Ellsworth AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (142)
129492 0 19 3 75

User reviews

142 reviews
 
65%
 
26%
 
8%
 
1%
1 star
 
0%
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.7(142)
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.6(142)
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.3(142)
Value
 
4.4(142)
Overall Experience
 
4.5(142)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
142 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
May 26-28, 2010
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was a great spot to camp, especially if you want to visit all of the historic sites around Rapid City. The RV sites were very spacious, easy to get into and level. The staff was very friendly, helpful and provided us with several good sites we had to see while we were staying in the area. The laundry/restroom/showers were IMMACULATE. There is a Shoppette across from the RV park and the BX is a short distance away. Follow the directions on this website and take the commercial gate to access the base and you will have no problems. We will stay here again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
June 2009
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A little tricky getting on the base. Check out their website for details. Campsites are first come first serve plan accordingly. Very good place to stay while visiting the Mt. Rushmore area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Sept. 11 - 18, 2009
Overall rating
 
4.4
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Enjoyed our stay, good location for touring Mt Rushmore,Crazy Horse, Devils tower, etc, etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
11-20 Jul 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
I wanted everyone to know that this is really a nice FamCamp. We have enjoyed our stay here and John, the camp host is extremely accommodating and helpful. He is extremely knowledgeable about the attractions in the area and is always willing to give information and help anyone who comes here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26-28 April 2009
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
As we arrived before the season opened there was no host, so we dealt with the folks at the outdoor recreation office. These folks were very accommodating and helpful. The Bathhouse and Laundry were not open yet but they were putting in new washers and dryers. We paid off season rates. The only thing I could say in the negative would be the $20.00 a nite is a little high for the regular season rates. Having said that it's not really much higher than a lot of other Military campgrounds. It really is a nice little park and the MWR people are great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
29-31 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Your directions for entering the base were right on. Security Police were very helpful in guiding us to the campground and leading us to the overflow area. Overflow was ok (we filled up our tank before leaving the campground and had 30 amp electricity so we were as comfortable as could be. Only problem at the overflow site was maneuvering our 35 ft travel trailer into a parking space there. (not much room to maneuver without going into the ditch. As was noted in all the other reviews, the host was more than helpful and made our stay very pleasant. We will definitely be going back. Be sure take in the lighting ceremony at Mt Rushmore. Custer park was a great drive too. At $20 a night for the full hook ups the rate is just a little high (say in comparison to the AF Academy where we spent the 2 nights before.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
25-30 September 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
A terrific hostess, easy access to I-90 and Rapid City as well as Mt Rushmore facilities. New laundry/latrine building is excellent. Wi-fi needs following: THE ELECTRONICS PACKAGE IS MOUNTED UNDER THE EAVE OF THE OFFICE BLDG, AND THERE IS A LONG RUN OF COAX UP TO THE ANTENNA; MOST OF THE SIGNAL IS LOST IN THIS LINE! MOVE THE ELECTRONICS PACKAGE RIGHT UP ADJACENT TO THE ANTENNA - PLACE IT IN A WEATHERPROOF HOUSING - AND THE SIGNAL WILL BE FINE! Suggest campground officials cut 'n paste this and give it to Services to get the Geeks at Best Buy to fix it! I discussed this with the hostess, and she told me the install was done by the Geek Squad. I used an outdoor antenna to access the weak signal, and the service itself is OK, just need to get rid of that long transmission line. Otherwise a #1 FamCamp! Base itself is really nice, too. Excellent fitness center, pool, running opportunities, all neat & tidy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Sep 21-23, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great host and wonderful facility! Was an excellent experience and hope to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
September 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
Great little FamCamp. Rated a "4" on facilities only because the external WiFi antenna is (and has been) non-functional. JoAnne is a very gracious and helpful camp host. We pull a 40' fifth wheel with a Volvo semi tractor and had no problem backing into one of the sites; all of which are concrete, level and very wide. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 2, 2008
Overall rating
 
5.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
P. L. left this review using the Directory software: Nice campground. Our first stay here and the first day so will add more later. Camp host is very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 21-30, 2008
Overall rating
 
3.9
Location
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
C. left this review using the Directory software: We visited from 7/21/08-7/30/08. JoAnne is a great host and was extremely helpful and friendly. The laundry was clean and well maintained. We did have problems driving directly to the FamCamp due to road construction adjacent to the access street. The directions provided by the gate staff did not direct us around the construction so we had to unhook then back up our 40 foot RV and enter via another street.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 23, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
I agree with everything that has been said about the FamCamp and its camp host. I want to comment about the way new arrivals are handled when the FamCamp is full. According to the Campground Information, new arrivals are sent to overflow until one of the campers in the full hookup area has reached the 14 day limit (or a multiple of 14 days if an extension was granted). Then, the camper in the full hookup area must leave and the one in overflow moves into that site. At least, that is my take on the overflow rule. The reality is different. When a camper arrives when the FamCamp is full, they are parked in the grassy area adjacent to another camper and share water and electricity (and sewer, too, if they have a Y-gate sewer connection). Since overflow has 30A electricity, I am not sure why this is necessary. But one reviewer of this FamCamp seems to think it is a good idea. If I had paid $20 a night for a site and then looked out my window to see another RV 10 feet away, I wouldn't be too happy. One of the nice things about this FamCamp is that the sites are spaced far enought apart so that you have room to extend your slides and awnings without encroaching on someone else's space. I believe that campers value this. So, when the space between sites becomes overflow, I wonder why the camp host doesn't use the designated overflow area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 14 - 18, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
This was our first FamCamp experience and it couldn't have been better. Well, if it was in the Black Hills it would have been perfect, but the drive wasn't long. The directions were right on, and after a short wait at the commercial gate (we came in on a Saturday) we found our way to the camp. The host was very friendly and provided tons of information and maps on the local area. When we got there around 4:00 p.m., we had our choice of three spots, but things filled up fast after that. Everyone who came after the place filled up was accommodated by parking next to full hook-up sites this gave them electrical until morning. Each day there was some turnover, so those in the overflow could get full hookup sites if they wanted to move. If we come this way again, we will definitely stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26July - 2Aug 2008
Overall rating
 
4.0
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
3.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
Campground host is outstanding!! She works hard to fit everyone in, parking rigs in open areas between sites to share unused electric hookups while waiting for full sites. She was also a great source of information on local attractions, etc. Location is great, but website directions got us into trouble due to street construction. With no warning signs that the left turn from Spatz to LeMay was closed, we were trapped between a closed street and a closed Patriot Gate complete with winding barricades. We had to block the street with our 40' motorhome while we unhooked the toad and got the rig turned around in a somewhat tight space. WIFI needs to be improved to make it usable. Hookups are oddly located on some sites, but usable. On site 6, the water hydrant protrudes over the edge of the slab near the front of the rig and could be easily hit while moving in or out. We will stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
13 July - 27 July 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
This is a nice campground, we loved everything about it. They need to fix their wifi, but this is the only knock on the campground itself. The Camp host goes out of her way to make everyone welcome. If fact she works too hard, the MWR Commander needs to give her some help during the busy season. I was walking to the trash dumpster, and she saw me, she took my trash from me and dumped it. That is service, she is just a great lady. I would stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 6, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.2
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
An exceptionally clean, well-maintained FamCamp with helpful camp host. Office/rec room is small and cramped. Nearby Exchange/Commissary are small but adequate. Take the Commercial Gate if you're driving anything larger than a small camping van. It is well-marked off the interstate from the west.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25-28 June, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.7
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
3.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
PROS: I enjoyed everything about this camp, was not windy during our stay which I know is unusual for here. Everything is clean, organized & nearby. A little pricey from what I am learning. CONS: None. Would definatley stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 5-11, 2008
Overall rating
 
4.5
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
5.0
Overall Experience
 
4.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: Temparary construction on Lemay requires a minor detour on arrival. From Ellsworth, turn right (E) on Spatz, turn left (N) on Schriever, turn right on Lincoln to the famcamp. Gate security is helpful with information. Camp Host is very helpful with recomendations and directions to local attractions. Very clean and well laid out camp sites. Level concrete pads with picnic table and grill. I will definitly stay here if available upon a return visit
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 2008
Overall rating
 
4.9
Location
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
5.0
Value
 
4.0
Overall Experience
 
5.0
W.R. left this review using the Directory software: Gate info was right-on. SP met us at the gate after hours and even led us to the fam camp. Host met us as we drove in. Nice campground. BX and comm close to camp. Rated this fam camp 5 stars.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
June 18-23, 2007
Overall rating
 
2.8
Location
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities
 
4.0
Value
 
1.0
Overall Experience
 
2.0
This is a great FAMCAMP for an RVer, but not a tent camper. One thing I wasn't told about were the high winds out here on the plains. This might have been a better experience if I had been prepared for that. And when I say "high", I mean high enough to lift our staked tent, with my son and I in it, about 3-6 inches off the ground. Otherwise, it is a great place to stay, although they charge too much for as little as it is. I guess if you can afford some of those big rigs, though, you can afford to pay what they're asking. It is close to all the major attractions, though and South Dakota is beautiful in the Summer time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
142 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8