March ARB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.5 (46)
67061 0 21 0 19

User reviews

46 reviews
 
9%
 
50%
 
26%
 
11%
 
4%
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
3.9(46)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.5(46)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.1(46)
Value
 
4.0(46)
Overall Experience
 
3.3(46)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
46 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
July 13, 2013
Overall rating
 
1.5
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
According to a chart in the office, there are 17 out of 40 spaces occupied by "Homesteaders." One person is there for nine months??? When did it become acceptable for members of the military family to "screw" other members for selfish reasons? Reservists on drill weekends are using the campground as housing. Fellows, it is for recreation NOT housing. Dumpster full and will not be emptied. The good concrete and grass spaces are occupied by the "Homesteaders" leaving the narrow, tree encroached, unlevel gravel pull throughs for the rest of us. Very unimpressive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 1
Feb 5-11, 2012
(Updated: February 11, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a pretty good FamCamp. Easy access through the main gate. There is grass and the sites are easy to get into. There is a large commissary and exchange, though it is quite a drive to them. There are a couple points, however that need attention. The internet service is very weak and sometimes only works if you access it from the office building. They took out the dog run to make room for new sites but haven't installed a new one. There is a very good place just behind the office that does't look like it would be good for anything else. It even has a fire hydrant. The park has no designated pet walk area and does not provide doggy bags so a number of disrespectful guests let their dogs go anywhere and don't pick up after them. I was told that there is no trash can in that area for dog refuse because the staff would have to empty it. Gee that would be too bad wouldn't it. Staff seems to do enough to keep their jobs but not much more. The camp hosts are very friendly and helpful but have limited power to make any changes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
17 Nov 2012
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This location is far enough out to be peaceful while close enough to LA to make it practical for doing touristy stuff. The campground still has the homesteaders, one has been here since Feb and another has been here since Jun, what happened to the two week limit??? Another issue is that the base will not accept personal mail, therefore I would recommend removing the mailing address and insert NO MAIL! There also seems to be an ant problem. Would I stay here again, most likely.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 13-27, 2012
(Updated: November 14, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The new rates are $17 per night or $224 bi-weekly (no refunds for leaving early). All 40 sites are open for use although the new ones lack paving at the street side of the pad. The entrance to the center pull-thru’s have new curbing but the exit side needs work. With each visit it looks better and with the ongoing improvements currently scheduled, as indicated by office personal, it will look great when finished.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Oct 19, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Camp site is clean, lots of grass, some concrete pads, some hard-pack. All good sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 7, 2012
(Updated: May 08, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
New section is not open yet. Outdoor recreation employee said the new sites "have not been released yet". He hoped that they would be within the next week. I requested a pull through site, and was told that only back-in's were available. Upon arrival at the Famcamp saw that only 2 pull throughs were occupied. The road in front of the pull through sites is in need of repair. The new sites look fine, cement pads appear level. The only thing that I see missing are site numbers and picnic tables.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 16 - 23, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.S. left this review using the Directory software: - The 10 new sites are almost done. Concrete pads are finished, utilities are installed, and it looks like they're just waiting for the sites to be inspected and/or landscaped. The streets have already been paved, too. They have 19 sites available (the pull-through gravel sites are closed) during the construction. There were several sites still open during our stay, but it filled up toward the end of it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
February 27, 2012
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped by for the day to evaluate the campground. The campground is currently undergoing an upgrade. Only 20 RV sites are currently available, with another 20 being installed. It appeared most of the renovation was complete, with some final details and landscaping to be completed. They hope to have the entire FamCamp open by April 1st, 2012. I did see a couple vacant RV sites. Clean laundry room. Outdoor recreation staff was very helpful and friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 4, 2011
(Updated: February 27, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
As of Aug 4,2011, there will be only 9 spaces available according to MWR. And, these will be given priority to personnel on base requiring the space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 13 – April 31, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Arrived mid day. The guards gave us directions to the FamCamp, some 1.5 miles down the road. Upon arrival in the area there were no signs on the main road as to where or when to turn. After a few zigzag turns we found our way to the grass overflow as no FHU site available. While checking out the only building there and the area we noticed a Welcome to MARB FamCamp sign at the far end of the camp. Another sign directed you to the ITT building to pay (normal duty hours) or to The Inn (after duty hours, holidays and weekends). Building numbers were given but without a map who knows where these buildings are. I had been stationed at MAFB before and knew where the Inn was located. We paid for our one night (Sunday) with instructions to go to the ITT building in the AM if we were to stay longer. We were given maps at this point. There is one building that houses the showers/bathrooms, laundry w/3 washers & dryers, a computer terminal and some reading material. All are in good shape to include a daily cleaning. Monday, with map in hand, we went to the ITT office and found that a FHU was available. When our 14 days were up we were told that our site was available so we renewed. Those folks we met were friendly and helpful which is unlike what we had previously read about. The max stay is 14 days with FHU. If there is no one in overflow wanting a FHU site then you can extend another 14 days. However if your FHU time is up and an overflow person wants a FHU you have to move into overflow or leave. Price for FHU is $15 per day or $196 per 14 days and overflow is $5 per day unlimited which gives you access to the facilities building and the use of the dump and potable water. Not the best but the price is good. They will be expanding but currently you have a choice of sites with pads & grass, gravel & grass or asphalt and no grass. We had an asphalt site located across the street from the Tower and Passenger Terminal. Got to see lots of our troops leave and arrive from destinations unknown. They play Reveille at 0730, Retreat at 1630 and Taps at 2200. Nice to hear and remember our freedoms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
February 24, 2011
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
What a nice post this is, historic and pretty. We stayed one night in a large grassy site in the overflow as the campground was full. Check in was easy and staff pleasant. Quiet with not much aircraft noise.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9-10 May 2010
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Location: Near I-15, but at the back of the base and a little walk to get back to the check-in with the site number. Clean/Hosp: Park was clean and check-in staff was friendly. Amn/Fac: Fairly basic, some sites on asphalt or cement, but others on dirt/gravel and narrow. No site items (tables, fire pits (at least on the asphalt. Confusing "reserved" signs hanging on site number posts can make it difficult to determine what is actually available. Never saw a camp host. Showers clean but a little dated. Value: Average, nothing bad, but nothing great. Good price for California.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 19 - 24, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Having read the last posts, we extended our stay for 2 more days when the rec. office was open on Friday afternoon. Luckily on Saturday we hadn't gone off to play golf on their beautiful course before a couple knocked on our door at 12:15 saying we were in their space. We showed them both our windshield notices & they went away. Ten minutes later, armed security guards showed up wanting to see our receipts and my military I.D. card. I showed them to him. [Both were taped to our windshield.] A few minutes later two of them came back & wanted to see them again. They looked, saying that the first guard had mis-read the dates. Finally apologized & left saying housing does this to them often. When my wife had gone in to pay she commented that they seem to be over staffed. I think they're understaffed by one competent person. Had we been off or site [we have a motorhome and no toad] I think we would have been S.O.L. trying to get our site back. And Riverside gate is no longer open.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
April 19, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Our experience was much like the previous post - Big cement pads, grass & trees, quiet -- not a bad site. We had also been deluged with information at Davis-Monthan, and received no rules, maps, nothing from March. I had been on this website prior to arrival, so I already knew to pay at Lodging since we would arrive after hours. There appeared to be several "Homesteaders" on the sites, but there were several back-in and pull-thru sites available. I picked a site, dropped the car and went to Lodging to pay. The next morning while I was packing things up to leave, I was asked by the camp host if we had checked in yet. "Yes," I said. "At Lodging last night." Apparently, Lodging had no record of us checking in, so I showed him the receipt and then all was well again. Keep your paperwork handy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 9-23, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Big cement pads, grass & trees, quiet -- not a bad site. After being deluged with information at Davis-Monthan, we arrived at March and received no rules, maps, nothing. Certainly not the best trained staff but friendly. It works for us because of proximity to Southern California attractions -- not really close to L.A., Orange County, San Diego, etc., but within couple of hours driving distance. Good value for Southern California. Don't know if changes were made after the earlier reviews, but we had a good experience at March Famcamp in Spring 2010.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
September 2009
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Contrary to other reviewers, we had a terrific experience at March. The bath house/laundry was immaculate. The sites were wide. We called early on the morning we were to arrive and were told we'd be able to get a site. The check-in went smoothly, the gentleman in the MWR Office was polite and professional. The location as terrific for visiting family in Ontario. We will definitely visit March again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 2 to 14 ,2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
R.Z. left this review using the Directory software: The campground still has a problem with the roads, luckily it did not rain during our stay. The reservation system is two weeks and IF there is anyone on the waiting list and ALL sites are full and your reservation is expiring and you get to the desk before the homesteaders, you can get a site. During the time we were there not ALL sites were filled, so there were no problems getting a site. The facilities were first class well maintained.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
2 Feb to 6 Feb 2009
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
VERY poorly run RV park. We had problems day after day. First night was spent in dry camp with a promise of a site the next day. We got to the office at 9:30 am and they had already filled the available sites. Spent another night in dry camp with the promise of a site the NEXT day. Next day came, we paid for the site, but our site had a trailer in it with the owner no where to be found. The office had to locate the person. We had plans in the area, so they PROMISED they'd get the guy out and our spot would be available when we returned in the evening. Got back at 10:30 pm and darned if they hadn't given the site to someone else! The office closes at 4:30 and they're supposed to give all their communications to the Inn when they close but there is NO communication between the two. BAD experience for us from start to finish. We won't be back. Also, the office currently has no frequent camper books available for purchase.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
November 14-15
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
we stayed for two days in the parking lot hook up area. It worked for what we needed but I wont be back. We arrived in evening and had to go to the inn to check in. Only able to pay for one day. Then next morning had some less then friendly gentleman tell us if we wanted to stay had to go pay now, camp was filling up. ummm... had to chase him down and ask where the heck to pay at! Pros: location, very level. Cons: homesteaders (it one thing if you have reservations but to not offer res. and be constantly full?), no host, strange check in process (its 3/4 mile away at the rec center) , no internet access, need long hose to reach water, no cable, and NOTHING for kids.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
31 July 2008
Overall rating
 
1.3
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I recently stayed at your fam camp and noticed what seem to be people homesteading there. I read your policies and you have alot of inconsistency's checked with some of the campers and they said the same thing. It seems like they make the rules day by day. For being first come basis with no reservations, it sure looks suspicious. It's like who you know. I left and won't be back. I'll stick to the Navy and Marine famcamps. At least they don't have homesteaders. They also have Camp Ground Hosts which you don't. Very poor facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
46 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3