Apache Flats RV Resort

Featured
 
4.6 (88)
147804 1 13 1 85

User reviews

88 reviews
 
77%
 
16%
 
5%
 
2%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.6(88)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.8(88)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.5(88)
Value
 
4.6(88)
Overall Experience
 
4.6(88)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
88 results - showing 81 - 88
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
April 16, 2007
(Updated: April 17, 2007)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived today with no reservations, and there were several FHU sites available. All facilities appear to be clean & well-maintained. PX is on the smallish side, but has the basics. Commissary is large, very nice, and well stocked. No clubs, separate or combined, on this base. The community center seems to serve that purpose. In fact, MWR has a very strong presence on this base. Sharon, the campground manager, is very helpful and knowledgeable on everything in this area. If you want to know where to go and how to get there, just ask. Regarding internet access, there is WIFI, if you're close to the office. We use the Sprint wireless broadband card, so local access isn't an issue. However, for other such users, be advised that, while the Sprint signal is strong, there is no EVDO here. You still get internet on the card, but at a reduced broadband speed. A pleasant surprise is that the military dining hall here allows retirees to use the facility. This is a perk that has been rapidly disappearing at most CONUS bases, thus the pleasant surprise. All in all, it seems like a great springtime destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 8 0
Feb 2007
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Very nice, well-laid-out campground with friendly and helpful staff. A number of attractions within easy driving distance to include Bisbee, Tombstone, Chiricahua National Monument, Kratchner Cavern, and, of course, the Ft. Hauchuca Museum. I would have rated this camp as a 4 if it had not been for three items. First, the camp is about 5 miles from the main gate and they aren't easy miles -- the road is narrow and rough for quite a distance, you have to pass through 3 heavily traveled school crossings where you slow to 15 mph, you have to traverse a traffic circle, and, finally, you could easily get confused on some of the last turns and twists if you aren't paying enough attention and watching closely for signs. It takes about 15 minutes to get from the gate to the rv camp. Second, no wifi. As far as I know, there is none anywhere on post. The closest wifi I found was at McDonald's on Fry Blvd (poor signal) or the public library which had an excellent signal. Unfortunately, McD's is about a mile from the main gate and the library is about 2 miles, so it's not a trivial trip once you consider the 5 mile gauntlet just to get to the main gate from the rv camp. Finally, they do have an "overflow" area here and it does have W/E, but it is not what I would consider as normal overflow, i.e., a place to stay while waiting for a site to free up. Overflow at Hauchuca is "not listed" for waiting to get into the famcamp. The only way to get into the famcamp is with a reservation or to just happen upon a vacant spot. As nice as this camp is, I seriously doubt we will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 2
Nov - Dec 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is well managed and the hostess is very efficient, friendly and helpful. Many activities are held in the rec room and they are well attended. Showers and laundry are super clean at ALL times. Close to commissary, PX, and other facilities. Nearby Sierra Vista is military friendly and people helpful. Beautiful Huachuca Mountains just south of campground, hiking is great. This is one of the old forts and the museum is very informative.
PG
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
---
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I have stayed here before, but still find it a bit odd that some can stay here for extended periods of time. One was there 5 months, I find it hard to believe that the same people seem to "homestead" here during the winter months. I found this Fam Camp a very tight net group who seems to always stay together for the winter. I have never seen a Military Fam Camp that allows 90 days, let alone seems to allow friends stay past the 90 days. I believe the MWR should look into the lengths of stays as it prevents those that travel a place to stay a few days. It might be interesting to see who stays when and how often during Snowbird time. A note, that I was not treated bad, in fact I found he Host to be very nice and pleasing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 2
May 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This fam-camp needs at least 15 r/v sites for shortstay visitors. Its impossible to visit with out resevation which is next to impossible since the same people always occupy the same sites every year for the whole winter making it impossible for anyone else to enjoy their priveleges, which is totally unfair to all others.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great location, great service, great host, great views. Thanks
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
(No comment left)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Apr 2006
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice, large and level concrete RV sites. Too full for us to stay, so we just visited for an hour.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
88 results - showing 81 - 88
1 2 3 4 5