Five Flag Campground

 
3.1 (8)
27937 0 7 0 0

User reviews

6 reviews with 3 stars
8 reviews
 
13%
 
13%
 
63%
2 stars
 
0%
 
13%
Overall rating
 
3.1
Location
 
3.4(8)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.1(8)
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.5(8)
Value
 
3.5(8)
Overall Experience
 
3.0(8)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
6 results - showing 1 - 6
Ordering
May 9, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
I live 4 miles from this campground and have never stayed here but driven through it several times in the past 3 years. It is not in my opinion a great campground as stated in last review. This place is a mud hole when it rains. One site had a fresh looking load of broken concrete dumped on it and not spread out very good. But I'm not going to beat this campground up to much because they are closing. The official closing date as of this visit is June 30, 2008.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
6/27 to 7/11/07
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Location to Detroit is great, but with no laundry available, limited Commissary/BX, and the fact that the camp is a giant "vacant lot" with gravel (huge chunks) and has no sewer, I wouldn't visit this camp again unless I needed to be in the Detroit area. I might choose a local "state" campground though, pay the little bit extra, and get more ammenities...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
6/12/07 thru 6/18/07
Overall rating
 
3.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We arrived without reservations and fortunately there was a cancellation. The road thru the park is very dusty so it is necessary for vehicles to maintain 5 mph. The restrooms and showers are clean and roomy. Unfortunately we were there during the Fishfly infestation and it seem the little devils like the color of our coach. Getting in and out of the coach without them hanging on was a task. We used the Pharmacy while there and it is closing September 2007. The commisary and BX/PX are to remain open after the closure in 2008 but the MWR facilities will close.
C
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 26, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The main gate has reopened. They have added a commercial entrance adjacent to the new main gate. This base has adopted the Air Force policy of not needing vehicle registration (window decals) displayed. We have used this CG many times and are also concerned about the future. Asking at the office revealed the current plans are to close July of 2008. This is per BRAC decisions. CG personnel stated that, presently, the Air Force has not decided to continue operations. Since we were residents of the area it is interesting to note that actual implementation of the BRAC policies has morphed substantially from initial plans. We will return to the area late summer and provide another update. With respect to the ratings previously posted I concur with the exception that the value of the CG cannot be understated. Commercial CG's near the Detroit metro area are almost non-existent.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The main gate is closed for remake. Directions we took were so convoluted I can't update at this time, but the gate to enter is the Joy street gate. Some concern about camp and base closure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Jun 2005
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Treeless, grassy sites right on edge of Lake St Clair. Good spot to tour Detroit area from. Would rate higher if sewers were available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 7 0
6 results - showing 1 - 6