very few trees for shade, but not important in winter. The MWR staff was very nice and helpful. I surely would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
2010
(Updated: January 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent 45+ days on site due to proximity of work site. Entire stay was 1st class. Good access to everything! Great walking/running paths! Only thing I did not enjoy was having to move every 30 days due to some DOD Homesteading policy. Slight inconvenience, but the staff was superb and tried to make it as hassle free as possible. Wifi worked really well throughout the entire stay. Try and stay as close as possible to the laundry room as that is where the link is strongest. As others have indicated, landscaping e.g. trees would be a nice addition...although planted they take time to grow. BTW the washers and dryers are great, new and clean. This MWR activity is very well run and should provide you a comfortable stay. Best wishes and safe travels. Shorty sends...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
October 3 - 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.M. left this review using the Directory software: Lots of amenities on base-surprising for the army. Sites needed more trees.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
August 28, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground and the largest concrete pads I've ever parked on. We stayed 2 nights and never saw camp host. Plenty of room to maneuver in and easy to find. Had some bad directions and several different suggestions as to which gate to enter. Best to enter from I565 at exit 14A going south or exit 14 going north. Pull in, get pass, have coach looked over real good and it's done. After that you can come and go at will. I suppose you can enter other gates if you have post sticker. Some gates are closed evenings. We were on site 20. Never could connect to wifi at the site. Site was mark for us, by name. Reservations made by phone. We camp in a 36' Class A, towing a Saturn Vue.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr.4, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The stay was very enjoyable. It wasn't real hard to get to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
March 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground is a great location for visiting Huntsville museums, gardens and other activities in the general area. We stayed on site #24, one of the newer sites. The hook-ups are well placed, better than sites 1-14. The laundry is new and they have also added a covered pavilion. The only thing they need to add is WiFi. As others have mentioned the cost is a bit high for what you get, but comparable to other campgrounds in the area. Reservations were made over the phone and site was marked reserved in my name upon arrival.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 SEP 09
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
M. H. left this review using the Directory software: This is a good campground. We used this for an overnite heading north and it was a little out of the way but it is worth it. Plus we got to go to Big Bob Gibson's BBQ.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept. 6-9, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
W.E.W. left this review using the Directory Software: Great RV Park. The new sites are outstanding, but no shade. Has 50 amp, water, sewer and cable TV. WiFi coming soon (I was told). Good Commissary and PX about one-half mile away. Largest concrete pads I have seen in any RV Park in my 8 years traveling around the US and Canada. Space Center is nearby. Wal-Mart about 5 miles. If we are back in this area, this is definitely where we will stay. We were here in a Motor Home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
49 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3