Pine View RV Park

New
 
4.4 (48)
77313   0   23   1   51

User reviews

17 reviews with 4 stars

48 reviews

 
(28)
 
(16)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.6  (48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (48)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (48)
Value 
 
4.5  (48)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17
Ordering
April 4, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We would have liked to stay here, but they were still closed for the winter. Although, the weather was great. We did stop by for a look and liked the campground. It looks quiet and relaxing, mixed in with the trees. The roads and sites are gravel. This isn't a fancy "RV Park", but a nice campground. We'll try to come back during the summer, when we can stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17 - 23 Aug 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Camp host Vicky and George are super. They keep the showers and laundry areas the cleanest we have seen. Since this is a no sewer hook up site these areas see lots of use. The sites are gravel and small there are a few sites that will fit big rigs. Very rural and quiet. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Sept 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very convenient place for us to stop for the night on our way back to California. Easy access from I-40 and there's a Pilot station and a Camping World at the exit! George and Vicki were great hosts and really went the extra mile to accommodate us. After I emailed checking availability, Vicki told me they were full for the week. The next morning after another guest unexpectedly departed, Vicki called me and let us know she had a site for us if we were still interested. The site (#11) appeared to be long and level and we were able to back our 38' coach into our site and connect utilities without disconnecting our car trailer. Overall a great value for the money...we will be back the next time we pass through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This may be the all-time best kept secret in the entire Military Campgrounds world. Camp hosts George and Vicki are so friendly and helpful that they received a visit and recognition from a general officer just this week. And the new garrison commander, an 0-5 who arrived in July of 2013, told us at a hosted BBQ this weekend that his intention is to expand the famcamp, which would be a great thing. Just 8 miles from Fort Tuthill, and only two exits west of Flagstaff, there is tons of room between rigs, flat ground, and a very clean laundry room and shower. The latter will need to be expanded if the park grows, but for now it's perfect. This is an ideal counterpoint to the noisy, dog-ridden crowd at Fort Tuthill. I hope they'll figure out a way to provide black water hook-up soon, though. That's my only criticism. In every other way, this is just what an RVer or tent camper could hope for....darkness at night sufficient to do stargazing, utter silence of the forested area, and yet the security of being on an Army post. There are other federal agencies conducting business here, so you have to show your ID at the small gate, but everyone has been friendly and fun. Enjoy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 10, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As of October 9, 2013 Pine View RV Park at Camp Navajo is closed for the winter. We had a great season and look forward to re-opening the RV Park on May 1, 2014, depending upon the weather. Come see us next Spring! George & Vicki, CampHost
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
May 18 - Jun 1, 2013
(Updated: June 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for two weeks passing time and waiting for snow to melt in Colorado. The park hosts, George and Vickie, are great. They are helpful if you need information on things to do in the area and they keep the showers/bathhouse/laundry spotless. We were able to pick up three or four TV stations (only 1 major network) on antenna with HD TV. No wi-fi in the park. Dump Station only on the way out/in. The post exchange is a semi trailer which appears to be open 6 days a week with minimal items in store: toothpaste, candy bars, soda pops, ice cream, toiletries, and a ton of shower shoes. We could hear trains several times a day but you get used to them. We saw elk, pronghorn antelope and coyotes on the base. The army plays war games sometimes, with urban warfare training close by. So, you might hear a loud boom and lots of rat-a-tat during the day but not often. I have stayed before for one night and made a decision to come back and see more of the Flagstaff area! I would give this place a 5.0 rating if it had wi-fi and TV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
28 June thru 1 July 2012
(Updated: July 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I love this place. Only negative, noise from interstate and train but you get used to it. Ed the camp host is great. Works really hard to fix the place up and it shows. Great base from which to site see the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
6 July 11
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
L.L. left this review using the Directory software: Very nice park. I was surprised to find 50 amp electricity I expected only 30 amp. Camp host was very helpful. Campground clean and well kept. The altitude of the FAMCAMP (7119) sometimes makes breathing difficult at times. Over all this is good place to stay when visiting the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
26 May to 7 June 2011
(Updated: June 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very easy to get to from I-40 and a good spot to explore the Flagstaff and Sedona area. When entering the gate stay to the right where they let the large trucks in. We found the barriers tight going in and out with just the truck with dullies. The guards let us us the truck entrance and exit the whole time we were here. As a previous poster said they do take security very serious and did take a quick look inside of our rig. Nothing was asked about beer or alcohol but the guard did say that no weapons are allowed on base and there is no storage facility for them so be aware of that. Very quite park that is has very clean facilities. The dump station is close by and easy to use. The camp host, Steve & Audrey do a great job and have a lot of info on the area. We enjoyed our stay here and hope to be back next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
October 5,2010
(Updated: October 07, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Pine View RV park was closed today due to the tornado that struck at 5:30 AM this morning. The camp is without electricity, many trees have been downed, rv's in the storage yard have been turned over and the camp is closed. Some RV's in the campground were damaged but no one was hurt. Andy and Nancy, the camp hosts, were there for everyone! The area is totally distressed. Call before arriving, keeping in mind, that you will probably have to make other arrangements if you are headed that way, at least until next Spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
17-18 Sept 2010
(Updated: September 22, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Elk season had just opened and we got the last open space. Although Andy (camp host) can't reserve a spot, he can "hold" one for you if you call the day you're driving to Camp Navajo. AAFES has just brought it a traveling BX, so some small things are avail. About 1/4 of the trailer's items are Army uniform accessories. Access off the Interstate is very easy and everyone is very nice. In addition to the full hook-up sites, there are as many dry sites avail also. They are located in an old Wherry housing loop about 200 yds from the full sites. Bath-house & laundry were spotless. A beautiful campground-highly recommended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 1 7-24, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for 1 week while we were tourists around the area. It's close to Flagstaff and Rte 66 which is great. It's close to the Grand Canyon & Williams for the train ride to the Canyon. But the best thing is the RV park itself, what a unique experience. It is in the middle of nowhere. It is dusty and would be muddy in the rain. It should be quiet but you can hear trains and highway noise at night. This little camp is a jewel in the rough. There are no sewer hookups but the dump is not too far away. It has a clean bath house and a laundry room next to the men's room, and they are kept very clean and warm when warmth is important. It is dark at night and you can see all the stars. There are lots of places to walk and take a look at the past as this was a Prisoner of War Camp in 1944- 46 housed with Austrians. We loved the fact that we did not know anything about it and while we were out walking in the wood, we literally stumbled upon the information. We had no trouble getting our 47' MH into a back in site. If you like to get away and commune with nature this is the place to go. It was during hunting season that we went and there was evidence of lots of Elk very close to our doorstep daily. It was great fun and we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
3-9 July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We used this FAMCAMP as our base camp for visiting the Grand Canyon. We stayed here from 3-9 July 2008. Even during the Fourth of July Holiday there were still 2-3 sites open the entire week we were there. This may be because of the high price of fuel. All sites appeared to be big rig friendly. We were in site 3 and had tons of space between us and our neighbors. The bathrooms are the cleanest I have ever seen at a military campground. There is a laundry room located next to the men´s rest room. This is also a good overnight stop because it is located right off the highway. The campground hosts are very friendly and helpful. The old wooden sign that marks the turn into the campground has been supplemented with a metal sign on a post which is easy to read. Yes the old wood sign that you can´t read is still there! Why? I don´t know, maybe it has some type of historical significance. Flagstaff is 12 miles to the east and has a wide variety of retail stores and restaurants. Stop at the visitor center located in downtown Flagstaff and they will help you with things to see and do. We rode the Grand Canyon Railroad up to the Canyon and highly recommend it. If you are there in the summer be sure you upgrade to an air conditioned rail car. Other recommendations are Walnut Canyon National Monument, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, and Wupatki National Monument.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
May 30 - Jun 6, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
E. J. left this review using the Directory software: I would highly recommend this camp ground. It's not a place for children. We did see a large brown bear behind our RV on the first night. We enjoyed this quiet camp grounds. It has new facilities that are very nice. I would give it a 10 rating. I had no trouble setting up my Direct TV. It was very cold this time of the year; 33 degrees to 75 during the day. We would stay there again and recommend it to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
May 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.G. left this review using the Directory software: Have not stayed there. Just drove through the site. Host was not there to ask questions. Would have rated highter if it had a waste dump on site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 4
Sept 12-17, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
An undiscovered treasure - conveniently located about 10 minutes off of I-40 about 12 miles West of Flagstaff. Good for day trips to Grand Canyon, Sedona, Meteor Crater etc. During our stay the most RVers we saw were maybe five total. New bathroom/laundry is done and spotlessly clean ! Von Clark who is the manager,host, housekeeper etc. does a great job of keeping it all nice. Friendly, easy going atmosphere. Little to do on base but Flagstaff 15 minute drive nearby. RV sites are much more big-rig friendly than Fort Tuthill and most allow satellite TV access. Drop by and see them, they would appreciate that business.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
May 11, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Looking for an alternative to Flagstaff we previewed this new park while staying in Williams. The location was EZ on & off the freeway; signage is decent; the gate security person was pleasant and gave good directions including a print-out with more detailed info about the campground. From my perspective, the campground is not yet ready-for-prime-time but has great potential. Interior roads (and sites) are dirt - when hot & dry, dust covers anything that moves; when wet & cold, mud is likely. The sites are back-in in a woodsy environment. Hook-ups include electric and water; shower and laundry facilities should be complete in the future. Fees are said to currently be $15/nite to rise slightly to $18 when more of the amenities are available. For what is offered, I believe that is high and I'm basing that on having stayed in many of the military campgrounds. However, this campground has much going for it so if you're passing through and don't want to pay some of the tourist prices in Flagstaff or Williams, this isn't a bad deal at all. We may return at a later date.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 0
17 results - showing 1 - 17