Camp Perry Lodging and RV Park

Featured
 
3.6 (22)
69097 1 26 2 12

User reviews

10 reviews with 4 stars
22 reviews
 
14%
 
50%
 
32%
 
5%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.8(22)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.3(22)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.3(22)
Value
 
2.5(22)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(22)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
Sept 27-28, 2019
(Updated: September 29, 2019)
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The training post was very quiet with almost nobody there. It's open to the public with no security. The conference center, lodging, and RV Park are all new. There were only a few RV's. The beaches on Lake Erie are a short walk from the RV Park. WiFi was available at the RV Park, but I couldn't get an Internet connection. Restrooms/showers are new, basic and fairly clean, although work was being done on some showers. Check-in staff was very friendly. We took a day to visit the Henry Ford Museum and the Ford (F-150) Factory tour located 90 miles away. We had a nice visit.
Camp Perry Lodging and RV Park
Camp Perry Lodging and RV Park
Camp Perry Lodging and RV Park
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
September 2017
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We have been traveling on and off for the past 18 months. We try to stay in military campgrounds whenever possible. This campground was the most expensive and least amenities of any military campground we have been to. Firstly, do not follow your GPS, Look for 2 large stone pillars and enter the base at the pillars. Another first, there is no gate, no security, no IDs required, never encountered that before! We were there for 2 nights/3 days. We saw the lady at the conference center check in. We saw exactly one car on the road. That is it.This place is deserted. One other RV in the RV park, but never saw any people with it. The whole experience was just bizarre. A well kept base and not a soul to be seen.The Exchange was never open.The only laundromat was located next to the Exchange (not in the RV Park).No lights in the RV area.There were lights at the hotel close by.Nobody staying at the hotel though.We travel the country with our dog. Saw numerous signs saying dogs not allowed anywhere on base except the RV park.No walking around, no going to the fishing pier.Not sure why, nobody was around to be bothered by a dog. The hookups at your site are locked.They give you a key for them and the bath house when you check in. No cable, no WiFi in the RV area and $40 a night.Very unlike the dozens of military campgrounds we have visited in the past. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
May 2016
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
No shade at sites but they are clean. Picnic tables were shabby at best but next day team was on hand repairing and servicing them. Good beach nearby for nice walk, along with long Dock. We got lost getting there, just a mile or two, staff was friendly, and yes July & August are for NRA shooters championships, it would be a nice place to go and see if there were sites, which should be reserved only for prior military.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 31, 2016
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground, paved pads, full hookups, friendly staff. Clean and up to date bathhouse/restrooms. Walked around base which is open to the public with a small waterfront area for fishing. No ID check. Didn't bother checking out any other amenities since it was a one night stay. Little pricier than most other military facilities but still less than a KOA.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 2
July 5, 2011
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
W.B. left this review using the Directory software: Very nice and helpful staff at the Conference Center check in desk. Campground is very clean with paved pads & driveways. We've a 27' trailer w/full sized pu that fit well. The sewer hookups are a bit different than usual but work. All hookups are spread out and you've got to be a bit careful where you park so everything will hook up at the same time. We walked to the beach and Lake Erie may not be as polluted as years back, but I wouldn't swim in it on a bet. This was confirmed when we strolled through Port Clinton (5 mi. away) and could smell sewage every time we passed a storm sewer grate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 5
August 29, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
My family camped overnight in a tent. When we checked in, the guy working the desk reminded me of the retarded policeman. He had no clue. He said they rarely use the tent spots, so they put us in a spot for an RV. This is OK, but this was the furthest spot from the bathrooms, and the lights from the adjacent dorms were bright and annoying. I asked to get closer, but the clerk would not do it. The bathrooms are brand new and very nice.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
2 July - 10 July 2009
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We stayed from 2 July through 10 July. Pros:The campground is very clean as was the bathhouse. It was cleaned and maintained daily. Lots of little plus like the small PX, beach, static displays, quiet and away from the regular RV park crowds. The spots were large, flat and easy to back in. Hook ups were easy to access. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Private access to the bath house via a key. Camp Perry is in a great location to tour all over the area. Cleveland, Toledo and Detroit are within easy driving distance as are all the local sites. The campground was never full while we were there and at one time was down to 5 campers. Cons: Of course, it is new so not much shade and you are surrounded by barracks that are lighted 24/7. The prohibition of bringing pets was a big disappointment and most likely will preclude us from returning. Even though this did not seem to be enforced during our stay, I observed at least three dogs in the campground. The keyed entry into the bathhouse is both a pro and con. It was a hassle if my wife and I needed the bathouse key at the same time. An easy fix would be to install cypher locks on the bathhouse doors and provide registered campers with the code.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 1-5, 2009
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Interesting open-gate Ohio National Guard operated facility where most facilities (lodging, Exchange, RV Park) are also open to the public. New "military" rates for RV park which are rank-related (O-6 is $36/night) and about "market price" for area. No pets permitted although several were there while we were there but when you call for reservation they will tell you "no pets". Base and RV park getting ready for July 12 arrival of NRA Shooting matches which fills Camp Perry for about a month or so every summer. During our time, RV park about half full. Sites ok - strange water/electric hookup locations. Lodging staff (Bonnie) very nice. They give you a key to unlock water/electric. Time of year for May Flies when we were there but not too much trouble although pretty much all over your RV. AAFES small exchange open during week - not big but nice inventory and staff. No other place to eat on Camp Perry. Crowd is minimal except during shooting match time partly due to limited effort/interest in advertising (said they are worried about being perceived as competing with local civilian RV parks). Not bad place if on your way - or maybe weekend on Lake Erie short vacation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
29 June-1 July 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I agree with Hoselrocket's evaluation, I was there 29 June - 1 July 2007, the RV park was almost vacant. There is no shower facilities and I don't think they have a plan to build any. I checked with the lady in the office and she stated that they only take self contained RV's. Cingular or A.T&T cell phone service was very good. I would stay again. It was easy to find, every one was very courteous especially the gate guards. Just for your information, Cedar Point RV park quoted me a price of $80-85.00 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 10 0
12-19 June 2007
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Camp Perry Ohio NG base. At Port Clinton along the western edge of lake Erie. A new 40 site CG with FHU's level asphalt back in sites. There was only one other camper here when we checked in, an Active duty guy apparently here for work. Nice quiet place, except for the kids marching and hollering cadence. Two bar Verizon signal. No cable but there are no trees (yet, several small ones have been planted) so I got a clear shot with the dish. Several off air local channels including a couple from Canada. Tried to call for a reservation but no one answered the phone at the conference center (Bldg 600). You check in at the Conference center then they tell you to go pick a site then come back to pay. All the hook ups are locked and they give you a key after you pay. Didn't matter that we didn't have a reservation, when I checked in the girl on the desk said I was her first RV of the year. This place is a little pricey for what it offers. $29 a night for nothing but a parking space with FHU's. The post has a small BX and a post laundry. A nice fishing pier and beach is available. All in all we think this is a pretty nice place and would stop by again if in the area. I understand it will get really crowded during the annual shooting contest in July so if planning a trip then you will definately need a reservation. Check the Camp website for dates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 13 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10