March ARB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.5 (44)
62513 0 21 0 18

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

44 reviews

 
(4)
 
(23)
 
(10)
 
(5)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.9  (44)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.5  (44)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.1  (44)
Value 
 
4.0  (44)
Overall Experience 
 
3.3  (44)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
2-8 Feb 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Smaller CG with older facilities and hook-ups. Park manager was friendly, professional and accommodating. Office hours are 0830-1200 and 1400-1600 weekday (closed weekend so weekend check-in is with a camp host). Call a day or two ahead of time to determine availability. Park was generally clean, the interior campsites were well spaced level and had concrete patio pads with tables and/or chairs with umbrella. The exterior sites were on an asphalt parking lot very close to the flight line and with a large grass common area in the back. Perimeter asphalt sites had hook-ups at the very rear requiring an extra sewer hose to make the connection. Additionally, sewer hook-up was higher than the rig’s outlet preventing gravity from flowing water through the sewer tube. Dry-camping overflow is available - sign up in office for next available on first come basis. They are supposed to hold to a 14-day max stay and presumably the overflow wait list allows for occupying the next available spot. However, it appeared many were staying beyond the 14 day max making those in overflow wait several days. The designated overflow area gets really swampy in the rain. Not much to do on the base itself. Commissary and PX were a 10 minute drive off the base compound. Clean laundry with $1.00 for both washer and dryer. Campsite price is right at $17/night for what you get and good for a short stay if you need one in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Have stayed here previously and worked out ok. This trip hoped to spend a few days here but no availability when pulled in and they don’t take reservations. Would have to dry camp in the dirt until site available. Asked one of the Camp Hosts if they knew of RV parks in the area and pretty much got a “think so” but no real info. Turns out Riverside County has a regional park not that far from March. The park has two campgrounds in it and plenty of sites available (weekends get busy, they take reservations). Not a cheap place to stay but better than commercial RV park. Sure would have thought the Camp Host would have known this, seems like they should be there to help fellow campers. Disappointed with March ARB FamCamp service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
October 28 - Nov. 2, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
As a born and raised So Cal girl from the coast, it's hard to get excited about inland empire California! The area near and around March is a little seedy, but the famcamp is - as always - affordable. This camp is a little further on the base than most and the closest gate was closed the whole time we were there. Keep driving, you will eventually get to the park. There are a lot of permanent/full-time RVs there: lots of kids running around, lots of cars taking up the road (we couldn't make the turn into a pull-thru site because a truck was in the way and no one was around to move it). The attendant was great and the bathrooms were clean. The exchange is WAY removed and actually off base, but had a good assortment of items MINUS California tax! We never did find the commissary or a base gas station. Compared to skanky RV parks in nearby Perris and Lake Elsinore, this famcamp did the job for a few days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
May 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We called ahead to check availability, and were told over 2/3rds of the spots were unoccupied. It turns out they are unoccupied because there are renovations/construction planned, and they will not allow anyone to use the main sites until after the construction in the area is complete (despite no visible construction happening to the park itself). As of 13 May 2016, there are only 7 asphalt sites with hookups available on a waiting list, for which you must be physically present to be given a spot when it opens. The waiting list had 5 names on it when I signed up, hoping for a day or so with A/C before we move on. Hopefully next time we drive through the area the construction will be complete and this famcamp will actually have spots with hookups available.
C
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
June 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The sites were not marked in the area we parked in, you had to know the first site closest to the dumpster was site 30 and you had to count up to your site to get the correct number. The guy at the Laundry/office/lounge was clueless about anything associated with the camp ground, base or the community. Since this is a Reserve base the was very little that the base had to offer. If you need medical you have to go to the VA in Loma Linda or Navy Hospital Camp Pendleton. I had trouble getting my mail because the camp mailing address is incorrect and should be changed from: (Your Name), c/o General Delivery, 23580 Alessandro Blvd., Moreno Valley, CA 92553-9997 to (Your Name), c/o General Delivery, Moreno Valley, CA 92553-9997.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
January 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This is really an example of great potential poorly executed. While the limited staff is friendly, many days no one is present, the park is poorly set up and maintained. First the upgrade of landscaping is an unmitigated disaster. Whoever did it has no idea of the usage of RV parks. The pull throughs have river rock that is difficult to walk on...read easy to trip and fall and has cinder rock where you need to kneel down for hookups etc. Pet rules are a joke. Our next door camper was long term with two vehicles and two units on one site. Now the pets. Two chihuahuas crapped all over the grass you had to use to get to the rocks to get to the tanks. Of course if you stepped back at all you had dog crap all over your shoes. While I was leaning into my truck I heard the door on their unit and the two evidently raced to my leg and one bit me to defend the homeland. Luckily no skin was broken just caught my jean leg. Of course these were darling dogs who did not need leashes. Don't get me wrong I love dogs but I love responsible owners more and a properly monitored park even more. Now lets talk about site management. When you arrive you usually will not find anyone available to meet your needs or answer questions. You will find a note to call the billeting office and they will have no idea or number to call to find help. Yes they do refer you to the host sites which are carefully unmarked and with no one available either. DO NOT follow the directions in Allstays as you will end up on a closed road near a permanently closed gate. Since it is a dead end...good luck if you are back there with any length. The positive...well it is a great location, quiet at night and priced right. But had this been the old SAC base it was in the day you would never have to put up with the nonsense of this parks management or lack there of.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
Jan 2015
(Updated: January 10, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
KBUG (Know Before You Go). The back-in sites surrounding the small park have galvanized steel pipes imbedded in the ground to the rear. They impede efforts to reach the sewer lines and will damage your rig if your depth perception is off. These pipe barriers could be positioned in front of the power boxes to protect them. Standard parking lot curbs could be utilized to keep rear tires from reaching the grass and would produce greater access to the hook-ups. For now use a spotter. PS: The dumpster over there has pad locks on it. The purpose is defeated. PSS: No gas station on post. HC
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
9-10 May 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Location: Near I-15, but at the back of the base and a little walk to get back to the check-in with the site number. Clean/Hosp: Park was clean and check-in staff was friendly. Amn/Fac: Fairly basic, some sites on asphalt or cement, but others on dirt/gravel and narrow. No site items (tables, fire pits (at least on the asphalt. Confusing "reserved" signs hanging on site number posts can make it difficult to determine what is actually available. Never saw a camp host. Showers clean but a little dated. Value: Average, nothing bad, but nothing great. Good price for California.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were lucky and happened to be pulling in just as someone was leaving a full hook-up site on a weekend. We were advised that on weekends it is a first-come, first-served basis. There are several dry-camp spaces available also. Good, clean and level sites. However, roadway in FamCamp does collect rain water in some areas. We plan on visiting again in future. Registration office (March INN) is several blocks away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2005
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We used this base as a short term storage for our motorhome when we took a trip overseas for a month. We stayed in dry camp the first couple of days as full hook ups were taken. We made arrangements with staff to place our rig in storage, $30 for the month, then we moved the rig to the fenced lot they told us to go to. We felt our rig would be very secured while we were gone; on base, and in a locked facility. When we returned we were lucky enough to get a full hook up site. Campground is almost always full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10