Camp San Luis Obispo RV Park

Featured
 
4.1 (77)
128266 1 23 1 55

User reviews

77 reviews

 
(31)
 
(28)
 
(17)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.5  (77)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (77)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0  (77)
Value 
 
4.0  (77)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (77)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
77 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Aug 16, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What find. Excellent facilities, clean, great space and nice folks. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 24 - July 3, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This campground was great until we were told to move from space 1 to space 2 if we wanted to stay longer. Really? No one can reserve a specific space, so why would we have to move? There are only 12 spaces and it was 4th of July week. We have a fifth wheel so everyone knows how much trouble it is to pack up, put slides in, unhook sewer, water, electric, then hook up the truck to just do it all over again in the next space! Why? Because we were told by Erica in billeting, that she was not there to accommodate us. Needless to say, we packed up and left, and according to other campers, those 2 spaces were never filled. We would've moved for nothing just because she wanted it that way. Sorry to say, we won't be back. And it's too bad. Good price, close to beaches, close to historical sites and great town of San Luis Obispo. Just be prepared to move around like chess pieces if she so desires. We saw 3 people move to other spots and they didn't know why. We had a great time with new friends, too bad the experience with the office left a bad taste in our mouths. This campground should have a camp host, not run by billeting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
2019-07-19
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I absolutely love the Camp SLO RV park. We have been staying at the Camp SLO RV park since 2011 because the value is amazing. The restrooms are included in the cost, so there is no need to bring quarters. The dining facility is the best military eatery we've dined in. The pull through slots are plenty long for RVs up to 45' and plenty wide so no one feels like you're RVing on top of each other. Camp SLO is 10 minutes from Morro Bay and 15 minutes from the coastal 5 Cities. The billeting staff are second to none and are among the friendliest we've encounter on our RV travels. We stay at Camp SLO at least 6 to 8 times a year. Camp SLO is a hidden RV camping gem in the midst of the Central California Coast that is very affordable.
Camp San Luis Obispo RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 11-16 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our first time here. We are in a 45' motorhome towing a truck. We parked across form the Billeting Office (well marked - you can't miss it) and unhitched. If you are a big motorhome towing, I suggest unhitching before you head to the campground. There is plenty to do in the area, ranging from Morro Bay, to Hearst Castle (about a 45 minute drive), to a 300 year old mission (still holding mass) in SanLuis Obispo. We found the directions to be correct and had no trouble. There is no wifi, but we had adequate reception with our Verizon phones and used the mobile hot spot. If you are a wallmart user - no Walmart in the area, but there is Target and numerous grocery stores.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
20-24 Feb 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What we have here is a California National Guard camp. Lots of cool old buildings circa 1920’s and 30’s. Caution; You will never make it through the very tight barriers at the main gate so enter the camp using the right hand lane; the guard will open the sliding gate. Leaving is no problem through the barriers. Check-in at the billeting office (immediate left after clearing the main gate). The small campground is very nice gravel road and sites, lots of grass between sites and a concreate pad with picnic table. The overflow area was a bit swampy due to the huge amount of recent rain. The bathhouses with showers were fairly new and very clean. Not much happening on the camp, a small mini-mart exchange has some essentials. Laundry is across the street from the mini-mart collocated with a small café. There is a dining facility open for use, but the hours are very narrow to catch one of the meals. Small number of guard personnel there, making for a very quiet and peaceful place with nice pastoral views. Great location halfway between SLO and Morro Bay for visiting area attractions. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
December, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a very basic park but well kept. The entire area is clean, lawns mowed, quiet and generally a very pleasant place to stay. The utilities are well located and worked well. There is lots of room between each site - lots of elbow room, no crowding. The area of San Luis Obispo is a nice place to visit and scenic. There is no wifi but cell signal (verizon) was strong. There is a family of deer that roams around the park and fun to watch. All sites are pull through and easy in/out. No complaints except wifi. We would go there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
September & November 2018
(Updated: December 03, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hadn't been here since '76 when I got commissioned here. Known back then as the California Military Academy, it is also where Actor Tom Selleck recieved his commission. There are only a couple of the two person huts that we stayed in still on Post, but they bring back memories. I digress, the RV Park is great as all the spaces are pull throughs. There is also a bathroom/shower house right in the RV Park. As you pull in to the main gate, stay to the right when driving a big rig or pulling a trailer/5th wheel. The Guard will come to you for ID check and open the gate there. There is a little Cafe/laundry facility where you can also access Wifi 24/7. The Cafe closes at 2pm and on weekends, but the laundry remains available. The small exchange has recently reopened but is only available Wed - Fri. There is a Golf Course right up HWY 1 about a half mile from the gate, (right at the light). SLO has a Costco and there are numerous other businesses available in the shopping area as well as a Home Depot, go south on HWY101 about two miles. The Madonna Inn is about a mile south and there are other businesses available off that exit. Morro Bay is about 5 miles north on HWY 1 and there are numerous places to eat and shop as well as the famed Morro Rock which you can drive right up to. This is a nice little RV Park and the proximity to amenities in the area is great. Reservations must be made directly with the office staff. Hope this helps, safe travels.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Aug 2, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
if you have read these ratings at all you know that everyone agrees camp san luis Obispo has "NOTHING" for kids to do, so it constantly amazes me that folks still bring them here. as I sit I watch people camped in overflow, camping for $5.00 all with a load of kids. for the past three days they have literally trashed the shower houses using them for playgrounds, having water fights and then throwing dirt clods into the showers at one another, what an awful mess they make daily for the custodial crew to have to clean up. why on earth would you bring a tribe of kids to a camp with zero things for kids to do, that's what KOA campgrounds are made for. I found out today that all these kids are not with military people but with civilian contracters. shame on you people, the army gives you this privilage and you take advantage of it. I really hope that the administration stop the practice of allowing non military people into the park. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 5
October 24, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
we really like CSLO, and we stay here several times a year. this time we were treated to something really different.we were invited to the "new and improved" officers club for drinks and fellowship. loren Weeks, (Col. Weeks now retired)has completely remodeled the facility with a new lounge, and is in the process of doing a complete makeover of the facility to use for events like weddings, etc. the price to use this is so low that I can't believe it wont be reserved all year. you must be in some way connected to the military to reserve it. he is also getting ready to remodel the NCO club for regular use also (that's the large blg. next to the RV park) so a beer will be a minute away from the campers. they are making CSLO a really nice place for all, even if you don't use the RV park. but hey, guess what ? he has plans to double the size of the RV park. forward thinking people get things done, and loren has the mindset, so lets see how long it all takes. hey loren, how about a swimming pool and workout room :-) 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
January 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second stay at Camp San Luis Obispo and certainly not our last. The campground and base were very quiet and there were only 4-5 campers here the whole time. The sites are gravel, level and spacious. Each site has a fire pit and picnic table. There is no cable or wi-fi and no pool but there is a small exchange on base and a laundry facility. You can also eat at the dining hall on base. Plenty of room to ride your bike or walk your dog. All base staff are very helpful especially the girls in the billeting office. We used our satellite for tv and used our phone hot spot for internet with no problem. This is a great location for visiting the Hearst Castle. elephant seal rookery, area beaches and lighthouses. San Luis Obispo is a quaint little town with many shops and restaurants. We love the quiet here and great location. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
October 15th 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
o.k. so yet another great stay at CSLO. its small, it hasn't got much to do, nothing for kids, but darned it, I love the place. I wanted to add something for everyones benefit and information. we stayed 2 weeks in the R.V. park and on the last day we decided to take our time getting the trailer ready for storage, and rent one of their "rooms" holy crap ! "rooms" yeah I guess, if any of you have ever stayed at the hotel at travis AFB, you know what a 5 star hotel looks like. CSLO's "rooms" make travis look like a motel 6. we rented blg 702. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a living room with dish network, and kitchen, a nice front porch to sit on of an evening. absolutely stunning "room" when staying here, think about winding your stay up with a "room" at the camp. you will not be disappointed. a reminder to all, CSLO now has a very nice storage lot. storage is far less cost than Lemoore was charging me and a really superb area. staff sgt. Wilson (head of mwr) is a great guy to deal with, and as always the billeting girls are super duper to deal with. be back in a few months. :-) 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
August 15, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
yes this park has became hard to get into in the summer. with only 12 spots it fills up fast. you say "long termers" I don't understand that, the park has a 30 day limit per stay, no one to my knowledge has ever stayed 31. in fact there was a long time customer there this summer that was actually camped in the overflow area "boon docking" and at 29 days he was advised again that 30 days was the limit ant the next day had to leave, so I would need to know what you mean by long termers. you are correct, CSLO is not a senior center and national guard members have preference (as it should be)it is a small park with very little in amenities, but we love it anyway and the girls in the office rock !
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
17 July 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great little park. The only downside there are not many sites so getting in can be a bit of a challenge. We were welcome to eat in the mess and the evening we ate there was very good. There were a few long termers which makes it even tougher to get in. I understand the active duty but there are others who "summer over" from the hotter inland spots. Lady who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. They have a number of dry camp spaces which I would gladly use them. There was a family gathering while we were there with quite a few youngsters but this is not a retirement village. Everyone was very friendly and respectful of each others privacy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
July 15, 2016
(Updated: July 19, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
well, I guess we should have seen this coming. we said so many nice things that the camp is now packed to the rafters. dogs, cats, kids on bikes loud radios, well, so much for quiet and peaceful. SLO is still a great place, hopefully it will spike and then go back to what it once was. the overflow looks like, well, never mind. the ladies in billeting are great to deal with and it looks like the storage has taken off well. all in all CSLO is my favorite, just think I will not try for summer time any more, winters are very quiet and peaceful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This famcamp is nothing special, it's very small but it's quiet and conveniently located to Pismo and Morro beach. Bathrooms are very clean. Laundry is away from the campground. $1.50 for washers and .50 cents for dryers. Sites are big and roomy. No wifi. Lots and lots of rodents so watch that they don't sneak inside. Lots of eagles circling. Very small commissary.  Not a bad place, just no amenities.  Playground for children but most of the equipment is missing. I.E.: swing set with no swings. Deer running through from time to time. If you're looking for a decent quiet stay, this place is great. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
February 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location for visiting the central coast of California. Small campground with only 12 spaces, but very accessible, clean, and quiet. We have a 45 ft Diesel pusher and even towing a full size pickup had no problems accessing the base or the campsite. The site was long enough to fit the coach, and with the pickup unhooked there was room to park beside the the coach. The billeting office gal was very helpful both on the phone and when we arrived. We stayed 4 nights and the easy access to Morro Bay, San Simeon, and points north on highway one was great. At $23 per night this was a bargain, and really worth the cost compared with some of the other Military campgrounds we have stayed at. Roomy site, full hook ups, close to both US 101 and US 1. Definitely will use the park again if we can get a reservation.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan 4 - Oct 13, 2015
(Updated: October 08, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
camp san luis Obispo sits half way between morro bay and san luis Obispo, on the ocean side of the coast hwy,7 1/2 miles (as the crow flies) east of the pacific ocean. it is a small national guard base with only 12 R.V. spots. there isn't much here except the quiet, the pure relaxation of it all is worth every dollar you spend here. what could be better ? well, heck ! who wouldn't want all this plus a place to store your rig? well, want no more, I got a call from major Johnson telling me that they had just set aside a storage yard for our rigs. even If you never stay at SLO, who wouldn't want to store their rig this close to the ocean. the rates are way more than fair, you get a 15 foot wide spot in a hardpack lot with a 6' chain link fence topped with barbed wire. while its not for me to say what they charge, I can tell you that it is $18.00 a month less than Lemoore was charging me. consider this when you decide it's better to store your rig than tow it every time LA gets the best of you. the folks here are really good to deal with. yes the camp is small and has very little in the way of amenities, but when all you need is a quiet place where the deer wander through your R.V. spot, well this would be it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
August 8, 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
quick few days while out on my Sturgis run. things are good at CSLO, the place is packed. if there was one thing I had the power to change it would be the dog rules. there have been so many problems over the years at "all" rv parks over dogs. why can someone haul a dog all over the country and then leave it alone in their rv all day. I am camped across from a large motorhome, nice enough folks, but the leave during the day and leave their dog alone. it barks from the second they drive away till the second they return. then all the little ankle biters (rv owners all own a tiny little rv size dog) in the park join in the fun and games. dogs are very annoying when their owners leave them alone. I intend to campaign for a rule against dogs in the park all together. I think its silly that people have to take their dog everywhere they go. and the worse are the ones with multiple dogs. people ! not everyone likes your little sweetie dog !
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 17
April 4-11, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent a week here over the Easter weekend. Park got full for a couple days, but was about 50% full the rest of the time. This is a nice, quiet park. We were encouraged to visit the dining facility and we're glad we did. Good food at a fair price. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. Lots of ground squirrels in the campground, which I was worried about. But we didn't have any problems with them and the RV (I have in other places). If you're here on a Thursday, be sure to visit the street market in San Luis Obispo. Pretty large and great prices on vegetables (lots of food as well). As mentioned previously, this park may soon start to be full more often. Reservations are highly suggested. We almost didn't get reservations, as we were told none were available. But luckily, they found us a spot. There are overflow sites available, with no hookups. We also enjoyed meeting and visiting our neighbors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 10, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Well, another week at CSLO, what can I say but as always it was very nice. The problem with giving (well deserved) good ratings to a small park is that sooner or later its going to get hard to get a spot. That appears to be what is happening to CSLO. This place was packed this trip. While not a destination for people with a lot of kids, (not much for them to do on base) it's perfect for getting away from the crowd. Quiet, calm stay. The staff is excellent to deal with, the mess hall is good, other than that, not much on base to do, you can however find a lot to do in the area. With Morro Bay up the road and SLO down the road, entertainment is just what ever you can think up. We even had a world famous celebrity camped in front of us, real nice couple, we avoided asking for their autograph, but it was hard. Just like ordinary folks they came by and enjoyed the campfire, pretty darned good folks. Who was it? Can't tell, you're just gonna have to stop by sometime and see if they are there.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
77 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4