New Hurlburt Field FamCamp

Hurlburt Field FamCamp

Featured
 
3.2 (37)
110774 1 20 1 32

User reviews

8 reviews with 2 stars
37 reviews
 
5%
 
38%
 
35%
 
16%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.9(37)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.1(37)
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.7(37)
Value
 
3.2(37)
Overall Experience
 
3.1(37)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8
Ordering
Feb 5, 2015
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Hulburt had a nice Famcamp until someone got the bright idea of moving it. It is now in an open field in town off base in an unsecured area. It is simply a field with no trees or shade of any kind with concrete pads that a blind man must of poured. When it rains the parking pads turn into lakes due to no slope and a low spot in the middle of them. The location is terrible, on a highway which is always busy, and no amenities of any kind except a bathhouse. How anyone can think this is worth the money they charge is ridiculous.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful? 12 1
6-8 July 2012
(Updated: July 12, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
I pulled my camper over here this past weekend and yet again I was disapointed. I've been coming here about 2 times a year on average for the last 10 years. This place has been steadily going down hill every year. I asked the girl at the front desk if this place was closing. She said "one day". I asked what that meant and she said the delay was due to budget constraints. Here's what I don't understand: I've camped at several different campgrounds over the years. In a non FamCamp park, the nightly fees cover the operating costs of maintaing the campground. At Hurlburt, the fees are very close to what I would pay at a non FamCamp. So why don't the fees pay for the upkeep of this park? It's because the fees go into the big NAF pot and the monies from the FamCamp are diverted to other NAF facilities such as the golf course. It's obvious to me the base commander doesn't camp. I wonder if he plays golf? The Hurlburt FamCamp is in one of the most desirable locations in the southeastern United States and our government just lets it go to pot. What a crying shame.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
October 24th 2010 through Jan 2012
(Updated: January 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
My Family and I have been here for several months. I have read over and over the comments posted below mine and just keeping coming back to a few words that just won't leave my mind--IF BIG IF--if Divisional Management cared. Yes, this is very true. I have bent over backwards trying to work with the Manager who hangs out most days and all day at the Marina (I have never never never seen him ride though this place, though FORCE vehicle do pass through leaving from hanging out by the water) and have even worked on an occasion or two with the Chief over ALL MWR Divisions on this base, but even my best efforts and patience have been to NO avail. I have concluded that all Registration is interested in at the Marina is your MONEY. There are 50 amp sites over here that have been broken since way way into last year and they are not even marked as so---thus an unexpected guess pulls in, gets all set up, just to learn that his 50 amp electric is broken. Site 24 is a perfect example of what I have talking about, as I help an older couple deal with their disgust as to what had happened to them. I repeatedly have asked management to come over, give ALL the sites a serious trimming of vegetation overgrowth, pick up ALL the trimmings that guests (and maybe just maybe Management) have cut themselves so they could get into the site without damaging their RV and yet the problem still exists. OH YES, Management will tell you they came over one day, did some trimming and picked up a little, but they DID NOT CARE about the quality of the job they did as they hit here, missed everywhere else and left. It was obvious that who came over that one day was clueless as to what needed and should be done. Year old trash is right where they and others have piled it and some sites still have branches hanging to the edge and over the pissy little pads they have put down. OH, and BTW, I don't thinking they would have come over and did what they did if the ICE reporting system hadn't contacted them. In summary, this Family Campground could be the show case for the Florida Gulf Coast if true, sincere and real caring existed. What a shame for things to be the way they are around here---give me your MONEY---and don't bug me about the conditions and lack of care and up keep on the place!!! Amenities at the Park are non-existent and the Bath House and Laundry--well that is a story within itself. It took me personally, calling all levels of management to get the security lights in the park operating (over 50% were out) and now the winds and tree branches are tearing them up again, but no one can see that, because they don't do a weekly inspection of any meaning on the place. I personally have tried to get something done and maybe just maybe if enough of those out there that read this and have been here speak up, rock the boat and get some Management changes made, we might just get somewhere, but for now it is business as usual.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
15 Feb-30 Mar 2011
(Updated: March 28, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
WOW has this place changed! It's got a great location and can really be a nice place...IF....BIG IF...management cared. Now I've got nothing against 'homesteaders', as long as they are considerate. There's a few rigs that have been here for a while that have really entrenched themselves. It's very apparent that they believe this is THEIR RV park and others are intruding. They leave their dogs tied up all day and in to the evening. There's a beagle (#18) that howls, barks or whines for hours. When this is mentioned to the folks at the office they say, "oh yeah, we'll talk to them". Well, I'm not sure IF they talked to them or not, but whatever they MAY have said made NO difference. The dog gets off his runner and chases the raccoons all over the park. Friends of the beagle owners, leave their bulldog tied up and it also gets off the runner. It runs all over the camp until some kind sole can catch it and return it to the correct site (#26) all without the owners having a clue. Forget about the published rules. No one enforces them. In addition to the 5th wheel, there are 3 cars, a cargo trailer AND a trailer with 2 jet skis. Destin Army Rec site is just down the road. Stay there and enjoy a place that is run right!I think with the talk of moving Hurlburt the management has just given up on it. Cryin' shame.....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jan 2011
Overall rating
 
2.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
P.L. left this review using the Directory software: Not too bad a CG but overpriced for the amenities. Most sites need work, showers and laundry are not very clean. There is a trail for hiking and the narrow beach is readily accessible. Personnel at MWR were pretty friendly when we checked in. Lot of the sites need trees trimmed for bigger RVs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 9, 2008
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We are staying at the Destin Army Recreation Area (review to come in a couple of days) and drove here to take a look for future use. Very disappointed! There are two sections with one a very trashy place and the other not a whole lot better. The pads are concrete and with a little cleanup could be a real nice place. There was one motor home that looked like it had been there forever. There were 7 other trashy looking rigs with junk piled under them or on outside. The location is on south side of US-98 just outside the main gate to Hurlburt Field. I rated the value low because you are not getting a very nice campsite for your money. We didn't see any office building or host. We were told by another person that stayed here in the past that there is little control as to who comes and goes there. We weren't there long enough to check this out. It appears to me just like other military RV parks that don't take reservations that ends up being a private park for friends of the people in charge. We would never try to stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Jan 21 - 24 2007
Overall rating
 
2.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Have never been in a military campground as poorly run. The trash cans were overflowing when we arrived and were never dumped. The "HOST" was never seen but we saw them parked at their spot everyday. Never have seen dogs running loose or dog droopings like we saw there. Such a shame as a year ago it was so much better. Would never stay in such a place again unless it was better cared for. When you arrive you get a recipt period. No information like you normally get.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 0
July 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
Nice, clean, quiet spot even though the RV's are a bit close. Beach is close with easy access. It is inland waters on the sound so the water is pretty calm. We will stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 3
8 results - showing 1 - 8