Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (174)
145580 2 31 1 67

User reviews

90 reviews with 4 stars
174 reviews
 
30%
 
52%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(174)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(174)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(174)
Value
 
4.1(174)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(174)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
90 results - showing 81 - 90
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
11-16 April 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Famcamp is wedged between a newer housing area, the TLF houses, and the Dep't of Energy's solar energy research antenna farm. Camp itself is pleasant, but its age shows. Appears to be on land that once was the base trailer park, or an older housing area with houses gone. Restrooms are minimal - shower in men's room is really old, probably 30 years or so, and not well maintained, but shower itself was fine. Sale of propane is a very nice amenity! Lady in charge of the campground is extremely helpful, and is quick to point out that a nearly 100% refurbishment is due this summer! (2008). Wi-Fi is non-existant, although campground-wide wi-fi is scheduled as part of park upgrade this summer. Commissary operates 24/7, 0900-1900, also a very nice perk! The Commissary, BX, and Shopette/Auto Care center/Class VI and new automated car wash are all in a row, easy to access, just down the road, going west, from the Famcamp. BX and Commissary are very good. Class VI wine/beer selection is excellent - lots of microbrews, impports, great selection of New Mexico wines and others as well. All the usual hard liquor selections. Base itself is very clean. Great TV reception - analog & digital - from Sandia Peak antenna farm right behind famcamp. Base is right IN Albuquerque, and easy to get to via the Wyoming Street gate, heading north. BTW you'll intersect Central Avenue, the old Route 66 - WELL worth the drive into downtown, as well as eastward. Lots of old historic motels, diners, great neon sineage. Plenty of space near Famcamp if you like to run/jog. Well equipped fitness center, though pretty old. Would definitely stay there again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
13-16 Mar 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
There aren't any instructions (above) for arriving from the south. It's easy. If coming up I-25, look for Gibson street exit. It's right after the International airport exits. Turn right off I-25 & stay on it till you bump into the gate. Had to stay 1 night in overflow, but it had 30amp. Just no water. Moved into a full hookup next morning. Camp host is very nice/helpful. Bathhouse has only 1 toliet & 1 shower (men's), women's has 1 shower, 2 toliets. laundry is a real bargain @ $.75 per load. Sites are mostly pull thru, mostly paved and level. BX/Commissary, etc nearby. Nice place to sit out the Spring wind storms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26-30 Nov 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stopped here heading west and spent a few days. Nice fam camp. They do give a 10 percent discount if you are a club member. Price for propane was real good compared to other campgrounds and civilian market. Laundry and bathroom could use and upgrade but they are functional, and clean; laundry only had three washers with two working and four dryers. Base has good facilities with easy access, the car wash has an outside bay that you can wash your rig. TV reception is good in both analog and digital mode using the batwing antenna.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
2-4 Nov 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stopped here on our way east. Great park! Used all of the facilities while there. Bathrooms were well maintained. Only a couple of the washers/dryers were working while we were there. Propane is available in the park. Talked to the host and she said there are plans in the works to upgrade the park by adding 45 more full-hookup sites, a playround and other ammenties. Overall, a very nice experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 4, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
K.S. left this review using the Directory Software: Been in the Kirtland FAMCAMP several times since 2004. Overall a great place to stay but not quite 5-star. Looks like they are currently trying to get rid of all the painful goat head vegetation by scraping most of grass on the sites away. Definitely will become a mud pit when it rains. Dog run is really nice but all the poop bag dispensers were empty. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
22-24 May 07
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Major road construction on Post made getting to the Camp difficult. Location was not marked & directions given at the Eubank gate were incorrect. Traffic cones are not placed to be "Big rig friendly". Once we finally got situated all was well. Great dog run & friendly staff. During this construction, you must turn onto 12th @ the Temporary Housing units to get to the FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 23, 2007
(Updated: July 06, 2007)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Although our travel timing didn't allow us to spend the night, we stopped at Kirtland to resupply at the commissary on our return from the Texas, New Mexico, Arizona & Utah deserts. While there, we stopped in at the FAMCAMP to see it for future reference. I agree with beachkat, below, about the campground facilities. The base itself is an Air Force showcase, and beautifully maintained, so it seems odd that the FAMCAMP is less than top tier. Still, it's a fine pied a terre for activities in the Albuquerque/northern NM area, of which there are many. Go and enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campgrounds are being maintained but the showers are not acceptable. The bathrooms need a lot of help! Showers are old and narrow. Over all we have enjoyed our stay here as it is very close to almost everything we wanted to see and do. We would definitely come back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 2007
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This FamCamp has the potential of being a great place with a few upgrades. They do seem to be actively working on the park. There were about 5 sites open when we arrived but only one suited our hook-up needs. A lot of the sites need extensions for water, power, or sewer. There are thorns everywhere, so watch your pets paws. I will say, they went all out with the Dog Run area. Our dog enjoyed it very much. And it was thorn free! All in all we had a pleasant stay and will return. Oh, there are 2 nice Indian casinos about 20 minutes, one North and one South, on Hwy 25 with great food!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This FAM Camp has been approved for updates on Electric and added pad sites. Bids are being accepted. After traveling for several years, one must be reminded that different commands and their respective bases receives monies based on mission. This base is at lower tiers of allocation. Compared to lets say Nellis, DM, or other major bases with a high level mission. If only the ammenities were spread equally, retires and others couldn't then complain. We felt Kirtland does a great job with what there given. Propane is now available at this FAM CAMP.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
90 results - showing 81 - 90
1 2 3 4 5