Falcon's Nest FamCamp

 
3.7 (48)
70095 1 17 0 19

User reviews

48 reviews
 
19%
 
46%
 
25%
 
8%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.9(48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.7(48)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.4(48)
Value
 
3.7(48)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
48 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
June 1 - 15, 2001
(Updated: June 18, 2011)
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
As full-time RVers and retired military, we like to stay at military campgrounds whenever possible. The FamCamp at Shaw AFB, SC has full hookups but their hookups were not what campgrounds typically offer. Specifically, the sewer connections are at the front of the site and not next to the power tower and water supply. Above ground piping did not allow for normal connections without some modifications. The FamCamp on-site management team indicated that their fax machine was not working, their copy machine was not working, their ice machine was not working properly, and that they were having trouble getting these items fixed. Power went out 2 times in a two week period, too. And, one day while in the FamCamp office getting ice, I was told that the power would probably be going out that afternoon and could be out for up to 2 days. I asked management if they were planning on letting the other campers know of this and they indicated they would let others know as soon as they could ... they could not leave the office unattended while telling other campers. The good news ... power did not go out. Overall, the campground needs much improvement starting with sewer hookups. Ice machine needs to be repaired if the FamCamp is advertising free ice for campers. The air base is beautiful and the BX and commissary are outstanding. I have downloaded pictures for viewing if interested. The FamCamp management team could use more monetary support.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 2010
(Updated: March 20, 2011)
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Overall not bad, quiet and clean. Nice lobby, Good sized fenced dog park, very friendly people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Feb 2011
(Updated: February 19, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice campground. We stayed two nights. The only down-side is the black/gray water hook-up at the site. I think every post here has mentioned the PVC setup ...not ideal. Everything else was very nice and the people were very friendly. Weather was perfect ...both days in the 70s. The park was not even half-full, so very quiet and relaxing. We have two medium-sized dogs and there are walking trails and softball fields near by, so they were able to get plenty of exercise.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent 3 nights at Shaw FamCamp. The staff was helpful and friendly. There were only 6 other visitors so it was quiet. We were allowed to pick our site. The sewer hookups were unusual so to speak - long pvc pipes as mentioned in other reviews. The site where we ended up only had half of the sewer connection with no cap on it. Yuck. So, we "borrowed" pipe from an empty site to complete the configuration! Worked great once we did that. The restrooms and laundry could use some good cleaning. Toilets and showers were clean, but the floor and walls weren't. Looked as if they hadn't been wiped down in months. The laundry room is small (2 washers/dryers) but the price was right - 25 cents to wash and $1 to dry, but you get 80 minutes. Unheard of! Overall, it was OK.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 21 - 23 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is one of those places that is a best kept secret. While we were there, there were never more than 6 Occupied RV's on the grounds. There were two others whose owners never showed up during our stay. A word of Warning to those who are used to seeing the site numbers near the power pedestals. You need to adjust your thinking. The numbers near the pedestals at this location refer to the space between the number and the pedestal on the other side of the paved parking space. When we arrived we had been assigned space 5 but saw an RV parked in what we thought was space 5. We took another space as instructed for weekend arrivals. After setting up and taking our first walk we discovered the unique numbering system. When the manager came in on Monday we reported our mistake. We were allowed to stay in space 6 for another day. The sewer system leaves a lot to be desired. It would help control leaks if they would glue the pipes at the joints. They have 6 inch taps along the length of the the above ground system but you need a wide jaw (3 inch) pliers to get the covers loose. The water tap is at the front of the site while power is to the rear. Each site has its own covered trash can and there is a dumpster at the end of the row for large items. All in all this is a remarkably well maintained space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2010
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
The most positive thing is that there are great things to do in the area. We really enjoyed visiting some of the historical sites. Otherwise, we stayed at the campground 3 nights. While the campground seemed clean, they really needed to have someone improve the laundry room. The staff seemed pleasant, but not very friendly. They do have a great office building! We were surprised at the speed of driving (including the security police) around the campground. No way someone could have stopped if one of the small children ran out into the road.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 9, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A great stop-over camp. Wish it had been closer to the Interstate, we took a 30 mile or so jog off 95, but it was easy to locate. Park staff were not overly knowledgeable but nice. If you need ice be sure to get it at the store, the ice machine at the camp is for a specific use only and not for resale of ice - more of a storage unit. The facilities appear to be in the midst of repair or reconstruction - lots of PVC pipe all over the top of the ground. From other posts it appears to have been this way for a while. Overall value and experience was good. We think this could be a diamond in the rough. We were thankful it was there, we felt safe and secure as we rested for the remaining part of our journey.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 20 - 22, 2010
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We liked the area, enjoyed the base. The RV site was a bit small when trying to back a 5th wheel in. Ten feet wide is a bit smaller than most RV sites. The sewer hook up was the worst one we've ever encountered. We have traveled all over the USA and never ever seen one like it in any RV park military or civilian and I'd have to question if it was all within code specs. The PVC 6 inch pipe from the rear of the site leading to the actual sewer dump located at the front of the site, (PVC was about 20 feet long). The PVC pipe was constructed with two 10 foot 6 inch pipes connecting them with a T connector with 90 degree elbows on each end. None of the joints were glued and could be taken apart if needed. Needless to say, from a sanitary standpoint if you use the system there and the pipe came apart for whatever reason then you'd have one big mess to clean up and I'm sure the Famcamp and base would have to get involved. Suggestion...disconnect the pipe and set it aside then get the proper hoses and connectors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1 April to 9 April 2010
Overall rating
 
3.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
We had requested site 21 and we were disappointed. Electrical box was taped to a poll and the cover was on the ground. Site was so narrow that my awning touched my neighbors slideout. My campground grill was directly below my neighbors bedroom slideout so I could not use it. After arriving on Thursday we had to wait till Monday to have the grass cut and trimmed. It was also our unfortunate bad luck to have arrived at the time they were having the worst "pollen storm" from all of the pine trees. My only qualms about the staff is that they were (in my opinion) not putting enough pressure on maintenance to correct defects e.g. electrical, water outlets and sewage.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan. 29-31, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Looks like most if not all sites have long pvc pipes installed to better locate sewer hookup, only problem is they need a threaded fitting to properly hook up to, otherwise hose tries and succeeds to jump out of pipe. The park was attractive with level sites and staff was quite helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
23 NOV 09
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
W.B. left this review using the Directory software: We stayed off and on for two weeks over Thanksgiving 2009. Overall a great experience, great updated facilities. Easy in and out for big rigs, quite campground (except for occasional aircraft noise during the day). If the paid cleaning crew did better job cleaning the bath house we would probably given a perfect score.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Sept 15-19, 2009
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
1.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
"C" left this review using the Directory software: The sewer system is very inconvenient. Some sites have a long PVC pipe from the sewers to where the drain might be on most RVs, with no real way to connect it to the drainage hose. We have a macerator which we could not use at all so used the dump station as we departed. Some other sites have no PVC and the drain is too far away for large RVs to use, except with 2-3 sewer hoses hooked together. We found the campground poorly maintained and the electrical box at site #21 was tied to a post to keep it upright. The laundry is small with 2 washers and 2 dryers with no folding table and could have used some cleaning as well. The office, nor the main gate, had a base map to issue us and the office has no posted hours of operation. There is a critique sheet in the laundry room but I don't know why. The office staff seems to try their best but no one every apologized for the inconvenience we incurred having to move from site to site due to their poor reservation policy. We also feel that $20 a day was too expensive for the condition of the sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
21 JULY 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Best kept secret in South Carolina.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
27 May 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A small, but nice campground. The office staff was friendly and helpful. We were only there for one night and didn't really get to check out all of the facilities, but one of my main concerns was the sewer system which left much to be desired. Call for directions before going to the campground as those in the directory are very inadequate and leave you wondering if the campground is on or off base. Getting through the gate with a motorhome towing a car is very difficult with all of the obstacles encountered. I would not go there for only one night again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
29 Feb-2 Mar 09
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice clean CG. Although it says no reservation, we called in advance and made some. Stayed on site 18. Great wi-fi reception and satellite locked in immediately. Well maintained areas. Upon arrival the sounds of FREEDOM were flying overhead. Clean rest room and laundry. Paul was extremely helpful with things to see in the area. Although our stay was short (due to health issues) we would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9 - 21 Feb 09
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice small campground, that has WiFi now. The only knock on the campground, they need to clean the laundry room/bathroom. The staff is the great, they will do anything to make your stay better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16-19 MAY 2008
(Updated: August 12, 2008)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground and a VERY friendly and helpful RV office lady. Nice level sites. Two washers/two dryers in the laundry room (which is QUITE small) at $1 each. Computer connections available in the laundry room but I didn't use it as I have a Verizon air card. No cable here and only a few TV stations. Nice bx and commissary. The staff were quite friendly. The base has certainly seen better days. Alot of the housing was being demolished while we were here.



GREAT water pressure. It's nice to be able to take a full force shower. Garbage cans are at each site so no trips to the dumpster are necessary.



For those of you who like magazine/book/tape exchanges, make sure you check out the office AND the little TV room behind it - we got a lot of nice VCR tapes and dropped off some of ours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 6th and 7th, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice camp ground and could be rated a five all around if someone would take an interest in seeing that the bathrooms and laundry room is kept clean. We were there for two days and the baths nor laundry room had been cleaned while we were there and was not clean when we left. It looked as if the laundry room had never been cleaned. Signs are up stating to keep bath doors locked when not in use. But the doors will not close completely and no one has offered to correct that problem. The camp grounds could use some cleaning and mowing. This camp ground can not be that old. The office, baths and laundry building looks new. The sewer pipes were installed incorrectly and the holes do not have proper covers. So you need long sewer hose. Would love to go back later and see a great improvement. Jerry in the office is friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Mar 21 - Apr 4, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay there. Sites in 'back' row have more room for toad or tow vehicle parking. We ran into a bit of confusion with our site number which had been assigned when we made reservations. When we checked out the site, it was still occupied (it was well past check out time.) Their site assignment system is manual - we were then assigned another site, which was also assigned to someone coming in on another day, so they were re-assigned their site--the famcamp version of "Musical Chairs". We're not sure why they bother assigning site numbers at all - it didn't seem to make a difference. Entrance is through main gate - we had no problem with our 58' truck/RV combo despite the sign at the entrance. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 1-2, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Nice little CG but like all others have said, they need to re-run the sewer connections. I had site 21 which has 2 sewer pipes one forward and one aft. I would stay here again and to me it is fun looking at and hearing the F14/15's fly overhead.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
48 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3