Raptor Ranch at Tyndall AFB

 
4.2 (78)
156146 2 37 1 81

User reviews

78 reviews
 
51%
 
31%
 
13%
 
4%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.3(78)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(78)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(78)
Value
 
4.2(78)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(78)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
78 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
October 2013
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed in a 40ft motor coach pulling a car and had a difficult time getting our RV level (we also had to take the car off, very few pull thru sites available). Yes, there are concrete pads, but they are only about half the length of a motor coach. People talked about the foliage and the privacy, but we had to fight the brush to get into our front door and kept getting tree frog visitors inside our RV. Getting to the park involves driving through quite a bit of city traffic but wasn't too hard to find. If you like to visit with neighbors and like to sit outside, some of the spots are not for you. Our site was so camouflaged that it constantly stayed dark and gloomy in the sitting/table area, so we never even took our chairs out. Forget being able to use a roof top satellite system, but they did have pretty good cable. We would stay again, but only for a night or two, not for a full week. We are self contained, so did not use their bath/shower facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
Oct 10, 2013
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The bathrooms, showers, laundry facilities were not very clean. Complained and they said the lady that usually cleans them had surgery and two other people were taking turns cleaning they sent someone to clean and they did not do a very good job.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We were only here one night as a layover to our final destination, but were very pleased with the facility. Loved how spread out the spaces were; the bushes, greenery, trees, etc. made for a private spot. Will return again sometime to stay longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6 May 2013
(Updated: May 08, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Raptor Ranch campgrounds are constantly trying to keep the ambiance & unique surroundings private and yet nice for the campers. They have seldom been accused of not having any privacy or being crowded with your neighbor ending up in your living room. This all takes constant work to cut, trim, prune and clear debris, all done by one maintenance person. The staff is trained to assist the patrons the best ways possible and to help them find a way to get help when they don’t have a solution. With the help of contracted host positions patrons are assisted in finding a site they can be happy with even after office duty hours. The contracted host positions during the winter include 2 site hosts, 1 Recreation Center host, & 1 Gazebo host. Management and maintenance live at the campground, which are the sites 1 & 2, they pay rent and this allows them to be available 7/24 for any serious emergencies which may arise that are not considered to be the responsibilities of the host. Raptor Ranch has also set up 3 contracts for long term AD military members. They must sign a contract and they are charged a higher monthly amount for this privilege. This may give the impression of homesteading to some of the newer customers. The campground has only 5 staff members and relies on the help of the hosts as well as the volunteers that visit every year to accomplish some of the special projects that make improvements which are appreciated by everyone. Camaraderie is a very special feature that is offered here at no cost! From the staff to the patrons everyone who comes here is made to feel welcome and part of our growing family. The winter months are filled with special functions beginning in Nov thru Mar, with food & entertainment along with aerobics 3 days a week, pot luck dinners, bingo, card games, movie nights and much more. The summer months are much slower for this area so there are less events happening, mostly because the patrons are only here for a week or weekend stay. The exceptions are the 4th of July and Labor Day parties. Even the pets are given a big welcome with treats at the office when patrons check in or come to collect their mail. All being said we are proud of this small piece of Paradise, which has become a second home to many folks around the US.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 2
April 4-18, 2013
(Updated: April 15, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place is wonderful. We are very private people and love that the tropical foliage make each large lot seem private. Grounds are well kept, clean, gravel is constantly being added and improved. Laudry/bath/club house is really nice and clean, location is great, and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars on the amenities is that, while the bay view and benches/swings on the back of the camp is nice, I think more of the brush should be cleaned so we can enjoy the water more, and possibly some steps or other type of access to the water edge would be great, maybe a pier or some way to be able to fish or just enjoy the water. It seems like a under utilized feature of the park. Other than that this place is great. I suspect there are a few home steaders in the front lots since they have fencing, storage buildings, and even gardens, but it isnt as bad as some RV parks in that aspect. Overall great experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
22-26 March 2013
(Updated: March 26, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed in partial hookup under the trees in our 40 foot motor home. It has been 2 yrs since our last visit and everything is so much better. Brush has been cut back, plenty of harden gravel to travel on in the campground. We were offered full hookup after our first day but declined for our short stay. The sites are great under the trees, concrete pad to sit on with a little covered table at each treed site. There were twice as many partial hookups in the graveled front lot, but no one was parked in them. The weather was nice but as everywhere on the cool side. This is a winter haven for many but still had plenty of short time visitors also. Activity room is always busy with game and card players, movies once a week and exercise in the A.M. I found everyone very nice and will again add it to a list for returning from our more southern winter haven as we go home. Rumor says the golf course at the airbase is closing this summer. Its not making enough money, but once thing like campgrounds, golf courses, marinas and swimming pools were for the good of the military not the money they made. Once again another way to hurt the military. But this IS a great place to be.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 15, 2013
(Updated: March 16, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great campground tucked away in some trees. The campground obviously is well taken care of. Our first impression was in the overflow area where it looked like there was a lot of gravel that had recently been laid down. It continued to impress us. The folks from the desk clerk, the camp host and 4 or 5 other people we met within the first 20 minutes were all friendly and helpful. The tone of the campground was congenial and friendly. The campsites are well taken care of with brush and trees cut back so we had no trouble at all getting into our site. Full water, sewer and 50 amp for $21/night. The roads around the two large loops are well maintained. They have used plenty of gravel to fill any pot holes and it is hard packed. The club house and laundry were fine. They have an active group here. Free music session put on by campers at 7 pm last night. Today we can bring a dish and the campground provides the rest for a St Patrick's Day meal. Just a nice place to stay and in a good location. We camped in a 40' motor home and will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 4-6, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.W. left this review using the Directory software: - We only stayed two nights on our way to south FL, nice park, roomy sites with trees. We did not have a full service site, lacked sewer but for just two nights that was ok. Some homesteaders but new regulation states that any camper on a site for 60 days must rotate to a different site, so, hopefully that may open some full service sites.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
14 OCT to 21 OCT 2012
(Updated: October 24, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just returned from Tyndall last Sunday. The hosts and employees were great and very helpful. It looks as if they are getting ready to make the sites along the water full service also. The beaches were great, most of the time we were the only ones on them. My wife checked out the cabins for a future vacation with the kids and ruled them out very quickly. She saw "Palmetto bugs" and mold everywhere. The club house was great, cookies and coffee in the mornings with great conversation. The walking trails relaxing and the views beautiful. For someone away from the bustle and noise of an active military base the daily fighter sorties, "the sound of freedom" was music to my ears. We had a great time and have already planned our trip for next year. It would be nice if they accepted reservations. We also used Enterprise car rental 11 miles down 98.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14 June 12
(Updated: June 21, 2012)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Spent the night at this site on our way to FL. Our GPS always gives us bad information getting here. We get within 5 miles and the routing takes me the long way around thru Mexico City adding 60 miles. Maybe just my GPS. Directions on web site don't help. Easy way, from I-10 exit on HWY 231 down to Transmitter Road ( about 48 mi.) turn on to Transmitter Rd for a few miles, turn east on 98, about 10 miles go over the bridge and camp is on right. We have stayed here before at the RV camp and Guest house. We got in late and had to go to camp host. She was helpful but said the club house/bathrooms close at 9 PM. In the past we could get in 24Hrs. No hours were posted at the bath house or club house. We found side door to bath house open all night. Cable and WiFi OK. Price seems to have gone up. Eglin seems to be a better deal for us. We are travelers not Snow Birds or Homesteaders, we have a very small RV so only stay a short time at many different locations. It would have been nice to just park in overflow at the front of the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
May 29-31, 2012
(Updated: June 01, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our check-in was very easy and "Sam" made us feel very welcome. She found us a pull-through site which was convenient. She also mentioned that there are bears in the park and to be aware of them. The following day we had bear excrement in the campsite next to our site. Would definitely return to this FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 2011
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We stayed 1 night on our way from Eglin to Patrick. Hosts were very nice. They accommodated us with a pull through site because I was towing a vehicle. Cable TV hook up worked fine. Cell and Virgin Moble MIFi 2200 worked well from the site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 3
November 19 to January 19, 2011
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
M.P. left this review using the Directory software: We have been camping at Tyndall AFB from 1986 to 1997 then again from 2001 to January 2011. We spent November, December and most of January 2010 -11 at Tyndall AFB this past winter season. We normally end up in the 30 amp non sewer section because the 50 amp is full and since we only spend 60 days at Tyndall we don’t bother to sign up for the 50 amp section. Upkeep at the famcamp has steadily gone down hill. The roads this past winter season were filled with large pot holes and the dust never settled. The power back in the 30 amp section has problems. One of our friends campers caught on fire because of faulty power box. The new water lines were installed facing your camper instead of paralleling the rigs which made it difficult for slide-outs to clear the faucet. The lots just barely accommodate rigs over 35 feet in the 30 amp section. The trees make it very hard to maneuver the rigs in to the 30 amp lots. We cleaned up our lot and maintenance hauled away over two truck loads of brush. Even the recreation center needs attention to the outside. It took nearly 8 months to install new washers and dryers! They sat outside for 8 months! It is said over and over that there is no homesteading at Military FAM CAMPS …. However I know of folks who live there full time and have for over 5 years. Yet this is not considered homesteading! Since MWR put Military RV parks in category C as a profit making business in the mid 2000’s and turned everything over to civilians, Tyndall Fam Camp has gone down hill. I was even told this past January after a meeting in the Recreation center that MWR didn’t have to do any improvements because we all would come back regardless. Looking for a new winter vacation spot!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Nov- 2010 to April 2010
(Updated: July 25, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
My husband and I and our dogs have been coming to Tyndall for -this is our 9th year. And that will tell you why we are continuing to come. There have been different staff over the years. Sam is a great person and her staff. She makes you feel welcome. She has events different times in the year. We are there for the holidays and great Thanksgiving/ Christmas dinners are provided. It is family atmosphere and everyone makes each other feel like family. There are activities going on and a potluck on Tuesday nights. Hot Dogs at the Gazebo on Friday nights and maybe they will let those go on a little longer this year. Hope so....... A very much needed is more sewer sites and more 50 amp sites. It would be great and other campers would stay longer. Sam has some great ides and I know that this is something that she wants for the campers. So please approve of this for TYNDALL.. Thank you very much.... Looking forward to another winter there.....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
November 2010 -April 2011
(Updated: July 22, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I have visited this campground at least once a year for the last several years. I usually extended my stay for the entire winter season. The hosts have always been friendly and helpful. The activities and facilities are quite adequate and the campers are "SUPER SPECIAL". More full hook-ups would be a plus, but, I find my camping experience at "Raptor Ranch" to be thoroughly enjoyable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 10-21, 2011
(Updated: June 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Most of the snowbirds had left so there were many vacant sites. Most of the sites are located in wooded areas and satellite reception may be difficult. The sites are large and spaced far apart and each one has a concrete pad to park the RV on. For those that use mail forwarding, the FamCamp office accepts camper’s mail from the Post Office. The FamCamp is outside the base gate and about 2.5 miles from the commissary and exchange. There is beach access on base near the commissary/exchange but requires a 0.5 mile walk down a wooden boardwalk and there are no facilities at this beach – not even a porta-potty. So there are few people on this beach. There is another Air Force beach area about 3 miles northwest of Mexico Beach about a mile down a well-maintained dirt road that leads to a parking area about 100 yards from the beach. The FamCamp and the base are fairly isolated, away from the downtown business areas. Wal-Mart is 5 miles away. Jet noise is loud (fighters) and starts before 8:00 am but they seem go home by 5:00 pm and on the weekends. But old guys like me need their afternoon nap and the jet noise make that almost impossible. This place caters to snowbirds with a large clubhouse and a cabanna with a firepit. Coffee and cookies are available in the clubhouse each morning. Lots of activities during the snowbird season.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jan-Feb 2011
(Updated: February 08, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Spent over three weeks at Raptor Ranch and during that time, the men’s shower was closed for 21 days and the internet not available in one section of the campground for 18 days. The 60 day rotation seems very excessive, especially when one pays the reduced monthly rate. Thirty days on a site seems like long enough and would allow short-termers at least a chance for a FHU site. To avoid any appearance of impropriety, the rotation list should be posted prominently in the office for all to see. Oh yes and what about that 72 hour absence and give up the site rule?? - the long termers leave for extended periods for cruises and other trips. Vegetation growth is under control and the individual sites in decent shape. The new overflow area is very nice and some folks would just as soon stay there as move to a non-sewer site in the woods. With the change in management things really improved, but have now leveled to a point where things are beginning to stagnate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
January 2011
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
P.L. left this review using the Directory software: Enjoyed our first stay at this campground. Host and most all of the the other RVers were very friendly and helpful and lots of planned activities. Unlike so so many other military campgrounds. Only thing is the very bad odor permeating the area from a factory to the north when the wind is out of the north. Great place to stay with a nice trails. So many trees you can not receive satellite but have cable to replace the loss. Great value for your money,
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Nov - Dec 2010
(Updated: December 05, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.7
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Free Wifi, very slow and only one connect per camp site. If other means are available keep it. Sat. breakfast canceled. New camp hosts, Ray is moving on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
13-17 August 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great little Fam Camp. Clean, secluded, close to base facilities. Loved it there. Could update their wifi. Host was friendly and a good breakfast cook. Don't miss Ray's Saturday morning breakfast pancakes and bacon. Wife and I would visit again when we are in the area. Rained alot while we were there, but you have to expect that during hurricane season.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
78 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4