Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (142)
129492 0 19 3 75

User reviews

142 reviews
 
65%
 
26%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(142)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(142)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(142)
Value
 
4.4(142)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(142)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
142 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
June 28-July6 2014
Overall rating
 
3.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Amy was great getting me in last minute for the 4th of July holiday week. But did have to move a few times due to spots having reservations. Their paper system of reservations seems out of date and probably would be more organized if they didn't give people their space number before they got here. They have a big board that if you check in after hours, you know what space you would go to. Bob and Casey the camp hosts that were on duty when I arrived were great!! Bob was able to save me one move and I was able to stay in the main campground and not go to overflow. (Elec only) The other camp hosts that took over later were rude and evidently drunk all the time. Bottles were visible under their rig. The man also showed up one night in his pj's and very drunk. There were other complaints about them, and they were working on getting rid of them. The hookups and showers and laundry were fine. No cable which surprised me considering it was more than I had paid at other military campgrounds that had everything. WiFi is spotty at best. Overall, I enjoyed staying here, appreciated Bob and his wife inviting me to dinner and being exceptional camp hosts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
4-8 June 2014
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Entered in through Patriot gate. What a shock for a Military installation grass is about two foot high and higher. Arrived at FamCamp they had someone cutting their grass but blowing it everywhere. Carol (camp host) met us at the office and gave us a complete packet of information about the base and area. A quick drive to the BX and Commissary it looked as if we were on an inactive installation. I've never seen an ACTIVE DUTY installation that did not maintain the landscape of the base, what an embarrassment to the Air Force!! The “sequester” has been over since last year!! The FamCamp under Amy is run as a professional well-oiled machine. She works hard to make your visit as comfortable as it could be. A well-stocked office with information about the surrounding area. The laundry has washers and dryers but a bit costly compared to other FamCamps. The restrooms are clean but I think if they took a pressure washer to the showers it may take care of the lime build-up, otherwise they are cleaned daily. The handicap bathroom is anything but accessible. There is about a two inch step-up that it makes it virtually impossible to get a mobility scooter into. The base plumbers were there repairing pipe damage to the Handicap bath and it needs sheetrock work to be completed. There is no designated handicap site with a walkway directly from the site to the restrooms. There is only one bathhouse for the entire FamCamp, the other bathhouse is being used as the office (the guests do not have access to it). The pulls through sites are far away from the bath house, also there is no walkway directly to them, so you will have to drive or walk through the grass and other campers sites. Half of the pull-through sites were down because a contractor had cut the electric line over a week ago and they are still waiting for it to be fixed. They do have it surveyed for another batch of pull through sites to be put in sometime soon. For how much this FamCamp produces for the MWR, I would think they could at least give back the one bathhouse to the guests and build another one for the pull through area. Amy does a remarkable job and is continuing to make this a pleasurable experience for all that come through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
May 22, 2014
Overall rating
 
2.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
2.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
M.S. left this review using the Directory software: - This is a beautiful state with lots of grass and beautiful scenery. Many different things to see in the area and easy access into and out of the base. Would definitely recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 11-15, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Arrived on Sunday, used commercial gate after quick call to Security police to open the gate. Camp host was waiting for us as we pulled in with directions and info packet. Everything neat and clean. Seven new pull-thrus to open soon. I go out of my way to stop here. 20th visit to Mt. Rushmore this trip. Will be back RCA.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 23 through July 20, 2013
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The day after we arrived the Camp Hosts packed up and quit. Amy, the temporary manager, took charge, cleaned up the office and straightened out the reservation system. Amy was able to get the "well grown" grass mowed throughout the FamCamp AND get the WIFI fixed. The laundry room was good - $1.25 wash / $1.50 dry; some dryers heated hotter than others; a machine or 2 were awaiting repair. Upon arrival you receive a color brochure of the base and information on the facilities and there is a rack with area brochures in the office. If there is no room for you in camp, you are directed to overflow a few miles away. I heard Amy even offer to lead someone there. Customer service is excellent and very friendly. Would we stay again? Absolutely!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 31 - August 5, 2013
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
The campground has a new manager named Amy who is doing an amazing job. They are again taking reservations and everything seems to be running smoothly. Amy has been able to get the grass mowed fairly frequently in spite of the sequester budget limitations. The restrooms are spotless; one of the four washers is awaiting repair but all six dryers are working well. The campground was full due to the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally but there was always room in the overflow lot with 30 amp power. We don't mind the overflow lot as we enjoy watching the B-1's taking off and landing. Great campground, convenient to all the Rapid City attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
5 July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A great place to stay, especially if you can't get into a state park. The shopette is within walking distance. I had a reservation, but upon arrival, our designated spot was occupied, but the host had another spot available. The laundry room coin changer was inoperative and we had to go to the shoppette for change and they didn't have much to spare. Although we went to the Commercial Gate, we were told we could still use the Main Gate for entry/departure. The host said this was the first year for reservations, but they may not continue next year, they weren't sure yet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
6 July 2013
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
We called for two days but were unable to speak with anyone. Considering it was a holiday weekend, that didn't seem unusual. There was a phone message indicating that they were no longer accepting reservations but would honor all existing reservations. The FamCamp was full on our arrival but we knew there were 12 overflow sites with electric only. There was a map on the FamCamp office door with a black marker line to the Over Flow area. The problem was that the street names were covered by the Black Line. We eventually found the Overflow area with the help of two Security Policemen. It would have been nice to have written directions to the overflow area available. From the Famcamp: Exit left on Lincoln. Right on LeMay. Veer Right on Scott. Left on Menoher Drive. Left on Dyess St. - Overflow area is straight ahead on right hand side after the road curves to the left.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
17-20 June 2013
(Updated: June 21, 2013)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This campground is very well ran and maintained, the location on base is very nice near the shoppette and the gates. Campground is about 45 minutes from Mount Rushmore and and hour and a half from Wind Cave National Park. There is a TON of things to do in the area and we will certainly be back. Our only complaint is that the shower house is locked at least at night, there was a severe thunderstorm warning one of our nights which turned out to not be that bad but if it were there was no shelter to go to. Hopefully if the sirens did go off the host would unlock them but I would hate to be waiting there for someone to unlock a door. Other than that, great campground and would recommend it to anyone that wants to explore the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 26 - Jun 1, 2013
(Updated: June 01, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I agree with everything that in previous post by Sherry. But wanted to add info about the new sites. There are 7 new pull throughs and they are still adding more.
We used this famcamp as our base to explore the area. Here you are within an hour of many many of the areas attractions. We had lunch at Colonial House in Rapid City today and it was great! We will definitely be back. Tammy
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
25 May 2013
(Updated: May 26, 2013)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Just checked into the FamCamp at Ellsworth AFB and there are some changes this season: 1. Reservations are now being accepted. There are only 5 rigs here but there was only four free spots, everything else has been reserved. 2. Stays are now limited to 30 days, up from two weeks last season. We'll be here until Friday, 31 May. Really like this year's camp host Hector. He is conscientious about his job and keeps the campground very clean! Cheers, Sherry
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
27 Sep 2012
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
F.D. left this review using the Directory software: - Concur with all previous comments. Excellent FamCamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug 14-19 2012
(Updated: August 20, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Hosts John and Gene were great, very helpful. Very clean, arrived on a very windy day, trash blown up to the fences, cleaned-up next day. So much to see in surrounding area, great base camp. WiFi a little weak. Always loved RCA, will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
7 - 21 July and 29 Jul to 13 Aug 2012
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - I had no problem getting in here twice. We are on an extended stay, and been with Sturgis Rally there were still spaces. The camp host and staff at outdoor rec are very eager to assist. I would highly recommend this FAMCAMP as a must stay if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
29-30 July 2012
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
G.C. left this review using the Directory software: - The camp host is very good. Moves you from dry camp to full hookups as soon as possible, dry camp was pretty good with 30 amp electric.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 2 2012
(Updated: August 02, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.6
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This place was awesome, everyone we met here from the hosts to the other park visitors were very friendly and helpful, Will definitely stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 6 to July 27 2012
(Updated: July 31, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This FAMCAMP is well managed. The restrooms/showers are very clean. The camp host and staff at outdoor rec are very friendly and helpful. If they can not find a site for you when you arrive, they have 20 or so overflow sites with electric. They will place you on a list and move you up as sites become available. The week of Sturgis is very busy. The security police told me when I arrived that they changed the policy and RVs are permitted to use the main gates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 22 to August 1, 2012
(Updated: July 29, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great place to stay while seeing the sights in the Black Hills, the Badlands, and Rapid City. Camp Host, John, and his lovely wife, Maria, were the best. This is a very busy place in the summer and being a "1st come, 1st served" no reservations campground, you'd better plan to arrive early, like between 10am and 12 Noon cause they fill up fast. (recommend calling about 5 - 10 miles out to check availability.) Great commissary and PX/BX with a nicely stocked Shopette/gas station. The shopette is within walking distance. Clean bathhouse and laundry. $1.50 wash/$1.00 dry....We used Main Gate for entry with no issues and will use the Main Gate to exit the base...A recommendation for lunch if you get to Lead, SD is Lewie's Saloon & Grill...great burgers and Reubens...lol We plan to return again in the future. All 5 stars well deserved....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
16 - 19 July 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Spent four days during the hot spell. Had no power problems. Sites were reasonably separated. We were in the pull-thru expansion area. Host and assistant were very helpful and fun to chat with. We took several day trips into the Black Hills. Received 2 phone calls from the host regarding severe weather. Luckily, severe weather happened at 2300 instead of at 1500 as predicted. Laundry was spotless and reasonably priced. We used the Commercial Gate for entrance and the Patriot Gate for exit. Gate personnel were friendly as were the BX folks we talked with.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
15 - 18 July 2012
(Updated: July 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our very first stay at a military Famcamp. We had no problem following the directions listed here. Came in on the weekend so we had to call to have the commercial gate opened. Only waited about 10 minutes. However, the civilian guard who let us in said we could use the main gate. We mentioned this to the host and he was upset. Evidently the Base Commander doesn't like the main gate to be used. In short, use the commercial gate. The base is located in an area that allows easy access to some great areas. The amenities are very clean but are a pretty good walk from the pull through area. Can't say enough about the hosts. While out and about in Deadwood, I received a message on my cell phone warning about an impending thunderstorm and possible hail. Then received another call making sure we got the first message. The base gas station is about a block away and they have diesel. Overall, we had a very good experience here and look forward to returning in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
142 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8