Oasis RV Park

Featured
 
2.9 (28)
56283 1 7 0 10

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars

28 reviews

 
(1)
 
(6)
 
(12)
 
(9)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.6  (28)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.4  (28)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.2  (28)
Value 
 
2.3  (28)
Overall Experience 
 
3.0  (28)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
20-21 Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stayed here last year too, mostly due to convenience off interstate and good time to stop. Very basic facility with good pad and hookups, but that is about it. For what you get, it is overpriced. We planned one night, but high winds prevented us from going on to the west. Only a small contingent of Marines on base, so Exchange and Commissary are small. No diesel fuel on base. Hard to believe the price for this camp, when Air Force charges so much less at most Fam Camps, for example March ARB at $20 with better facilities. Apparently Camp Pendleton dictates rates, based on San Diego area pricing, from what staff told us. We'll stay here again due to location, but that is all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
23 - 24 Aug 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Great place for an overnight stop while traveling. Easy on and off Interstate 40. No pull-thru sites, but plenty of room to back our 44 ft. 5th Wheel and still have room to park our Truck. Nice level concrete pads full hookups. We did not visit the showers nor were we told if there were any. There was a loose dog that looked homeless, not sure if it was mean as we didn't give it a chance to act. Overall $29 for a limited military camp site seemed higher than average.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 20, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This park was on our way from Flagstaff, AZ to Port Hueneme, CA. (As previously mentioned, not worth the price, but better than driving too long of a day.) We stayed only one night in a 40' 5th wheel. We love when we have a pull-thru, but only back-ins here. No biggy though. The open area here makes backing anything easy. However, depending on which row you end up in you're gonna be backing down or uphill. We were in a site right in front of the office and had to put the truck into 4-wheel drive to push all the weight up the slope onto the pad. Thank goodness the electric was good since we arrived at 118 degrees and it only got down to 98 that night. Friendly staff. When we arrived, there wasn't anyone in the office, but called the number left a message and they returned our call within 5 mins. Told us which sites were available and to just come in and pay before leaving in the morning. Piece of cake. Won't plan any long stays here, but will know it's there when we need an overnight spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 18, 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
As stated before, this park is a traveling park, not a stay park. Has fairly flat site with needed hookups. Personnel are friendly and helpful. Not much else to say about the park. We just stopped for the night on our way to Las Vegas. The only real negative is the price compared to other military parks. Yes they are $29 per night with the surrounding parks running at $45-50. But we stayed at Pensacola NAS for $20 per night and the parks around it are running $60 and over. So yes, they are overcharging. I guess they feel that you do not really have a choice so they got you. Not a good way to treat your troops.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. This was my least favorite park on the entire trip. There are level, spacious, concrete spaces. The lady that checked us in was nice and friendly. However, there is NO bathhouse, NO bathroom, NO clubhouse. Nothing really but the spaces. You have to go over to the gym if you need to use the bathroom or take a shower outside of your camper. AND it was by far THE most expensive park we stayed at ($29 per night while the others were $18-$20 per night). I cannot say we would stay here again unless we had to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
6 Dce 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
New Commissary since the last time we were here. Usually stay at Edwards when traveling through this region however they were full in November and full this January 6th. If you like Edwards, a call ahead to check availability might be a good idea. Desert Rat is a good camp. Be advised they raised the daily rate to $29.00 on January 1st.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Oct 5, 2012
(Updated: October 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stayed one night while heading through. Retirees now pay $23 per night for FHU 50/30 amp, water and sewer, and a concrete pad. Price is too high for what they have to offer compared to other bases. (Pay at the lodging office behind the upper tier of the campground). Small commissary in walking distance, with small BX co located with gas station behind the commissary. For $23 might as well just stay in a local campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 Jun 2012
(Updated: June 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Drove a little further this day to stay at Barstow. Left TN and headed up the coast through CA, OR and WA. This park is very easy to access from I-40. Civilian gate guard was very cordial. Called earlier in the day and was told there were 3 spots left and should be available. All the pads are concrete and look relatively new. In fact, there are 11 or 12 new sites that are not yet complete. Site had 30/50 amp service, water, and sewer. Commissary within eye sight; small but well stocked. PX was so so. Did not explore the town of Barstow. In short, this is a great place to pull off for the night. I would have considered staying a second night, but ready to head north. Rate I paid was $23.00. I thought it was interesting that this park had not been rated since Nov 2010.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 28 - 29, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.A. left this review using the Directory software: Base has not changed much since 1957 when I as Marine racked the grass! Ha-Ha. Good level concrete pads that you have to back up hill to get on. Good out of the way location for visiting surrounding desert sites. Will use again when traveling through Barstow. Recommend have correct change when paying.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 31, 2010
(Updated: September 26, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Campground is convenient to I-40 travelers. No frills. There is no shower/restroom at the campground. The camp gymnasium is about 1/2 mile so I drove over for my shower. Camp site was large enough, all are back-ins. I was able to get TV with antenna, and wifi was on-again, off again. As always, call to see if there are sites available. I will stop again if I am in the area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 15, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The location was great since we were just passing through. The base and campsite was easy to find and I could easily maneuver my 35ft trailer in the base and to the site. We called ahead as suggested and there were 3FH sites available and they were still available when we arrived. Large cement sites will accommodate any size rig. I wouldn't want to stay here more than a night since the town and the area really has nothing to offer in sightseeing. Had Wifi service but couldn't get any TV channels with our antenna and digital box. The staff was very friendly. Still no diesel at the base gas station. Very small commissary but has what you may need. Will stay here again if passing through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
February 10 - 12, 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
An "okay" place to stop for the night. The workers were real friendly and the office is open long hours. We were lucky to get a FHU site, considering they only leave 2 sites open for short term visitors. Prices are high for this park, as there's no amenities. $10/night to park in a dirt field is outrageous! Especially since there's no restroom or shower. Unfortunately, I get the impression this RV Park is mainly interested in making money and is treated as base housing. Over 90% of the sites are occupied by long-term residents.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12