The campground on a windy day.

Gila Bend FamCamp

Featured
 
3.2 (40)
81571 1 11 2 24

User reviews

13 reviews with 3 stars

40 reviews

 
(2)
 
(17)
 
(12)
 
(5)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0  (40)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.1  (40)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.4  (40)
Value 
 
4.1  (40)
Overall Experience 
 
3.2  (40)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13
Ordering
22-24 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Auxiliary base has no amenities, 4 miles from downtown gila bend ( lol). Large sites, couldn’t receive tv reception with antenna, other wise great price at $10 @ night. Pam checked us in at lodging/famcamp office, provided info on rv tire purchase due to blown tire. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21-24 Feb 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nothing fancy here. That being said, for your $10 a night, you do get good 50 amp electric service, sewer and water from a reverse osmosis system. Also, there's free laundry and all the ice you can use which you get at the lodging office. There are no reservations but we're told to call ahead to check on availability. Tried to call several times inbound but could not get anyone to answer. When we went to pay, in mentioned that to the desk clerk who shrugged her shoulders and turned on the answering machine. Luckily there were two open sites. We had dinner at the Little Italy restaurant in Gila Bend which was good and we noticed the small grocery store is now open. We will go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Dec 14, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
KBUG (Know Before You Go). Homesteaders and Drop & Hops (folks that store RVs in full hookup sites) are in charge. Keys for the water are available at the front desk. Use of water filters is advised. Supplies and Services available in the city of Buckeye. At 10$ a night you get what you pay for. Availability to all comers would be better served if max stay was reduced to 30 days and RVs could not be left unoccupied for more than 48 hours. At minimum all sites with electricity should be repaired to include working water and sewer. Lastly, out of common since open fires should be restricted to barbeque stands and group areas provided. Talking about second hand smoke. HC
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
1 Oct 2012
(Updated: October 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
It is located out in nowhere but the price was right. WAIT shocker they are raising the rate to 10 dollars a day effective 1 December 2012. What do you get for this 45 percent increase in rent. well maybe a couple extra dust storms, if you stay long enough some over 110 degree weather at night. Even the coyotes left. Rumor has it that work will be done here but I believe it when they do it. The continued raise in gas makes this not as nice a location as it was when the price was right. But hey I think this is a nation wide effort to screw military out of money as all the rv parks keep raising their rates to extreme rates they will be only afforded by retired flag officers and not enlisted.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 6
Oct 6, 2012
(Updated: October 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
$7 per night for retirees with FHU. (pay at lodging office, box with envelopes if closed). Now there is an explanation of what FHU means here. Some pedestals are 50/30 amp, and some are 30 amp. Also boon docking sites if FHU are full (@ $3 per night). The water with pressure is either non potable, or very heavy in minerals with some arsenic. For pressurized water either use a key to turn water on (in laundry room), or use a 3/8 inch wrench/socket. Older people and children should not drink the pressurized water. However, each FHU site also has it's own dedicated reverse osmosis station for low pressure safe drinking water - just fill some jugs. Since we only came in for one night while passing through we just used our on board water tank and did not hook up to the pressurized water. No Active Duty on this base - all contractor operated to support the Barry Goldwater range nearby. This is a great place for a overnight or couple of nights, and some folks winter here due the to warm climate and low price. If you plan an extended stay just bring some water jugs to fill at your own individual reverse osmosis station. Free laundry - 3 washers, 3 dryers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr 13-14, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
R.S. left this review using the Directory software: - The water at this base is high in arsenic and should not be used by the elderly or very young. Each site has a reverse osmosis filter with a tap for drinking water. The water connection for the RV should not be used for drinking. The faucet does not have a handle and requires a 5/16 socket to turn on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
12 Sept 2010-02 April 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nothing much has changed since last visit. Most of the people here are here for the winter. Overall, they are a good group and do have 3 or 4 gatherings a year. EX: Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years Eve and a couple informal gatherings such as a fish fry or bbq. There is a campfire every night that is popular with quite a few of the campers. A lot of one or two nighters and most have to dry camp. This year we had British Army troops training on base with helicopters and a couple nights of exercises using blank ammo. No one bothers you at your camp site. Staff and Security Guards are all very friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 16 - 21, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This campground is as advertised, no frills. It is pretty much an open field. There are concrete pads for patio, with a nice concrete walkway to each. Each site has a picnic table. Parking for your rig/toad/towing vehicle is on dirt. There are a few small trees, but that is about all that can be said about the park. Laundry is free and that is always a plus. There are BBQ grills, but it seems you must share one with your neighbor. The grocery store in Gila Bend had a lot of empty shelves. So, closest grocery is in Ajo, about 35 miles away. Water hook up is OK, but you must use reverse osmosis units provided at each site for drinking water. As stated, some of the hookups are a little out of place for RV's, but nothing that cannot be overcome easily. If you just want a place to get away from everything and have alot of nothing to do, this is it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
December 7, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived at Gila Bend in the afternoon, shortly after a rain shower had passed through. We figured that was good because it would keep the dust down. No sooner had we checked into the c/g and gotten all hooked up, than the power to the base went out. We walked over to the billeting office and asked if this was a scheduled outage or some such. The lady there said it almost always happened after a rain, to be patient and they'd have power back before too long. Sure enough, in about an hour, all was well...or so we thought. While the electricity remained on for the rest of the night, Mother Nature threw her second punch about 7pm and through the rest of the night with extremely high winds with gusts well over 60 mph. It was a full-on desert sandstorm and visibility in the c/g dropped to a few feet at its peak. That earlier rain meant nothing because the winds were so fierce they were picking up not just sand and dust but large gravel as well. Fortunately for us, we were parked in the wind shadow of a 45 foot mother ship RV (we're just a little class B), which kept the sand blasting on our vehicle to a bare minimum. Others with unsheltered exposure took the full brunt of the sand blasting, I'm sure. By 3am or so, the winds had abated to a more normal 10 to 15 mph. We were up before dawn and outta there, so we didn't stick around to survey the damage to others. As to the c/g itself, it's just desert dirt with small concrete pads next to the parking places for use as patios. The hookups had 50 and 30 amp plugs. The water is NOT a hookup, but a cabinet in which a filtering mechanism allows you to put clean water into a container and bring it into your RV. Each one has a picnic table. The laundry room has several washers and dryers available, and was kept neat and clean. There's a book swap shelf available, and chairs to use while you wait for your laundry. The sign-in process is pretty relaxed and the woman at the billeting desk didn't know which sites were empty. She just assigned me one she though might be. It was full, so I moved on down the row to an empty one on the leeward side of the aforementioned mother ship. The grounds are regularly patrolled by security police. This is an adequate place to stop over for the night if the weather cooperates, but not a place I'd care to spend any time. ---- UPDATE: The brutal sandstorm I reported in the above review did some serious damage to the Visitors Quarters when it ripped the entire roof off in the middle of the night. The RVers faired somewhat better. None tipped over in the wind, but there was a lot of sandblasting of exterior paint and finishes. We're back eight days later, headed east, and all is calm. Now folks have some new tales to tell about the big wind in the desert. This time we spent a pleasant evening, and were on our way the next morning. As I said before, a good stopover place, but not a particularly great campground for an extended stay. I've also changed my star ratings to reflect further thought on the place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sept 15 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
A place to park for the night on the way to somewhere else is about all it's good for. The laundry is free and is worth the $7.00 for the night. There is no water at the sites. A windstorm of some sort kinda messed up the place. Lots of visible damage to many structures. OK for one night.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Feb 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is a tricky campground. Be sure you pay with a credit card or request an immediate receipt. If you extend a day or two the guy wants cash, (what does he do with that you may wonder!!!!) and you don't get a receipt, nor do you get a receipt if you come in on Fridays. Most of the people come in Sep and stay until March or April. Many have NO military affiliation. It's friends of friends - taking up spots! And, hopefully you won't come in when the feuding is going on - the park is very divided; even though they all have been going there for years. The town of Gila Bend is practically non-existent; there is a fabulous Shrimp Farm nearby; with an Olive grove. Organ Pipe Nat'l Monument is 70 miles south and very worthwhile. The park is entertaining, with touch and goes daily and often 'bomb'drops.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
April 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Hey, it's Gila Bend, but for $7.oo the price is right. Plenty of room since the snowbirds had left. Good power and a level site with concrete pad. No host after April 1st; so we picked a site, set up, and I wandered over to the Lodging office to check in and was told by the nice lady that she'd already closed the register and to come back tomorrow. I used the dropbox instead. Free laundy with pretty good machines. A good place to stage for visits to Organ Pipe National Monument, a truly worthwhile place to visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Dec 2006
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Campground was almost full with snowbirds. "Chuck", the camp host greeted me as I drove up. He works hard to have a decent FamCamp, but doesn't get paid or even a free site. Utilities are sometimes in awkward positions and some still have a few problems. We didn't have any problems with our 50amp site. Basically, an affordable, no frills place to spend the night or more. At $7 a night, it's better than many commercial places. Much more secure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
13 results - showing 1 - 13