Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (142)
129492 0 19 3 75

User reviews

142 reviews
 
65%
 
26%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(142)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(142)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(142)
Value
 
4.4(142)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(142)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
142 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
June 16-28, 2012
(Updated: July 09, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was the first time for my wife and I at this FAMCAMP. Camp hosts John/Jean couldn't have been nicer. Attempted to make every experience the best. Riding motorcycle on post was a challenge. You had to suit up in 100 degree weather for your protection. Oh well, out the Patriot Gate and bagged the Long sleeves. Base and surrounding area is beautiful. People are super. Rapid City is a great little western town, DO NOT miss the Firehouse downtown. As always, know where to be at what time of day or night. In the extreme heat, power drain kicks the breakers, be mindful for your pets sake. Will love coming back in a couple years, weeks before Sturgis (25mi). The B1's rock. Can't say enough good about this Base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 25, 2012
(Updated: June 28, 2012)
Overall rating
 
4.3
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
The last time I stayed here was a decade ago. It was nice then and still is. The trees have grown to provide some shade for sitting around the campsite. They do not interfere with satellite signal reception. All pads are concrete and level. Utilities work well although the voltage dipped occasionally. Perhaps due to the campground being full and abnormally hot weather for this part of the country. The bath house was clean. Verizon cell coverage, to include 3G, was good. There are two things to look out for. The turn-in to the campground has a dip that needs to be navigated carefully. Despite the Directions information listed above, you CANNOT use the commercial entrance to the base. There is a posted sign that states it is closed to all POV traffic and it is completely closed on the week-ends. Enter through the main gate and ask for a base map. It will accommodate all size rigs.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
May 15th, 2012
(Updated: May 19, 2012)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
For our first time in a FAMCAMP, we loved it, the camp host was very nice and helpful. The camp is clean and well taken care of. We will stop again when in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Aug 23 - 30, 2011
(Updated: November 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We wanted to see Mount Rushmore before heading to the west coast so we stayed here. I would highly recommend this FamCamp for anybody wanting to see the local attractions. This base is small but well laid out. This is the first base I have seen that has the Exchange, Commissary, Credit Union, Burger King, Library and theater all in the same area. The theater surprised us with 99 cent movies. You don't mind the regular concession prices when the movie is that reasonable. The class 6 store & gas pumps are just kitty corner from the campground, very convenient. The only markdown was for the way the hosts acted. That comes down to people and their actions. I will stop here again when in the area because the hosts rotate through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2011
(Updated: August 30, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.1
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Excellent location and value! Both camp host couples were friendly. The reason the overall experience was so low was because the camp hosts were not interested in getting problems fixed in the sites. I had a problem with the 50 amp circuit breaker tripping at my site and was concerned it would trip while I was away. Temperatures were in the nineties during the day and I have two indoor cats. After I had to reset it four times over the course of two days, I insisted that I be moved to another site, which was done reluctantly. Instead of getting the circuit breaker replaced, the camp host just told me I was wrong and it wasn't tripping. Oh well, the camp hosts were nice, just dumb and lazy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
August 16-16, 2011
(Updated: August 27, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
One of the better Famcamps - long cement sites, good hookups, and some shaded sites, with friendly and helpful camp hosts. It's no longer necessary to use the Commercial Gate, the main gate has been rebuilt and there are no barriers or low clearances. Disregard the sign "RVs must turn around", it's for the museum, not the gate. Great location near Rapid City and Black Hills, and the Famcamp is convenient to base facilities. The base service station on the corner has diesel and is easy to access and egress, the price was $.22 cents/gal less than the Flying J down the road. At $120 a week, you can't beat the price or value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
August 14-17, 2011
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Really like this place. Just on the outskirts of Rapid City. In a good location to visit Crazy Horse, Mount Rushmore and close to Devils Tower. Full hookups on cement pads with WiFi. Quiet part of the base and within walking distance of the BX, Shopette, and Commissary. They do not accept the National Parks Access Pass for discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Jul 24 - Aug 8, 2011
(Updated: August 09, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Our first stay here and in the area. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hosts are all wonderful and very helpful. There is so much to see and do in this area - this is a great place to consider home base while you tour the area. Only downside, and it's very minor, is that we can't have any packages shipped to us here if not going by USPS. As far as regular mail, the post office is just outside of the Patriot & Main Gates and very convenient and has the friendliest folks working there we've ever seen in a post office. We arrived on a Sunday and it was a breeze getting thru the Commercial Gate, thanks to calling the number listed above in advance. The Patriot Gate is alongside the famcamp and is open Mon-Fri 6-6, very convenient coming and going. RVs can enter there during duty hours - plenty of room.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June, 2011
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We planned to stay here, but arrived after the closing of the Commercial Gate. We did check out the FamCamp later. The spaces are paved, with grassy areas in between. Everything was clean and well-maintained. The FamCamp is located near the Patriot Gate, which the camp host recommends that RV's use (it's manned 24/7 and is very close to the FamCamp.) The base has a nice museum and offers base tours that includes a missile silo.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 2011
(Updated: July 31, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Both camp host couples were super-Bob & Snookie and Gary & Shari. Very informative and helpful. If you don't know area you better pay attention when they tell you the about "bad weather directions" from the command-cuz hailstorms can happen quick! So many attractions accessible from base (or using outdoor rec tours). New pull-thrus being built but not as spacious as 'original' campground! Dining hall available to retirees. Wi-fi isn't that great but verizon works very well. Gate by famcamp is closed on weekends but you can use main gate- ignore sign at front gate that tells RV's to turn around. Thx-would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 25 - 29, 2011
(Updated: July 05, 2011)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Campground clean and well maintained. Spaces was very big and pads level. Commissary and exchange close by. All attractions in area are within short driving distance. Hosts very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 1, 2011
(Updated: June 01, 2011)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We just arrived and plan to stay for a week to explore the area: so many things to see! Got a warm welcome from the camp host and all the people at Outdoor Rec, so we already feel at home. The camp is clean and quiet, yet convenient to anything you might need. Everyone is very helpful and willing to share information on sightseeing and amenities. Just GREAT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
28 Sept-5 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 04, 2010)
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were greeted by Ann one of the hosts who was very friendly and helpful. She gave us some very good advice on touring the area. Her husband and the other hosts were very nice as well. The sites are spacious and roomy with the convenience of a good laundry, dog walk and easy access to base shopping, post office and touring areas. This was our first visit and will definitely return. John and Amy Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
August 20 - 24, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We found the Famcamp stay a very enjoyable experience. The sites are very spacious and clean. All the hosts were very friendly and helpful. We appreciate the use of the Ellsworth AFB facilities and enjoyed the church services very much. Our only desire is to be able to make reservations one day in advance, so we would know that we have a place to stay after traveling several hundred miles. Thanks again Gary, Sheri,Fred and Shirley.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
21 Aug 2010
Overall rating
 
3.0
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
3.0
Unfortunately, I did not have a pleasant experience at Ellsworth AFB. When we arrived, a tense camp host delivered a 10-minute briefing that hammered the Base Commander's stance on safety and security ("watch out for the SPs, watch out for fires, watch out for hail, watch out for tornadoes" – and so forth). The entire briefing was verbal, and the host reacted belligerently when I suggested that written information would be helpful to refer to later. After 21 successful years of military service and having survived 50 birthdays, I had to wonder who this man thought was in the room with him? He needs to relax and be more respectful of others. Anyway, I agreed to use the Overflow area that night on the chance a regular site would open up the next day. In contrast to the briefing’s focus on security and safety, the Overflow area backs directly up to a very unsafe environment: an open field with 3-4 foot tall dry grass, which is a fire waiting to happen in that hot, prairie-wind environment. It was like being parked on the edge of Hades... in a motor home with a 60 gallon fuel tank. To be honest, we were relieved when the host called to say a regular site would not open up that day. Instead, we found a nice spot in south Rapid City at a friendly campground that was very well located to area attractions – for only $2 more a day than Ellsworth. We stayed there for a week and had a great time! As an Air Force retiree I will continue to use and enjoy military campgrounds, but I won't come back to Ellsworth AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 1
Attempted 22 Aug 10
Overall rating
 
1.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
1.0
I attempted to stay here 22 Aug 10, but they were full. Had a question in regard to overflow camping sites. Host ran out and using his strong retired military manner said to stop and that he wanted to talk to me. He then insisted that I continue to backup and pull over as I was in the way of traffic (there wasn't any coming and I just had a one second question for him) and, of course, he was of no assistance and I wasn't going to chance hitting the trees on my right. Maybe it being close to the end of the season he was ready to move on (needs to in my opinion). He was totally out of line. If there had been a place and my dog peed on a blade of his grass he probably would have demanded a G.I. party. Hey, I went to Pilot and got a free place and respect.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 3
3rd week of July 2010
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I can't remember what day we stayed, but it was during the 3rd week in July, and we had called to make sure there was something available, and the host was very accommodating, and was willing to meet up with us late if we got there as late as I had anticipated. I had to call and let him know we would be a day later, and he did not get the message, but he was cheery about it when we did get there the next day. Both gentlemen were very helpful, and the camp site is a real deal, at $8 a night. We only stayed one night, but I would love to go again. We loved that it was close to the Bad Lands and other nice things to do. The base had adequate facilities and the facilities on the camp ground were very clean and we will go back as soon as we can.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 22, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We were tent camping .....$8.00 a night was Quoted but they must of had a special because we got a week for $40.00 The campsite was Clean ( bathrooms/ laundry ). We got to eat at the chow hall good food reasonable prices . The campground host we very pleasant and helpful. The wind was very strong one day (blew the tent ) we didn't get the tent blown down tho . I will stay there again next time I am around Rapid City.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 21 - Aug 1, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
What a great campground to tour Mount Rushmore and the Black Hills. One thing that made our visit even better was the campground hosts. There are two couples that share the duties. They start early and finish late. Last night a motorhome arrived and after registering his rig would not start. A number of folks tried to help him but Gary, the host, took him to WalMart at 2300 to get new starting batteries. Gary was working with this military retiree until after midnight when he was finally parked in a spot. Gary and his bride Sherry and Fred and his spouse make the campground special. Thank you Gary and Sherry for all your help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 2 - July 6, 2010
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at this FAMCAMP, though we stayed only four nights and all of them were at the overflow area. We found the overflow to have plenty of 30 amp power. Better than that, we had terrific views of the many Rapid City fireworks shows on this Fourth of July. We liked the overflow area as it is next to but not too close to the flight line, watching the B-1's take off is a thrill. With our 5th Wheel backed up to the big meadow we were constantly entertained by the meadow larks, eastern king birds, rabbits, deer and a fox! So if the FAMCAMP is full don't despair, fill up with water, empty your waste tanks and enjoy natures show and the occasional aircraft takeoff. The overflow is 2.7 miles away from the FAMCAMP and not too hard to find.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
142 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8