Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (56)
88029 0 17 0 47

User reviews

56 reviews

 
(34)
 
(19)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.7  (56)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (56)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (56)
Value 
 
4.4  (56)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
56 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
Nov 2, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
November 2, 2014... once again the directions have changed. As of today: Take Exit 14 as directions indicate. Once you've passed through Gate 9, travel approximately 1/4 mile until you reach the first stop light. Turn left. Despite the fact that there are no street signs, this actually is Goss Road now! It essentially now turns you back the direction you came from (back -toward- Gate 9) but you are now on the base and paralleling the road you entered on. It will eventually make a long sweeping right curve and you'll now see signs indicating you are on Goss Road and it becomes two lanes. Follow Goss Road 1.5 miles. You'll see an "RV Campground" sign on your right just before Jupiter St. Turn right onto Jupiter St. and follow it on into the campground. The information re the shoppette if you go too far is still correct. Per the folks at MWR, plans are in the works to revise the Gate 9 access, so this may very well change again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 11-15, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Changes at Gate 9 make it easier to get to campground (see Note below). We stayed in space 15 directly across from laundry and bath house. Made our reservations via phone and just pulled in. They have name/dates of your stay and your receipt in a Lucite letterbox on your site. Couldn't have been easier. This is a well kept facility. Pads level and large. We did not use bath house but did do laundry and everything was clean and convenient. We found the information about Wi-Fi access in the laundry building. They apparently change access codes frequently and it is written on the white board inside of the laundry room. Flyers are also available to help you get on the first time -- you will then set up a courtesy account via MWR Lodging. There is no longer cable available for short term stays. Those staying longer have to make arrangements with local provider. Information can be found on the information boards at bath house. We didn't really see anyone our entire stay, but it rained almost continuously and part of the time was a weekend. However, we did get a note on our door while we were gone one day, letting us know that weather alerts had been issued and that the bathhouse was the emergency shelter. We would definitely return and would highly recommend this campground to others for convenience, cleanliness, and accessibility to local area. NOTE: One slight change in directions. When you enter Gate 9, they have put in new roads and you no longer have to make the U-turn noted in directions above. You go to the first red light and turn left onto Goss Road and follow that until you see the campground sign. If you get to the Express (Shoppette) you have gone to far, BUT you can turn right at the shoppette, turn right again on Jupiter (Commissary and PX would be left turn), and follow Jupiter as per directions above.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
All sites are near perfect, long, wide and concrete, pull thru, but NO shade. It's HOT in AL in summer. Each site rises just a little from rear to front. Even the hookups are in concrete next to the parking pad, no dirty lines to put in the unit when moving on. Not BBQ, yes picnic table. I had no contact with anyone about our stay, I had a pre-paid reservation. There is a camp host but I never saw him/her. The bath house is clean but small, 2 toilets, 1 shower. The laundry is clean and only $1 to wash or dry. The walking/biking trail is about 100 yards southwest. The PX and commissary less than 1 mile east. The directions are right on, easy access, no need to scout for problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 5 to 8, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great FamCamp. Stayed here 3 nights. Very large concrete pads, great laundry facilities. Very close to PX and Exchange. Car wash was great also. Watch diesel prices in town. Range from $3.74 to $3.62 per gallon. Gas Buddy helped a lot. Will stop here again if we are ever in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
...just call and get the reservation and then go to your site # on the afternoon of the date of your arrival... ...no checkin... ...the folks at Outdoor Recreation are great to work with...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
December 2, 2013
(Updated: December 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped by to check the RV Park out. It was a cool and cloudy Fall day. There were still about 6 - 9 RV sits available. This is an RV Park we wouldn't mind coming back to and staying at for a month or so. Glad to see the have the proper stay limits posted. We didn't notice any homesteading abuse.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 25 - Oct 7, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If you are looking for a quiet place, you've found it. There was very little noise and the campground has almost no traffic. Sites are long and concrete, electricity is great, cable is clear and Wi-Fi was very strong. You are close to gates and Huntsville has lots to offer. Be sure to check out the small historic area downtown in their Constitution Village. Many of the buildings remind you of Williamsburg. Remember to call ahead for your campground reservation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 23-30, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
You just have to love the Huntsville, AL area. They are respectful of all veterans, and the space program. There are literally hundreds of things to do in the area. Plenty of eating establishments, plenty of parks and nice golf courses in the area. The 36 holes on Post are fine and fun to play, though a little expensive to play at $37 for a green fee and cart. The commissary and BX are great. Having to stop at the shoppette to buy ice after leaving the commissary is a bit of a pain but it's not far. I did find propane at Costco... $10 for a 30 lb bottle. Cheap... I will be back....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We overnighted in Redstone. I called (Jordan?) to make reservations, was charged and was given our site number right over the phone. How sweet that was. We followed the directions given, drove slow through the campground and went right to our site. The concrete slab was the biggest I've ever seen. Since we needed a few things for the galley, we walked a short two blocks to the commissary and back. This FamCamp was just what we needed for an overnight stay. Thank you Redstone MWR.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27&28 Feb 2013
(Updated: March 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Do Not Follow GPS to Gate...went to a closed gate and wound up backing a 30' RV much further than I cared. After a lot of roaming around locating an open gate and eventually the RV Park the rest was great. Given site 3 for two nights. As others have already mentioned, sites are huge and level, concrete. All inner roads are gravel. Acceptable WiFi. On Air TV reception is good, several channels. BX/Commissary within walking distance. A very good walking (paved) trail behind the campground with miles of walking or biking trail. Excellent bath facilities, very clean and warm, which was very nice since the morning temps were in the 20s. Laundry ($1.00 per load) in same building. Close to Huntsville business activities, auto dealership, WalMart, etc...Enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb 27 thru March 3rd 2013
(Updated: March 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Retired Navy couple, we stayed at the Redstone Arsenal for a few days although was quite chilly, super nice level pads, full hook-up, super clean restrooms and showers. Close to Exchange and Comissary overall can't complain and will go back again. We entered through gate 8 easy and close.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
8 and 9 Oct 2012
(Updated: February 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
These sites are great. Large enough for my truck and travel trailer to stay connected and not be in the way. We stayed for two nights in Oct 2012. The place was quiet and facilites were really clean. Will stay here again. Close to the base gas station and PX. Hope all the others are in as great shape.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12 thru 31 August 2012
(Updated: August 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As I read the previous reviews, I would liked to have known the orientation of the RV spots to keep the afternoon sun out of the windshield in the motor home. We were assigned a great spot that points a bit right of north - about 030 degrees. As such we only get the morning sun in the windshield at an oblique angle and we are able to enjoy complete shade from the coach in the afternoon. Sites 1-6, 14-21 and 29-34 similarly point NNE. The remaining spots point NW so if yours is a motor home, you will have the afternoon sun in the windshield. The folks at the MWR are most hospitable. When I made my reservation they told me there would be no need to go to the MWR office as they would place our name and receipt in the locator box at the site - we could proceed directly to our assigned site. The previous reviews remain current. A nice campground with lots of interesting things to see and do in this beautiful area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
12 Jul - 15 - Jul, 2012
(Updated: July 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We will definitely stay here again! HUGE level concrete pads, 50 amp service, cable, free wifi - who can beat that for $20 a night? We didn't use the laundry or shower facilities but they look fairly new from the outside. Fenced in dog walk area - we don't have pets so I don't know the condition. Very convenient to the commissary and PX and to Huntsville itself. Almost all sites are pull-throughs except for one row. The only drawbacks we found: No shade to speak of and the row of sites that are not pull-throughs has the electric post placed at the beginning of the site making it very hard to plug-in. We had to pull our 41 ft 5th wheel way up (leaving a ton of empty space at the back of the site) in order to plug-in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 2012
(Updated: July 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
With cable, 50 amp service and 25 X 65 concrete pads what else could you ask for? Trees. This is a great place but with very few trees, it can get hot. Located near PX and Commissary. Used the dog walk area, which was great. Did not use the bathhouse or laundry. You have to enter via gate 1, which is the only gate that can handle entries of large vehicles, but you can exit via Gate 8, which is closer. Would recommend that you download a map of the base prior to arrival so you can get around. Best Army RV park we've ever stayed in. We sill stay here again and would recommend it to everyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2012
(Updated: June 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
...folks are friendly and helpful. Making reservations is easy. Location is convenient to everything in Huntsville. Each site is large, concrete pads, and easy in and out. We stay there every time we are in Huntsville, which is 3 to 4 times a year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 10, 2012
(Updated: June 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived and never expected to see such large pads to set up on. They were great. However, the showers were much to be desired. The men's shower could have been cleaner and my wife said that the women's shower was terribly dirty with moldy curtains and stalls that were fiberglass so they could be cleaned if any one cared to do so. Otherwise, everything was very convenient and we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
29 May - 10 Jun 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A.D. left this review using the Directory software: Great experience! Camp Host on scene but I never talked to him/them, but I had no problems either. A word to the wise, however! The water pressure is very strong. It is very advisable to have a "water pressure regulator" on your connection. I didn't at first and got a leak in the bathroom. Only facility comment is that it would be helpful if the bath house had more than one shower in male and female bath rooms. Men's bath house has only one stall, ladies' have two. On base service station is too "tight" on maneuvering room to expect to refuel there. Very convenient to the PX and Commissary. Definitely coming back again since I have relatives in Huntsville!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
18-21 Feb 2011
(Updated: February 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were impressed with the friendliness of the Outdoor Rec staff who generally operate 7 days a week. These new facilities are a great value with seventh day free with payment for 6 days; campground is within easy walking distance of PX, Commissary, Post Chapel and other services. Free WIFI reception was great as well as cable TV, two services not found often at military campgrounds. Spacious, level, concrete pads with utilities optimally located made set-up a breeze.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
January 8 - 11, 2011
(Updated: January 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were hoping to escape the cold weather and snow in Michigan, but we arrived to thirty degree temperatures and eight inches of snow. Just bad luck. The facility is very new. They have the largest concrete pads we have ever seen. Located near main post, but far from MWR, the place to pay for your camp site. All the post facilities are nearby. The fact that they have a new bathroom facility and laundry is very nice. There are very few trees for shade, but not important in winter. The MWR staff was very nice and helpful. I surely would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
56 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3