Bethany Beach Training Site

New
 
4.3 (36)
75341   0   11   2   36

User reviews

14 reviews with 4 stars

36 reviews

 
(18)
 
(14)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.6  (36)
 
3.8  (36)
 
4.6  (36)
 
4.4  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 - 6 Sept 2017

This is a very nice campground, located just a few blocks from Bethany Beach and just a short drive North to Rehoboth Beach, DE & a just 10 miles South to Ocean City, MD beaches. As said earlier, there really aren't ANY "amenities", just a very nice FREE laundry. The biggest disappointment we found is that there really ISN'T CABLE TV SERVICE available: the woman in the Billeting office explained that they'd changed their cable provider to one that requires use of a "digital box" & they've not had the funding provided to purchase these boxes. Also, be advised that the MAIN GATE is permanently CLOSED & you need to enter through the SOUTH GATE, which is located just a few hundred feet SOUTH on Rt. 1, just behind where the VFW conducts their weekly chicken BBQs.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12 June 2017

I have reservations for the week of 12 June and thought I would share that they do have open sites. The price is now $30 a day and you have to pay 15 days prior to the dates you request, if you change the reservation it can not be refunded. This is a wonderful site right near the beach and very peaceful. We have stayed there about three times now; it's the best beach site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Summer 2017

Just tried to make reservations for the last two weeks of July and was told that EVERY site was booked for a 'youth camp'. Not happy. If I can find something else in the area, I'll stop by and verify this. I certainly hope that this wasn't BS.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 02, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 29-30, 2016

We stayed at Bethany Beach one night while moving up the East Coast. Sites 1 to 12 are more suited to smaller rigs. They have new pull through sites 13 to 22 with 50 amp service, water, electric, and cable ($30 per night).   They are next to the salt pond.  The ones closer to the pond may be tighter for swinging into (backing in would be okay) but the others are fine.  Running/walking track right next to the sites with viewing to trees and osprey nest.  Small fishing/crabbing dock.  Make the left turn from the south right before the sign - security guard at gate.  Easy walk/bike ride about 4 blocks to the beach.

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • Photos of the various site types.
    422 KB
    713
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

11 July 2014

Stayed one week. Limited allowance since this is popular site however many empty spots even on w/e. Didn't understand need to have rig move over one spot after being there for several days to allow another rig into their spot. Both same size, same access to hookups. Plus, one RVer said he was to move into my spot the next morning & I said "no, that I was there for a week, had my site #, & wasn't going to hookup, unhook & rehookup. He moved to a different site of his own choosing. Seems as if there is some disorganization in the running of the park. Base is immaculate, laundry rooms available but I didn't need them. There is a "Bethany Beach" shuttle that comes to the base entrance now, very convenient if you don't tow a car, you're not stuck. One could walk across a busy highway & walk several blocks to beach w/public access or drive to the State park "swimming" beach. Long drive but worth it since there are change rooms, bathrooms, & a concession w/simple foods. Weather was very cool on the beach, needed to wear jeans & sweatshirt but enjoyed the sand $ surf.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 to 3 Aug 2014

Stayed for a few rainy days this summer. Sites 1-12 are a bit cramped but OK. Sites 13 and higher are nicer and down near the pond and playground. WiFi was a bit unreliable, but they told us upfront it might be. I had a double kayak with us and we went out on the salt pond. Found out it is connected to the canal system down there. I wish we had more time and better weather and could have down a longer excursion. Biking was nice. Not really trails, but room on the shoulder that was adequate. A great experience overall, despite the weather being rainy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2011

L.C. left this review using the Directory software: A little out of the way, but well worth the extra driving time to reach this FAMCAMP. Clean laundry facilities and there were no charge. All camp sites had full hookups that included w/s/e and cable. We used our Verizon stick for internet. A salt lake is located on the base that has an excellent beach for kids to play in the sand. The beach is a short walk off base. Personnel that we dealt with were very supportive and truly seemed to welcome us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27 June - 01 July 2011

Great hidden gem on the Atlantic. While this is only a small training facility with no BX, Commissary, etc it's a great jumping off point. Ocean City, MD is 30 mins South and Rheoboth and Lewes beaches are just up the road. The RV restrooms could have been a little better but we had all we needed in our travel trailer. Personnel at the camp were EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. For $22 a night you can't beat the value for the location. The town of Bethany Beach is literally across the street with a nice boardwalk and beach to enjoy. My wife has already decided this one deserves a return trip!!! Croz... MSgt, USAF (Active duty, at least until 01 Feb, 2012!)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 11-14 2010

Close to our home in NJ, great place close to beaches and your own private fishing pier, we caught so many crabs had a blast here, we will come back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2009

While staying at Dover AFB I decided to take a ride down here to check it out. Since I was not staying there, I had to Pass Code to get onto the very small National Guard Base, so i called the Duty number. I was given the Pass-Code and went to the office to show my ID. Got directions to the 2 small CG on base. They both have cable, so that is very good. 2 blocks away from the beach, so walking would be no problem in getting back and forth. Small fishing pier and was told that crabbing is also good there. I would consider staying there. I did not go driving around to see what was in the area, but if u are down there, it would be for the water sports. I did not check the bathhouse or rest rooms.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2009

Great location and you can't beat the price. Bathrooms not so nice and no pets allowed is a big drawback. Salt Pond sites are VERY close together, you are almost better off pulling forward and using the space behind your rig, you get great morning sun this way too. Call ahead for gate code.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Labor Day Weekend 2007

It's convenient to the beach although across a busy highway and a couple more blocks. The price is right ($22/night with sewer, water, cable, electricity). But it's essentially a parking lot. Wonderful place to use as a base for a beach visit. Hardly anyone there when we stayed (in a truck camper), bathrooms were clean and check in was a breeze. The sites could have used some mowing but the asphalt pad was level and that's what counted. I'll stay there anytime I want to do a cheap beach visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 2006

Excellent camp site. They have added 10 new pull through sites close to the pier on the bay side. We enjoyed the area very much, with Ocean City MD close by. Our one complaint was the beach. This is the first place I have encountered that allows private beach. It appeared amusing to see a beach packed with people, then on the other side of the fence the beach hardly had a sole on it. The private side is patrolled by guards for ID?s to allow access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jul 2006

This was a great campsite. Lots to do or just sit and vegitate. Very bicycle friendly towns, large bike paths up and down RT 1. Do the VFW BBQ on Saturday, good food, good cause. Definitely would go there again. Had a small plumbing problem, leaky HW heater, post engineers helped me out. Delaware, though small, does their Guard well. Can't go wrong for $20 a night.

Was this review helpful to you? 
14 results - showing 1 - 14