Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (142)
129492 0 19 3 75

User reviews

142 reviews
 
65%
 
26%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(142)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(142)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(142)
Value
 
4.4(142)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(142)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
142 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
Late Aug - early Sept 15
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location for exploring the area from Devil's Tower to The Badlands/Wall Drug and everywhere in between. Debated staying here or at a Passport America park in the area for about the same price. Coach rear tires were at the very rear of the concrete slab to fit my truck in front. I noticed some other back-in sites that were longer. I could have moved to a pull thru after a few days, but opted to stay put. Moving just to have a pull thru is too much of a hassle to me. Not really impressed with the layout of the loop I was on (closest to the office). Not a whole lot of shade even with tall trees. It was just plain hot during our stay. Good water pressure and wi-fi. Looks like more pull thrus are being added, or they were just being reserved and never used during our stay. The sidewalk from the pull thru sites to the office is being built, but no work happened while I was there. No fenced dog run. Decent auto hobby shop on base. Base theater has movies Fri and Sat. There is a drive-in theater in Hermosa, about 30 min south. Little "sound of freedom" from B-1s. Patriot Gate (closed wknds) is closest to the Fam Camp and easy to navigate even with a big rig. There was some trash along the fenceline that never got picked up. I picked up some paper while walking my dogs. Office workers were not overly friendly, more matter-of fact. Not good or bad, just the way they were to me. Yes, I would stay here again if in the area, but would call far in advance and ask for a specific site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6 Aug - 9 Aug 2015
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great FAMCAMP & staff. We had to change our reservations two days before arriving & the Staff couldn't have been more accommodating. The Facilities were within easy walking distance. We were there during 'Sturgis' week so there lots of MC's around. We stayed in a class 'A' motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 2015
Overall rating
 
3.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
During our 4 day stay, we were given 2 different sites. This seems to be standard procedure when making reservations in order for them to keep all spaces in use. We spoke to a number of other rv'ers w/o had to move sites in the middle of their stay. This musical chairs with sites was annoying. Some residents (not active duty) appear to be homesteading. Wifi was free but mostly non-existent. There's no off leash dog park. Grass had been recently cut but there's several large mounds of dirt from construction near the walkways and in the new area that had been there so long, weeds were growing out of them. There were 2 washers and 2 dryers in the laundry room so it was in constant use. There's no convenient parking area near the laundry room if you're coming from the new pull-thru section. All sites are paved with permanent picnic tables. Nice park with obvious signs of future expansion and improvement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
10-15 Jul 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location to see the sights such as Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park, Badlands, etc. Park had nice paved sites--some appeared occupied by permanent party. Had 2 washers and 2 dryers (75 cents each). For the number of people staying there, I believe they could use more washers/dryers. Grass at the sites was kind of long (above ankles) resulting in more mosquitoes. New pull-thru sites appear close to being opened. Wifi was weak to non-existent. Went to the library to access wifi. Library, BX and commissary all located right next to each other. BX and commissary fairly small. Shoppette/gas station right across the steet from famcamp. Able to get diesel for the Class A without any problem. Air Museum right outside the main gate is worth taking a look at--museum also offered a base tour that took you down a trainer missile silo. If in the area again, would stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 13-20, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great place to stay. All sites that I have seen are paved with great access. About 10 miles from Rapid City so you will need a vehicle. Great surrounding area. Park is clean. I would advise staying here and will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
28 May - 11 June, 2015
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Great location for seeing the sights both east and west. Shower facilities are clean. They are in the process of upgrading the washers/dryers and now costs $1.00 to wash and .75 to dry. There is wifi but it is impossible to get on line - apparently some folks insist on downloading netflix. Shopette is convenient, has diesel fuel and is with walking distance. I would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 2015
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Convenient to the Black Hills and easy to access, the base is a reasonably priced alternative to others in the area. Nice that you can enter through any gate, and during our stay we were impressed by the courtesy and friendliness of the entry guards. Very nice commissary just down from the Famcamp, sad, little used BX. The older portion of the park is all back-in, the newer 16 sites are concrete pull-thrus with 8 more nearly completed. The host went out of her way to help, and returned $1 of our $21/day fee since the free washers and dryers were not yet installed. The new area is a bit shabby and without trees, but the sites are large. Overall a great stay; we'll be back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
26 June-9July 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Very nice Famcamp staff was very helpful and friendly. Good location to go out and enjoy all the outdoor events that are available in the area. Base had everything you need to keep you going, would go back again with no problems at all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
September 7, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Stayed here 1 night, traveling with 2 other rigs. Back-in I used was spacious. Other rigs used the pull throughs which were gravel. New pull throughs were not yet complete. Looked like concrete work was the only phase left. Close to Mt. Rushmore. Attended an evening presentation there which honors veterans. All are invited on stage to participate in colors. Very moving.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Sept 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the nicer FAMCAMPs we've stayed at. Well kept up (to include lawn mowing while we were there) and base facilities couldn't be more convenient - like most anymore not a lot of dining options tho. Agree the back-ins are better with more space, better wifi signal, access to laundry etc. Can't speak on staff as we arrived the day after the office closed for the season. They gave us a reservation a couple of weeks prior and that was posted but alongside conflicting guidance indicating a first come first served policy after office closure (its the military right?). Someone in the site we had been assigned but, no problem, another one that was acceptable was open. Don't quite know what happened - maybe thats why they ran my card for the reservation instead of using it as a hold (whats with this a week rate is 7xdaily?) Anyway, that and wifi that would randomly cut out despite being close to the office are the only down checks I can think of.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
4-7 August 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
L.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Really need to enter through Main Gate. The RV Gate closes at 1800 and is not open weekends. Very nice and Camp Host was very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
26 - 28 Jul 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
V.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Excellent park. Slots are tight and fairly close to each other. Pads were gravel with a concrete sidewalk, picnic table and a brand new cast iron bar-b-que grill, set in concrete, were right next to the pad. The place was packed. According to the host, we got the last site. Every site we saw was full hook-up...50 amp, water and sewer. About 15 new sites were under construction. Camp manager was awesome. He met us right at the entrance. The FamCamp director was also there taking reservations and processing paperwork. It was quite busy. Restrooms were nice and clean, grass within the park, where it existed, was mowed, and trash bins were nearby. Commissary and BX were about five blocks away. Yes, as one person noted, some grass on Base is no longer mowed because of budget cutbacks, but that was only in limited areas away from the main thoroughfare. The National Motorcycle Rally was that week at Surgis about 30 miles away with an estimated 450,000 motorcycles, so there were quite a few bikers in the camp, but they were the older set. Despite this, the manger told us the place is full almost all summer long. So, get reservations as early as you can. Thankfully, we got ours the same day, but only because of a cancellation. Overall this is a great place to stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 2-9, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Stayed for the Sturgis bike rally. The site was in the new pull thru's, plenty of space. Had all the hook ups, even had 2 sewer hook ups to accommodate any size RV. There was also Wifi, wasn't reliable at my site but I guess the closer to the office the better. They were in the process of putting in 7 more pull thru's. This is a nice little gem for the black hills and all its attractions. Even got a space next to mine for my parents, just had to get them a pass at the main gate. BX and commissary not to far, shoppette is on the corner walking distance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 19-24, 2014
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We spent our time in this area visiting all the sites around the area. The manager and host were extremely friendly and helpful. The base had easy access to the camp site. They are adding additional pull thru spaces. The base exchange and commissary are very close. We will return to this location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 15-21, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Greeted by a wonderful host and his wife. Very nice campground with perfect location to explore the area. Totally enjoyed the morning "wake-up", afternoon Flag retrieval, and the night Taps. Felt safe and secure leaving our Motorhome here to go see the sights offered by South Dakota. Only concern was the poor WiFi service as it was hit and miss even when it stated excellent signal. Would definitely return. Mike & Chris, Auburn, WA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 17-30, 2014
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We really enjoyed this FamCamp. It is less than an hour from Mount Rushmore and Badlands National Park and about two hours from Devils Tower National Monument. All of the RV sites are concrete and level. The back-in sites are actually better than the pull-thru sites because they allow you more space between you and your neighbor and because the access roads to these sites are paved. The access roads to the pull-thru sites are gravel. Hookups were excellent, our back-in site was satellite-friendly (clear southern exposure), diesel fuel was available at the Express station directly across the street from the FamCamp, there is a nice outdoor pool ($5 for adults and $3 for children) and indoor fitness facility, and Amy (FamCamp manager) was very helpful and friendly. There is a recycling center on base (on Centennial Drive), but it was only open on Thursdays and Fridays. The camp host was very friendly but not very knowledgable. If you wanted an answer to most things associated with the FamCamp, you needed to speak with Amy. The only significant negative about the FamCamp was that the WiFi did not work for Apple devices. The WiFi signal was very strong, but only people with Windows-based devices seemed to have any luck using the passcode to gain access to the FamCamp WiFi.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 16, 2014 to July 24,2014
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This is a great campground for visiting all the tourist attractions near Rapid City, Rushmore and Custer State Park. A word of warning - be sure to make your reservations in advance. It is very popular. The camp host was right on top of things and the manager could not have been better. Each offered advice on things to do in the area. We camped in a 35' motorhome and did not have to use the commercial gate. The main gate provided easy access and the Patriot gate was great when we used our towed car only. We had to leave two days early due to a family emergency and everyone showed great compassion. We will definitely visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 3-8 20114
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Loved this FamCamp. Great BASE facilities. Enjoyed the Dining Facility. Walking and Bike Riding with/without Dog was great. Yes, the bathhouse and laundry are not the most convenient; however, with FHU we were comfortable using our MH facilities. Stayed in the new PT section (Site 35). Staff were outstanding and very informative. The base MWR/Contracting folks need some leadership in that the lawn maintenance contract had no provision for "wet/heavy rain spring/summer" grass cutting. Thus, the grass was over 10" high on all our sites and the contractor had used all prearranged mowing services. Shame. Really couldn't use our patio/site area due to high grass. Will definitely return. Construction moving rapidly on another seven or so FHU sites. Great FAMCAMP.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 19, 2014 - June 25, 2014
Overall rating
 
3.6
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Our visit to Ellsworth AFB has mixed emotions. The new section was almost finished and we were allowed access even with the backhoe and other equipment sitting next to our site. The biggest problem was NO access to the bath house/laundry area without driving from one section to the next and then having to walk quite a way with your laundry basket to get to the building. The bath house is outdated but was kept clean, the washers and dryers were expensive, outdated and small. The location for sightseeing the Black Hills was fantastic, amenities at the base was adequate for our needs so overall, it is a great FamCamp with the exception of the bath house & laundry facilities. Amy was extremely helpful and quite an asset to the facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
23-30 June 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Grass was tall as last reviewer said, but during our stay, they did cut it. I think it just grows so fast this time of year they can't keep up. They currently have 40 spaces and are building 7 additional which will be ready by 2015. Strongly advise making reservations as park was full during our entire stay. Also, with reservations you get your site assignment in advance and can simply pull into your site and then register. There is diesel at the gas station and it is possible for a big rig to fill up there. BX and Commissary are smaller than we expected, but adequate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
142 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8