Seal Beach RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (117)
186775 5 30 2 96

User reviews

117 reviews
 
59%
 
38%
 
3%
2 stars
 
0%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.8(117)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.8(117)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.2(117)
Value
 
4.3(117)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(117)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
117 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
August 4, 2011
(Updated: August 04, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I've stayed here twice at two different sites. It's very expensive ($900/month), but a great place for me as I have relatives in the area. Friendly staff; it's clean; great weather; and the spaces are roomy. But,.................it's about the ants, mice, and other crawly types that are constantly marching into the coach! Be prepared to fight these critters especially during the late Spring and Summer months (ants). In an effort to stop incursions by mice and lizards, I keep all connections up off the ground. Plug all through holes and have ant traps everywhere. Even though I've done what I'm able to do about these things it's a constant battle. While I have a little semblance of control in my galley the ants are always exploring EVERYWHERE throughout the coach! I'm used to living in the field but c'mon! Evidently there is a policy of not dealing much with pest control at the resort. I'd think twice about coming here in the summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 11, 2011
(Updated: July 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
All of the previous comments still apply...awesome in so many ways...just a couple updates. First, the free WiFi is in...not real fast and goes down once in a while but it's free and useable. The other thing is a noisy construction project in the area between the RV park and the NEX...top of the diagram shown in the photos. It's an area that was projected to be an expansion of the RV park but is now going to be a new Marine Corps Reserve training center. They start in at 0700 with pounding, noisy equipment, back up beepers and all sorts of racket. The project is in the early stages (still placing forms for the foundation) so I'd say for the next year try to get a site as far away as possible...(toward the bottom of the diagram) maybe even ask to be placed as far away as possible. I'm not complaining (but I might ask to move)...just a heads up if you're coming this way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
February 2011
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice RV park with friendly staff and on-site host. Wide concrete sites that are not too close to your neighbors. Clean and fairly new laundry and bath facilities. Too bad the restaurant is closed! No commissary but at least they have a mini-mart. Great location and close to some of the BEST beaches. WiFi should be free! Expensive compared to out-of-state military RV parks but we would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 10 - 13, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Came in via the Westminster gate so road was not clearly marked but guards gave directions. If using the Main Gate the road to FamCamp is clearly marked. There is a friendly helpful staff with clean facilities. A vehicle wash facility was right at the entrance to the FamCamp since washing on the site is prohibited. At $2 for 5 minutes it’s an expensive one person operation or an economical two person job. All sites were long and wide. We stayed three nights. There laundry facilities, eight each washers and dryers with TV and books were free.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 14 - 17, 2011
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We originally planned to stay at an RV resort in Orange, CA. The day prior to departing I found this location on-line and attempted to make a last minute reservation - they were closed (it was a Saturday). I called Monday morning after staying a night at a KOA while en route and secured a reservation for all four nights. Wow! What a great surprise - excellent staff, a small shop for food and drinks located nearby, and only about 12 miles from Disneyland. I highly recommend using the truck entrance on Westminster Blvd (as posted by others) - front gate located at 800 Seal Beach Blvd is a tight fit (pull in your mirrors). There were some full timers at this location, but no us vs them attitudes. If you have kids keep them close as cars far exceed the posted 5 MPH speed limit. The adjacent kiddie park is okay. The only thing missing was a gas station on post, but there are two gas stations at the intersections of Seal Beach and Westminster. I paid $27 a night for a full hook-up pull-thru versus $80 at the off-post location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
27 May - 1 June 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This FamCamp is one of the best-kept secrets in the entire military RV system. Exceptionally well-maintained facility with great amenities. Shower facilities and laundry were terrific with no charge for use of laundry. Proximity to Long Beach and the greater LA area is great. We look forward to utilizing this facility again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 10-12, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I wish that California Military RV Parks would charge as most other states do, less expensive. But, this is CA. This park is very nice. The sites are wide and have a place to park the TOAD or TV, and they are near level. I had a problem with contacting the reservations department and ended up calling the MWR Administration. I never received a call back from either department. Eventually, after many tries I had a human voice to talk to and made my reservations. My concern was that it was a Friday, the two departments are closed over the weekend, and I was trying to arrange a site for the following Monday. I did not know the availability. I did receive a call back from the reservations department on Tuesday, after having been on-site since the day before. The directions to the park are good except that it has not been mentioned that the main gate is very narrow. I mean that my mirrors had about 8 inches, or less, of clearance on each side of the gate. (Just enough) A suggestions is, if you are arriving during working hours, 0600-1630, use the gate on Westminster. It is the truck entrance. You will have to have a decal to use that gate. Once through the Westminster gate, follow the road straight ahead, and just after you pass the view of the RV Park, turn right on Forrestal Ln. It will be the first right after you pass the RV Park. Just past the restaurant "Bunker 33" (which is closed) turn right, not into the Bunker 33 parking lot. Follow that short road to the RV Park office.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1-14 April 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very strict firearms policy. If you're going to bring any weapons onto this base, including BB guns and bows and arrows, either keep your mouth shut and take your chances or be prepared to be denied access to the base. Even though the MWR folks at the campground tell you to inform the security police if you have any weapons and they will be kept in the vault until you leave, they are WRONG! Trying to comply with their policy I reported my weapons to the security police. I was informed that I would have to immediately leave the facility with my weapons. Absolutely no exceptions to the "No Weapons" policy were allowed. I was escorted off the base with the weapons in my toad. Fortunately my wife had a friend in the vicinity that agreed to keep our weapons until we left. I guess honesty is not always the best policy. I doubt if there are many full time military RVers who travel without a weapon of some sort on board. Other than that incident, this is a fantastic park if you want to see Los Angeles and surrounding area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
2-18 March 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Second time here. Good location for me, about 9 miles from my son in Long Beach. Check-in was fine, very pleasant young man at the desk. During my stay did not see any person who could be the manager. Obviously several "long-term" residents. A few sites had piles of personal belongings sitting outside the RV's. Some I would consider to be trashy looking. One site near me the travel trailer left, and an old camper shell sat there on the grass for several days before someone hauled it away. Excellent fitness center on base. Nearest commissary is at LAAFB, near LAX. Los Alamitos has a mini-mart, not much bigger than the one at Seal Beach. Wifi rates are outrageous. Wish military parks would provide free wifi, as many of the civilian parks do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1-12 Feb 2010
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
The Navy needs to do a little "truth in advertising". While the area has recently been upgraded and the parking areas are level and well constructed, many of the back-in spots were set up to require an approach from the vehicles right (blind) side. With a 5th wheel or travel trailer, backing into a right hand spot is about as much fun as a train wreck! The advertised dining facility/lounge (Bunker 33) has been closed for over a year. The golf course is miles away and there are no commissary or exchange facilities, other than the really small Mini-mart within a reasonable distance. So how can this facility be described as a "resort"? All it has to offer are full hookups. At $27 per day with no weekly or monthly rates it is grossly overpriced as are many of the Navy and Marine RV parks in Southern California. While WiFi is available, the going rates for the contractor connection only add to the rip-off. Don't think we will be back until Navy MWR managers have a reality check!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
8-10 January 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Wife, I, and our 2 kids stayed here for a quick weekend escape. Beautiful place with large concrete pads all separate from one another by at least 12 feet. Every site full hookups so as long as you can get a reservation, you have a great spot. Trails run around the park and a great walk for family, pets, fitness, etc. Mini mart is walkable although it is a very "mini" mart. Had lunch at Ruby on Seal Beach Pier,($3 to park). Park is quiet at night. Only dislike was the fact that there isn't a stay limit here so you can tell the one's that are "living" full time. Looks like an outdoor storage space next to a few of some folks rigs. yuck..... takes away from the beauty......hopefully the staff can take a turn on that to preserve the park as it is only a few years old and the map in the front office had visions of expansion with future sites. Overall, great place and we would come back!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
9-11 December 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My wife and I spent three nights at this FamCamp and found it to be one of the best military FamCamps. The only drawback was the price of the WIFI (which is indicated above). According to office personnel, the price of WIFI will be reduced once the current contract expires. There are several good eating establishments just outside the main gate. They can be accessed on either Pacific Coast Highway (to the left when exiting the main gate) or on Westminister Blvd (to the right when exiting the main gate.) Both are located to the north from the base. We really enjoyed the food at Rubys Diner which also has many historical photographs of early Long Beach, CA. The office personnel are very helpful and very friendly. We plan on returning in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
7-9 and 21-23 August 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here over 2 weekends and will return. Location: If looking for a base of travel in the LA area, this is a nice point. Without a toad, the surrounding areas are a bit of a hike. Although, with a bicycle, the city, shops and beach are quite easy to get to. Clean/Hosp: RV pad areas were well maintained, the bathrooms/laundry as well. The staff at check-in was also friendly and helpful. Amen/Fac: Park has a RV wash area (any other washing of RV/vehicle prohibited), although it was closed on our 2nd stay. Numerous walking trails around the base and into the wildlife preserve area. The beach is about 1 1/2 to 2 miles away on base, several more off base. There is a small base NEX with basic items and a gym and credit union within a 1/3rd of a mile. Value: A very nice park, although a bit expensive for a military RV park. But given that it is nice and quiet and new AND in the LA area, not a bad value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 2009
(Updated: September 15, 2009)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Although I agree with many that this "new" campground is of great quality, and the fact that Sea Breeze is the only Military Campground in the greater LA area it does a good service by simply being there for us, following the closing of the LA AFB FamCamp several years ago. My biggest issue with Sea Breeze however, is really the bigger issue with the Navy's MWR (if it can still be called MWR) program. Given that almost every other services campgrounds are at least a third less expensive than the Navy CG's I wish that the Navy management would keep in mind that these places should be for the enjoyment and "economical" use of the Active Duty and Retired members, (other DOD and Fed Civilians too). My point is that the rates the Navy in general charges does pull in a lot of money for their coffers, but.... should that be what the program is for?, or should it be as I suggested above "for the economical use of the users"? If the inflated rates can't, or won't be lowered by the Navy management to be more inline with say, the Air Force's CG's, then at the very least tear the rates based on rank, that way the lower rank (less income) members can better afford to stay at these CG's. On a side note, once when I inquired as to why the Navy doesn't do teared pricing I was told by one of the Navy CG's managers that "we have determined that in fact the lower ranks tend to have more disposable income than the more senior ranks do", I was flabbergasted at that "official" response! Is it just me or am I missing something here, the "lower ranks" have more disposable income? How could that be determined? Is it that the lower ranks don't have 2 homes to pay for??
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 13 - 16, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Another outstanding stay at this premier RV MCG Resort. The grounds are immaculate, the staff friendly. Sad to hear rumor that rates will soon rise to an unequivocal $33 per night! We have asked that WiFi be complementary as it is in all Navy Lodges. The water faucet proximity sensor in the bathrooms are timed too short. A great place to stay in Southern California though!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 July 2009-12 July 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is the Best Famcamp I've had to pleasure of staying at. Great staff, very clean and modern. Military's best kept campground. Puts Travis to shame.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 19, 2008 - Jan 19, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
For a Military facility, it was very well built. As for having amenities, there were none. As for price/value, just try to find something else as good anyplace near the Los Angeles basin. Those of you who bragged about it being within walking distance to the beach must be active combat Marines. 2 miles is not what I consider close. 2006 Foretravel Phenix 4/42 Tominator
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
1 Apr - 11 Apr 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was one of our best stays yet. Close proximity to much to do in southern cal at a great price. If peace and quite is what you seek, this is the place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan, Feb, Mar 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Wow, what a place. And rates that can't be beat. They have even built an enclosed RV/car wash which is available pretty much all the time. Restrooms, laundry are kept clean as can be. We left and came back a couple of times. Not once did I see a bit trash or litter any where. Many of the RVs had outdoor items such as barbeques, ice makers, bottled water dispensers, outdoor fireplaces, and who knows what else. But they were all kept in a neat and orderly fashion either just outside the door or under their campers. When possible folks that had covers for these items kept them covered. The pads are very level and offer extra large spaces for parking. The place was quiet as a church. The lawnmower was the only real noise but they were just trying to keep the grounds looking good. You are on a flight path to an airport but it didn't bother us that much. The Los Alamitos Army base is close by which has a larger selection of PX items. The post office is just down and around the corner of the Seal Beach Westminster Ave. intersection. Shop around for propane as the locals have the prices jacked up higher than usual. At the entrance is the location of the west coast Submarine Memorial which is looking a little on the rough side. The Queen Mary and a Russian Foxtrot (Scorpion) are not far away and have tours as well as other amenities. The on base beach access is great. Plenty of wild life viewing. As a note there is a Navy Federal Credit Union not too far at the Westminster Mall on the outer edge of the mall area. There is also a Camping World not too far away either and it is very well stocked. What can I say? Lots of pride shown here. Many other military famcamps administration should visit here to get ideas on what a top notch famcamp should be like.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Feb. 20-28, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
For the first three winters of our travels, we have returned to Southern California to visit doctors, family, etc. Until we gave in and tried Seabreeze, it was always a hassle trying to find affordable, feel-good accommodations. Location was the attraction for us, but it turned out to be a very good over-all experience. Everything in Southern Cal is expensive -- this place is a good value. Incidentally, they told us they need to get up to 80% occupancy before they can expand the number of sites: as more people hear about the park, that's bound to happen soon. I can see it rivaling Nellis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
117 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6