Camp Meade RV Park

Featured
 
4.1 (76)
77325   0   15   2   29

User reviews

5 reviews with 2 stars

76 reviews

 
(34)
 
(31)
 
(6)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.6  (76)
 
3.9  (76)
 
3.8  (76)
 
4.1  (76)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Oct 25, 2013

I maybe adding a comment once we get there, since I have read the posts, and how the campground is being take care of. The homesteader I am sure don't complain since they are double dipping (getting paid more for living allowance than they pay there). Even though it is one of the pricier parks it is still a bargain for homesteaders. I thought I had read at onetime, that active and retired military, could get a site before DOD civilian and contractors. Is this no longer true? Apparently this is not true at FT Meade, which seems to be a homesteaders meca, especially since of BRAC. We called Ft Meade RV CG and requested a back-in site (which are cheaper) for 5 days. We were told they only had one for 2 days, but we could get a pull through (more expensive). I know FT Meade has many DOD and Contractor homesteaders from the years we have used their campground. Our family lives in the area and we stay there when we visit MD. I thought as the rules stand, they would have to move someone, either a homesteader, or DOD/Contractor, to open a site. I really don't feel it is fair, that we will be spending much more for a site, when we are "guest" using the park for Recreation, and the campgrounds are called RV parks. :( :angry:

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Numerous times 2008 - 2013

We have stayed here off and on for the past four years. I was going to write exactly what the person before me did, so please read his for details. It is a beautiful campground and could have so many possibilities. The last manager was given a free playground. Instead of putting it in the campground to help to entertain the children she put it by the lake where there are already two. The pool on Rock that we were able to use has closed. They keep telling us they've upped the rates for improvements. In four years we have not seen any of the money go back into this campground to make it any better. The mold issue in the lounge is a concern. How can mold in a building be contained to one room? Seems it would be present in the whole building. No cable, no internet, unfriendly staff! Doesn't make for a a very friendly place to stay. If you do complain about anything to the office it puts a huge target on your back. We recently went to Florida and stayed at a Navy campground in Mayport. It was 19 dollars a night, free laundry in a very clean facility, free ice, view of the ocean and a very friendly staff. I am proud that the Navy takes care of their own and offers an awesome place for people that have earned it to stay. From what I've heard Fort Meade is the worst FamCamp people have dealt with. Once we leave we never plan on returning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this site several times over the past two years. It started off being a very nice campground with a great staff and decent ammenities. The prices were reasonable though a little bit higher than most other military campgrounds. All that has changed for the worse. Cable TV two years ago consisted of nine channels and very poor quality, including no CBS. Internet was available but only if you were parked near the main office. The lounge/laundry building is ok, but the game room was closed off sometime before our first stay in September 2011 due to mold. A sign said they were "working on it". Fast forward to the Spring of 2012. Suddenly rates went up by over 50%, no cable or Internet at all. We asked the manager - the guy that only walks around in the morning with his cup of cofee and blue-tooth piece jammed in his ear - about this. He said the rates are going up in order to improve the campground, put Internet and cable TV back in. Fast forward to Fall of 2012. The only improvement was replacing several site picnic pads with a fine gravely/dirt mixture that turns to quicksand in the rain. Still no Internet or cable TV. Fast forward to today, March 20, 2013. We arrived for the Cherry Blossom Festival in D.C. and are staying here for three weeks. Still no cable, no Internet, game room still closed due to mold, and now they've announced that effective April 15, 2013, they will no longer take the National Park passes. You would think they'd lower their prices because of that, but no, the greed continues with absolutely no improvements to the campground. Oh, wait - they did paint large site numbers on the pads. With an estimated increase in revenue of between $500 and $1000 per day (depending on number of guests), you'd think they could at least put in basic cable! With prices not far off from off-base campgrounds that offer so much more, I don't see this potential gem lasting much more.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Jul 2012

Location-- Very difficult to find. Called the desk and left message for a return call to get directions to base. The clerk returned my call the next afternoon. After an hour and frustrated, we found our way to the base. Value-- I gave it a "1" because there is no "0". The cost ($38) was "outrageous"! All other FAMCAMPS in the surrounding areas were nearly half the cost. The staff--one gentleman (African American) was extremely helpful and polite. The female staff members lacked basic people skills. They had the "it's not my job" attitude when asked questions. We made reservations for 4 nights. When we finally found the place and checked in I paid for 3 nights (not thinking after my frustration). The clerk could have pulled up my reservation information and asked if I intended to stay 3 or 4 nights. After leaving for DC to tour the area 2 days later, the clerk calls and sternly tells me I was supposed to check out that morning. I explained we were in DC and that it would take several hours to return. We stated we had a 4 day reservation to which she repeated we had to leave immediately as someone was waiting for the spot. We asked if we could extend and she stated there were no other spots available and we had to leave. A very unpleasant experience with the staff. They don't look or act professional. When asked where points of interest are, they don't know or are not sure and don't make an effort to get the information. Someone should be available to handle calls after hours (we called around 10 min before closing hours) to answer calls from travelers unfamiliar with the area. I would not recommend this FAMCAMP.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

May 2012 - Present

Most of the staff are friendly and courteous, however, since our arrival, the manager of the Camp Meade RV Park is extremely strict. The day I arrived, it we were moved three times. That evening, the office called me and said that I was given a refund for having to move so much (which I thought was great). Then the very next day, the office called me again stating that I needed to return the refund. I went to the office and requested to speak to the manager. He was very provocative and showed complete disrespect for me and my wife. Lately, I’ve gotten reports from various people who are staying there and they are telling me that he is extremely strict, has people moving in the middle of their stay (which included an elderly person who is disabled). None of the people whom I spoken with want to bring this up to the management because they feel the manager will “find” a reason to kick them out of the park. I do not recommend anyone stay at this park until the current manager is terminated. He is not military friendly nor does he have any customer service skills. I do not have the time to list the rest of the actions this individual has done. Again, I caution anyone coming here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
5 results - showing 1 - 5