Raptor Ranch at Tyndall AFB

 
4.2 (78)
156146 2 37 1 81

User reviews

78 reviews
 
51%
 
31%
 
13%
 
4%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.3(78)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(78)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(78)
Value
 
4.2(78)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(78)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
78 results - showing 61 - 78
1 2 3 4
Ordering
17 Jan 2008 to 7 Feb 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The best part about this time at Tyndall was a feeling of commeraderie; even though we were one of the "new people"! My husband got a real kick out of the yurt where 10-12 "fossils" can gather to "tell lies" drink beer & throw washers in a hole! I especially liked the community center where one joined the social events, like waiting for the laundry! Seriously though, Tyndall FamCamp was a wonderful experience. We only spent a few days in overflow with shared 20 amp service (with one other camper) then moved on to partial hook-up in a tree shaded spot. We weren't informed during check in about the grey water dump with water hose, but during one pot luck we were told of this availability and quickly checked into it the next morning. The dump site was clean, but a bit hard to manuever out of. Laundry facility is a bit small and showers could be more plentiful for the number of campers in overflow or partial hook-up. The community center is the focal point of the camp and it afforded us a chance to get to know folks who camped there routinely. Facilities on base were appropriate for the size of the base and adequate for our needs. My personnal journal entry for that stay stated: This is the first time in all of our travels that I have felt like we were "leaving home"...This was the first time since I retired from the Navy that I felt the old "empty pang" as I pulled up stakes and moved on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
January 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
There is a reason this campground rates so high. It really IS that good. Even with a peak season stay limit of 60 days (90 days in the summer), the turn over is still enough to get you in a spot in a reasonable amount of time. And while you are waiting there is always someone looking out for you to make sure you get your turn. While waiting you have 20 Amps of electric and water. Management is mostly by people who camp and they understand. All you have to bring is patience and respect for others. The Air Force needs to send these folks to other bases to show them how to do a FamCamp. Last year my complaint was with the folks who have been coming for years creating a clique and excluding newcomers. They are much more accepting this year. This year my complaint is the price of the LP--shop around you will find it cheaper in Panama City. And if that is all that I can find to complain about, this place is super.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
27/28/29 Dec 2007
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Unfortunately the time of year during our stay the camp is full of full timers/snow birds who apparently have been coming to this facility for years. Because of this, there are only one to three spots that might open for new arrivals each day during winter or spring. In fact while we were there, there were three RVs dry camping for two days waiting for spots. However the facility staff was spreading gravel to increase the size of overflow parking for RVs waiting for a spot. We were informed that the snowbirds will gladly go into overflow camping after their maximum of 60 days at FHU, and patiently wait one to two days to get back into another 60 days of FHU! We were in the older section of camp that had 30 amp, water and no sewage. These sites are back-in and can be very difficult for large Class A and fifth wheel trailers to get into. In our opinion some of the vegation needs trimming. Someone who stayed there a week earlier told us later that you can run your gray water into the forest using a garden hose; but no one told us this at check-in, so we don't know if this true. The club house and activities are very good, but the size of the bathrooms and the laundry are to small. We routinely had to wait to use toilets and showers. We witnessed people waiting to use the laundry past 2200 every night we were there; in fact we went to laundry at 0700 Saturday morning to find one lady using all the machines. Good facility that could be enjoyed by more personnel by shortening the max time allowed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Oct 28 & 29, 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent two nights in the very nice campground. Large wooded sites with some facing the bay. I had bay site number 17. This is a large campground with gravel roads an concrete parking pads. Nice community center with large clean bathroom and showers. Although off base Close to all Base facilities. The base Marina and recreation area also near. I would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
October 5-6, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Outstanding and fantastic Fam Camp! The amenities were wonderful. The rec room is beautiful & was just a short walk from where we camped: fireplace, widescreen TV, DVD player for movies, free WiFi, cards and jigsaw puzzles, toys for the little ones, pool table, lending library, snack bar set up with free coffee, cookies, etc, showers/bathrooms were clean, nice laundry facilities. The campground is right off the water. Two gates down is the BX and Commissary which is a "must" visit. There's also a movie theater next to the BX and admission was free. I highly recommend this campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
06 July 07
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Tyndall FamCamp AKA Raptor Ranch is the most comforting way to spend a holiday with family. After camping for what seems like a lifetime, we finally found what we could call a little piece of heaven. They were in the process of getting gravel (lots of it) brought in to level each campsite, and had contractors in to trim and cut down trees at the same time. You would think that with all this going on, folks would be tired and edgy, or at the least irritable! The staff, all the way from the Manager to the Rec aides, maintenance man and host were jovial, polite, helpful and sometimes even funny! The sites are large and private enough to give you that "out in the woods" feeling but still are close enough that if the youths get bored they can go to the large Recreational building and play pool or watch a movie. Right down the road is the ODR facility so we rented a boat and had another memory to add to our books! The manager and staff put on a cookout for the 4th of July with hamburgers, hotdogs, sodas, chips and later ice cream and cake! They even had a band playing music for our entertainment. What a great way to meet the rest of the campers and prepare for the festivities that evening! This is by far the best campground we have ever been in! This is a memory our whole family will enjoy for a long time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
7-8-9 June 07
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent 3 nights and 4 days at Tyndall's Fam-Camp. Just super. Ray, The Host, most helpful and courteous Gentleman, Site#94 if you arrive after hours.. Cable TV is great! Tyndall has its' own beach on base. It is a long walk on a boardwalk to get to the Gulf, but good exercise. What with the commissary, BX, base support right there, this is a must see/stay Fam-Camp. "Dory" is the acting manager when Samatha is not there. I like this place and will return, I did not plan on Navy Coastal System because of all the negative reviews on this web site. Tyndall Fam-Camp: 50 miles to Apalachicola, St George Island, and those areas. Don't forget Cape San Blas Light House also. The showers had plenty of hot water. The club house is very nice, TV on wall, chairs, tables, card games, etc. I tried WI-FI but I could not get on the internet. Operator error most likely. It was quiet at night. No barking dogs, loud music. I throughly enjoyed it and will return later this summer. Happy Travels, RT
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 9 0
Winter 2006/Spring 2007
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Superb campground. Located on the edge of a city, only a few miles to a Wal-Mart, yet out in the woods. Some of the sites are so isolated that you can't see your neighbors. Nice clubhouse with nightly activities,free wi-fi, and free pool table. The base commissary is one of the best we've ever seen - lot's of speciality foods and a top notch deli. Great marina next door with rental fishing and ski boats. They just added nine more FHU sites so the site map here is not current.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
March 2007
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We have no idea where some of the previous reviewers were camped, we just know it could not have been here. The sites are massive, the people are super friendly and the clubhouse was about the best we have seen anywhere. The central building has bathrooms, showers (plenty of hot water, force and intensity), laundry (75 cents), WiFi, Library, meeting room and things we didn't even take note of. Events were scheduled frequently (including the regular Friday evening weenie roast in the gazebo). We waited three days in overflow which in itself was as good as most campgrounds and then we were given this tropical shaded wonderland with concrete pad, permanent covered picnic table, 30 amp electric, water and cable TV. We are seriously considering spending a month or two here next year.
GK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 12 0
12 February 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location. Beautiful view over the water.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Feb 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We only stayed a few days in overflow. The sites on the water looked spacious and private. Rec building was nice and had a pool table. There were only 4 washers and driers so I was unable to wash clothes. Something was planned every day in the rec room. Exercise, pot luck, bingo to name a few. Host was very helpful getting us in our site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Feb 1-5 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A place to relax and enjoy! Lots to do in the area or just stay in the park. The 'winter' folks are quick to make you part of the group. Nightly games in the community building and other activities. Sites are large and even the non-sewer sights are well worth the $98 for a week (water, electric and cable). Campground provides a 'blueboy' (actually gray) to dump if needed.
JS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
November 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We were very disappointed in this FamCamp. The slab where we were assigned was a joke for a big rig. We over-hung by about 20'. The front of our motorhome was so far off the ground that we had to use a stool under the steps in order to enter the coach. A ladder would have been better. The interior roads are not paved and threw dust on our tow car. It very much reminded us of an old outdated state park more so than a military FamCamp. The good part, it was easy to find. The woman on the desk was more interested in leaving early than taking time to register us. (We were there an hour and a half before closing time). Compared to all the other Fam Camps we've stayed, this one was inferior. We stayed one night.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 3
October 2006
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
This was in the past a great campground, the rec building that was built by the winter retirees that used this fam camp for years and made this a great place is now always locked and never used. The free wi-fi that is advertised can not be used because the building is always locked. Also the 45 day stay is outrageous in that you are forced to move to another site in the park even though there are abundant sites available. We also miss the morning coffee that was always made in the building- no pot luck any more. no arts and crafts any more and all of those great people have quit coming to the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 4
January 2006
Overall rating
 
2.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
We stayed at the Tyndall Fam-Camp for six months, the host was one of the most unfriendly "host" we have come in contact with. We had not stayed at this camp before and were not part of the "regulars" as the host referred to them. Maybe with new managment and new host this would be a nice place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 4
March 2006
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our stay at Tyndall FamCamp was the most memorable ever! We were fortunate enough to have stayed at the cabin as well as in an RV during our vacation time.The cabins are charming with a beautiful view of the bayou. The campsites are spacious and yet have enough privacy to make you feel as though one is in the middle of the woods. The staff are all pleasant and helpful, and everyone visiting there makes you feel like family. Definately a place to visit over and over again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
---
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
They revised length-of-stay rules; time in overflow reduced. Excellent facility/well run. Probably one of the best beaches in US!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan 06
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This was the most friendly military campground we've ever visited! The night we arrived, there was a fish fry for $4, put on by other campers. Nice, large and private RV sites, but 30A wasn't a true 30 amps. Had problems with circuit tripping.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
78 results - showing 61 - 78
1 2 3 4