Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (49)
82274 0 17 0 44

User reviews

49 reviews

 
(29)
 
(18)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.6  (49)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (49)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (49)
Value 
 
4.4  (49)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (49)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
49 results - showing 41 - 49
1 2 3
Ordering
June 15-18-2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stopped over here for a much needed stocking up. This part of the country is not filled with Military camps. After we left Robins we stayed in GA State Parks then in the ACOE Campgrounds at Clemson SC Lake Hartwell and Lake Lanier in Gainesville GA, Lake Allatoona Cartersville GA, then Ragland Bottom at Center Lake TN. These places are great if you want a good place to stay cheap. If you have a NP Senior Pass the range from $7 - $12 per night. But only water and electric. Redstone has a great little base with a commissary & PX very close to the campground. The campground has sewer, water, electric & cable. A new laundry room with 4 w & 4 d, air conditioning. A new shower & restroom facility with is small but very nice and clean. There's the Space Camp that is very close to the Post that you can visit and Huntsville is a nice town. If you need to be in the area it's a good place to stay. If you're passing thru, it can't be much better. If you're coming from TN going south on HWY 231/431 you just keep on HWY 231 and it turns into Memorial Parkway which takes you straight to the Post.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
29 April-5 May 09
(Updated: May 10, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The CG is an old housing area.. Your GPS will show streets that are not there so be sure that you set it for Hermes Rd and Nike St SW (entrance to rv park). Some GSP (like mine) will take you to roads that don't go through any more. Lets look at all the good things first. LARGE level concrete sites, will fit the biggest rigs out there. All 50amp with water and sewer. All crush and run gravel roads through out the cg, but all packed hard. Easy to travel through out with handicap scooter. Great shot at the southern sky. Px and Commissary with-in 1/2 mile from cg. Sites 1 thru 14 were not thought out well, hook-ups are just to far forward on pads, engineers just need to come back and re-do this. I suggest using sites 15 and above. Now this MWR must think its Club Med too, $20.00 per night for what. Small bath house, paid laundry, no cable, no wi-fi (but they say wi-fi is coming). Its all so new, but for the price I would expect allot more. The CG at the rocket center is the same price but offers allot more. I would hope they look at some of the premier military sites that give allot more and charge allot less.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Drive through 9/27/08
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Only 2 sites empty so good to hear they are adding 28 more sites. Hope someone figures out where the utilities belong on these sites so you do not need to double up hoses. Noticed some trees on roads into the campground where cut down but no one knew why, did not see rot in the stump. Commissary was not up to the standard we expect and some shoppers said over the last year they have noticed a change too, many empty shelves and some produce looked old.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Nov 19-Nov 30, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Access to CG w/rig is easier to find if you come in Gate 9 (Rideout Rd/Hwy 255) off of I-565. After getting thru gate, go less than a mile and pull a U-turn heading north again (plenty of room), then take right onto Goss Road. Stay on Goss up and down hill, then follow signs for RV park (sign on right). If you miss it, you can take right at light on Vincent Drive and take a right when you see another RV park sign. In the past, we've stayed at older CG (sites too short for us), at Space & Rocket Center RV Park, but we prefer this one. Only about $2/nite more at Redstone than Space & Rocket Center, but well worth it for level sites and no sap, ladybugs or bird droppings. We also found Redstone to be very quiet. Nice bike and walking path behind CG, lots of open areas to walk dogs. Hookups are a little far forward but doable. This used to be a housing area but all but a few streets have been filled in. If you Google or even view the area on some GPS systems, streets are still listed. Coincidentally, we were stationed on Nike St. in early 70s - we're back on Nike Street but with our own home this time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
15-22 Nov. 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is about the "NEW" MWR RV park on Redstone Arsenal. We made reservations on the phone w/ Josh. he gave great directions also. Didn't have to check in anywhere upon arrival. The big, main gate # 1, off Interstate 565 on the North side of "post", now can handle RV's. It was a tight fit, but we made it- no barricades to navigate. The new RV park is 1 block from the commissary/PX/gas station/shoppette. They have 16 LARGE, perfectly level concrete pads. As mentioned by somebody else, the W/E/S hook ups are nearer the front of the pads, but they are on the correct side. plan on using extensions. 8 sites are pull through, 8 are back in. Each one can fit a Greyhound bus and have enuff room left over for our 25' TT. (I mean BIG) Somebody said that there were no trees in the area; we have several huge ones just 10 feet from our trailer. There are none inside the gravel roads or between pads but near enough. A park like, well forested & grassy area surrounds the Rv park & we find it very pretty. The new bathhouse is a "1 holer". Each gender's side has but 1 shower. Womens' has 2 toliets, men's has 1 sit down, & 1 stand up urinal. The 3 other huge class A's that are here now, don't use it. So we have it to ourselves. When the park really fills up, it could get busy to do the three s's. Compared to the old RV park by the river, this one is really nice. The post has every ammenity/facility & I highly recommend it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Drive through Oct. 17th, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Rating may not be accurate as we just drove through the new campground when we were visiting Tiffin Motorhomes in Red Bay, Al. Sites were wide and long and good open sites for roof mounted satellite. Only problem we saw was the utilities were too close to front of site. May want to pull thru rather than back in and put your hose and electric under the rig to hook up. Very convenient for all shopping on base and we talked to some folks camping there and they had good comments about all utilities being strong and security does go through several times a day.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
9-11 Sept 07
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
The new RV PARK is all concrete but I have serious issues with the new pricing policy. $20 a night is absurd. The new shower house has locking doors so you can feel secure while showering. However the doors get stuck once locked and my wife was locked in for almost an hour. Managemnet seemed less than thrilled about it. The water and power pedastals are to far forward on the pads, myself and others had to pull almost off the pad to hook a/c power on our rv's. I for one would stay at the rocket center or the river campground on my next visit.
P
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 24, 2007 - Present
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the first time I have stayed at the new campground with 14 sites, 7 are pull throughs and the other 7 are back-in. The pads are concrete and extremely long and wide. The mens/womens showers are very clean but only have one shower, one toilet and one sink in either. There is a drop box located on the wall of the restroom/shower building. No camp host either. If you pay by check make it payable to "ORC" and paying in cash place in an envelope with POC. Paying by credit card go to the outdoor rec office or over the telephone. Pretty laid back CG.... Security Police go through the CG often. Very close to PX, Commissary, Gas Station/Class VI. There is a Burger King close by also. If you need to do your laundry, you can go to the Redstone Hotel on Goss Rd, close to CG, less than 5 minutes. Go to back of hotel and around the middle there is a room marked "Laundry". There is a TV room adjoining. Wash is $0.75/30 minutes and dryer is $0.75/45 minutes. Several washers and dryers. The Officers Club/Civilian Club (ROCC) also close by off of Goss Rd. Directions that are provided are very accurate to either CG. If you choose to go to the old CG along the Tennessee River you may have a hard time parking depending on size of Rig. Wooded area with low hanging tree limbs but nice along the river. No wireless internet capability in PX or in CG. Base Library offers computer service and is open T,W,T 1100 - 1800 Sat. 1100 - 1600. MWR Recreation Center also has computer service. Overall new campground is nice and would return. Currently it is $20.00/night but for that amount you thought they might have cable tv but since it is new, we're paying for the cost of building this campground. Thanks, Alex & Jeanie
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14 - June21
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
There are two CG's now. I stayed at the new one, the bath house was not open when there. Location is in housing area, The BX, commissary, class six, car wash all located down the street. Sites have concrete pad about 24 by 50 feet. The CG street is packed gravel. I prefer this site to the old one by the river. The river sites are in the woods, difficult to manuver a rig, sites are paved only about 16 feet long, not angled like the new site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
49 results - showing 41 - 49
1 2 3