Edwards AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.3 (91)
87204 2 20 0 20

User reviews

91 reviews
 
18%
 
34%
 
25%
 
11%
 
12%
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.3(91)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.4(91)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.1(91)
Value
 
3.5(91)
Overall Experience
 
3.3(91)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
91 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Jun 16 & 17, 2012
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived at the FAMCAMP not really knowing where to park. However, a gentleman who was driving around in a golf cart told us that we could choose any spot and then self-register. He also warned us that due to the extreme heat that they'd been having power problems and asked if we'd only use one air-conditioner. We did use the bowling alley which was very close as well as the BX and commissary. The last morning we stopped at Starbucks to use Wi-Fi. So overall the FAMCAMP was nice except the temps were too high!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24 May -30 May, 2012
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice CG..this is our 3rd or 4th visit here and our longest...got caught in the 70mph winds last night..took down 4 power poles in Lancaster...NB- believe the high wind advisory and especially when it gets to a warning...we were lucky to get here in one piece...very slow driving! So we are hunkered down till Monday or Tues...it is a ghost town for the holiday...we found the Shoppette mentioned in previous review..from the end of the commissary, with the commissary front entrance to your right, turn right up the winding road..there is the Class VI, Subway, Pizza hut.. post office, and a plethora of little shops...more than in the BX/Commissary complex... We would return without a second thought...the concrete curbs comng in are not a real problem..they are only inches high!! We traveled in a 32 travel trailer. oh be prepared with extra hose lengths in case you are lucky to get a shady spot (we did!! ) --HU's are longer away in this spot as it is on a dead end road (space 1 and 2)... And only reason did not get 5 stars is a tad distant from town (30 miles)..not a real big deal..most folks are 1-2
nighters..again this was most full I have seen it in years... Rich and Stefanie
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
10-11 May 20012
(Updated: May 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent the night here to get the season started and to warm up (we live on the coast). It was easy to find the RV camp, (watch out for the winding curbs going thu the base gates), no reservations needed, probably 1/2 full, easy pull thrus, FHU, not a lot of shade & little grass, lots of small trees planted that should help with the shade in the coming years, pet friendly. Both the well stocked commissary & exchange were within short walking distance as well as quite a few fast food venders. Note to self: Get Beer before getting set up. Neither the commissary nor the exchange sell beer. I walked a long hot/dry ways looking for the shoppette with its' promise of the cold ones needed to complete my camp out, no luck finding the elusive shoppette. I Finally ventured out again to the base gas station. I knew where it was. Still a bit of a walk but not as far as that unsuccessful shoppette venture. SCORE, and another hot walk back to the RV. The camp host came by for a friendly chat. Seamed be be a pretty nice guy. Was hot in the day and cooled off pretty well in the night. A nice fairly quiet camp out. At $15 a night, I'll certainly go back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29-31 Mar 2012
(Updated: March 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The weeds are gone! Another very nice stay. This is the first time we have seen this Famcamp completely full. We'll be back. Good power and water pressure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec. 14-15, 2011 and Dec 26, 2011
(Updated: January 16, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The camp has nice, clean facilities. Laundry room with 3 washers/dryers; restroom with 2 showers. Multi-purpose room has books, games, area information. Visited the Air Force Flight Test Center Museum, which is well worth the visit. The Dryden Flight Research Facility only gives tours on certain days and advance reservations are required. Commissary and Exchange had good selection. Previous reviews had complained about weeds in the FamCamp, but we saw no evidence of this. We spent a total of 3 nights, but never encountered a camp host. However, the self-registration system works just fine. The $25 per night fee is a bit steep for the isolated location, but EAB worked well has a stopover point in our travels to/from Yuma, AZ. Nearby is the Rio Tinto Visitor Center (boron mine) and the 20 Mule Team and Aerospace Museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 11, 2011
(Updated: June 16, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great spot to spend a few days visiting the base itself. There isn't much else close by in the way of attractions. The host was very helpful and hospitable. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2011
(Updated: June 06, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our first visit here. The campground is old but all utilities worked good and the sites are level. Verizon has a good single. All shopping is in walking distance. The museum was great good history and highly recommended and static displays were presented well. The NASA gift shop is also a great visit. Poor Andy has his hands full with the weeds and is a fine host (To bad they won't let him use round up). He's a wealth of information on the base and surrounding area. This is a great stop over for a few days to rest up and shop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
2-3 May 2011
(Updated: May 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I fear Andy is loosing the weed battle here. The concept of putting rock in the center area was good in theory but not very practical. The weeds have taken over. Edwards is a great stop-over park where you can relax and get some shopping done at the Commissary and BX. We have been here several times and will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 23-24, 2011
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Upon arrival, Andy the camp host, was busy weed-eating weeds. It looked like a losing battle. We had just pulled into our site when he drive up to greet us. Very nice and dedicated camp host. It appears MWR is providing more support than they did years ago, but still need to put more attention into the FamCamp. Wouldn't it be nice if even 75% if the revenue generated by the FamCamp is put back into the campgrounds? Besides the weeds, the FamCamp is a nice pace to relax and spend some time if in t he area. Large BX and Commissary across the street. The nightly rate and rotation policy is VERY fair. There were about a dozen sites available when we arrived, with 6 of them getting filled by evening. We'll always stay here when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Mar 15 - 16, 2011
(Updated: March 17, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
When we visited the grounds were not in good shape. Weeds high and the whole campground looked unkept. This facility is way out in the desert, and far away from anything. The commissary and exchange is close to the famcamp and within walking distance. It is well stocked. The famcamp is next door to the swimming pool which is indoors. The host is very friendly and helpful. Overall I think they need to come into the famcamp and clean up the weeds.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 2011
(Updated: March 13, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were fortunate to have one of the three sites that had trees and a lot of room from your neighbors. The host was very informative and friendly. The amenities were fine and in my opinion a very good value for $15. The location is remote however the Boron facility and the Air and Space museum were nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan 24 2011
(Updated: January 25, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Not a bad little camp ground. On honor system as the camp host has day job mentioned in earlier post. $15.00 for 'lectrics, water, and sewer. Not much to see and do but okay for an over the night stop. One issue I did not like is that there happens to be an area for kids for after school activities. The kids come from school and walk through the camp ground to reach the activity center. As a whole I find military dependent kids to be better behaved that most of their civilian counter parts but if I leave my camper for a trip to the head I am sure to lock up tight. Just trying to keep honest kids honest. Other than that not a bad little campground for a nights stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 24, 2010
(Updated: November 06, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The RV campsites are not being maintained. Weeds all around the sites. Stayed there overnight in May 2010 and no host available the whole afternoon and evening. Site slips had not been removed from the board when sites were vacated leaving us wondering which sites were available. Leaking water bibs at sites. Tall dead vegetation around the laundry and restrooms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
October 19, 2010
(Updated: October 21, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is just a great place to camp. The facilities are clean, well laid out, easy to get to and convenient to everything that the area has to offer. Tip of the hat to Andy (host). The weather was becoming very stormy the evening that we were there and he went the extra mile to go around and notify everyone of the impending storm. Awnings and external items were spared because of his efforts. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
9-10 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 13, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Not much has changed since our last visit to Edwards. The hosts are only in the park at night and weekends since they have jobs in Lancaster. Good BX and Commissary. They have diesel fuel at the gas station. The old trailer park behind the RV Park will soon be turned into a new BX Care Care Center, Shoppette and gas station. Also, a new dining facility will be built in the same area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 11, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.P. left this review using the Directory software: The BX has undergone a remodeling with a larger electronics and BluRay/DVD selection, but the prices are still high. Nice Food Court. Burger King is getting a major remodel, only drive thru is available. We live in Rosamond and haven't stayed at the FamCamp, I've placed ratings because it's required to submit this, and based my input on others reviews.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 16, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
High desert. Sandy. Rocks added to center open space, but no underlaying weed barrier, so it's a grass / weed area now. The $15 charge is cheap compared to other places we stay. [Pendleton is $30] Camp host made the stay pleasant, and roads are paved. Laundry is cheap at $1 wash & $.25 dry. Clean. A nice stopping place. Walk easily to small commissary & exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A bit off the beaten path but well worth the stop. Things were a bit quiet and the camp host Andy stopped by for a visit. He took us on a personal tour of the base sharing stories of the history and points of interest. He was very knowledgeable and was happy to share the information. The base is a city of its own so you will not lack for any needed items. Will definitely return again. Agree the check-in was a bit different, but easy to understand. Lot 21 was a nice size for our 37' motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 5 - 11, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
What can be said about this campground. It is layed out in a strange pattern. The side by side sites are so close that if you had slides out, there would only be a foot or two between neighbors. I don't have slides and my neighbor was about 4 feet from me. I was lucky to have a site at the end with only the neighbor on one side. At $15 a night, it is not a bargain. The rock has been added to the area around the lounge/bath house and Dave is doing a great job cleaning up other areas. School kids still cut through the campground and campsites. As one person stated, between picnic table and rig. I think the camp host and his wife have full time jobs somewhere because I did not see them at all during the week. I finally saw them on Sunday. My greeting from the hosts was a wave as I went by. It looked like they were doing some minor cleaning in the area. I did not use bath house, laundry, etc. so cannot comment on them, but the last time I stayed here they were very clean. I feel this is a campground that could use more improvements to be up to Air Force standards. It is a good place to come for maybe a week but not longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
December 11 - 14, 2009
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Edwards AFB is a huge base, but the services and facilities are all fairly close and convenient to the famcamp. Check-in is a self-service thing like you find in many national and state parks, with forms and envelopes in a weather-proof box. First pick out a vacant site, then do the paperwork. Put one copy of the completed form, along with check or cash together in an envelope and deposit it into the locked metal post-box adjacent to the campground sign. You take another copy for your receipt, and the white copy goes into the "occupied sites" slots on the back of the c/g welcome sign. There is a camp host, but he is not involved in check-in or site assignment. All the FHU sites are level, paved pull-throughs. The bath house is clean and heated (it's a chilly winter in the high desert). The laundry room is also clean, and has fairly new machines. The commissary, exchange, and shoppette pretty well cover all your travel/camping supply needs. The base gas station also sells propane. Andy, the camp host, is a peach of a gentleman, and was helpful and caring about the campers. One annoying thing about this campground is that the kids from the base schools use it for their shortcut to/from school. In the process, they cut right through the individual campsites, and several of them went into the clubhouse and bath house, and just generally loitered there. A number of them passed through our campsite between our RV and the picnic table, all the while being generally rowdy and loud as groups of school kids tend to be. Andy said he knew this was a problem and, to illustrate the point, another group came rambling through as we were speaking. He said he's working with the schools to find some equitable solution. He also intercepted the kids and explained the rules to them. There's work in progress to cover the barren ground around the bath house and picnic shelter with a thick layer of crushed desert rock. It will be a significant improvement to the appearance of the area and minimize dust on windy days. Andy says other improvements in the works are: WIFI for the whole camp (the contract has been let and he's expecting installation very soon); A new flat panel TV and cable hookup for the club room (there is no TV now except for a small analog set connected ONLY to a DVD player); A new, fenced dog play area; four shuffleboard courts will be added to the existing tennis courts adjacent to the c/g; and an expanded tent camping area. When all these projects are done, it will be worth the $15/night price. So, contrary to the opinion expressed by the May 2009 reviewer, it appears the services squadron folks care a great deal about the success and appearance of this famcamp and that it'll be here for a long time to come. For Sprint broadband air card users, we had good 3G EVDO signal for our internet connection.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
91 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5