Bethany Beach Training Site

New
 
4.3 (36)
75341   0   11   2   36

User reviews

18 reviews with 5 stars

36 reviews

 
(18)
 
(14)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.6  (36)
 
3.8  (36)
 
4.6  (36)
 
4.4  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
18 results - showing 1 - 18  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 9 - 11, August 11-13, 2017

SO do not let the 3 fool you, there are really no Amenities at this site other than a small but very nice gym, clean showers, and free laundry, the playground by the salt pond is really in bad shape the little dock area is great for crabbing and the site itself was beautiful, we stayed at site 18 and had a GREAT time. The training center itself is quiet, and small which is really great for us, and we had a GREAT stay, we are actually headed back down next week for 3 days but I can assure you next time we are going down for 7 days. There is beach access directly across the road from the training site that you can literally walk to if you don't have a whole lot of things to drag along, The chicken BBQ which is hosted by the VFW every Saturday morning was pretty good for the price I think it was 5 bucks or something. There are armed guards at the gate 24/7 and they are super nice and professional.......Overall its an amazing value that's clean in a great location I will make this a yearly stop for us. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 - 9 June 2017

Fifth Street is a little difficult to recognize while driving down SR 1. I drove past the entrance and had to make a few turns on narrow streets to return. Going South on SR 1 you will pass the closed main entrance to the post. (There is a Huey on a stick at the main entrance.) The next street on the right is the entrance street to the post. It is approximately 100 yards from the main gate with the “VFW BBQ Chicken House” just before the turn. It is a narrow road entrance and a narrow gate. Wide enough for RVs, but only oneway traffic. If a vehicle is coming out you have to let it pass before you enter. The gate is 24/7 with friendly, professional civilian guards on duty at all times. A great place to relax and enjoy close to the beach. Our pad was assigned to us on my email account so we went to the RV site, set up and then went by the billeting office. Sites 16 through 20 are pull through with a paved and gravel road to enter the pads. The pads are all concrete, level, full hook-ups, picnic tables and BBQ grills. The laundry is in building 162 with numerous free washers and dryers. We were there during a drill weekend so a few UH-60s flew in and out and some troops were here. Very low key activity. No facilities (PX, Commissary, Hospital), but the surrounding area offers everything. We will definitely return to this site for a week vacation in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 20-27, 2016

Spent a week in RV spot 13, What a hidden gem! Fantastic! Clean restrooms with nice showers, clean and free laundry room, across the street from the beach, kids play area and docks with canoe rentals $6 overnight! Friendly staff, made to feel right at home. Just minutes from Ocean City we will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 17-19, 2016

pull through sites 13-22 full hook up including sewer,  $30 per night  outstanding value.  Bring your bikes,  short ride across US 1 to the beach,  trolley leaves right outside gate for 25 cents into Bethany Beach.  VFW chicken barbecue every Saturday right out in front of the gate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2014

What a beautiful place and location is great. 12 miles from Rehobeth Beach, Delaware and 10 miles from Ocean City Maryland, not to mention it's right across the highway (walking distance) from Bethany Beach. Yes RV sites 1-12 a little tight for manuevering but all in all great. In back of the small training facility so, you can't expect a lot of amenities such as recreational, commissary/BX, gym, etc. But do have a weight room, laundry, shower/bath facilities and a host/check-in office that will provide information on local eateries and things to do. It has a salt pond for swimming, fishing, kayaking that leads to a canal and also a 1/2 mile track for walking, running, biking and large open field for playing almost any sports. This facility is great because it's quiet, and conveniently located from the crowded nearby public campgrounds that look more like little trailer towns or mobile home parks. Best of all NO HOMESTEADERS allowed. Will be visiting again during July 4th weekend 2015. BTW, the staff is great, very friendly and accommodating. Remember to go through new access gate just a few yards south of the main gate which your GPS and other directions will send you through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 16-19, 2015

This visit was to stay in one of several mobile homes on post ($66/night). I've used these a few other times and are convenient for those times when we stay with either a number of family members or another couple. Our RV (truck camper) is best used for just the two of us. The trailers are very nicely fitted out with bed linen, very minimal kitchen supplies and three (?) bedrooms and two baths. Minimal kitchen supplies means plates, cups and adequate dinnerware but very little in the way of cooking utensils. As always, check-in was smooth and easy. When we visit the RV sites, we often bring bottled water for drinking, coffee, etc as we often find the water there undrinkable. On the contrary, the water in the mobile home seemed quite good. I'm not certain if there were changes made to the system or it the mobile homes were on another water supply. Please note my forum post about access to the post. The 'main' gate is no longer open. The 'older' gate is now used for access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 3 - July 10, 2014

Another relaxing vacation at BBTS. Always a good time. Surprisingly, the post wasn't a sharp looking as normal. It was mowed during our visit but prior to that, hadn't been apparently for some time. Grass under the picnic tables (of occupied sites) was never mowed. This can be an issue as numerous ticks were picked up in this longer grass. Additionally, I would suggest that efforts are initiated to remove the resident Canada geese that roam the new section. Both the beach area and sites at that end of the post are seriously fouled by goose droppings. As an aside, we always bring our own drinking water. The water at these sites often (but not always) tastes and smells badly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 23-24, 2014

What a nice little RV Park! Very close to fantastic beach resorts and yet so underutilized, at least this early in the season.....we were the only ones staying during a very pleasant weekend in late April. Enjoyed exploring the town of Rehoboth Beach a short drive to the north. Or, one could take a walk across US-1 and visit the small coastal town of Bethany Beach. These, as well as Dewey Beach are quintessential east coast beach communities that have largely been untouched by the mega-resort mentality such as you find at Ocean City to the south. We will be back, hope the word doesn't get out about this incredible camping opportunity and the place fills up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2012

I come here often. There are very limited "amenities and facilities" but the beach is a couple of blocks across the road. What's not to like. The pads in the older section have been recently redone - all smooth concrete. The post is kept in immaculate condition and the staff are very accommodating. 24/7 security during the summer season. Whenever we're not hosting our 'grand dog', we're here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Late October 2011

Another excellent weekend at BBTS - a truly undiscovered gem. Brought the kayaks this time and spent two relaxing hours on Salt Pond as well as the canal to Ocean View. Walked to the beach for another several hours. 24/7 gate security now so there's no trying to remember a gate code. Nothing to do but with the beach so close, there's no need for them to provide entertainment. Supposed to be WIFI available but at the RV sites, the signal is next to non-existent without a signal booster. Great place and NOW OPEN YEAR ROUND!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 24, 2011

I was very pleased with the site and the camping facilities and would highly recommend it. I will return. Security was an added value to the experience and the staff was very courteous and friendly. If I could make a couple of suggestions: 1. Advise guests in advance that Junior ROTC training would be taking place during their visit and that they would be awakened at 4:30 and 6:30 in the morning every day by the LOUD cadence calls of the cadets as they marched past your campsite and 2. advise campers that the generator is run up on Wednesdays at 9:00 AM for an hour and their camper AC units would take power hits as the generator went on and off line. Also, I arrived on a Friday and the restroom was out or paper towels, toilet paper, and looked like it had not been thoroughly cleaned in some time. On the following Wednesday morning, nothing had changed. All in all, it was a very enjoyable experience and the close vicinity of the beach made it great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 2010

C.J. left this review using the Directory software: Great place to visit crabbing at the salt pond is great, would go again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 16, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 2010

This is a beautiful place and the location is amazing. We liked it so much that we went back the following weekend. The only area that needed some attention was the bathroom(RV Latrine). It was in need of cleanliness but since we had the RV we didn't depend on the Latrine. The location is amazing and the staff was great. I definitely recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mid June, 2010

Another wonderful 3-day weekend at BBTS. Post has never looked better; clean, trimmed up and spruced up. New landscaping and fresh paint. Even the RV bath house seemed to be cleaner than ever. New shower stalls, I think, too. Not a bunch of amenities; no PX or commissary but a wonderful place to relax.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 18-21, 2008

This was our first experience at a Military campground. I found it searching this website for Military campgrounds. We chose Bethany Beach for it's location to the surrounding beaches. I gave amenities/facilities a lower rating due to the fact that it could use some lighting along the road of the RV/camping sites. The RV Lavatory should have an outside light on the building as well. The RV Latrine Ladies room was clean and nice working (plenty of hot water) showers. My husband was not so pleased with the cleanliness of the Mens side of the RV Latrine. He stated each day it was puddled with water and sand which made it difficult to dry off from showering and keeping the sand off your feet (yuk). Overall, it gets a 5 as you can't beat the bang for the buck and location. We stayed at site 21, pull thru.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

5-11 June 2008

As all other reviews have mentioned, what a neat place to stay and visit the beach! The Delaware Guard has this small bit of land they use for some routine training, and it is clean and well-groomed. The billeting desk folks are very friendly. They handle reservations for everything on base ... the RV spots, the mobile home trailers for recreational renting, as well as the "barracks" for folks coming for their training weekends. The "base" is very small, but they have a nice running track. There is a helipad in the center of the track. We stayed during a training weekend, and a helicopter landed. Fun and entertainment for the kids! I never used any "bath-house" ... I wasn't aware there even was one. I figured the "latrines" were only for use by the active duty folks during a training period. However, we did take advantage of the free laundry machines. Free Laundry gives amenities a "5" rating from me! However, that is the end of the on-base amenities. But with everything else just out the gate and down the street, I wouldn't complain. I've been on big bases where it's a 15 minute drive from the FamCamp to the Exchange. Besides watching the helicopter land, we enjoyed the playground, flying our kite around the track, and watching crabs in the salt pond. And of course, plenty of room to ride bikes ... the base is too small for anyone to "speed" around, so it's safe enough for even the little ones riding trikes. Other area campgrounds cost $48/nite, so the value here is quite good. Would definitely return for a week, to enjoy the beach, some shopping in town, and all the crab cakes I can stand!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep 12, 2006

Nice small training camp great for kids. Crabbing from the pier in the SALT POND is great and relaxing. On the 4th of July you can see the fireworks from the beach area on the base. This is great since everything is crowded from Rehobeth to Ocean City during all summer months. Nice friendly staff. Very quiet at night. Camp sites are close together but with so much to do in the area you aren't in the camper except to sleep.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jul 2006

We stayed here the end of jul, excellent campground very clean and neat. close to ocean city md and rhoboth beach. My only real complaint was no pets.

Was this review helpful to you? 
18 results - showing 1 - 18