Lake of the Ozarks Recreation Area

 
4.1 (23)
92295 0 11 1 31

User reviews

10 reviews with 4 stars
23 reviews
 
39%
 
43%
 
13%
 
4%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
4.0(23)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(23)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.1(23)
Value
 
4.1(23)
Overall Experience
 
4.2(23)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
September 12 2019
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed here for 2 nights and pretty much had the place to ourselves. We stayed in the nice pull through 50 amp sites, yes they are narrow, however they are concrete, level, and and all of the hookups are placed where they should be. The area is remote, but we liked that. The lake is beautiful, as is the surrounding area. We will come back some day and stay longer. Verizon cell service worked well and there are several OTA tv channels to choose from.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 2017
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice place for a short stay. The paved spots weren't available so we had a gravel pad that was level and clean/ The electrical box had me a little uncomfortable because it had been hit at least once but after checking it with my meter I noted the damage was mostly cosmetic. The restrooms were clean and stocked but the laundry room garbage was overflowing. I also noted that one of the two dumpster was overflowing but, the other one further down was empty.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
7 Sep - 10 Sep 16
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed at LORA for a nice break on the lake. The 50amp sites are in a block together in the open. 30amp sites are spaced out in a different area set amongst the trees. LORA gives a discount for those with Golden Age Passport. This helps since the cost for 50amp is $30 a nite. This park is in a recreation area not located on a base. It is set out on one of the fingers of Lake of the Ozarks. No great views from the 50amp sites but when you get down to the marina or one of the picnic areas it's a beautiful setting. There are cabins available for rent- some that have docks accessible. The marina has different watercraft available for rent. LORA is a few miles from the nearest town so have your groceries with you. When you do venture in to town there is plenty to do. There is a local winery trail with some great local tastings for you to sample. Make sure to go to the local state park, Ha Ha Tonka. Great hikes, springs & a castle ruin. We will visit again - hopefully our next visit we'll get a chance to enjoy the lake. Storms kept us off the water this visit.
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
Jul 5 - Jul 12, 2016
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great campground. Long sites, concrete, picnic table, no trees to block satellite signal, clean, etc. Great place for water activities, which is why I only gave it a 2 for location. We aren't water people, and it is located miles from a town, then 4 miles up a narrow, hilly, windy road. But I would go there again, and they (Army) take the Golden Age Passport. If I was a boater or a fisherperson, I'd love it. 
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 22, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I think the price is a little steep it went up to $30 a night several private RV parks at the main part of the lake are at 35 a night and include Wi-Fi hookup and TV when you first pull into the park big rig and full hookups are on the right do not make the mistake of going straight into the park space is very limited and you will get stuck the park is very clean and the staff are friendly
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
7 - 25 May 2014
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Other than a water leak in the pipe on our site, the new pull through sites were level and paved. Short on shade (none) so in the full summer be prepared to run air! We had to park full forward in our spot for the power cord to reach (39 ft 5th wheel) but there was room to park on the apron in front of the site. Staff was friendly and helpful. We'd do this again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
October 2013
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
T.P. left this review using the Directory software: - We have stayed here on several occasions and during different times of the year. Staff is friendly and helpful. Military Police are there from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day and patrol the area by foot, bicycle, and car. Overall an enjoyable area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sept 4 2012
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
New asphalt has been laid on the street and parking lots. The pads are pull through but need to be widened so when you step out of your RV or motor home you don't have to step in the dirt or mud and the picnic table needs to be set on a slab not on the ground and in the mud. Other than that things were just great and I will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
7 July 07
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Called for directions as it can be a little difficult and awkward to get there...phone line was continuously busy for several hours...dodged many tree limbs getting there. Signed in and got our spot....my surge suppressor noted polarity reversal and could not get power. We had to relocate which was a deeply angled site and we could not level. Told that "the polarity read like that but it was otherwise fine"....eh, don't think so. While the surroundings are "pretty", this definitely is not big rig friendly (38 feet). Small rigs and campers would do just fine. 30 amp service (voltage is holding fine for AC) and no sewer, just a dump station. Could be a lot better...but this is just the first day. Will submit another review if things get better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been camping here for about 20 years and it has aways been a nice place. This trip we rented a boat and had a good time out on the lake one day. The other day we shopped at the outlet mall in town. One day was also spent just swimming in there small beach area. It closes at 6pm but you can take an drive to the State park swim area which is under 2 miles if you want to swim after 6.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
10 results - showing 1 - 10