Camp Meade RV Park

Featured
 
4.1 (78)
78913   0   15   2   29

User reviews

31 reviews with 5 stars

78 reviews

 
(34)
 
(33)
 
(6)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.6  (78)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (78)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (78)
Value 
 
3.8  (78)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (78)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
31 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
October, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice park with lots of elbow room. We were in #24 which is on a corner. The nearest RV to us was at least 50 to 75 feet away. The park is clean and they make everyone adhere to the rules (no parking on grass, no junk around, etc) which makes for a pleasing appearance. There was no wifi out where we were, electric was stable, water pressure was fine, and Verizon signal was 4G with 1 and 2 bars (not real strong). There are paved roads and concrete pads with gravel patios. Each patio has a fire pit and picnic table. The commissary and exchange were very nice. Here's our 2 complaints: First are the gates. The gates at the entrance and exit of the park are a pain. If you're on a military base where you are carded before entry, why do you need the gates? Second is Wifi/Hotspot. I called Verizon because my hotspot was worse than dial-up slow and normally it has very good speed. I was told that because of the area (between DC and Baltimore) the tower congestion is such that at certain times of the day it slows down to a crawl. That being the case, the park should have wifi repeaters. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Camp Meade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
June 24 - July 8, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The location of Ft Meade and the quality of the RV Park make it an ideal, reasonably-priced place to set up a base camp for visiting POI’s in Washington DC, Baltimore, Annapolis, Gettysburg, and all the other historic and cultural sites in the surrounding area. This is our fourth two-week stay at Ft Meade. The RV Park offers more than just RV back-in or pull-thru sites. They have a large “Group Camping Area” for tent campers with an adjacent restroom/shower facility. The tent area has very limited shade so it would probably be advisable to have some type of canopy to lessen the effects of being in the hot, direct sun. The park also offers four small, air conditioned cabins which are part of back-in sites #’s 1, 8 (Handicap Accessible), 2B & 3B. It appears that the RV site-Cabin combinations are under-utilized. The concept provides a cost-effective lodging solution for groups when an RV alone cannot accommodate the lodging needs of the group. We will have two guests joining us during our second week and have already planned their stay in our RV. If we have guests during future stays at Ft Meade we will strongly consider the RV site/Cabin combination. Like most military campgrounds, Ft Meade also seems to have their share of active-duty homesteaders. However, the presence of homesteader does not seem to deprive recreational campers from being able to get a site. There appears to be RV’s coming and going every day, leaving several sites vacant each day. Having said that, we would not risk coming here without a reservation. We like to believe that we have a positive attitude about Ft Meade, but also recognize that it has opportunities for improvement. This review process is not the forum to complain or influence change. There are other ways to communicate those efforts directly to the organizations that have the means to implement changes or improvements. And finally, while in this area enjoy everything it has to offer – especially a trip to the Chesapeake Bay area for steamed blue crabs or crab cakes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 4-11, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at the Ft Meade Campground as a stopping place on our trip down to and back from Myrtle Beach. When we got to our site on our way down we all looked at each other and said "Can we stay here for the week?" Very clean campground with well layed out sites. We had a back in site on our way down and a pull through on the way back. I had no trouble getting a 42' 5th wheel into and out of either. The MWR Office was very helpful with both of our nights being on the weekend when they are closes. I got phone messages on my cell phone giving us the codes to get into the campground and for the shower facility. We are already planning on coming down and staying to do the "Washington" thing some time next year and will definitely stay here when we do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 25-29, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Sea Mist in Virginia Beach on the 13th, now Camp Meade on the 25th, I’m really pushing this new RV thing. We came here to visit my son and grand kids, my son is stationed here. This is a very nice park. Quite a few log term campers, but still plenty of empty sites the week we were here. I read one of the previous posts about the shower rooms and he/she was spot on, they are individual rooms clean and private. Access to Post was easy, my son checked with the guard at the Reese gate about RVs. Guard said no problem. I showed up Saturday afternoon and had no problems with my GMC 2500 and 33 ft 5er that requires 12’5” clearance. If you enter via this gate make the first left on Ernie Pyle st. cross Mapes Rd (flashing red light) Turn right on Llewellyn Ave (Stop Sign), and left on Wilson St. (at hospital). Camp Mead is on your left, lots of parking for RVs. Yes the office has limited duty hrs, closed on weekends. However I made reservation for a Sat arrival and on the Friday before they called me and provided a site number and codes for the entry gate, and bathhouse, on Monday morning at 0900 they called and politely asked me to stop by to register. Very pleasant happy people. I will be here again. Super quiet, comfortable park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Nov 2-7, 2014
(Updated: November 11, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A very pleasant first-time experience in this campground. I absolutely will return. Having read previous posts I was pleasantly surprised to NOT find grumpy, unhelpful management. The staff that runs the facility could not be friendlier or more accommodating. My only dings on amenities/facilities, and thus the reason for four stars instead of five, are (1) No WiFi in the campground and (2) Office hours. It is hard to reconcile an "Outdoor Recreation Facility" that limits its hours to 0800-1600 Mon-Fri. My military experience was that most "outdoor recreation" was done after hours and weekends. One afternoon I returned to my campsite at 1630 to find somebody had made off with my power cord (connection to shore power). I had to wait until the next day to speak with someone in Outdoor Rec and get it back (a Good Sam though someone left the power cord behind and turned it into the office). Admittedly, a relatively minor point. The shower, restroom, and laundry facilities were spotless; although perhaps we can turn the temperature up a few degrees in those shower rooms (yes; shower ROOMS -- each shower is a self-contained key-pad accessible room with shower, toilet, sink, mirror, electric outlets . . . VERY convenient). The cumbersome Post access through the truck/delivery gate is due to the oversized nature of many RVs (can't fit through the normal Post gates). If traveling in a Class B (as I was), access through the normal gates is easy and painless. Just be sure to have your ID handy to present to security.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 28-30, 2013
(Updated: July 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here for the weekend to see some local sites. Great location, less than 30 minutes from the inner harbor and not too far from Washington. As others stated the cable did not work, however we picked up many local stations with no problems. We did get the "dd-wrt" WiFi but was not the best quality. A new PX is being built along with some construction along the route to the campsites. The campground is clean and well shaded with plenty of space between sites. Some have concrete pads under the table and fire ring. There were a few RVs that appeared to be there for a while and not occupied, however there were plenty of open sites. The office personnel were friendly. The store had several items for RV'ers that we've not seen at other military campgrounds. The store also has the Leisure Travel Service for discount tickets. The store and office do close at 5pm, however if you have a reservation they will call the number you give with the reservation with the code for the gate and bathhouses.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 14, 2013 thru May 21, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
F.D. left this review using the Directory software: - Beautiful campground. Rest rooms kept clean (door code given at check-in). Gate Code needed for entry (given at check-in). Site has concrete pad with an attached pad (made from playground gravel) with aluminum picnic table at each site. Each site has a cable TV connection. Nice Commissary & Exchange. Ten minute ride to Odenton MD, MARC (railroad) station. $5/one way ticket to Washington DC (30 min train ride) Union Station. Union Station gives you access to all METRO subway lines and 2 blocks from Capital building. Camp store with propane sales. Exchange gas station has gas & diesel fuel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 14-18, 2012
(Updated: January 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here in a large 5th wheel. Although a little pricey, you can't argue with the location and the considerable base amenities that are within a short distance from the park. We plan to stay here again soon when visiting the D.C. area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 27, 2012
(Updated: December 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a nice FamCamp. The access road is paved. The sites are either paved or concrete, but there is some degree of sloping on many of the back-ins; although, there is plenty of space between sites. There are picnic tables and fire rings. The utilities worked as expected. The combination MWR office and club/bath house is pretty much centrally located. There are at least a half dozen individual shower rooms which precludes any waiting. There is also a nice laundry facility in the same building with lots of machines. They are pay-for-use which is not the norm because that is usually a freebie for most FamCamps. The check in office is closed on Sundays and access to the campground is controlled by a security gate system. That means you cannot just show up and get a site on that day. Verizon cell worked well including my hotspot. The daily cost of a campsite is higher than most FamCamp facilities, but that may be due to the close proximity to the Washington DC area. Prices reflects an America the Beautiful discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 21, 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location. Well maintained park. Easy checkin but the shuffling has to stop. WiFi and CATV not functioning after storms that blew through a week prior. Dog area should be fenced in. Shower house was spotless and sites are level with wide concrete pads. Close to everything in Downtown DC and Baltimore areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 2012
(Updated: April 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012. One of the better military RV parks. Fort Meade is a great military installation and this park is easy to find. Across from the park office is a lake which offers beautiful sunsets and apparently good fishing. The sites are all paved and about 70 feet long. The laundry facilities are clean and inexpensive. The cable and wifi were not available at the sites when we were there (rumored that there was a contract dispute) however I used the lounge wifi which was excellent. Another plus is the proximity to DC. About 5 mins away by car, there a MARC station with free parking. From that station (Oddenton), you can purchase a ticket for $5 and within 30 mins, you are at Union Station. The MARC is a nice, safe commuter train. It should be noted that the administration has notes posted everywhere informing that the rates have increased effective April 1, 2012. For example: from $24 to $35 a day for the back in sites. It is quite a jump but well worth it. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 22, 2011
(Updated: March 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the most amazing campgrounds I've ever experienced! It's quiet, friendly and has wonderful facilities. I especially appreciated the security measures to gain access to the showers...it made me feel safe. My husband and myself have pets, and we love the fact that we can take our dogs camping with us at a pet friendly location. We'll be back soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
25 November - 27 November 2011
(Updated: December 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. We found the RV park to be top notch and a great value. The park is extremely clean, easy to navigate around and the office personnel are extremely helpful and friendly. We had our dog with us and the morning and afternoon walk around Burba Lake was awesome. It is amazing how secluded and quiet this park is, even though you are in the middle of Ft. Meade. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 17-21, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
D.P. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed here during the kids spring vacation, great RV park, very nice facilities, clean, everything worked very well. Large base, everything you could forget, you could get here on base. Staff very friendly and helpful, even security at the gate!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 25-Sept 7, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This park is one of the best on the East Coast. Is the best and the closest Army park to DC. Andrews AFB is closer, but does not come close to this park. The staff is not only friendly, but helpful. My wife and I are full-timers and we have a 40' Class A. If there is a negative to this park it is the number of active duty that are living here, but even they are required to move every month or so, no homesteading. I would probably recommend this park for an award, at least for Army RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 19, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The park is clean and neat in appearance. Roads are good - all paved and wide. Most sites look fairly easy to get in and out of and are adequate in size. Camp has a nice paved pathway for walking and handy doggie bags for picking up after your pets. A very park-like campground. It looks like there are some homesteaders - although the sites were all neat in appearance. Park was almost full when we called and we were fit into a back-in site - plenty large for our 35' fifth wheel. We arrived after the office closed so did not meet any of the staff but they were very helpful when we called to change the date of our reservation and the day of in order to get the gate code for access. Be sure to call ahead if arriving late to get your gate codes! Looked into the bathhouses and they all appeared relatively modern and clean. Coming from Fort Wilderness CG at Disney, they were not quite up to Disney standards, but I would not hesitate to use them. From a visit here last year I recall the camp store/office to be very large and clean and had some supplies. This is a great base to tour the DC/Baltimore area or to stop over on the way through the area. It is a bit far for daily sightseeing to DC and not close to a Metro line. You will have to put up with the heavy traffic on the BW Parkway.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
June 29, 2010 to July 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great facility, great and helpful staff. Baltimore only 16 miles away, as is Naval Academy. DC about 25 miles south. Also able to get RV Gas bottles filled at refill facility located at Camp. Very quite facility. Restrooms, Showers and Laundry facilties always very clean. Will definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 5-11 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
From making reservations to leaving this was a very positive stay. Thanks to the entire staff at the park office this was one of the most enjoyable experiences we have had in the military campground system. Two examples of the outstanding and friendly staff were the gentleman who provided us with a 7 blade connection tester and the young lady with the hat (Namoi) who was always ready to help anyone who walked in the door of the office (and believe me I need a lot of help). The park like environment, the facilities, and the post all were immaculate. The only negative comment about the campground I could make was site #43 is not very level but that was only a minor problem. The only negative about the post was - no driving range for the golf course. Fort Meade should be very proud of its RV park and its MWR staff. I would recommend this campground to anyone who wants to enjoy the Baltimore, Annapolis, and Washington DC area. The cable tv worked fine, we did not need our satellite since cable was so good and the antenna is even better with so many Baltimore and Washington DC channels in HD. I would rank this campground as one of the best in the military system and I have stayed in quite a few over the last two years of fulltiming.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sep 14 - 17, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
It was a bit tricky finding the back entrance to the base, but once inside the gate it was easy to locate the RV park. We liked the shady, grassy sites. There was a note posted in the laundry room warning about rusty water, which was dated in August, but the problem was continuing into Sept. The detergent dispenser was out of order, and the lounge was closed due to mold problems. The office lady, Bernie, was very nice and helpful. This base is close to the MARC train station so it's easy to get into D.C. without fighting the traffic. Also nearby are several restaurants and a large shopping mall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 23-24, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
RV Park was very clean and well organized. The staff was great and helpful. We stayed at site 16 which was very good and easy to get into. I opted for the backin site b/c the pull through sites cost you an extra $10 per night, not a bad deal for 1 or 2 days but if you plan to stay there any length of time go for the back in option. The hookups were easy to find and centrally located on the site. Some CG hookups are either located at the back or the front, these were located right in the middle which made hooking up easy to do. We used the location to go to Six Flags but will be coming back to do other site seeing. The CG is located between DC and Baltimore which makes it a great spot to be. The management also offered me a location in the lot to leave the RV so I did not have to drag it to Six Flags which is a huge plus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
31 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2