Cliffside RV Park

 
4.8 (95)
105191 1 54 1 76

User reviews

85 reviews with 5 stars

95 reviews

 
(86)
 
(6)
 
(3)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Location 
 
4.9  (95)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.9  (95)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.7  (95)
Value 
 
4.8  (95)
Overall Experience 
 
4.8  (95)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
85 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
August 1 - 13, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our third time staying at Cliffside and I'm sure it won't be the last! As mentioned in the other reviews, the sites are great, the scenery is spectacular, the camp hosts are some of the best, and the overall atmosphere is relaxing and enjoyable. The only drawbacks we felt were the lack of cell service (very spotty) and small laundry facilities. The new WIFI worked pretty well and it is nice to have - but you have to constantly log in which is a pain. It worked best on computers and our Kindles but was lousy on the smartphones. Very frustrating. Over the air TV reception was great, but mostly Canadian stations but the sunsets took precedence over the TV!!. Last year when we were here in August everything was green. We were surprised that the grass is no longer watered and has turned brown - cost cuts? The Seaview Trail is a wonderful walk and is well used by the park residents as well as everyone on the base as a jogging trail, I think. It's like watching a parade! My only complaint is that a lot of dog walkers don't pick up after their dogs despite free dog bags stationed along the trail. Jet noise is there, yes, but it is a working base!. Lots of fog this year which we didn't encounter last year at this time - but it is the Pacific Northwest after all!! Thumbs UP for Cliffside!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jul 21 - Aug 8, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had an enjoyable 2 ½ week stay at Cliffside RV Park. We originally had a reservation for 2 weeks but were able to get a 4 day extension. The Navy Region Northwest did a great job with the design and building of the Park. Like most new things, some things work well, some not so well, and other things were excluded knowingly or unknowingly. The RV sites are large concrete pads equipped with water, electric and sewer hook-ups, charcoal/wood burning BBQ grill, and a picnic table. The pads are slightly sloped to the side (probably for water run-off), but the slope does not create a problem with leveling an RV. The white utilities posts are attractive and functional. I hope the posts keep that good appearance in years to come after being exposed to time, weather and careless RVer’s. There are a few “pull in” sites facing the waterfront. Those sites are great for guests that have motorhomes. The motorhome will be facing the gorgeous waterfront and the hook ups are on the left side leaving plenty of room on the pad for other activities. There are also rentable Yurts for those guests that do not have an RV or do not want to tent camp. The Yurts have sleeping accommodations plus table and chairs. The Yurts are wisely located close to the restrooms and covered pavilions. The Yurts appear to have been occupied every night during our stay and the occupants seem to be having a great time. There is also a well-planned large tent camping area on a flat and grassy area. The only drawback about the tent area I noticed was it seems to be a long walk to the restrooms. The tent area has plenty of parking room, fire pits, and tables. We did not use the Park’s restrooms or shower so I offer no comments. We did attempt to use the washer/dryer facility but each time I struggled up to the laundry room, I found the washing machines in use. I also asked about a “book exchange” but was told that there was none. It surprised me that there was not an exchange, especially at a military beach location that encourages outdoors rest and relaxation. There are many military and civilian RV Parks that have the book exchanges as a customer convenience at no cost to the guess. The Park also fails my expectations for children activities. Yes, there is a wonderful beach and walking trail. In short, I witnessed families in the Park with young children that could have benefited from playgrounds. Ideally, it would be nice to have one playground with equipment designed for the toddler age group and another playground for the older children. Families come to the RV Park to relax and have fun. It is not much fun when you have to drive your young ones to a playground so they can burn off some of that energy. It is amazing to see how many RVer’s bring their dogs with them. It would be nice to have an off-leash dog park at Cliffside. There appears to be a lot of vacant property adjacent to the Park and away from the RV sites that would be ideal for two dog parks – one for small dogs and another for the larger breeds. There are two Campground Hosts residing in the Park – one resides in the North Loop and the other in the South Loop. These guys are probably the best volunteer hosts I have ever encountered. They appear to be dedicated to making Cliffside a premier military RV park and ensuring that the guests have a memorable experience. It is quite obvious that they enjoy what they are doing. They are extremely helpful, and can always be seen interacting with the guests or doing a variety of things throughout the day. Finally, I will not attempt to describe all the great “day trips” to local sites on and around Whidbey Island. We had many enjoyable days trips, as well as, do nothing days during our stay. We will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
26-27 Jul 13
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I am not one to likely give all 5's, but this park is awesome. The views are stunning and the weather is great, what more could one want! I brought a couple with me for the first time and being a gracious host, I gave them the ocean view. They too are highly impressed and glad to see their tax dollars going for such a great military park. We were only going to stay one night, but quickly changed our minds upon viewing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 18-24, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Staying at Cliffside RV Park on NAS Whidbey Island was an excellent experience. Site was back-in on a concrete pad with an asphalt pull up in front of each site for a vehicle. Stayed here in a 40' motor coach. Plenty of room for 4 slides to open. Free wifi was just activated and worked fine, which was great because our Verizon card would have cost us roaming charges. Poor cell service; no cable. View of ocean was great; sunsets awesome. Ramon, camp host, make a point of dropping by to welcome us and answer any questions. Good Commissary and Exchange at Sea Plane Base, not far. Jet noise was bearable. After all, it is an active base. The time we spent here was pleasant and relaxing. Wish we could have stayed longer. One of the best military CG experiences that we have had.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 12-20, 2013
(Updated: May 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The camp is beautiful. The scenery is magnificent. The amenities are superb. The camp host, Ken, is amazingly hardworking and pleasant. He is as friendly and helpful and delightful a host as anyone could imagine. We stayed in a yurt and it was great, really comfortable, right by the excellent bathroom and laundry facilities. The ONLY negative for us was the extremely loud night practices of the fighter jets at the Whidbey Island Naval Air Station. Ear-splitting noise at 11 pm is hard to take. Otherwise...this place is an absolute winner!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2013
(Updated: May 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We used this as our maiden voyage for a new TT and loved it. Haven't been here in years, but they just completed a 3.9 million dollar upgrade in 2012 and this is the best RV park I have ever used. Laundromats in each loop, outdoor shelters with grilles, fire pits, and fireplaces in the large one. Great location, we were on the water side with a great view of the ocean, great beach combing, full hookups, great price. I can not say enough about the friendliness, courtesy, and helpfulness of staff, it is great. They are opening an office at the park to make it easier to check in, will have wi-fi sometime this year, now you need to go to the Convergence Center, which is a really nice venue, free internet, Playstations, TV, library, snack bar, etc. PX and Commissary are on the Sea Plane Base in Oak Harbor, but other than that, most everything you need is close by. Going back tor two weeks in July. You do need reservations in the summer, they fill up fast, especially on weekend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jun - Jul 2012
(Updated: November 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were here for a month in Jun-Jul time frame. Had stayed here before the renovation and could not believe how gorgeous it is now. We were in the north loop and have never encountered a camp host as accomodating and helpful as Ricardo. He was the most friendly and engaging host we have met in our 8+ years of full-timing and staying in military campgrounds. We were parked (thanks to Ricardo) in the #4 premier site overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Everything is in pristine condition and even the other RVers were more friendly. The only reason I didn't give it a perfect score is that cell phone reception is pretty bad and they didn't have the wifi up and running yet. Otherwise, this is one of those sites that you don't want too many people to know about -- ha-ha, being very selfish! Can't wait to go back!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2012
(Updated: November 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first visit. LOVED everything about it. Who can live by the ocean for $20/night??? We're Army & LOVE the Navy sites!! Water is beautiful! People, other campers were friendly. Ken is exceptional! Make sure you see the words/statues he made from driftwood. And lady bugs are made from stones with some paint added! We want to go back!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 30-31, 2012
(Updated: November 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed in Yurt #3 for 2 nights. Everything anyone else has said about Ken as an exceptional camp host, we second with enthusiasm! Especially loved his fields of joy -- er, field of joys. What a great place. We drove off the island our first day there so we could take in the fall colors on Chuckanut Drive all the way to Bellingham. I am glad we did, but we would have had plenty to do just enjoying the view, weather, and walks around the camp. We did take advantage of them the following day. This was a wonderful adventure -- our first stay in a yurt (we are tent campers). We can't wait to return!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 9-11, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
S.W. left this review using the Directory software: - Host Ken, meet us at the parking lot of the check in building. Guided us thru check-in and we followed him to the site where he helped us to park. Could not ask for a better host. The park is outstanding, with a beautiful view, trails, camping sites and facilities. Getting out the gate on weekends is a bit slow as the gate is closed and you have to call in and get the patrol to come open the gate. Small price to pay for an outstanding park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 5 - 15, 2012
(Updated: October 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Loved it here. Only bad thing was no WI-FI Internet or cable TV. The view made up for what we could not get. Ken was a great host and welcomed us along with providing a welcome packet. Everyone on base was very nice. Beware of shopping at the Commissary, it's 7 or 8 miles from the base outside of town. They do have a NEX Exchange onsite as well as a much larger one next to the Commissary outside of town. Safeway on Hwy. 20, was much closer. The gym on post is very nice. I was able to use the treadmill everyday even though the parking lot in front of the gym was full. They also have a very nice walking trail in front of camp ground with a lovely view of the ocean. SPECTACULAR PLACE! We plan to visit again and again. We camped out in our 45ft. Newmar Essex in lot 34, GREAT SPOT!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept. 10 -Sept. 30 2012
(Updated: October 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If only all the campgrounds could be run so well! Ricardo was host in North Loop and we got more info from him than the Navy Gateway Inns where you check in. The only caution!!!-The Inns where you make reservation and have to check in DO NOT understand RV's- be aware when pulling in to check in/park...first time there and after the fact they tell me I could have pulled around corner by ball fields to park and then walk back to register. When we found building we pulled over off road and had to disconnect there. SO ask many questions when making reservation. After that enjoy!!! Clean/scenic/quiet campground just noisy jets/wonderful hosts who were always working or cleaning/spacious flat sites but don't expect to get TV or WI-FI (unless camp has gotten connected) or phone signals. Would definitely enjoy another visit!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 31, 2012 till September 5, 2012
(Updated: September 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We fell in love with this park. Had never stayed here, so did not know what the park was like before the remodel, but is it ever nice! We hated to leave. Ken, the South Loop Camp Host, has decorated the surroundings with his novel art work and lady bugs (you have to see them). Ricardo and Ken are two of the very best Camp Hosts we have ever met. Friendly, helpful, and do everything they can to make your stay pleasant. Long walks on the beach, gorgeous sunsets, and friendly people. Could not have been any better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 1-3, 2012
(Updated: September 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second stay here at Cliff Side and each time its just gets better. My wife and I are planning on doing some full time RVing and we meet some awesome full timers that shared their stories with us and set us heading in the right direction. The camp itself was awesome spot 44 what a AWESOME view was like looking at a painting everyday. Even saw some whales on Friday evening which is always a plus. Both the camp hosts were awesome very helpful and friendly. Always had the bon fire pit ready for an evening of gathering telling old stories, meeting new friends or just having a smores!!!!!! Great time was had by all will do it when ever I can...house on the market waiting to start that new adventure of our lives. Sell quick and on the road.....
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 2012
(Updated: September 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a wonderful experience we had at Cliffside Park. We have traveled all over the USA and this is by far the best RV park in the states. The host Ken, keeps this place CLEAN. If you have any issues he is on it right now. He will greet you when you arrive with a welcome package and helps you get settled. If you are in the state of Washington, you owe it to yourself to experience Cliffside. The views are amazing and the facilities are a 10. I was stationed here when the old park was here and all I can say now is WOW what a difference. Thanks Ken for making our stay so enjoyable. I shall be back to Cliffside and highly recommend it to all military.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 20-25 2012
(Updated: August 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This place is awesome. I have stayed in a number of places and this is probably the best ever. To call it a gem is an understatement. Exceptional, beautiful, very clean. Ken is awesome, helpful and maintains a camp that is well kept and welcoming. The only challenge was trying to leave. The commercial gate was closed so we went to another. They had to drop the barricades for us to get out. Also, one guard repeatedly hassled me on the way in wanting to see my car's registration even though I already had a sticker. I think he didn't like army types but it still was an annoyance. Not enough to defer me from coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2012
(Updated: August 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had a wonderful time at Cliffside. The hosts were great (Ken & Ricardo). Went on ferries to the islands, had dinner at the Chiefs club and then s'mores around the fire pit. Park needs more access to the trail, a path between pads would help on both north and south areas. This would be a simple fix. See you next year....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July and August 2012
(Updated: August 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Best in the northwest. Once you've been here you will return. You can skip Pacific Beach, it is not even close to Cliffside. Especially helpful camp hosts, Ken and Ricardo. You gotta go there! Saw Orcas and eagles. Magnificent!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 27th - 29th, 2012
(Updated: August 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cliffside is the best RV park that I have been to in a long time. It is more of a resort than a campground. It has all the amenities one could want and the hosts keep the place immaculate. We only met Ricardo when we were there and he is a wealth of info and one of the nicest hosts that I've ever met. He's the only one at any campground that has helped me guide my trailer in. The views are amazing even though we were across the street from the "waterfront" spots. No matter where you are, you have a view of the water. We took a walk on the beach and saw an eagle which was fun. You are close to the exchange and commissary and there are a couple of restaurants on base along with the movie theater in case you get tired of the views and want some other form of entertainment. We are returning next weekend; we just can't stay away!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 24-July 3, 2012
(Updated: August 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This RV park is the best campground within military bases countrywide. Started in Florida. The sites offer the camper an experience that would cost $150.00 a night at a private resort. Everything is new and well kept, and cleanliness is practiced everywhere. All sites have a view of the straits,and if you are lucky the whales will be right offshore feeding on salmon. Bald Eagles are spotted along the beach. Ken the host was super. He was absolutely a friend to everyone. The base commander deserves credit for seeing that funding was available to build this gem. Only drawback was no WiFi. Also be careful of roaming charges to your cell phone. Verizon picks up a Canadian tower which will cost you international roaming charges. Call Verizon and complain about the problem and they will note this on your account so as not to be charged these fees. The last issue would be excessive flight activity. If you are staying the last week of the month, prepare for much touch and go activity with jets getting in flight time. Hope to visit this gem again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
85 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5