Camp Roberts campground

Camp Roberts

Featured
 
3.2 (31)
65545   0   4   0   7

User reviews

13 reviews with 4 stars

31 reviews

 
(2)
 
(13)
 
(10)
 
(3)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.3  (31)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.2  (31)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.1  (31)
Value 
 
4.1  (31)
Overall Experience 
 
3.3  (31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13
Ordering
May 13-15, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were able to snag a last minute reservation here when our plans changed due to weather on the other side of the state. Campground is old but sites are level. No facilities nearby. Check in staff at library told us about two buildings where we could do laundry - one washer, one dryer but it was worth not having to go into town. Paso Robles worth a visit as are wine tastings at some of the 250 wineries there. Lots of sand spurs so it was a challenge to find a place to walk the dog w/out being covered. We'd stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed this campground. Followed signs from main gate directly to RV park, easy peasy. All paved roads to campground and then gravel in RV park. Had made reservations so knew which site to pull into. Nothing fancy about this RV park but had full hook-ups, so we were happy. “New” section is gravel without any vegetation around but fine with us. We had great views of the grassy hills and open space. Even though highway 101 is within sight, road noise was not over powering. Good cell service but no internet to be had. “Old” section is spaced out and grassy which could get messy with rains. This RV park worked perfectly for us to explore the surrounding areas. Appears to be a number of long term stay folks that maybe are base workers. Still were several empty sites during our stay. The base/post/camp was very quiet and minimum of activity during our week stay. Would imagine the pace picks up when a big training event is on-going. There is a very good and well presented camp museum for those interested in military history and this once largest basic training camp. Otherwise very few base services available. Fort Hunter-Liggett not that far away but their BX and Commissary are of the mini variety. There is also a base gas station but prices are high. (See review of their “campground”.) 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Apr 16-19, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Pretty isolated, large sites, no tables, no WiFi, reasonable fees at $15 @ night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 17, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wow!!! Has this place changed. At least 90% of the old WW II buildings have been destroyed. There are newly paved roadways through the most active part of the camp, and the staff is just as friendly and helpful as before. The old mobile home park has been leveled. The 10 new (since 2010) pull-thru sites have 20/30/50/W/S. Most of the older sites appear to be occupied by active duty personnel. In Sept, the scenery is somewhat stark. The surrounding hills are brown from lack of rain and the heat of the summer. However, we've been here in the spring, and those same hills are a beautiful shade of green. This place is the best value if you are visiting the area. The area includes Paso Robles, it's shops and wineries, San Simeon (Hearst Castle), Parkfield, or if you are interested in wildlife, explore the camp along the perimeter road. We've seen deer, fox, coyote, and turkeys. This is a favorite stop for us every time we travel between northern and southern CA.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 2
29 Dec 12 - 3 Jan 13
(Updated: January 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Truly a No Frills place. We stopped here so we could visit the Hearst Mansion and check out some wineries (the wineries are abundant). The RV park is a it of a distance from the gate, really away from everything. Close to the highway, you get a hint of noise, but no quick access. It is obvious that they are working on making this Famcamp a nice stop. There are new sites with great utility islands. Currently a lot of dirt in the "yard space" but it has been plowed and leveled like they plan to see or put in more sites. There is plenty of gravel in the new sites but the low spots in the roads were evident when it rained. We were certainly at Camp Roberts during a slow time for the camp so I can honestly say it was quiet and uncongested; just the opposite of what it is probably like in the summer during training sessions. I shared all this so you understand the starkness of the park, but to be sure, this is a great value if all you want is a safe place to park your RV while in the Paso Robles area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
25-26 Aug 12
(Updated: August 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Depends on what you are looking for. We were on the way home to So Cal from No Cal and this was a convenient stopping place. Level sites, new 50amp and full hookups. If you want a clean place on CA101 to overnight or use for a night or two to visit a few wineries it is a good place. If you are looking for an RV resort or more than a basic place it is not for you. For us it is nicely situated for an overnight and has everything we need for a comfortable night stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
February 12, 2012
(Updated: February 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just stopped here overnight. Took site 11 - in the old area but on the corner, so we could make it into a pull through for our 40' rig + toad. Road noise minimal, staff very friendly, quiet surroundings. Verizon aircard yielded consistent 4G 4 bars - way WAY better than we experienced at Vandenberg. Just about to sample the tri-tip recommended by another reviewer and then we will be on our way. We found it to be an excellent value for an overnight stay, but not much to do if we had had to be here longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb 25 - 27, 2011
(Updated: March 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The RV park is a bit remote as it is nearly 2 miles from the main (and only) gate. $10 per night is a great value. There are 10 recently added sites are are all pull throughs. Lots of places to eat in Paso Robles. Directions to billeting need to be updated. Once through the gate, you bear right at the Y and follow the road to the stop sign. The billeting office will be on your left. The staff at billeting are very friendly. The internet cafe charges $3.50/hr. Find a Starbucks and enjoy a latte (or whatever your choice) and free WiFi. Nice relaxing stop. There is a small exchange and just outside is an eatery where the fellow has great tri-tip and pulled pork sandwiches.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
September 2010
(Updated: October 01, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If, like us, you want full hook-ups and solitude, this is the place. Park is very bare-bones but they have plans to upgrade it. People on this base are very very friendly and helpful. Great sandwiches and smoothies at the internet cafe. Retirees can eat at the dining facility. We didn't use it, but were told the food is very good. Small fitness center behind Billeting. The museum across the street from the fitness center is not to be missed. Open Thursdays and Saturdays. We visited twice during our two weeks at the base and will return next year. We really enjoy this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
14 July 2010
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
10 new gravel sites added within the last ?6 months. Easy access, great hook ups. Very friendly staff at billeting office. You can't beat the price. 48 mile drive over excellent roads to visit Hearst Castle. Hearst Castle has large RV parking area. Driving vehicles over 30ft in length North of San Simeon, (Hearst Castle), on HWY1 not recommended as posted. Camp Roberts has a small PX with a fair selection of items/food. 13 Mile drive south on 101 to Paso Robles and Hwy 46 has numerous wine tasting stops/vineyards. No Wi-fi but verizon service good in the area. A good place to stop over or spend time to see Hearst Castle or visit vineyards. No traffic noise heard.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April17, 2010
(Updated: February 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We read complaints about traffic noise, but honestly we had more noise in some private resorts. This time of the year it is beautiful here. Billeting was very friendly and helpful. Travel to Paso Robles is 13 miles on 101 where there are lots of shops and wine/olive tasting. Only a short distance to the coast on a beautiful road. We stayed in the new site area. GREAT!!! We will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our first experience with a Military campground. For us it was a place to stop and sleep on our way north. We really appreciated the willingness of the campground to accept the CG Auxiliary. The staff in the office was very friendly and helpful. We didn't arrive until after dark, so I don't know about any of the amenities or facilities, as we pulled out early in the morning, but for $10/night you can't find a better value in the area. The other two RV parks are quoting as high as $85/night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 26-28, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Based on the previous reviews there must be improvement. The billeting office was very friendly and helpful. The site is pretty bare but I have good electricity and water in site #11. According to billeting 11 out of the 12 sites are booked. We were planning on stopping in Paso Robles but all the RV parks wanted over $30 and one wanted $45+ so at $10 this is a great value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
13 results - showing 1 - 13