The campground on a windy day.

Gila Bend FamCamp

Featured
 
3.2 (40)
81566 1 11 2 24

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars

40 reviews

 
(2)
 
(17)
 
(12)
 
(5)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0  (40)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.1  (40)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.4  (40)
Value 
 
4.1  (40)
Overall Experience 
 
3.2  (40)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
February 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our second visit to Gila Bend, and we'll likely be back again. Our visit was just a stop for the night both times, and we don't anticipate any future visit being more than one or two nights. It not much to write home about in terms of appearance and amenities, but it's a good value and not far out of the way if you're headed through on Interstate 8.
Gila Bend FamCamp
Gila Bend FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
8 January 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had read about this place several years and wanted to try it on way to Scottsdale. All info and reviews on this website are accurate. Nothing much in the way of amenities, but an interesting, quiet place. Last hookup spot was taken just before we arrived, so we dry camped. We were told to just find a spot and park, then pay in morning. Well worth the $3. We decided we could dry camp here several days sometime. We just lined up on the end of the hookup sites. Interesting to see the F16s making passes over the runway. Can't see that everywhere! We'd stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
5-9 October 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
...nice spot in middle of nowhere. We were looking for a place to sit and relax for a few days. Not much to do here, but you can get a permit to go downrange to sightsee and hike. No TV reception unless you have satellite. No Wi-Fi. Spacious and roomy sites --- pull throughs and back-ins. I would stay here again if in the neighborhood. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
January 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The major improvement made in Fall was all new asphalt paving of road and parking bibs (see FamCamp Map download). Main sites (1-34) are super roomy; were formerly mobile home sites before conversion to RVs. The entire campground is flat and gravel-covered so all sites are more-or-less pull-thrus. Pleasant office staff there now, who actually check the camp each day. Most evenings a number of campers gather at the far end of the loop for a group campfire - all are welcome. Very quiet base and campground except for the occasional daytime training jets. Comment below about no grocery in Gila Bend is true, but there is a Family Dollar store on the main street with reasonable assortment of food and supplies.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
Jan 1 and Jan 5 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed one night each on the way to and from San Diego. Three miles south on South Highway 85. Easy to find the FamCamp. The gate guard provides directions to the campground. If you cannot find the office, ask a resident. They will point to it. The nightly rate is $10 for full hookups. Some of the spaces require a tool to turn on the water. Be sure to ask. They have a reverse osmosis system because of the hard water native to the area. Amenities are few because this is a Reserve base. Just the campground basically. We found the folks we dealt with on base to be friendly, helpful, and happy to be there. We spoke to some of the longer term campers and the nearest shopping for food is Buckeye about an hour to the north on I-10. Gila Bend has no grocery store.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
February 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We last stayed here 11 years ago.  The famcamp looks much the same as it did then but on closer inspection find newer electrical connections and an issue with the water system (guessing that water issue was here last time but no action taken).  Was warned by a couple fellow campers that the water from the hose bib is not suitable for consumption (okay for showering and washing the dishes) and that the gray metal box next to the hook ups is for drinking water.  You can’t hook up your water line to the drinking water but can fill a bucket or water jug from it.  (We just purchased a couple gallons of bottled water to use for coffee and cooking.)  We did remember to turn off the ice maker and based on comments from others will search for the ice machine.  Wi-Fi in lodging lobby worked fine with the exception that I found some sites blocked.  Was trying to look at some RV parks and they were blocked for some reason.  We like this sort of no frills RV park that has the basics and within reasonable distance of things to do.  We jumped on the bikes this morning and took a cruise around the base; there was very little traffic and we could hog the whole road if we wanted.   Note: Found free ice and laundry.  Nice little laundry room (3 each washer and dryer) with couch and small book exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
March 6, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just stayed one night. Got in after dark. Check-in was nice, found full hookups and had a quite night sleep. Would stay there again, in the winter!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
18 November 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was my second time at Gila Bend. The staff was very friendly. My first visit was in the heat of the summer, only two RV were there. The temp was 117. This visit there were a number of "snowbirds" there. Very friendly group. The camp is a basic very basic, but at 10 bucks a night, it had everything I needed. Free Laundry. The electrical upgrades, completed since my first visit, were very nicely done. There's no WiFi there, The water is non-potable, but they do have a reverse osmosis system at each space for drinking water.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 9, 2014
(Updated: March 09, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Wow! This campground has changed for the better since our last visit. The recent electrical upgrades are great. Every site now has good 30 and 50amp electric. Since the water isn't the greatest, each site also has their own Reverse Osmosis system for drinking water. They've placed this system in a nice metal box at each site. Some sites do have the sewer connection in the way of driving into the site - be careful. The campground is mostly dirt and gravel. There's a very nice laundry room (free). The campground was about 50% empty when we arrived. The prices did go up from $7 to $10 a night for FHU. Considering the remote location and lack of other amenities, this is a fair price for the FamCamp. While some people stay here for months over the winter (snowbirds), there is a fair rotation policy. We arrived on a Sunday and easily did the self-pay at lodging. A very nice place to come relax and sit out the winter. There is some sight seeing nearby. Mexico and the town of Casa Grande aren't too far away. If we are looking for an affordable place to stay for awhile, we would consider staying here for a month or so.
Site #11
The water RO system at our site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
7 Feb 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great place to stay for a night. It was a great experience; every spot is very large with pull thrus - no backing up! Be aware that this campground has no amenities. Overall; it was a great place!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 4, 2012
(Updated: January 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park is full and there are five of us dry camping at the moment. For us that's okay. We prefer to be out by ourselves. The wifi works from our RV, the three washers and three dryers are FREE and have been empty both times I've used them. The lobby in the lodge is open 24/7 with a TV for those of you without a satellite. We are unable to get any channels with our antenna so the TV with cable attached is allowing my husband to feed his football addiction. Gila Bend is small but has everything I need. There are two dollar stores, a grocery store, a hardware store, a Mexican, Italian, and American restaurant and a Dairy Queen and McDonalds, gas stations, etc. The town is five miles from the Fam Camp. Most of the people here come year after year and stay all winter. They tend to be friendly and look out for each other, with a couple of them being busy bodies. The park is an open desert field with hook-ups. It's quiet. And it is definitely cheap. We were the next ones to pull in after all the FHU sites were filled. We got the only site with electric only. We fill our fresh water tank from our neighbor's water and dump once a week at the dump station around the corner. Even though we have electric we only pay $3.00 per night. There is an abundance of coyotes. We had heard that in other parts of Arizona, but had never seen one. We have seen them many times here. They stay away during the day but come back every day as the sun hits the horizon. We keep our small dog on a short leash after dusk and make sure all three cats are in our rig as soon as the sun sets. F-16's fly over every day either doing touch and go's or practice approaches. The run way is right behind the Fam Camp and it is interesting to watch them. At least for me. Hubby has been there done that having retired from the USAF. At $7.00 a night, the place can't be beat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
December 13-14, 2011
(Updated: December 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped by enroute to D-M. Of course, no comparison BUT terrific value. Yes, there are the "annual regulars" but most are friendly. We've been visiting since there WAS a Base and amenities there. It is frustrating that the employees at the Lodge have no clue as to the vacancy status. They claim it is because folks move from site to site without notifying them. We enjoy going in to Gila Bend to the Senior Center for lunch while in the area. The locals are friendly and the food is pretty basic and a balanced menu - I usually bring a current menu out and post it in the Laundry Room. A few of the LT GB residents volunteer in town at the Senior Center during their stay but I don't think the RVers that stop by for a day or three - realize that amenity. They have Wi Fi in the Lounge Area now - quite an improvement from the former dial-up. There are water machines in town and it was great to see the coffee machine and hot chocolate machine was working - must be because of the increased military training going on now.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
November 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
W.C. left this review using the Directory software: Enjoyed stay @ Gila Bend. Would winter here ($7.00 per day) if I lived up north.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jan 6, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the 4th season we have stayed at Gila Bend AFAF. There is NO camp host. If you check in after hours there are forms to fill out at bldg 4300. It will tell you how to pay also. It is still under developed as before and the same rules go for the water as before. Some campers have set up a small golf course. All you need is a sand wedge. I hope that those who stay and don't pay won't ruin it for the rest of us that follow all the rules.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb 14, 2008
(Updated: February 16, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
What a wonderful, quaint no frills Famcamp. The camp host was very courteous and exceptionally helpful with our first visit there. We drycamped and enjoyed our night there very much. This Famcamp has alot of untapped potential for Luke AFB recreational fund. 8 campsites are closed off due to electrical problems. Cash outlay to repair those closed sites would be beneficial and pay off big dividends in the future. If you take a look at Davis-Monthan Famcamp and Yuma Proving Ground Travel Camp ,they understand the value and potential of expansion and park upkeep. This Famcamp has a lot going for it and could be even better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
23-Nov - 8 Dec 07
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Good price.. $7/nite. Friendly people.. clean camp. No grass.. hey, this is desert.. it's all sand and gravel. Secure, quiet place (other than the occasional JET take-off, from the airfield). New laundry facility.. new machines (2), but they're FREE and rarely full. Plenty of places to walk the dog. Full hook-ups W/S/E + RO-drinking-water machine, at each site. Free ICE. BIG-RIG friendly.. would handle four 40-footers in each site! It's a long way from big-city amenities.. 1-1/2hr to Phoenix (NOT a bad drive), 2-hrs to Yuma. Nice trip down to Organ Pipe Nat'l Monument.. about 3-hrs to Puerto Penasco, Mexico, and the beach resorts. If you want all the entertainment, stay in town, @ $25-45 a nite, but if you want 'boon-docking' with benefits, Gila Bend AFAF is like no other.
PS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
16 results - showing 1 - 16