Edwards AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.3 (91)
87204 2 20 0 20

User reviews

91 reviews
 
18%
 
34%
 
25%
 
11%
 
12%
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.3(91)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.4(91)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.1(91)
Value
 
3.5(91)
Overall Experience
 
3.3(91)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
91 results - showing 81 - 91
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
Jan 19-20, 2008 and Jan 24-25, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stoped there overnight when traveling to and from the military bowling tournament in Vegas. You can't ask for better host service. We were met by the host upon arrival each time. The second time we arrived, after dark and in the rain, the host met us at our coach with a blank regestration form so I wouldn't have to walk over and obtain one. The camp ground is located within easy walking distance of the commissary, exchange and bowling lanes. Cost is now $15 full hookups and $5 overflow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov. 18-19, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.4
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was our second visit here. Carol, the camp host is doing a wonderful job for NO PAY! While the campground is okay, Services and Outdoor Rec don't seem to pay much attention to it. If it wasn't for Carol, this campground would quickly deterioate. The new laundry still isn't open, since Services won't buy any washers and dryers. The bathrooms/showers and small rec room were in great shape and are also new. Although prices recently went up a bit, the campground is still a good deal. I would hope that Services and Outdoor Recreation would put some of the income generated here back into the campground. Plenty of open spaces for the 2 days we were here. We had GREAT power and ran 2 air conditioners, microwave, and electric water heater at the sme time with no problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22-28 Oct 2007
(Updated: October 30, 2007)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Several spaces available when we arrived on a Monday but soon filled up by Friday. Host was great and really helpful. No laundry facilities in the park but the restrooms were outstanding. Parking is a little tight in some spots to say the least but what the heck, the price is right. Golf course is super and resonablly priced...$15 including cart Mon-Wed. Course is a challenge. Museum is OK...worth the visit. Had no trouble with power while we were here. We'll be back in the spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct. 13-15, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.F. left this review using the Directory software: Great place for a stayover, BX and Commissary are small but adequate and close. Don't expect to get any shady spot, they are taken up by regulars. Temparture while we were there was below 80 with a nice breeze to keep it comfortable. Water pressure was great. Recomment older units use pressure regulator. My gage messured it at 60 lbs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 29 thru Sept 12, 2007
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Most of the people here are regulars that work on the base. So they are here for 26 to 28 days and out for two to three days. The electric post have 30 amp and 50 amp plugs, but the power is not even 20. I know that it is hot and I mean hot (over 100 degrees everyday) During our stay we put the frige on propane so that we could use air conditioner. The electric has gone out everyday since we arrived. Sometimes for only a few seconds or upto an hour. Also the price has increase to $15 per night for military and nowhere is that advertised except at the collect box. Local paper/magazine tells about the base but the information is not always true. Like one pool by the campground was suppose to be open 7 days a week but the last week of the season they put a sign on the door that it would be closed except for the weekend. Lacking communication thru out the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
2 Feb 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very affordable. Close to the commissary and BX. Park was small with very narrow sites but well maintained. Back to Back parking. Camp Hostess was very friendly. Restroom facilities were built, but not yet opened. Not a bad place to stay for overnight or a short "desert" visit, as the closest other shopping was 25 miles away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
February 12, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A clean, affordable campground if you're in the area. While most of the sites are real close together (look at the photo), the stay policy and prices are great. These are the rates we expect from a military benefit. Be sure to check into the museums and flight line tour.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 2006
(Updated: January 09, 2007)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Middle of nowhere - but that's Edwards AFB for you. Campground is level, open area with some trees. You have to look on the BACK of the Famcamp sign to see what sites are open. Most of the sites are close together with side-by-side hook-ups. Commissary and BX across main drag (4 lanes + turn lane), gym about a mile away (1/2 mile if you walk). There is a sidewalk to the BX/Commissary through a traffic light. A new bathhouse/laundry is being built and should be ready Spring 2007. Most facilities are closed after 8PM except mini-mart and any off-base facilities are about 20 miles away, so plan accordingly. Decent place to stay for passing through.
SD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Nov 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The sites at this FamCamp are very close together, so, if you have slide-outs, be careful. The sites are level and have full hook-ups. This FamCamp is pet friendly, they provide bags and cans for pet waste at several points throughout the campground. The Commissary and BX are within walking distance of the campground. Another good point is, the campground can be accessed from either east or west bound from Hwy 58 since the base has two "main gates". Bad point is, not much TV reception in the area of the campground. My wife and I plan on visiting there again in the near future. Camp Host is very helpful too!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Base Exchange and Commisary are within walking distance. The Flight Test Center Museum is on base and well worth the time to visit. Also, a NASA facilities tour can be scheduled.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Mar 2006
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Sites are level with picnic tables and some shade. Utilities are central so space for slideouts is minimal. Most sites are 30A, the Famcamp is slowly converting to 50A. No cable or WiFi & cell phone reception is poor except for Nextel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
91 results - showing 81 - 91
1 2 3 4 5