Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (49)
82267 0 17 0 44

User reviews

29 reviews with 5 stars

49 reviews

 
(29)
 
(18)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.6  (49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (49)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (49)
Value 
 
4.4  (49)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 21 - 29
1 2
Ordering
29 May - 10 Jun 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A.D. left this review using the Directory software: Great experience! Camp Host on scene but I never talked to him/them, but I had no problems either. A word to the wise, however! The water pressure is very strong. It is very advisable to have a "water pressure regulator" on your connection. I didn't at first and got a leak in the bathroom. Only facility comment is that it would be helpful if the bath house had more than one shower in male and female bath rooms. Men's bath house has only one stall, ladies' have two. On base service station is too "tight" on maneuvering room to expect to refuel there. Very convenient to the PX and Commissary. Definitely coming back again since I have relatives in Huntsville!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
18-21 Feb 2011
(Updated: February 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were impressed with the friendliness of the Outdoor Rec staff who generally operate 7 days a week. These new facilities are a great value with seventh day free with payment for 6 days; campground is within easy walking distance of PX, Commissary, Post Chapel and other services. Free WIFI reception was great as well as cable TV, two services not found often at military campgrounds. Spacious, level, concrete pads with utilities optimally located made set-up a breeze.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
2010
(Updated: January 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent 45+ days on site due to proximity of work site. Entire stay was 1st class. Good access to everything! Great walking/running paths! Only thing I did not enjoy was having to move every 30 days due to some DOD Homesteading policy. Slight inconvenience, but the staff was superb and tried to make it as hassle free as possible. Wifi worked really well throughout the entire stay. Try and stay as close as possible to the laundry room as that is where the link is strongest. As others have indicated, landscaping e.g. trees would be a nice addition...although planted they take time to grow. BTW the washers and dryers are great, new and clean. This MWR activity is very well run and should provide you a comfortable stay. Best wishes and safe travels. Shorty sends...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
August 28, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground and the largest concrete pads I've ever parked on. We stayed 2 nights and never saw camp host. Plenty of room to maneuver in and easy to find. Had some bad directions and several different suggestions as to which gate to enter. Best to enter from I565 at exit 14A going south or exit 14 going north. Pull in, get pass, have coach looked over real good and it's done. After that you can come and go at will. I suppose you can enter other gates if you have post sticker. Some gates are closed evenings. We were on site 20. Never could connect to wifi at the site. Site was mark for us, by name. Reservations made by phone. We camp in a 36' Class A, towing a Saturn Vue.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr.4, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The stay was very enjoyable. It wasn't real hard to get to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
March 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground is a great location for visiting Huntsville museums, gardens and other activities in the general area. We stayed on site #24, one of the newer sites. The hook-ups are well placed, better than sites 1-14. The laundry is new and they have also added a covered pavilion. The only thing they need to add is WiFi. As others have mentioned the cost is a bit high for what you get, but comparable to other campgrounds in the area. Reservations were made over the phone and site was marked reserved in my name upon arrival.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 15-18-2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stopped over here for a much needed stocking up. This part of the country is not filled with Military camps. After we left Robins we stayed in GA State Parks then in the ACOE Campgrounds at Clemson SC Lake Hartwell and Lake Lanier in Gainesville GA, Lake Allatoona Cartersville GA, then Ragland Bottom at Center Lake TN. These places are great if you want a good place to stay cheap. If you have a NP Senior Pass the range from $7 - $12 per night. But only water and electric. Redstone has a great little base with a commissary & PX very close to the campground. The campground has sewer, water, electric & cable. A new laundry room with 4 w & 4 d, air conditioning. A new shower & restroom facility with is small but very nice and clean. There's the Space Camp that is very close to the Post that you can visit and Huntsville is a nice town. If you need to be in the area it's a good place to stay. If you're passing thru, it can't be much better. If you're coming from TN going south on HWY 231/431 you just keep on HWY 231 and it turns into Memorial Parkway which takes you straight to the Post.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov 19-Nov 30, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Access to CG w/rig is easier to find if you come in Gate 9 (Rideout Rd/Hwy 255) off of I-565. After getting thru gate, go less than a mile and pull a U-turn heading north again (plenty of room), then take right onto Goss Road. Stay on Goss up and down hill, then follow signs for RV park (sign on right). If you miss it, you can take right at light on Vincent Drive and take a right when you see another RV park sign. In the past, we've stayed at older CG (sites too short for us), at Space & Rocket Center RV Park, but we prefer this one. Only about $2/nite more at Redstone than Space & Rocket Center, but well worth it for level sites and no sap, ladybugs or bird droppings. We also found Redstone to be very quiet. Nice bike and walking path behind CG, lots of open areas to walk dogs. Hookups are a little far forward but doable. This used to be a housing area but all but a few streets have been filled in. If you Google or even view the area on some GPS systems, streets are still listed. Coincidentally, we were stationed on Nike St. in early 70s - we're back on Nike Street but with our own home this time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
August 24, 2007 - Present
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the first time I have stayed at the new campground with 14 sites, 7 are pull throughs and the other 7 are back-in. The pads are concrete and extremely long and wide. The mens/womens showers are very clean but only have one shower, one toilet and one sink in either. There is a drop box located on the wall of the restroom/shower building. No camp host either. If you pay by check make it payable to "ORC" and paying in cash place in an envelope with POC. Paying by credit card go to the outdoor rec office or over the telephone. Pretty laid back CG.... Security Police go through the CG often. Very close to PX, Commissary, Gas Station/Class VI. There is a Burger King close by also. If you need to do your laundry, you can go to the Redstone Hotel on Goss Rd, close to CG, less than 5 minutes. Go to back of hotel and around the middle there is a room marked "Laundry". There is a TV room adjoining. Wash is $0.75/30 minutes and dryer is $0.75/45 minutes. Several washers and dryers. The Officers Club/Civilian Club (ROCC) also close by off of Goss Rd. Directions that are provided are very accurate to either CG. If you choose to go to the old CG along the Tennessee River you may have a hard time parking depending on size of Rig. Wooded area with low hanging tree limbs but nice along the river. No wireless internet capability in PX or in CG. Base Library offers computer service and is open T,W,T 1100 - 1800 Sat. 1100 - 1600. MWR Recreation Center also has computer service. Overall new campground is nice and would return. Currently it is $20.00/night but for that amount you thought they might have cable tv but since it is new, we're paying for the cost of building this campground. Thanks, Alex & Jeanie
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
29 results - showing 21 - 29
1 2