Camp Roberts campground

Camp Roberts

Featured
 
3.2 (31)
66893 0 4 0 7

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

31 reviews

 
(2)
 
(13)
 
(10)
 
(3)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.3  (31)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.2  (31)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.1  (31)
Value 
 
4.1  (31)
Overall Experience 
 
3.3  (31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Barren is the best word to describe this Park. Bringing in an Engineer Unit for their Annual Training to fix this Park up would be a good move. The distance from the front gate is long and the route is not well marked. The sites are not well marked either and in dire need of upgrading. The price is right considering the overall condition, but improvements could allow for an increase in rates. I had no problem figuring out how to place my trailer, but with the barren state of the area, (no trees or growth of any kind, the winds made things even worse. A quick layover between stops is almost not worth the effort. Proximity to Paso Robles is not that great, and given the proximity to the Main Gate, plan for a day trip if you're staying for more than a night. I stayed for 4 after cutting my stay short. There is an exchange on Post, but not much else and Wifi is non-existent unless you are on active duty. Overall this could be a great stop, but it needs work. Hope this helps, safe travels.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jul 19-29, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I agree that there were a lot of homesteaders. However, there are sites set aside for short-term visitors. The internet café only has wifi if you are active duty or National Guard or Reserve. I had full hookups with my own electric, water, and sewer. I did see the poor amenities for the back-in sites. The gravel was loose on some sites to a point of not recommending a motorhome or larger 5th wheel on it. Most of the long term (homesteaders) do not maintain their sites. The sites are cluttered with furniture, wall lockers, broken down vehicles, and high weeds. There was a popup camper with a shredded blue tarp attempting to cover it and the weather had blown pieces of it on the ground for several sites. The landscaping crew came and weed eated the area, but left high grass/weeds everywhere. I don't mind being away from the shopping, just plan accordingly. This is a good stop over site, but if I were staying for and extended time, I would have to bring the Chain of Command's attention to the FamCamp, because I can't believe they would ignor what they are aware of. But you pay for what you get for $10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
August 4, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Overall this is a good spot for a one-nighter if you are traveling on hwy 101. I do have to say though that there are two errors in the directions written under "Featured Facilities" back in 2007. 1) After leaving the main gate and bearing left onto California, go to the second (2nd) stop sign, which is Arizona. The first one is Montana. 2) After leaving the Billeting Office, you will want to go southeast on Washington which is actually a two-way road, not one-way). It was a good thing we had the directions from this website because the lady in the office gave us a map and sent us southeast on California, which is back near the gate. This road ends in a dead end! The other criticism I have is that when we pulled up to the main gate, the guard was chatting with his buddy who was in a police car. Not only did he ignore us, he made us wait almost 5 minutes!! I will say that the site we had (2) was very good with full hookups including 50 amp which we needed for A/C (91 deg!).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 2
20, 21, 22 Aug 2012
(Updated: August 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
If it weren't for the health hazard and appearance of the many abandoned WW I and II buildings this would be a great place and value. The nice new sites all have Sewer, water 20, 30, 50 amps. Then there seems to be the old sites that are just OK, but for $10 a night it is worth staying here and going to see the Hearst Castle.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jan 19, 2012
(Updated: January 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
this is califs. original boot camp for the army way back during ww1, ww11, and part of viet nam. the entire place is literally falling down. shame on us for allowing so much history to fall down. the r.v. park is small, dusty, and way down at the south end of the base. we drove in, looked it over and went on down the road. pretty sad sack old place. for ten bucks it wold be an o.k. value, but the lack of virtually anything to do doesn't do it for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
18-19 March 2010
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
New section is fine, all pull-through with plenty of room between sites. Older section is overgrown, long-term residents here. Some RV's appear to be abandoned. Being close to the highway, road noise is a problem. Can't beat the price though. Good location for visiting wineries. Close to 200 in the area. Plus a couple good olive oil places. Also a great little air museum at the Paso Robles airport. Worth the visit, plus it has quite a car collection there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17 March 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The new section is now open with ten (10) new pull throughs. These have W/E50,30,20/ S. The spaces are a little tight but decent. These are hard packed gravel not concrete pads, but they are hard packed and level. The closeness of the spaces makes it unpractical for any tables. This is a good place for an overnight or to stay while visiting the area. The RV park is next to the freeway and therefore picks up the traffic noise. The Shoppette, is OK. Kinda pricey but has munchies. Mostly it is geared to support the needs of the National Guard personnel and their needs. The CG area is in need of housekeeping as the area is overgrown and run down, with local trailers unkept and overgrown with weeds and such. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to answer any questions and help with information. Good phone and air card reception (Verizon).
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov. 16-17, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I compromised on the Cleanliness/Hospitality rating. Cleanliness is a 1, but hospitality is a 5. It seems it wouldn't take much work to clean up the campground, get rid of the weeds, do a little landscaping, run proper water lines to each site, etc. But I'm sure they just don't have the manpower or budget. On the other hand, the office staff were wonderful and I know they wish they could do more. But on the other hand, improvements to the park would also raise the price. The best feature here is the wonderful cost. (Although, Gila Bend, AZ is a better RV park for $7). The location isn't the greatest. However, Paso Robles and the coast isn't too far of a drive. This was our 2nd time here and would stay again for a day or two if we're in the area. We were lucky to get a site, as the park was full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 25 - 27, 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I agree maintenance is a low priority. Although Billeting is trying hard to provide the best they can, with what they're given. They even have (unfunded) plans to build a new RV Park. As mentioned, not all sites have W/E/S. They all have electric, and those that don't have water have a garden hose running from the site next to them. Since most RV's are self-contained, it's a compromise to use your own sewer or fresh water tank to stay here (if needed). For the reasonable price, I had no problems using our own fresh water tank, since regular garden hoses aren't good for fresh drinking water (bacteria grows in them). They know this location isn't popular, as there's not much in the local area to visit. We enjoyed our few days here, which allowed us to catch up on some chores, reading, and washing the rig. Not a destination park, but a fair place to spend a few nights at.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Basically a grass covered field with power poles & water/sewer hookups. Not all sites had working water. Good 50A power. Camp Roberts is a largely deserted WWII training base. Not exactly a destination FamCamp; old, run down post, 2.5 miles from gate & 15 miles to town. OK as a base to tour wineries or Hearst Castle.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10