Raptor Ranch at Tyndall AFB

 
4.2 (78)
156146 2 37 1 81

User reviews

78 reviews
 
51%
 
31%
 
13%
 
4%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.3(78)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(78)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(78)
Value
 
4.2(78)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(78)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
78 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
June 15-28, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We recently spent 2 weeks at Raptor Ranch and it was by far the best RV camp we have stayed in. Easy to find and located close to the base and beaches. It was very clean and well run. The community center had large TV's, video game consoles (bring your own controllers if you must play games or exercise with the Wii). Books and puzzles and large enough for a large gathering. Saturday breakfast was well worth the $2 and a nice place to meet and talk. The gazebo is also a morning coffee spot, but we discovered this our last day. Brand new front loading machines and super clean bathrooms. I hope all that use these new machines learn how to use them and stop free pouring soap into the dispensers. We were able to get WiFi in the RV and they were in the process of boosting the signal while we were there. Better to go into the Community center if you need to use the internet. At $19 it was an exceptional value. Living in Central FL, we used to head south to Sigsbee, but will return this way next year. The overall experience was fantastic. The beaches at Panama City and Mexico Beach are close. We preferred the laid back quieter Mexico City to the touristy PCB. Tyndall has a very secluded beach that is a very LONG, hot walk. Early morning is best if you are up to a hike to the water. The only drawback was the yellow flies. Maybe during the cooler months they are not as bad, but they will not keep us from returning. Excellent camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
15-16 November, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed here overnight on our way from Las Vegas to Key West. This was one of the better campgrounds we have stayed in. We had no problem getting a site with water, electric & cable next to the water. Site had a covered hardstand picnic table and was fairly level with plenty of room. Bathrooms were very clean, nice laundry, huge community building with free WIFI. Roads in the campground were mostly gravel & dirt but fine to ride bikes and take a walk. Will stay here again if given the opportunity in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
19 -24 Apr, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent five nights, FAMCAMP personnel were very friendly and helpful. Saturday Breakfast was great, a "Big Thanks" to the crew that take the time to prepare it. This FamCamp is very easy to locate and is very quiet during the nighttime. The flight line is not far away, loved the sounds of FREEDOM during the daytime hours. It was nice to be at a fighter base. Free WIFI is listed as only in the Rec Center. Campground needs additional dumpsters available, road dust can become an issue at times, also. At this time the dumpsters are located at the entrance to the FamCamp. The main base is to the right after exiting the FamCamp, but the Base Map needs to be updated. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the future. Instead of fighting the Panama City Beach traffic, we went to Mexico Beach, 12 miles to the East, easier excess and more private.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Apr 8-10, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent three nights. This FamCamp is very easy to locate and is very quiet during the nighttime. The flightline is not far away, so expect some sounds of FREEDOM during the daytime hours. Free WIFI is listed as only in the Rec Center but there are other free WIFI signals available within the FamCamp. The pet owners (most of them) clean up after their pets. In the evening (5:00 p.m. during weekdays) retreat is sounded very clearly within the FamCamp. There is a special notice in the Rec Center (on a wall board) indicating proper respect procedures which everyone should become familiar with. I mentioned to the office personnel that they need to update the respect procedures to include that retirees in civilian clothes can salute or place their hand over their heart during the playing of retreat. We will certainly visit this FamCamp again in the future. Only thing I would like to see improved is to have additional dumpsters available. At this time there is only two dumpsters which are both located at the entrance to the FamCamp. The main base is to the right after exiting the FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
Mar 17-25, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were at the same time last year. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit both times. The campground lodge/rec area is a real plus. This is a very large facility with wifi, game tables, shower and wash facility, and the center piece of daily activities scheduled by the winter crowd. A very pleasant experience. This time, as last, we were given a spot without sewer. They keep a waiting list of campers who want to move to sites with sewer, so we had no chance to get one. The lodge is still within walking distance, so we got by just fine. The sites are very large and secluded by trees and brush, making the camping experience seem rustic, when it really isn't. There is an overflow area with water and electric almost adjacent to the lodge. We didn't have to use it, but it's nice enough that we could have even stayed there for our entire week if we had to. Tyndall gate is just a few miles down the road. So BX, Commissary, and other facilities are easily available. We will be back again next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan 22 - Feb 5, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C.H. left this review using the Directory software: This was our third stay here. Upon arrival we assigned to an overflow site near the office for what turned out to be one week. Actually we prefer the overflow area - lots more sun than available back in the campground proper. We then moved to site 31 for our second week. Nice enough site, although rather dark for our liking. Near the end of of our stay, the 30-amp breaker in the utility box failed late one afternoon. I reported it to the office, but it was too late to get repaired that evening. We managed just fine with the 20A outlet. First thing the next morning, one of the FAMCAMP workers, Jeff, came by to assess the problem. He called it in to CE, who responded very promptly and soon had us back in full service. Being in line with the runway, there is significant "Sound of Freedom" here, but I'm not complaining at all. The Community building has wi-fi available inside and offers a small book exchange. Bathroooms were clean and the showers had some of the hottest water we've ever encountered. One of four washing machines in the laundry room had been removed, thanks to mechanical failure. New washers and dryers had just arrived and were sitting on the porch of the Community building awaiting installation. Washer and dryer were each $.75 per load. We'll definitely be back in the future. Ted H.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan. 18-21, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Being the "snowbird" season, we weren't sure if we would get a site. We arrived around 1700hrs and the VERY friendly camp host (Ray) got us into an "overflow" site, which is with water and electric. Since overflow electric posts are shared, we got the 30amp while our neighbor had the 50amp. We were just glad to have any electric! There were always at least 2 available overflow sites available during our stay. They have a wonderful community room here and it's always in use for a variety of activities. Although many of the campers return each year and are friends, they made us feel very welcomed. Tyndall AFB has all of the facilities you would expect on a large USAF base. I can see why many people choose to make this their winter home. It seems the winter 2-month stay limit in a FHU site was being enforced, which makes it fair for everyone wanting to visit. I forgot to ask how long the stay was in overflow before being able to rotate back to a regular site. Sammi and David in the office were also very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Oct 21-22 2009
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Really a nice place with great people. The other poster's have it right. It's a gem. Sites are narrow because of the trees (couldn't put out my awning but could have chosen another site if I wanted). Cable works great. Good signal with my Verizon phone and internet card. People here are very friendly and I'll stop here again on my way west next spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21-22 September, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed here overnight on my way from Mid-Bay Shores to a service appointment at Lazy days in Tampa. Awning opened while driving on US 98 as I left Destin. That's a great story, I'll tell it to you over a few beers. Anyway, I wasn't expecting much after reading some of the reviews, but I feel like after staying at more than 20 military campgrounds I can say with some authority that this was one of the better cg's I've stayed at. Well run, just a hint of military efficiency in the reception and hosts, which is a good thing. Site was one of their pull throughs , which was great after the day that I had (see awning story, above). The base was convenient, I don't see the attraction of Panama City unless you like gooney golf or you are a boater/fisherman, which I am not. but for convenience as you travel beautiful US 98 along the Gulf Coast, this place is the best!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
May 19-25, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
WIFI was down during our visit. With all of the expansion for the over-flow, one of the better amenities was lost. After setting up we took the dogs to the dog run and it was gone. There is room to add a new one but I was unable to get an answer as to a new plan. The FAMCAMP sign is still small and really difficult to see coming from the south. You can't beat Ray's fantastic $2 breakfast on Saturday mornings. We found a new restaurant in Pannama City on 98 Business that has great seafoood for lunch or dinner. They shuck the oysters in front of you at Hunt's Live Oyster Bar which was worth two visits. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25-28 May 2009
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We drove up from MacDill's Famcamp, arrived here some 330 miles later. Camp had just closed and we checked in at the designated host's site, a guy named Ray. Could not have been any nicer!! Introduced him self right away. I explained we needed to have wi-fi and a satellite connection, and he immediately told us their wi-fi was down temporarily, but would hopefully be back up as early as tomorrow. As to satellite, he said they had free cable and I was free to pick any site I thought I could hit the satellites with on my rooftop dish, and then he said "let's take a ride". He showed me the entire place, and I picked a site, and then said just to see the office tomorrow when they were open and sign up. Did that, and the Hostess-Manager also was terrific..apologized for lack of wi-fi, and said she had it at her trailer and we could sit on her chairs in her yard anytime. Also offered to let us use the office, although there was a weak signal from her trailer. Decided to go to Starbucks for free wi-fi, about 5-6 miles west on US-98, just across the street from Wal*Mart. Wal*Mart is on the LEFT heading west on US98, Starbucks is on the RIGHT across the street from Wal*Mart. A bit noisy as there are lots of F-15 and F-22 fighter missions going on, but hey, its the Air Force, so not a problem for us. Lots of trees, so satellite TV will be difficult, but cable works OK. Rooftop antenna for digital HD only brought in the local two channels, WKHG-7-NBC and WMBB-13-NBC. You'll need cable for CBS WTVY in Dothan AL and for the other usual Cable stuff. Fox, CNN, ESPN, etc. Good system - about 70 channels. The Main Base is to the east about 2 miles from the FamCamp on US98.....easy to get around. The Main Base is to the right (South) on US98, and the runways and Mission part of the base is on the left (North). BX and Commissary are good, and are on the Main Base. Camp is a little weather beaten, perhaps a little old, but community building is open 24/7 and is very nice, and bathrooms are tiled, A/C, nice showers, and very clean. The people are really terrific. My hat's off to Ray, the other man in the office and the Manager. Great people - would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
March 11, 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Used this facility one night in overflow traveling west on 3/11/09. Host very friendly and was helpful after duty hours arrival. Walked about w/o any dog problems. May stay here longer traveling east next spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Mar. 19 - 21, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
L. D. left this review using the Directory software: 2008 we stayed overflow at $10; now $15 both w/WE. We moved to a site with W/E and CATV for $17. Price structure seems high on the high side based on amenity. Friendliness exudes: from the host(s) upon arrival to all the people who welcome you, greet you by name, and are GENUINE. I used to think Pelican Roost was the best, but now changed my mind. Try the Sat AM breakfast for $2. May not be a lot to do in the area for families.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Feb 28 - Mar 2, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed only 3 nights because we had to stay in overflow, which is the gravel lot with water & elec. When we were getting ready to pull out and leave the host came by and said he had an opening in the campground. Had we known this before we had everything hooked up and getting ready to pull out of the lot, we would have stayed longer. But we didn't. Don't get me wrong the overflow lot is ok and everything is close. The campsites are really great though and we will plan to stay longer next time. It's a long way if you want to go to Panama City Beach or Mexico Beach if you're staying a short time, it is a better place to stay for 2 weeks or longer. Great people and a great campground. We enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
30 Oct-4 Nov 2008
(Updated: November 01, 2008)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is one of the more active parks we have stayed in. On our first night we played card bingo and they have something going just about every night during the winter. Every morning there is coffee and cookies in the club house and other activities during the day. Also, this is one of the more friendly parks as well. From the greeting we received when we arrived to the help picking out a site by Ray, one of the hosts, to the great time we had playing bingo, everyone made us feel right at home. If we didn´t have other plans for the winter we would plant ourselves right here until April. Had an opportunity to talk to Samantha who is the manager and I left with the impression that she has one thing on her mind and that is to make her guests happy. They have recently upgraded the overflow parking to all at least 30 amp and water with no sharing. The park is in the process of upgrading the old restroom in the overflow area as well. I don´t normally pass out a 5 rating very often but this park deserves it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 7, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
C. G. left this review using the Directory software: Coming in. Expect more minor changes to come as winter folk start.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
19 - 27 Jul 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Campground and location is great. Close to Panama City and Tyndall AFB since the campground is not on base. The only complaint is that the hosts site is an eyesore since he has a large storage trailer, broken fence and other unsightly items in his back yard. You can tell he is the host for his site looks like a permanent residence.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 25, 2008 for 3 weeks
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
THEY HAVE RAISED THEIR RATES, NOT ALOT, UP TO 17.00 A DAY. WE ALWAYS STAY HERE WHEN IN THE AREA AND HAVE ALWAYS ENJOYED OUR STAY HERE. IT'S STILL A GREAT FAM-CAMP, THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THERE ARE PEOPLE STAYING IN HERE WITH VERY NASTY DOGS. THIS FAM-CAMP IS ONE OF THE FEW THAT HAS NO LIMIT ON PETS, THESE FOLKS HAVE 3 VERY NASTY PUGS WHO HATE OTHER DOGS AND GO NUTS ANYTIME THEY SEE ANOTHER ANIMAL. WILL GO TO OFFICE AND SEE IF THEY WILL DO ANYTHING ABOUT THESE LITTLE MONSTERS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June, 2008 for two weeks
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
P.M. left this review using the Directory software: We loved this camp....Samantha is just the nicest person in the office. .she is so friendly and so helpful. The camp has everything needed..rec hall, campfires, playground, laundry..close to everything.. nice baptist church down the road.. Liberty Baptist Church in panama city. We used the beach in Mexico Beach..even though we had to drive a distance..it was worth it.. beach in Tyndall itself is too far to walk to..great campsites here and plenty big for big rigs. Cannot wait to return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
P. M. left this review using the Directory software: We just love this campground..and the people in the office Dory and Samantha are two of the friendliest and most helpful people we have ever met... the only complaint we have is the beach in tyndall..it is over a mile walk on the boardwalk to the beach and then a long walk over the beach to the water.. carrying things made it a huge problem...but of course that is not their fault... but we are older.. some people just ran it!! The beach was beautiful and water perfect once we arrived out of breath!! The sites at the famcamp are just great.. and in the shade!! Will just find another beach to go to!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
78 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4