Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (174)
145580 2 31 1 67

User reviews

174 reviews
 
30%
 
52%
 
11%
 
5%
 
1%
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.4(174)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.9(174)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.6(174)
Value
 
4.1(174)
Overall Experience
 
4.0(174)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
174 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
5-13 May 2011
(Updated: June 14, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I did not have any trouble with the directions at all and came in thru the Gate on Gibson Ave. I would use the Eubanks gate next time as it is easier and closer to the RV Park. We stayed in the newer section which is open and dusty. All the sites were huge pull thrus and had new stone which helped with the dust. Great location to explore the area and nice facilities on the base. The wind was terrible while we were here. We did not use the showers or bath rooms so cannot comment on them. We did use the laundry which only had 3 washers and dryers and several of them were out of order. We stayed in a 5th wheel. Janet in the office is very knowledgeable on the area and can give you tips on where to go.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
14-16MAY 2011
(Updated: May 16, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground with two very different sides; the nice wooded side was full including the FEMA trailers mentioned before which were empty, I assume they are rentals for the airmen on post to use which is a nice program, this facility is here primarily for them but these trailers look like they have seen better days. The other side is very open with soft gravel and huge spots, they are very nice but the wind was HORRIBLE and there is nothing to block it if you stay on that side. The post is very nice and in a great location, there is a lot to offer within a short drive from the base so it is defiantly worth the visit. They don't take reservations but with so many sites on both sides I doubt it is ever completely full except maybe during the balloon festival. If you are coming this way it is well worth staying here especially for the price and central location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20 -27 April 2011
(Updated: April 26, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Came in through the Eubanks Gate without any problems. Surprised to see several old, beat up and very ugly FEMA trailers in some of the nicer sites on the east side. None were used while we were there. Janet assigned us to a site on the west side. Nice huge pull-through. Visited ITT and saved some money on Isotopes and Tram Ride tickets. We’ll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2011
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
G.S. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed in the old section, many back in sites and some crossed utilities. If they have money to invest, I'd recommend a new bath house. We have a 40ft RV towing a car and made it through the gates with care. Initially went through the recommended Truman Gate, was quite an adventure trying to find the camp from there. Need better directions, gate guard at that location not really helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 6-8, 2011
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
W.R. left this review using the Directory software: - A couple of notes. The gate issue is VERY confusing. We carefully followed the instructions for entry listed and ended up at a VA Hospital. You have to be VERY careful of the lane you are in when turning on to Gibson Ave. It forks 3 ways, only one of which takes you to the base. The water pressure in the new wing of the family camp averaged 70 to 80 psi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 26-28,2010
(Updated: October 28, 2010)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Overall a nice experience, stayed on the west side which is nothing but an open area with full hook-up sites, wide and long. There were many open spots to choose from, reservations are not taken and were not needed. We arrived after 1600 and did not have access to the bathroom until the next morning due to needing a combination to get in them. We were able to enter through the main gate. We are 36 feet with a tow vehicle. It looked tight. We would stay here again and recommend it when visiting Albuquerque.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18-20 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 22, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Since it was a Sunday we had to go through the main gate vice the Eubanks gate. Our rig is a 38’ 5-wheel pulled by a long bed 3500 GMC so I was just a little apprehensive about going through that gate and the maze. It’s a very good thing that I pulled into the visitor parking lot as I don't believe we could have gotten through the main gate. The maze has been tightened up since the last time we were here. The Security Police checked our ID’s and told us that the gate guard usually sends big rigs to the Truman gate. They then had to remove the barriers to let us through. I called the Police Desk this morning and they said that the “prefer” large vehicles use the Truman gate. Here are directions: From I-40 East or West, take Exit 161, San Mateo Blvd. Go south on San Mateo Blvd NE. Left on Gibson Blvd SE After entering gate, go to Wyoming Blvd and turn right. Left on F Ave Then follow directions above. We stayed in the East section. Very large pull-throughs with 50 amp and 30 amp service. This sections is just a very large parking lot with hookups but it works. 10% discount for Officers/NCO Club members.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Sept 24 -Sept 28, 2010
(Updated: September 25, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
If I hadn't talked to the host this morning I would have rated this famcamp higher in hospitality and overall experience. They do not take reservations here and have a 14 day stay limit. I have no problem with that and think it’s fair. Albuquerque has a popular balloon festival that starts next week. When I checked in yesterday, the female host, (Kelly) asked me how long I wanted to stay and that would determine where she’d put me. I told her just till Monday and she put me in the new section. I did wonder why my duration of stay, if within their 14 day limit, made a difference. My wife today suggested we stay another day. I stopped by the office and asked about extending one day. The male who was in the office when we checked in and I assumed was Kelly’s husband was there. Right off the bat he was rude. When I told him I was in the new section he said the base commander told them to have that section emptied of all guests by September 30th. I asked why it had to be emptied and he became visibly upset, saying he had no idea, he was only a volunteer and he’s tired of people gripping at him. I told him I wasn’t gripping, I just asked a question. He never extended my stay, even though I’d be vacating before Sep 30th, and just stormed off. The base commander can do what he wants I suppose. This section that has to be emptied is 40, fifty amp spots – more than half the capacity of the campground that is now not available to the active duty/retired population this recreation site is supposed to serve. At a bare minimum, the folks dealing with customers at the campground should be courteous (as Kelly was) and have an explanation as to why the campground is not available to it’s customer base during a popular event.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
September 16 - September 24, 2010
(Updated: September 22, 2010)
Overall rating
 
2.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We stayed for a week in September. First the Good: Dog run is one of the nicer ones we have seen. We stayed in the older part of the park, and was nicely shaded by a huge pine tree. The commissary and exchange are real nice, and are well stocked. There is a thrift store on base with a great selection of books for under $1.00. Decent central location to get to Taos, Santa Fe etc. Now the Bad!: As everyone else has mentioned, there is really no other place in the campsite to walk your dog due to the stickers. The bathrooms are old, and upon first glance - the bathrooms are 'cleaned' daily (trash emptied, mirror wiped down) but the shower is downright disgusting. For 5 days straight, there was a used band-aid in the stall along with long hairs all over the floor, and used soap in the corner. There is mold everywhere, and the shower head itself is caked with some sort of substance that makes it spray in all directions except on the person. Also - don't expect the bathroom to get 'cleaned' on the weekend, as well as the dog poo trash can in the dog run (the bags run out too). My husband is on terminal leave (officially retiring in Dec.) but is still in the military. We went to the dining facility for breakfast one morning, and was told that he could eat in the facility with a copy of his orders, but I (as a dependent) was not allowed in. We have never heard of such a thing as we have dined at various facilities all over the United States. As for the location directly outside of the base - I would advise steering WAY clear! It is as ghetto as it gets, and can be quite scary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
15-16 Sept 2010
(Updated: September 22, 2010)
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Some of the new sites that were added were out of order due to construction but there is still plenty of room. I think the days of having to wait in "overflow" at Kirtland are over for good. As already noted the new sites are huge, all pull-thru but are basically just parking lot locations. The old bath-house/laundry is in sore need of an overhaul. It's too old & too small for this big a RV park. I do not think $18 is a fair price for the new sites at Kirtland.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
4 Aug 10
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed just one night. Didn't use the laundry so I can't comment. Hard pressed to find a bunch of trees out there, so my site was basically a concrete pad with dirt, which turned to mud once wet. The dog run was great, but there were no bags, fortunately I had my own. Shower facility needs updating as there was only one female shower; however, it was clean. Great stop over on way out West and having the commissary right there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
1 - 12 July 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed in the new section, nice big spots but absolutely no shade and with the winds, you can't leave your awning up to block the sun. The A/C's worked HARD for the time we were there. They could use another (or larger) laundry facility as well--when they added the new sites, they did not add additional laundry/bathing. Lots to do in the local area and the base is beautiful. We'd definitely come back--but not when it is so hot :-).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 5-19, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We've enjoyed another stay here at Kirtland and will no doubt be back. It continues to be a good place to be. Albuquerque holds a lot of things to see and do at times other than the Balloon Festival.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
7 June 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Base relatively easy to locate as was campground. Two sections, old, with shade but low electric and some, what appeared to be, homesteaders. Got a site in the new section and the only issue was NO SHADE and it was 102 upon our arrival. But that was not a real problem, thanks to A/C. Sites were very large, both in width and length, and all utilities were easily accessible. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was close to facilities, Exchange, Commissary and Service Station, which has diesel. This is a terrific looking base with beautiful housing and what appears to be mostly new base proper buildings. Outstanding appearance all around.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24-27 October, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
There is an old section of campground which is well shaded by trees but from all appearances looks like homesteaded campers. The new section, which we stayed in has gravel sites wide and long enough for any rig. They have a picnic table but no fire ring. Sites have full hookup with several sewer connections which makes it easy to park anywhere you want on the site. There is a dog park which was nice for our pet as it was one of the few areas without large thorns. WIFI is available at the base library & they have free DVD checkout. The base has plenty of area to ride bikes or just walk, if you do ride be aware that the thorns will go through bicycle tires. I had to change 3 tubes while we were here. It also has a good commissary and BX. We went to Sandia mountian area and went up to the top of the mountain on the tram, a trip well worth the cost. We will definitely stay here again if we get back to this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
18-19 March 2010
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice park for an overnight stop. A little expensive compared to other Fam Camps I have visited. Cable would be nice as we could only receive one english channel with our HD antennae. The newer side has lots of space. I was able to park my truck next to my trailer. The staff here was very nice. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
March 1-7, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed in the gravel portion in the back and really liked it there. The sites are very large, both long and WIDE. I work out of the RV so I wanted something to look at besides the side of someone else's rig, so we looked for an end spot. We found one, but the way the sites are set up you have the sun flooding in your windows at dawn or sunset. So instead, we parked diagonally in the site, had a breathtaking view of the mountains, no sun blindness, only a few quizzical stares from passersby. Facilities on base were great, enjoyed seeing the petroglyphs and wandering around the open spaces at the foot of the hills. We would not hesitate to stay here again, should we ever find ourselves in Albuquerque again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
March 14 -17,2010
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Hugh improvement over our last visit to Kirtland AFB. The east area with their very large gravel spaces, sewer, and electric connections are a vast improvement over the older west area. We hope they continue to improve this park, as this park could serve as a hub for the many attractions of the Albuquerque area. A host drove up as we were sitting up in the rain/snow mix of early March and volunteered to go to the registration office and mark our spot on the sign in board, the lady who registered us the next morning was very nice and informative. Some areas of improvement are: the bathroom facilities need updating and expanded. They are woefully inadequate for the size of this famcamp with only one shower. The registration office is very small and does not have the room to have the informative brochures and other amenities of other famcamps. It would be a little better if they would compact the gravel sites but we did not have a real problem with sitting up because our jack pads compacted the gravel and we were able to level without too much effort. There is no shade or landscaping in the east area and that will help this summer for those sites. With a few more improvements this would be a very nice famcamp. With all that said we will continue to stop here and hope they continue to improve the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
February 3-4, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We arrived at night in a snowstorm. The camp hosts could not have been nicer and helped get us situated. We just needed electricity so we stayed in the new gravel area. Nice campground and AFB. Good campground for the money, we will definitely stay there again. Filled up the tank with diesel at the BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 26 - Oct 10, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We stayed in overflow 1 night then we stayed the rest of the time in the "new" gravel lot. We may have enjoyed the old site w/trees more, but I doubt it. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
174 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9