New Hurlburt Field FamCamp

Hurlburt Field FamCamp

Featured
 
3.2 (37)
110835 1 20 1 32

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars
37 reviews
 
5%
 
38%
 
35%
 
16%
 
5%
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.9(37)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.1(37)
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.7(37)
Value
 
3.2(37)
Overall Experience
 
3.1(37)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
Nov 23 - Dec 5, 2018
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
As noted in previous comments this place is spartan. We stayed in the overflow area and did not go on the list for a regular site since we would only be staying a week or two and the wait for a full hookup site is over two weeks. The full-hookup sites are concrete pads and many of them do not slope so the accumulate significant water when it rains - and please don't squeegee your par in a house coat like one resident does - no one wants to see that. The dump station is not well place, located right on the side of the exit road with no real room to go around. Additional there is no potable water near the dump station and currently the dump station flushing water does not work. The overflow area is small and not marked off. Some field marking paint to arrange parking would make it more organized. The overflow area is directly off of MLK Blvd and there are no bushes or fencing to deflect the road noise. If you are in overflow and need to top off your fresh water, each of the full hookup sites has to spigots. Providing that a site resident hasn't used both spigots - many do - you can top off from one of the extra spigots. I did notice one person removed their RV from the site for a significant period and used there POV as a place holder. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
March 2014
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Did not stay but while we were at Camp Robbins we drove to the other parks that were nearby. I'm glad you updated the directions. The old ones given from the back gate of Hurlburt Field weren't too helpful if you didn't know where the back gate was. The base looked interesting. We took gps readings at the camp entrance: 30.43951 -86.66591. Even though it's all new it didn't have any real attraction for us to want to stay there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 28, 2013
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We took a ride over to Hurlburt Field and while there checked things out at the Famcamp. To me, it never changes. I'm not impressed with it at all. Maybe it's a good thing they are closing it and building a new one. I did talk to a couple of residents and they said they heard that the camp will close sometime in June. We then went out and checked the new Famcamp site. It's coming along but I don't think it will be ready for occupancy by June. They are still working on the bathhouse. The street lamps and utility posts are in and the sites are paved. There were too many construction vehicles in and I didn't drive all the way through. It looks like there is a middle row of pull-throughs with a row of back-ins on each side. It looks like it's going to be nice when completed. It is very close to the road and if they don't gate it there will be a lot of drive throughs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
March 9, 2013
(Updated: March 10, 2013)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The FamCamp is still open at the old location. The place was full and we had a bit of a time getting a site. 3 sites were open but the electricity was out at each one. The Chief of Services happened to come by and gladly had an unused trailer moved off a campsite so we could use it. Turned out well! Despite trees we had no problem with satellite coverage for the TV. Our mifi worked fine. This campground is closing in June 2013. A new facility out not far from the back gate at Hurlburt Field is scheduled to open by then. My bet is they may have a hard time making that date. But I expect it will be open sometime this summer. Looks like it will be a nice facility. We camped in a motor home and probably will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Nov 10, 2012
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
L.N. left this review using the Directory software: - RV park is still open (old location). There were at least 20 sites open.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 27, 2012
(Updated: April 28, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I stopped in here on my way to the base to check things out. Nothing much has changed since my last visit a year ago. There are still a lot of trashy sites. The only thing difference was the occupancy was down. The park was only half full. I have never liked the place and it looks as if I never will. There appears to be no security whatsoever. Anybody can drive in off Highway 90 and not be confronted. I didn't check the bathhouse because I don't think I would ever stay here. Maybe they should tear it down and build housing on it and start all over somewhere else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Oct 2010 until 29 Jan 2010
(Updated: January 25, 2012)
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Contrary to what has been reported or you may have heard, Hulburt FAMCAMP off US 98 is OPEN for business. Occupancy today is at around 80%.
The Campground does suffer significantly from a "we have been told we are closing, we don't when and we aren't doing anything to keep the campground up except that which we are forced to do". Really really hard to get Management to take a real positive caring attitude and get things done daily that show a positive improvement. The drive just there anymore since they were told months and months ago that they would have close the Campground for Privatized Housing. From what I am being told, Privatized Housing Contractor and Air Force have hit some major snags between them. It would not surprise me to learn someday that a little lizard that is environmentally important to Florida Environmentalists saves this Camp Ground. Imagine the possibilities of a coal skink, native to only the Western most Counties of Florida, and its power base when mankind wants to start messing with him. Look what his Cousins did several years ago down in middle central Florida---they stated out building a muti-billion dollar Cross Florida Barge canal from the Gulf of Mexico to the Atlantic Ocean and now all they have today is a ditch of ocean water that extends mile inland but serves no commerce purpose at all and never will. Way to go Snail Darter!!!!! May you too Mr Coal Skink, have the same good fortunes and keep your home. Only time will tell what happens to this fabulous FAMCAMP that has so so much to offer today and tomorrow, if maintained and left alone for other projects. Government homes with a water front view, who needs them until after one retires and NO longer lives on Government Property.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Jan -Mar 2011
(Updated: March 28, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I have to respond to slmky's review. I think she has probably seen me with my dog. I have a Rot/Shepard mix that looks like a MWD (Military Working Dog) and walk him several times a day. slmky may have seen me in uniform (I'm active duty) and may have figured I was with Security Forces (SF). The SF folks come through a few times a week, but really need to increase their patrols on the weekends, esp. now that the weather is nice. Local folks from off the street have discovered that this is a great place to hang out and drink beer and party. They throw their empties out the window into the shrubs just off the paved paths/roads. There have even been folks that just pull in, park and pitch a tent on the Grace Brown trail. No military affiliation (I asked the SF folks about it). We're currently looking for another place to stay because things have really deteriorated here. Is there a correlation with the fact that the park will be closed soon? From what I'm told, they expect the contractors to take possession of the park this September. The new park near Commando Village will have an office...maybe they will care more if they're on-site...at least during the day. It'd be real nice if they had a camp host at the new place!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
11 Jan 2010 - UFN
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Just an update for any folks looking to stop by. There are currently only 10 sites open (out of 50) and they are all 30 amp. The 50 amp sites (9-14 & 26-50) are all occupied. The Eisenhower-era class 'A' that was a fixture is no longer on site. It has been cold here of late, hard freeze for the past week or so. We're looking to come out of that in the next 2-3 days. There are 4 washers (3 working) and 4 dryers on site. If you are considering stopping here, PLEASE PLEASE watch yourself on US 98!!! There are DAILY accidents/incidents, many within sight of the front gate. Daytona is on the OTHER coast, but some folks forget that fact!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
2 Sep to present (Nov 2009)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Mixed review. The marina has it's good and not-so-good employees. No camp hosts, though there appears to be a site (#50) for one. We appreciate the location, but there's little to do in the campgrounds. There is a nature trail, but it's been neglected. Campgrounds are adjacent to the Santa Rosa Sound with plenty of access to the water for kayaks or fishing. It's less than 1-mile to the main gate and just over a mile to the shoppette/gas station which is open 24/7. Main BX/commissary is another mile or so around the flight line. Restrooms/showers/laundry are available, as well as a small pavilion but nothing fancy. There is still the one older Class-A that looks like it's a part of the park. I think the owner tried to start it to evacuate for TS Ida, but it sounded more like a howitzer! Sure got OUR attention! Obviously a smoker, as evidenced by the numerous butts outside the door. The campground info is old also. Weekly stay is $120, monthly $400. Rotation isn't a big deal so far 'cuz there are still plenty of open sites. Total of 50 sites with just over half with 50 amp service. There are frequent rounds by USAF security. I'm active duty so it's VERY convenient saying here and riding my bicycle to work. If you're sensitive to 'the sound of freedom' A.K.A. engine noise, you won't like it here. There are frequent end-of-the-runway engine runs and training missions involving live-fire of the AC-130 gunships on the range. Hope this helps a bit. Daily rate is now $20, weekly is $120 and monthly $400. Also, if you're coming from the East, do NOT miss the left turn off US-98 (at the flashing yellow lights). The next opportunity is over 1-mile down the road.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
October 21-22, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Directions to the park are right on! However, do not miss the turn 1/4 mile east of the main gate entrance--you cannot make a left turn there. Bummer. I did not see a park host in the 2 days we were there. Park is adequate for a couple of days. There is a neat nature trail to walk on near the park. There are no services within walking distance. The RV park is not on base so the PX, gas station , etc. are a ways to get to. No wi-fi and no TV (my antenna would not pick up a single station).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
---
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This is a pretty nice campground if you can get a spot. Unfortunately, there are too many homesteaders which make it difficult for a working guy to get in a weekend getaway with his family. Last time I was there, July 06, the 30 amp service on my site was inop. I was told there wasn't any money to get it fixed. Again, due to the homesteaders, there weren't any other vacant sites for me to move and had to spend the rest of my trip using the 15 amp outlet which was tough in a camper. I wish they would limit camping to 30 days, with no exceptions.
PS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 15 1
12 results - showing 1 - 12