Falcon's Nest FamCamp

 
3.7 (48)
70095 1 17 0 19

User reviews

22 reviews with 4 stars
48 reviews
 
19%
 
46%
 
25%
 
8%
 
2%
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
3.9(48)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.7(48)
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.4(48)
Value
 
3.7(48)
Overall Experience
 
3.6(48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
2018
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
2.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Being first time campers we were nervous about backing in, and honestly had no clue how to hook up and get started. Troun came out and helped with everything. Bless his heart he had phones ringing, other campers asking questions and customers waiting for rental equipment but he took a few minutes to talk us through it and give us a map of the base as well. We stayed here for a few months and no internet aside I had the best time. The community feeling here has been unmatched to this day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 2017
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
They are finally getting this famcamp straightened out. All the people that are currently there have to be gone by 1 May 2017. They are also adding 10 new sites which should open up sometime in June. They still have work to do on the bath house and wifi, but, at least they are making an effort. Some of the people have been their since 2013???
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
March 14-17, 2013
(Updated: May 02, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Best access to the famcamp is entering through the back/commercial gate. Coming from Sumter on Hwy 378, the back gate is the 1st gate on the right. You do not have to use the commercial side of the gate. Back gate closes at 10pm. After passing through the gate, take a left at the light. Follow road (Patrol/Perimeter Rd) around gate and tree line for approximately 1 mile. FamCamp will be on your right. We arrived after hours, but had reservations, knew our site number and got settled. There is a note on the door if you arrive after hours to pick any open site and see them in the morning. However, they take reservations and your site may be occupied when you arrive. FamCamp was full while we were there, make sure you make reservations. There are several active duty in the park. The sites are long and narrow. Make sure you have plenty of sewer hose, most are in the front of the site where electric and water are in the back. There are lots of trees, you may or may not get satelite. We have a portable satelite and were just fine. There is a fabulous 1.5 mile paved walking trail that goes around the ball fields and the famcamp! Nice commissary and PX. Did not use restrooms or showers. We were there in a 40' 5th wheel. We would definately stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
August 01, 2012
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
If you don't know Shaw AFB then the RV park is very had to find. No signs to the park and and no sign in front of the park. Also, the park is not known as Falcon Nest but FamCamp so the gate MP had to ask and then directed us to where he thought it was. After passing it once, we u-turned and then found it. The park is very clean but the sewer is at the front of the coach and power and water are where they should, aft. Don't know why just bring plenty of sewer hose. The park is a good distance from the BX/PX and Comm. but not a big deal and there are 2 fueling stations. WiFi works great and it is very pleasant. Try this one but make advance reservations because it is small. Semper Fi!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Feb 2011
(Updated: February 19, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very nice campground. We stayed two nights. The only down-side is the black/gray water hook-up at the site. I think every post here has mentioned the PVC setup ...not ideal. Everything else was very nice and the people were very friendly. Weather was perfect ...both days in the 70s. The park was not even half-full, so very quiet and relaxing. We have two medium-sized dogs and there are walking trails and softball fields near by, so they were able to get plenty of exercise.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 2010
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent 3 nights at Shaw FamCamp. The staff was helpful and friendly. There were only 6 other visitors so it was quiet. We were allowed to pick our site. The sewer hookups were unusual so to speak - long pvc pipes as mentioned in other reviews. The site where we ended up only had half of the sewer connection with no cap on it. Yuck. So, we "borrowed" pipe from an empty site to complete the configuration! Worked great once we did that. The restrooms and laundry could use some good cleaning. Toilets and showers were clean, but the floor and walls weren't. Looked as if they hadn't been wiped down in months. The laundry room is small (2 washers/dryers) but the price was right - 25 cents to wash and $1 to dry, but you get 80 minutes. Unheard of! Overall, it was OK.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 21 - 23 2010
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is one of those places that is a best kept secret. While we were there, there were never more than 6 Occupied RV's on the grounds. There were two others whose owners never showed up during our stay. A word of Warning to those who are used to seeing the site numbers near the power pedestals. You need to adjust your thinking. The numbers near the pedestals at this location refer to the space between the number and the pedestal on the other side of the paved parking space. When we arrived we had been assigned space 5 but saw an RV parked in what we thought was space 5. We took another space as instructed for weekend arrivals. After setting up and taking our first walk we discovered the unique numbering system. When the manager came in on Monday we reported our mistake. We were allowed to stay in space 6 for another day. The sewer system leaves a lot to be desired. It would help control leaks if they would glue the pipes at the joints. They have 6 inch taps along the length of the the above ground system but you need a wide jaw (3 inch) pliers to get the covers loose. The water tap is at the front of the site while power is to the rear. Each site has its own covered trash can and there is a dumpster at the end of the row for large items. All in all this is a remarkably well maintained space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 9, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A great stop-over camp. Wish it had been closer to the Interstate, we took a 30 mile or so jog off 95, but it was easy to locate. Park staff were not overly knowledgeable but nice. If you need ice be sure to get it at the store, the ice machine at the camp is for a specific use only and not for resale of ice - more of a storage unit. The facilities appear to be in the midst of repair or reconstruction - lots of PVC pipe all over the top of the ground. From other posts it appears to have been this way for a while. Overall value and experience was good. We think this could be a diamond in the rough. We were thankful it was there, we felt safe and secure as we rested for the remaining part of our journey.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan. 29-31, 2010
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Looks like most if not all sites have long pvc pipes installed to better locate sewer hookup, only problem is they need a threaded fitting to properly hook up to, otherwise hose tries and succeeds to jump out of pipe. The park was attractive with level sites and staff was quite helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
23 NOV 09
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
W.B. left this review using the Directory software: We stayed off and on for two weeks over Thanksgiving 2009. Overall a great experience, great updated facilities. Easy in and out for big rigs, quite campground (except for occasional aircraft noise during the day). If the paid cleaning crew did better job cleaning the bath house we would probably given a perfect score.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
21 JULY 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Best kept secret in South Carolina.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
27 May 2009
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A small, but nice campground. The office staff was friendly and helpful. We were only there for one night and didn't really get to check out all of the facilities, but one of my main concerns was the sewer system which left much to be desired. Call for directions before going to the campground as those in the directory are very inadequate and leave you wondering if the campground is on or off base. Getting through the gate with a motorhome towing a car is very difficult with all of the obstacles encountered. I would not go there for only one night again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
29 Feb-2 Mar 09
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice clean CG. Although it says no reservation, we called in advance and made some. Stayed on site 18. Great wi-fi reception and satellite locked in immediately. Well maintained areas. Upon arrival the sounds of FREEDOM were flying overhead. Clean rest room and laundry. Paul was extremely helpful with things to see in the area. Although our stay was short (due to health issues) we would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
9 - 21 Feb 09
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice small campground, that has WiFi now. The only knock on the campground, they need to clean the laundry room/bathroom. The staff is the great, they will do anything to make your stay better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16-19 MAY 2008
(Updated: August 12, 2008)
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Nice campground and a VERY friendly and helpful RV office lady. Nice level sites. Two washers/two dryers in the laundry room (which is QUITE small) at $1 each. Computer connections available in the laundry room but I didn't use it as I have a Verizon air card. No cable here and only a few TV stations. Nice bx and commissary. The staff were quite friendly. The base has certainly seen better days. Alot of the housing was being demolished while we were here.



GREAT water pressure. It's nice to be able to take a full force shower. Garbage cans are at each site so no trips to the dumpster are necessary.



For those of you who like magazine/book/tape exchanges, make sure you check out the office AND the little TV room behind it - we got a lot of nice VCR tapes and dropped off some of ours.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 6th and 7th, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a very nice camp ground and could be rated a five all around if someone would take an interest in seeing that the bathrooms and laundry room is kept clean. We were there for two days and the baths nor laundry room had been cleaned while we were there and was not clean when we left. It looked as if the laundry room had never been cleaned. Signs are up stating to keep bath doors locked when not in use. But the doors will not close completely and no one has offered to correct that problem. The camp grounds could use some cleaning and mowing. This camp ground can not be that old. The office, baths and laundry building looks new. The sewer pipes were installed incorrectly and the holes do not have proper covers. So you need long sewer hose. Would love to go back later and see a great improvement. Jerry in the office is friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2007
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The only complaint is the sewer placement. The staff is the best--we were looking for mail and by the time I got out of my RV staff was walking it over to us. Good walking trail. New library, and a good selection of music tapes. The new coffee shop in the library is great and the prices are right. We were very happy there and will go back--have suggested it to several people we met in other FAMCAMPs. Keep up the good work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 7 - 16, 2007
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
A clean, well kept campground. Convenient to see the sights in and around Sumpter, and Columbia is a short distance away. The new base library has a coffee shop with wifi. Ditto on the odd sewer drains, although I was in site 20 and connected to a drain in the normal place. Others, tho, need two sections of hose to reach their drain up by the front of their unit. Dumb. An example of what can happen when someone plans an RV park layout who has never had an RV. I would stay again, tho.
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Mar 13 - 16, 2007
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Besides being RIGHT next to the flight line (aircraft breaking the sound barrier), our stay was wonderful. This very tidy and well run famcamp was a wonderful stop, even with kids. The "back" row is near enough to the two playgrounds/ballfields to see children playing, and the woods are as much fun! My three never got tired of playing outside. The showers are new and roomy, and the laundry is just ok; pricey, and not an adequate folding table. The sewer drains are odd; you will need extra long hoses (the camp has a few extra but be prepared) since the drains are at the front of the sites. Didn't see any recycling at the camp, but the base's recycling center is 1/4 mile down the road and takes EVERYTHING. The Commissary has an ok selection of organic; about what most carry these days, but not as much as those "granola" states stock like at McChord AFB, Washington. The base is easy to maneuver. We would definitely stay again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 27, 2006
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Very neat campground. Nice landscaping. Paved roads and sites with concrete patio. All sites level and angled for easy back-in. Sewer a little awkward - placed far forward on the site, requiring long section of sewer hose. Bathhouse very clean and modern. Two washers and two dryers. All housed in a very nice building which is shared by the FamCamp office and Outdoor Recreation equipment issue. Staff made us feel welcome and was very helpful even though we arrived right at closing time. Five bar free Wi-Fi signal.
DS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2