Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area

Hot
 
4.2 (98)
231644 3 34 0 146

User reviews

52 reviews with 5 stars
98 reviews
 
55%
 
32%
 
8%
 
3%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.4(98)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.2(98)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.8(98)
Value
 
4.4(98)
Overall Experience
 
4.3(98)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
52 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
July 26-30, 2017
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed at Battleship Row from a recommendation from a friend and he was correct that Battleship Row is nice, quiet, relaxing and clean RV park. The showers and laundry were clean. Check-in was easy and the front desk was informative in get us to our spot. They are first come first serve and we were given great directions and wonderful recommendations of spots. Once your get used to the area, the drive to the Navy Shopping Center and other sites are easy to get to. Spent the day at the National Naval Air Museum which is was a great experience. We even witness a change of command/retirement ceremony. A couple of downfalls to this park is no cable or internet. It is a shame that in this day and age that these are not available. This park is highly recommended as a way to detox from technology. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
17 - 21 July 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The camp host for Battleship Row was very helpful and friendly. The view of Perdido Bay was great over looking the WWII seaplane ramps. Although the weather was hot the breeze off the water and the trees sure did help. The park area was clean and well kept.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 3, 2017 - July 8, 2017
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The wife and I transferred from Oak Grove to Blue Angel park over the July 4th week. Was very surprised that the campground had a opening. We stayed at spot 9 at Anchor Cove. Camp host - We can't comment because we didn't meet him even though he was directly across from us. We saw him several times but never said anything to us. Mike (at the front gate) was very nice and helpful. He is the one that signs you in and assigns your spot. Location - Great for us. Away from the crowded touristy spots. Was a short 20-30 drive to Pensacola Beach (where the rest of my family was staying in a beach house). The park is off the beaten path but we liked that. Short 5-10 min drive to local grocery store or local restaurants. We were in campsite #9 at Anchor Cove. Cleanliness/Hospitality - The park was very clean. The bath house at Anchor Cove was nice but your typical military bath house. Showers and floors were cleaned daily but the walls and ceilings look like they hadn't been wiped down for months. The campsites and general paths were clean. Larger 40' rigs would have a tough time getting through some of the paths to some campsites. Battleship Row has much more space for larger rigs. Amenities/Facilities - The bath houses at Battleship Row are much nicer and have laundry facilities. The "beach" is at Anchor Cove and is small but rarely crowded. The water is brackish, shallow, and warm. It was perfect for us to relax in with the kids. But we did make several trips to Pensacola Beach to get waves. There is a large concrete pad near Battleship Row for trailer and boat storage. The campsites at Anchor Cove are sandy and dirt but fairly level. No sewer connect at Anchor Cove but that didn't bother us too much. There is a putt putt course but needs a little TLC and a disc golf course (we didn't do either but looked fun, our kids didn't want to play). No Wifi but we were there for vacation so it didn't bother us. There is any abundance of shade and trees through Anchor Cove. Value - Great. $15/nt over a holiday week during the summer. Can't beat that. Overall - We will definitely be back. Our only dilemma is whether we stay at Anchor Cove or try out Battleship Row.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
17-24 April 2017
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at the Battleship Row section. Making reservations was a bit of a hassle as the online system was uncooperative and the campground wouldn't answer the phone or return my phone calls. Eventually, after a few days of persistence, we were able to speak with the campground staff when transferred from the Navy Getaway 800 number. Once we arrived, registration at the entrance office was painless. We were met by the Camp Hosts when we arrived at the Battleship Row section and given a list of the 8 available sites. They suggested we look at all of them and pick whichever we'd like. We settled at a site near the rear of the campground and was able to receive DISH Satellite and Verizon 4GLTE. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and the surrounding area. Spent two days exploring the National Naval Aviation Museum and viewing the Blue Angels Practice sessions. We will visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2016
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great location. Campground was kept clean. Although the weather was very hot and humid, the camping experience was enjoyable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1 Dec 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is our 6th yr to stay for up to the max of 90 days at Blue Angels on B side (battleship row). It's always been great for us, but new manager took over a few months ago & has only made it better. Mike & crew at check in do a great job & Mike(cg Host)is very visible & I see a grounds crew here almost every day, rest rooms & laundry is still very clean. There has never been a time when park was completely full but premium sites(facing bay)are usually only available if you wait a few days.  It's a little isolated, but NEX, commissary, NAS hospital & VA clinic are only 7-8 minutes away. FHUs + 50amps @ $540 a month, could it be better???
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Oct 23, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great Fam Camp. We arrived early in the afternoon on a Friday and stayed 6 days. Did a quick ride around to check out open sites. Camp Host Mike, stopped us very nicely, gave us quick advice and took my wife around in the cart to find a spot while I unloaded our tow vehicle. Extremely courteous staff. This is off base, a bit out of the way but still a very nice camp. Clean facilities, nice if smaller laundry and still only $1.00 to wash / dry. We will be back, there is so much to do and see in the area and we had a nice experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
March 1-5, 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a true gem of an RV park. At least Battleship Row is great! (didn't go look at Anchor Cove) Nice sized sites, very friendly people and access to the beach and the bay! Good weather while I was there, except for the freezing temps the last night. There are two restroom/laundry facilities, but even the older one was clean. Great walking path into the woods for the dog. I highly recommend this park and will be back!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
November 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
What a great experience! Our first visit here and will look forward to coming back! Stayed on the "B" side, large spacious sites on level concrete pads, easy in and out, beautiful setting with some amazing trees and small but very pretty beach area. Clean laundry, beautiful sunsets and a peaceful atmosphere. Disc golf park, paint ball park, cabins for rent, sailing and kayak rentals and very nice pavilions on the beach area for gatherings. Dollar store and small grocery not far away. Corry Station commissary and Exchange about 15 minutes away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
APR 16 - MAY 16 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - WONDERFUL PARK. GREAT JOB BY MIKE. CAMP HOSTS WERE NOT ENCOUNTERED. STAYED IN BATTLESHIP ROW SIDE. ENJOYED. PROPANE IS OFFERED ADJACENT TO OUTDOOR RECREATION RENTAL (NEXT TO ENTRANCE TO WAGON WHEEL SIDE). NOT GOOD ACCESS/EXIT FOR BIG RIGS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Apr 19-20, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed at campground A (Anchor Cove). The sites here do not have sewer hook ups but for only $13 a night it's one of the best bargains anywhere. Wonderful, shaded sites with water views, literally steps from the beach. The septic dump facility for Anchor Cove is oddly located at the far end of the campground, so you have to pull your rig through some very narrow and windy turns with big trees guarding the edges of the dirt roads. It was so scary looking I did not even attempt to get to the septic dump site. Other than that one drawback we loved the place and would definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26 Nov-9 Dec, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I can't add much more than what has been commented before (Oct 13 and Jul 2013) I did use the facilities, very well maintained and noticed cleaning staff every morning. There was a medical issue when I was there, local EMS was there with-in minutes and Base EMS/Fire-resue a few minutes later. The Camp Host was excellent in his duties!! The wi-fi is not free!!! The biggest down fall of the entire FAMCAMP!! I'm presently at another Navy Famcamp and it has "free" wi-fi. Its a wonderful place and I would return in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 29, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
No question, this is a 5 star operation. They have added 40 new sites, 70 now total on Battleship Row, and 83 at Anchor Cove, all part of The Blue Angels’ FAMCAMP in West Pensacola, Florida. There is also a new pavilion with laundry and showers at Battleship Row; the sites give you plenty of room and they are RV easy in-and-out because of the wide streets. There are pull-trough, back-in and water view sites available. You drive in, pick your site, and then go back to the office to register. They do not accept reservations. A 90 day maximum stay can be extended if sites are available. I was told they have never turned anyone away. There is enough drying camping for 1,000 RVs on the old airstrip once used by the Coast Guard. The back gate to NAS Pensacola is 8 miles away. The commissary is off base maybe 6 miles away. There are a ton of things to do in the area. I used FoxFi and Verizon for internet connection with no problems. The staff was very helpful and friendly. This is an open gate area after 1700hrs. I was military security only twice during my two week stay. Anchor Cove only has 30amp and water available. There is a dump station close by. Anchor Cove is rustic with a lot of trees and a great beach for swimming. Fees are $13 a day or $350 a month at Anchor Cove Battleship Row is $20 a day and $540 a month. There are kayaks and small sailboats for rent and even a paintball combat course if you are board. We camped here in a 40’ motor home. We will definitely camp here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 13 - 28, 2012
(Updated: June 27, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Have spent time here every year for the past 6 years anywhere from 4 months (winter) until we built a new home in The Villages, FL Dec 2009 after selling our home in Pensacola June 2007. We spend our final month or 2 weeks of our summer travels at Blue Angel each year. The staff at the entrance are great especially Harry. The prices have rapidly increased over the past 4 years without any improvements in amenities. Only half of the equipment in small exercise room work and has been this way over the past 3 years with the promise of being fixed? Also, of the many military campgrounds we have stayed at this is the only one where free WIFI isn't included. Must pay a daily, weekly or monthly rate (unsat). They were just finishing up the new 40 sites as we left last year. We will be there again this year middle of Sep and look forward to easily selecting a site on battle row. Great location, near Exchanges, beaches, etc... Much better campground then the one on NAS. We love coming here every year in spite of the small problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
26-29 April 2013
(Updated: April 28, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice people at the office. Had a nice spot, site nine facing the water. Lots of new sites and looks great. I hear that the locals use this as a summer spot. Move RVs here and come back on weekends. One such next to us. Van and small rv empty for three days. Left water on. A leak outside keeps the concret wet such attracts bugs and wastes water. Have not seen a camp host. A little out of the way but worth the stop. Would come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 12 - March 23, 2013
(Updated: April 07, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great, friendly place to stay. Well kept, nice views, helpful staff. In regards to past comments about the broken washers - there are two buildings with washer/dryers, so it just meant the newer building was down to only two working washers for a little over a month. Not a real big deal in the scope of things. Not far from the NEX and Commissary, and only a few miles from the nearest Waffle House. What more do you want out of life? Didn't notice any issues with utilities either. Will be back!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
January 2013
(Updated: March 21, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great experience. We were fortunate when we arrived at checkout another camper had just vacated a front row site (Battleship side), it was great. It would be nice if reservations were allowed. We had stayed there a number of years ago, very little has changed, only exception is the additional sites which will be nice when they get the all open (electric problem-unresolved).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb 17 - 26, 2013
(Updated: March 03, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
P.C. submitted this review using the Directory software: - Really great place - on the water for $20 a night Comparable places in the area are $60 and up - mostly up. Very well maintained campground with excellent electric and water pressure. The CG is natural but very well kept. Large concrete sites with plenty of patio room. Front 3 rows on Battleship Row all have a view of the water. Staff was friendly, hospitable, and helpful - 3 campers stood around joking and laughing with the staff for an hour one day - great group. One of the best military CG's we've been too. Only down side - in the laundry out of 4 washers only 2 were working - pretty minor complaint. To get to the BX/Commissary: go out the way you came in. On Bronson Road at the T intersection where you turned to enter the Rec Area turn right. Go 7.2 miles. You will pass the Navy Hospital on the left. At the second light after the Navy Hospital you will see a large complex of white buildings on the right and 1st Navy Bank on the left. Turn left just before the bank and that road will take you directly to the BX, Commissary, gas station, Class VI, etc. If you're looking for a "manicured" or landscaped campground with gardens and grass this is probably not the place for you - it's what we call a "more natural" CG with sand/dirt/plants/trees between the paved sites. :-) Clean, with no trash or dog poop laying around that we saw. People in the office were really great - friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. Good water views from the first 2 or 3 rows - nice to sit on the patio with a drink and enjoy the view. REALLY quiet! Didn't use the facilities so can't comment. This is a great place and we'll definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 2013
(Updated: February 13, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The new additions to Battleship Row are great paved & level sites with a new 3 family style shower/restrooms and adjacent laundry facilities. This previous seaplane base has lots of shoreline to enjoy and away from the hustle and bustle of crowds, highways etc. A great value if your ever on the famcamp trail! Spend some time here then over to Oak Grove with reservations to enjoy the NAS Pensacola with all it's attractions. If we weren't here, we'd wanna be!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 6 - 9, 2011
(Updated: May 25, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stay here regularly beautiful park friendly staff child and dog friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
52 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3